DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 02/05/2024.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1, and 18-20 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 1-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are objected to.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “RRC” is not defined in the claim.
Claims 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “MAC” is not defined in the claim.
Claims 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “PSCell”, “PCell”, “LTM” are not defined in the claim.
Claims 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “L1-RSRP”, “L1-RSRQ”, “L1-SINR” are not defined in the claim.
Claims 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “DCI”, “PRACH” are not defined in the claim.
Claims 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the acronym “PDCCH”, “C-RNTI” are not defined in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9-12, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US_20240114406_A1_Zhou (Hereinafter, “Zhou-06”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou-06 discloses a first node for wireless communications (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, the wireless device is corresponding to the claimed “first node”), comprising: a first processor, receiving a first signaling (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “The wireless device may receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)…”, the MAC CE is corresponding to the claimed “first signaling”), the first signaling comprising at least one indication field and at least one target field (Zhou-06 figure 49c, and paragraph 465, “The MAC CE format may further comprise a field indicating a time alignment command (TAC) for the third cell.…”, the field with “R=0/1” is corresponding to the claimed “indication field”, and the field with “TAC (if R=1)” is corresponding to the claimed “target field”); wherein the first signaling is a signaling at a protocol layer below RRC sublayer (Zhou-06 figure 49C, and paragraph 384, “…A layer 2 signaling may comprise a MAC CE…”); each indication field of the at least one indication field indicates whether a corresponding target field is used for a Timing Advance (TA) (Zhou-06 figure 49c, and paragraph 467, “The bit set to a second value (e.g., 1).… wherein the MAC CE comprises the bit (being set to the second value) and/or the TAC…”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the first signaling is a MAC CE (Zhou-06 figure 49c, paragraph 502, “The wireless device may receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)…”); the first signaling comprises the first indication field, the first target field and the target cell field (Zhou-06 figure 49C, the field with “R=0/1” is corresponding to the claimed “first indication field”, the field with “TAC (if R=1)” is corresponding to the claimed “first target field”, the field with “Target Cell ID” is corresponding to the claimed “target cell field”); the target cell field is used to indicate a candidate cell (Zhou-06 figure 49C, and paragraph 462, Target Cell ID); the first indication field indicates whether the first target field is used to indicate a TA (Zhou-06 figure 49C, and paragraph 502, timing advance command (TAC), paragraph 183, “…The second message ( e.g., Msg 2 1312) may comprise a time-alignment command that may be used by the wireless device to adjust the transmission timing of the wireless device…”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that the phrase that each indication field of the at least one indication field indicates whether a corresponding target field is used for TA includes: if one indication field of the at least one indication field is set to a first value, the indication field of the at least one indication field indicates that a corresponding target field is used for a TA (Zhou-06 figure 49c, and paragraph 467, “The bit set to a second value (e.g., 1)… wherein the MAC CE comprises the bit (being set to the second value) and/or the TAC…”).; if one indication field of the at least one indication field is set to a second value, the indication field of the at least one indication field does not indicate that a corresponding target field is used for a TA (Zhou-06 figure 49c, and paragraph 464, “The bit set to a first value ( e.g., 0)…”, paragraph 465, “…The wireless device may ignore the field, for example, if the bit set to the first value indicating to perform the RA procedure…”).; the first value is different from the second value (Zhou-06 figure 49C, and paragraphs 464-465, the value of the R bit can be 0 or 1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in comprising: the first processor, receiving a first RRC message before the action of receiving a first signaling, the first RRC message comprising configuration information for at least one candidate cell (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “A wireless device may receive, via a source cell, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters of candidate cell for a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure. The wireless device may receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) triggering…”); and applying configuration information for a first cell as a response to the first signaling being received (Zhou-06 paragraph 363, “…the wireless device may apply the RRC parameters of a target PCell and/or a cell group (MCG/SCG) associated with the target PCell of the target base station and perform downlink synchronization to the target base station. …”); wherein the at least one candidate cell is/are configured for at least one serving cell of the first node (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “…The switching from the source cell to the first candidate cell…”); the first cell is a candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, candidate cell); the first signaling is used to indicate the first cell (Zhou-06 figure 49C, the field with “Target Cell ID” is used to indicate the target/candidate cell).