Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application. New grounds of rejections necessitated by amendments are discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites the limitations "the guide body" in line 21, “the first wall portion” in lines 26-27, “the second wall portion” in line 27, and “the third wall portion” in line 28. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4-5 and 8-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1. It is suggested to incorporate all of the limitations of claim 2 into claim 3 to provide proper antecedent basis. Note that claim 3 was previously dependent upon all of the limitations of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP3203957U (see machine translation; Herein, “JP ‘957”).
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘957 teaches a culture device (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0001]) for culturing microalgae in a culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; [0001],[0016]), the culture device comprising:
an accommodation portion (Fig. 1, culture tank 10) configured to accommodate the culture solution and the microalgae (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0001],[0016] and Fig. 1 teaches the culture tank 10 is capable of accommodating a culture medium and microalgae);
a guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) provided inside the accommodation portion (Fig. 1) and extending in a depth direction of the accommodation portion (Fig. 1);
a gas supply portion (Fig. 1, air connection pipe 21 coupled to air pump 20) configured to supply gas at a lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 and [0035] teaches the air connection pipe provides air, i.e. gas, at a lower portion of the airlift piping 30 in a depth direction near intake port 31);
wherein
the gas supply portion includes an extended tube portion that extends along the guide portion from an upper portion to the lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 teaches the air connection pipe 21, i.e. extended tube portion, extends along airlift piping 30 from an upper portion, e.g. near element 42, towards a lower portion, i.e. near element 31, in the depth direction),
the guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) includes a hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0019] teaches airlift piping 30 includes a hollow interior of the cylindrical pipe),
the extended tube portion (Fig. 1 teaches the air connection pipe 21, i.e. extended tube portion, extends along airlift piping 30 from an upper portion, e.g. near element 42, towards a lower portion, i.e. near element 31, in the depth direction) is arranged in the hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0018] teaches air connection pipe 21 extends through the inside of the air lift pipe 30),
convection of the culture solution is caused by the gas supplied into the culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1 and [0007] teaches the provided air allows for circulation of the culture medium, therefore convection is capable of being caused by the air supplied into the culture medium of the culture tank 10), and
when a region through which an upward flow of the convection passes is defined as an upward flow region (Fig. 1, interpreted as a region of upward flow of the air bubbles in air lift piping 30) wherein the upward flow moves from a lower portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction toward the upper portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 and [0026] teaches the air bubbles cause culture medium to be drawn from the lower portion near element 31 and rise towards the upper end of the pipping 33), the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of the guide portion (Fig. 1 shows the air connection pipe 21 is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of air lift piping 30).
Regarding claim 6, JP ‘957 teaches wherein the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion includes a gas discharge port (Fig. 1, interpreted as the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31) configured to discharge gas toward the accommodation portion (Fig. 1 and [0026] teaches air is pumped or discharged towards the culture tank 10 via the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31), and the gas discharge port opens toward a bottom portion of the accommodation portion (Fig. 1 teaches the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31 opens towards a bottom portion of the culture tank 10).
Regarding claim 7, JP ‘957 teaches wherein the guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) includes a deflection portion (Fig. 1, first pipe branch 34, second pipe branch 35, and cross-shaped pipe 33c) that directs the gas supplied from the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion in a horizontal direction (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-2 and [0026] teaches air bubbles rise through piping 33 to cause culture medium to rise and then flow through cross-shaped pipe 33c and pipe branch sections 34,35 to be blown out from the airlift pipe 30; therefore, the cross-shaped pipe 33c and branches 34,25 are structurally capable of directing gas, i.e. air bubbles, from air connection pipe 21, to the branch sections 34,35 which are in a horizontal direction), and the deflection portion is arranged at the upper portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 teaches the cross-shaped pipe 33c and pipe branch sections 34,35 are at an upper portion of the airlift piping 30), and the deflection portion includes an insertion hole through which the gas supply portion is inserted (Fig. 1 shows cross-shaped pipe 33c including an opening or hole through which air connection pipe 21 is inserted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3203957U (see machine translation; Herein, “JP ‘957”) in view of Berzin (US 20090011492 A1).
Regarding claim 3, JP ‘957 teaches a culture device (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0001]) for culturing microalgae in a culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; [0001],[0016]), the culture device comprising:
an accommodation portion (Fig. 1, culture tank 10) configured to accommodate the culture solution and the microalgae (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0001],[0016] and Fig. 1 teaches the culture tank 10 is capable of accommodating a culture medium and microalgae);
a guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) provided inside the accommodation portion (Fig. 1) and extending in a depth direction of the accommodation portion (Fig. 1);
a gas supply portion (Fig. 1, air connection pipe 21 coupled to air pump 20) configured to supply gas at a lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 and [0035] teaches the air connection pipe provides air, i.e. gas, at a lower portion of the airlift piping 30 in a depth direction near intake port 31);
wherein
the gas supply portion includes an extended tube portion that extends along the guide portion from an upper portion to the lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 teaches the air connection pipe 21, i.e. extended tube portion, extends along airlift piping 30 from an upper portion, e.g. near element 42, towards a lower portion, i.e. near element 31, in the depth direction),
convection of the culture solution is caused by the gas supplied into the culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1 and [0007] teaches the provided air allows for circulation of the culture medium, therefore convection is capable of being caused by the air supplied into the culture medium of the culture tank 10), and
when a region through which an upward flow of the convection passes is defined as an upward flow region (Fig. 1, interpreted as a region of upward flow of the air bubbles in air lift piping 30) wherein the upward flow moves from a lower portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction toward the upper portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 and [0026] teaches the air bubbles cause culture medium to be drawn from the lower portion near element 31 and rise towards the upper end of the pipping 33), the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion is arranged in the upward flow region along the guide portion (Fig. 1 shows the air connection pipe 21 is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of air lift piping 30), and a hollow interior of the guide body is part of the upward flow region (Fig. 1, the hollow interior of airlift piping 30 is part of the region of upward flow of the air bubbles in air lift piping 30).
