DETAILED ACTION
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application TAIWAN 112134548 09/11/2023 filed on 02/23/2024.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-11, 16-17 of copending Application No. 19/190462. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention and the copending claims are directed to a polymer plate obtained by the same method with the difference in the polymer body plate vs imitating material-pattern colloidal plate, however, it has been noted that the copending imitating material-pattern colloidal plate read on claimed polymer body plate. Instant dependent claims are either disclosed or inherently met by the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01.
The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: In claim 1 the structural requirements of Preamble “A mixed polymer body plate” and the specific requirements of the final product in the body of the claim “a shaped polymer body plate.” Claim 1 does not specify these elements forms proper connections.
Claims 2-5 depends from rejected claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01.
The omitted step is the step for “manufacturing a mixed polymer body plate.” While the preamble recites that the process is " A method for manufacturing a mixed polymer body plate," the claim does not positively recite manufacturing a mixed polymer body plate to relate the method back to the preamble.
Claims 7-10 depends from rejected claim 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9-10 recites the limitation "the shaped polymer material body plate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (T. Lu, et al, Material recycling of Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene (ABS) from toy waste using density separation and safer solvents, Resources, Conservation & Recycling 197 (2023) 107090, pages 1-9) in view of Heinz (WO 2009/053066).
Regarding claims 1-7, Lu discloses a method for manufacturing a mixed polymer body, comprising: preparing at least one polymer material, wherein the polymer material is a recycled waste plastic comprising acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene (ABS) polymer, thermoplastic rubber, and polyethylene foam (read on foaming agent); preparing at least one solvent, wherein the solvent is acetone-water (3:1); mixing and stirring the polymer material and the solvent at a normal temperature (room temperature) to obtain a soluble mixed polymer material, wherein the mixed polymer material uses no crosslinking agent or a material having a crosslinking function; and subjecting the mixed polymer material to extrusion through a die with a length to diameter ratio of 30 (abstract, para 2.1, 2.4-2-5). Lu does not expressly discloses subjecting the mixed polymer material to extrusion forming to obtain a shaped polymer body plate.
However, Heinz discloses a cost-effective economical method for producing plastic plate from thermoplastic recyclates by processing of the recycled plastic in extrusion apparatus and then pressing in continuously operating press, wherein the plastic plates are used for various purpose such as bottom plates, e.g. container bottom plates (abstract, page 2, lines 17-20, page 3, lines 7-10). Lu and Heinz are pertinent to the recycled plastic and the extrusion processing of the same.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of invention, to modify Lu with the pressing of the extruded product in continuously operating press, as taught by Heinz to obtain plastic plates. The rationale to do so would have been motivation provided by of Heinz that to do so would provide a cost-effective economical production of the plastic plates used for various purpose such as bottom plates, e.g. container bottom plates.
Regarding claim 8, Lu discloses the method of a mixed polymer system (abstract, page 2, lines 17-20, page 3, lines 7-10) undergoes dissolution-precipitation of polymer materials that inherently results in polymer chain re-entanglement and physical fusion upon recovery. Such behavior reasonable meets the ‘fusing and ‘attaching’ limitations under broadest reasonable interpretation. The phrase ‘for grafting’ is construed as an intended use or functional statement not limiting on the structural or process features of the mixed polymer system. Therefore, it is not given patentable weight in distinguishing over prior art.
Regarding claim 9, Lu in view of Heinz discloses a product polymer plate by the extrusion, such extrusion product necessarily has extrusion surface as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01(I) , In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp v Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985), In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Warren Corp v D F Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY 1934).
Regarding claim 10, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim 10 is interpreted as ‘polymer plate is capable of further processing (cutting, molding, extrusion, etc), processing inherently generates scrap or waste material, and such waste is recyclable in polymer processing systems. Thus, the claimed limitations describe the inherent properties and lifecycle behavior of the plastic material and recycling systems. Lu explicitly teaches recycling of waste polymer material via dissolution-precipitation and reuse in subsequent processing cycles (abstract, page 2, lines 17-20, page 3, lines 7-10).
Conclusion
/KUMAR R BHUSHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766