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 6, characterized in that the at least one serving cell is a first serving cell (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, primary cell (PCell)); the first serving cell is a PSCell (Zhou-06 paragraph 349, “A serving cell may be a cell ( e.g., PCell, SCell, PSCell, etc.)…”), or the first serving cell is a PCell (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, primary cell (PCell)); each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell is a LTM candidate cell (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “… candidate cell for a layer 1 or layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) procedure…”); the first signaling is a LTM command (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “… The wireless device may receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) triggering the LTM procedure.…”); a field in the first signaling indicates the first cell (Zhou-06 figure 49C, the field with “Target Cell ID” is used to indicate the target/candidate cell).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 6, characterized in comprising: the first processor, after the action of receiving the first RRC message and before the action of receiving a first signaling, transmitting a first measurement report (Zhou-06 figure 43, step of “L1 beam/CSI report of Cell 0, Cell 1, Cell 2 etc.”); wherein the first measurement report is a signaling at a protocol layer below RRC sublayer (Zhou-06 figure 43, and paragraph 205, “…The wireless device may send/transmit UCI (e.g., HARQ acknowledgements (HARQ-ACK), CSI report, SR, and the like) via a PUCCH or a PUSCH…”. PUCCH is transmitted in the Physical Layer).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 9, characterized in that the first measurement report is transmitted through a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (Zhou-06 figure 43, and paragraph 205, “…The wireless device may send/transmit UCI (e.g., HARQ acknowledgements (HARQ-ACK), CSI report, SR, and the like) via a PUCCH or a PUSCH…”); the first measurement report indicates at least the first cell (Zhou-06 figure 43, step of “L1 beam/CSI report of Cell 0, Cell 1, Cell 2 etc.”, paragraph 385, “…The network (e.g., a base station, a source gNB) may configure the wireless device to perform measurement reporting (possibly including the configuration of measurement gaps) for a plurality of neighbor cells (e.g., cells from a candidate target base station 1, a candidate target base station 2, etc.)…”).; the first measurement report comprises L1 measurement results (Zhou-06 figure 43, step of “L1 beam/CSI report of Cell 0, Cell 1, Cell 2 etc.”.); the L1 measurement results include L1-RSRP (Zhou-06 paragraph 392, “…The layer 1 or layer 2 measurement report may comprise layer 1 RSRP, layer 1 RSRQ, PMI, RI, layer 1 SINR, CQI, etc…”) and/or, the L1 measurement results include L1-RSRQ (Zhou-06 paragraph 392, “…The layer 1 or layer 2 measurement report may comprise layer 1 RSRP, layer 1 RSRQ, PMI, RI, layer 1 SINR, CQI, etc…”), and/or, the L1 measurement results include L1-SINR (Zhou-06 paragraph 392, “…The layer 1 or layer 2 measurement report may comprise layer 1 RSRP, layer 1 RSRQ, PMI, RI, layer 1 SINR, CQI, etc…”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 6, characterized in comprising: the first processor, transmitting at least first signal before the action of receiving a first signaling (Zhou-06 figure 38, preamble transmission. Paragraph 502, “…Performing the RA procedure may comprise at least one of: transmitting a preamble to the first target cell; monitoring a physical downlink: control chamiel (PDCCH) for receiving a RAR corresponding to the preamble…”); wherein each signal of the at least first signal is a physical layer signal (Zhou-06 figure 38, the preamble is transmitted in the Physical Layer).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 11, characterized in that before the action of receiving a first signaling, the at least first signal is(are) transmitted (Zhou-06 figure 38, preamble transmission. Paragraph 502, “…Performing the RA procedure may comprise at least one of: transmitting a preamble to the first target cell; monitoring a physical downlink: control chamiel (PDCCH) for receiving a RAR corresponding to the preamble…”); each signal of the at least first signal is a Preamble (Zhou-06 figure 38, preamble transmission).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in comprising: the first processor, processing at least one of the at least one target field as a response to the action of receiving a first signaling (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “…The wireless device may transmit via a primary cell (PCell) and based on switching a source cell to the first candidate cell for the LTM procedure, uplink signals using the TAC...”); wherein the at least one of the at least one target field indicates a TA (Zhou-06 figure 49c, field with “TAC (if R=1)”, and paragraph 465, “The MAC CE format may further comprise a field indicating a time alignment command (TAC) for the third cell.…”).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou-06 discloses a second node for wireless communications (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, the source cell is corresponding to the claimed “second node”), comprising: a second processor, transmitting a first signaling (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “The wireless device may receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)…”, the MAC CE is corresponding to the claimed “first signaling”), the first signaling comprising at least one indication field and at least one target field (Zhou-06 figure 49c, and paragraph 465, “The MAC CE format may further comprise a field indicating a time alignment command (TAC) for the third cell.…”, the field with “R=0/1” is corresponding to the claimed “indication field”, and the field with “TAC (if R=1)” is corresponding to the claimed “target field”); wherein the first signaling is a signaling at a protocol layer below RRC sublayer (Zhou-06 figure 49C, and paragraph 384, “…A layer 2 signaling may comprise a MAC CE…”); each indication field of the at least one indication field indicates whether a corresponding target field is used for a TA (Zhou-06 figure 49c, and paragraph 467, “The bit set to a second value (e.g., 1).… wherein the MAC CE comprises the bit (being set to the second value) and/or the TAC…”).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou-06 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, Zhou-06 discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240114406_A1_Zhou (Hereinafter, “Zhou-06”) in view of US_20250301433_A1_Zhang and US_20230362853_A1_Kung.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that each indication field of the at least one indication field and a corresponding target field are for a TA set; the TA set is a Timing Advance Group (TAG) to which a candidate cell belongs; the TA refers to: an index value TA used to control the amount of timing adjustment that a MAC entity has to apply.
Zhang discloses characterized in that each indication field of the at least one indication field and a corresponding target field are for a TA set (Zhang figure 15. The TAG ID is corresponding to the claimed “indication field”, and the TAC field is corresponding to the claimed “target field”); but does not disclose the TA set is a Timing Advance Group (TAG) to which a candidate cell belongs; the TA refers to: an index value TA used to control the amount of timing adjustment that a MAC entity has to apply.
Kung disclose the TA set is a Timing Advance Group (TAG) to which a candidate cell belongs apply (Kung figure 17, element 1032, paragraph 26); the TA refers to: an index value TA used to control the amount of timing adjustment that a MAC entity has to apply (Kung paragraphs 274-276, “The MAC entity shall… when a Timing Advance Command MAC CE is received… apply the Timing Advance Command for the indicated TAG”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Zhang’s the TA set including a TAG ID and its corresponding TAC, and Kung’s the MAC entity applying the Timing Advance Command for the indicated TAG in Zhou-06’s system to help the UE performing rapid synchronization with the candidate cell. This method for improving the system of Zhou-06 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Zhang and Kung. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhou-06, Zhang and Kung to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240114406_A1_Zhou (Hereinafter, “Zhou-06”) in view of US_20250301433_A1_Zhang.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 1, characterized in that each target field of the at least one target field occupies multiple consecutive bits (Zhou-06 figure 49C, and paragraph 465, “…The bit width of the TAC may be a number (e.g., 4 bits, 6 bits, 8 bits, 12 bits, etc.)…”), but does not disclose each indication field of the at least one indication field occupies multiple consecutive bits.
Zhang discloses each indication field of the at least one indication field occupies multiple consecutive bits (Zhang paragraph 61, “…As shown in FIG. 7, the signaling structure is a 1B structure having 8 bits, including a 2-bit Timing Advance Group Identification (TAG ID), and a 6-bit TAC...”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Zhang’s the TA set including a TAG ID and its corresponding TAC in Zhou-06’s system to help the UE performing rapid synchronization with the candidate cell. This method for improving the system of Zhou-06 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Zhang. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhou-06, Zhang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240114406_A1_Zhou (Hereinafter, “Zhou-06”) in view of US_20220287102_A1_Futaki.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 6, characterized in that the first RRC message comprises a candidate configuration identity for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, and paragraph 443, “…a base station may transmit to a wireless device a RRC reconfiguration message (e.g., RRCReconfiguation-VXXX-IEs) comprising a candidate PCell/SCell configuration (e.g., candidates-L1L2-Config IE)… A configuration id (e.g., candidate-L1L2-Id) may be used… to identify a candidate target PCell (and/or associated SCells) of the list of candidate target PCell…”); but does not explicitly disclose the first RRC message comprises a ServingCellConfigCommon IE for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell, and/or, the first RRC message comprises a DownlinkConfigCommon IE for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell, and/or, the first RRC message comprises an UplinkConfigCommon IE for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell, and/or, the first RRC message comprises a ssb-PositionsInBurst field for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell.
Futaki discloses the first RRC message comprises a ServingCellConfigCommon IE for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell (Futaki paragraph 155, “…This RRC Reconfiguration message contains the cell common configuration information (e.g., ServingCellConfigCommon information element) to be used by the UE 2 in the target cell…”), and/or, the first RRC message comprises a DownlinkConfigCommon IE for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell (Futaki paragraph 155, “…This cell-common configuration information includes a downlinkConfigCommon information element…”), and/or, the first RRC message comprises an UplinkConfigCommon IE for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell, and/or, the first RRC message comprises a ssb-PositionsInBurst field for each candidate cell of the at least one candidate cell.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Futaki’s the UE receiving ServingCellConfigCommon and downlinkConfigCommon information element of the target cell from the source cell in Zhou-06’s system to enable the UE to perform rapid cell switch. This method for improving the system of Zhou-06 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Futaki. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhou-06 and Futaki to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240114406_A1_Zhou (Hereinafter, “Zhou-06”) in view of US_20240187954_A1_Zhou (hereinafter, “Zhou-54”).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou-06 discloses the first node according to claim 11, characterized in comprising: wherein each signal of the at least first signal is a PRACH signal (Zhou-06 paragraph 502, “…or transmitting a preamble in a physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion…”); but does not disclose the first processor, receiving a first DCI, the first DCI indicating the at least first signal; the first DCI is used to trigger a random access procedure which the first signal is a part of.
Zhou-54 discloses the first processor, receiving a first DCI, the first DCI indicating the at least first signal (Zhou-54 paragraph 449, “…a DCI comprising a PDCCH order indicating a transmission of a preamble to (or via) the second cell…”); the first DCI is used to trigger a random access procedure which the first signal is a part of (Zhou-54 paragraph 442, “…a wireless device may receive a PDCCH order (e.g., a DCI format 1_0 with C-RNTI and FDRA field being set to all ones) triggering a RA procedure on a serving Cell…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Zhou-54’s the UE receiving PDCCH order (e.g., a DCI format 1_0 with C-RNTI and FDRA field being set to all ones) triggering a RA procedure in Zhou-06’s system to instruct the UE to start a Contention-Free Random Access (CFRA) procedure (Zhou-54 paragraph 417). This method for improving the system of Zhou-06 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Zhou-54. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhou-06 and Zhou-54 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US_20240114406_A1_Zhou (Hereinafter, “Zhou-06”) in view of US_20240187954_A1_Zhou (hereinafter, “Zhou-54”) and US_20230388871_A1_Guo.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou-06 and Zhou-54 disclose the first node according to claim 13, and Zhou further discloses characterized in that a format of the first DCI is DCI format 1_0 (Zhou-54 paragraph 442, 451, DCI format 1_0); the first DCI comprises a Frequency domain resource assignment field, and the Frequency domain resource assignment field is set to all ones (Zhou-54 paragraph 442, “…a wireless device may receive a PDCCH order (e.g., a DCI format 1_0 with C-RNTI and FDRA field being set to all ones) triggering a RA procedure on a serving Cell…”, paragraph 451, “…The PDCCH order may be received via a PDCCH of the first cell with a DCI format 1_0 with C-RNTI and FDRA fields being set to all ones...”), but does not disclose the first DCI comprises at least one field of Identifier for DCI formats, and the field of Identifier for DCI formats is set to 1.
Guo discloses the first DCI comprises at least one field of Identifier for DCI formats, and the field of Identifier for DCI formats is set to 1 (Guo page 37, Table 6.2-1, “Identifier for DCI formats…The value of this bit field is always set to 1, indicating a DL DCI format… If the CRC of the DCI format l_0 is scrambled by C-RNTI and the "Frequency resource assignment domain resource assignment" field are of all ones, the DCI format 1_0 is for random access procedure initiated by a PDCCH order…”).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Guo’s Identifier for DCI formats in Zhou-06 and Zhou-54’s system to notify the UE the DCI format. This method for improving the system of Zhou-06 and Zhou-54 was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Guo. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Zhou-06, Zhou-54, and Guo to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471