JP ‘957 fails to teach: wherein the guide portion includes one or more support portions that position and fix the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion to the guide body, and the one or more support portions are provided on an inner surface of the first wall portion, an inner surface of the second wall portion, or an inner surface of the third wall portion.
Berzin teaches a system for culturing algae (abstract; Fig. 1A) including a gas spargers (122, 124) to create bubbles to rise up through channels to induce liquid flow ([0074]), and a partition (101). Berzin teaches the partition can be tubular (Fig. 5D, element 417). Berzin teaches a gas inlet that extends into the bioreactor from the top and towards the bottom (Fig. 2B; [0110]), wherein support legs (172) are attached to the gas inlet within the channel on an inner surface of a wall portion so that the gas inlet and gas sparger are supported on the partition (Fig. 2B and [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the guide portion and extended tube portion of JP ‘957 to incorporate the Berzin’s teachings of a gas inlet within a channel attached and supported by support legs to an inner surface of a wall (Fig. 2B; [0110]) to provide: wherein the guide portion includes one or more support portions that position and fix the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion to the guide body, and the one or more support portions are provided on an inner surface of the first wall portion, an inner surface of the second wall portion, or an inner surface of the third wall portion. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving attachment and securing of the extended tube portion within the guide portion.
Regarding claim 4, modified JP ‘957 fails to teach: the culture device according to claim 3, wherein the one or more support portions include protruding portions protruding from the inner surface of the first wall portion, the inner surface of the second wall portion, or the inner surface of the third wall portion toward the hollow interior of the guide body, and through holes formed in the protruding portions and extending in the depth direction of the guide body, and the through holes support the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion.
Berzin teaches a gas inlet that extends into the bioreactor from the top and towards the bottom (Fig. 2B; [0110]), wherein a plurality of support legs (172) are attached to the gas inlet within the channel on an inner surface of a wall portion so that the gas inlet and gas sparger are supported on the partition (Fig. 2B and [0110]).
JP ‘957 teaches a pipe support (Fig. 3A and [0024], element 40) for supporting the airlift pipe in a suspended state and is mounted on an upper surface of the culture tank ([0024]). JP ‘957 teaches the support includes a portion protruding from an inner surface of a wall portion toward the hollow interior of the tank (Fig. 3A teaches U-shaped band 42 protruding from a surface and towards the inside of an interior of the tank), and a through hole formed in the protruding portion and extending in the depth direction of the pipe body (Fig. 3A and [0024] teaches a through hole formed in the U-shaped band 42 that extends in the depth direction of pipe body 33), and the through hole support pipe body (Fig. 3A and [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the one or more support portions of modified JP ‘957 to incorporate Berzin’s teachings of a gas inlet within a channel attached and supported by a plurality of support legs to an inner surface of a wall (Fig. 2B; [0110]) and JP ‘957’s teachings of a pipe support including a through hole formed in a protruding portion to support a pipe body (Fig. 3A; [0024]) to provide: the culture device according to claim 3, wherein the one or more support portions include protruding portions protruding from the inner surface of the first wall portion, the inner surface of the second wall portion, or the inner surface of the third wall portion toward the hollow interior of the guide body, and through holes formed in the protruding portions and extending in the depth direction of the guide body, and the through holes support the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving supporting the extended tube portion at multiple locations in a suspended state within the guide body.
Regarding claim 8, JP ‘957 further teaches the culture device according to claim 3, wherein the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion includes a gas discharge port (Fig. 1, interpreted as the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31) configured to discharge gas toward the accommodation portion (Fig. 1 and [0026] teaches air is pumped or discharged towards the culture tank 10 via the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31), and the gas discharge port opens toward a bottom portion of the accommodation portion (Fig. 1 teaches the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31 opens towards a bottom portion of the culture tank 10).
Regarding claim 9, JP ‘957 further teaches the culture device according to claim 3, wherein the guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) includes a deflection portion (Fig. 1, first pipe branch 34, second pipe branch 35, and cross-shaped pipe 33c ) that directs the gas supplied from the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion in a horizontal direction (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-2 and [0026] teaches air bubbles rise through piping 33 to cause culture medium to rise and then flow through cross-shaped pipe 33c and pipe branch sections 34,35 to be blown out from the airlift pipe 30; therefore, the cross-shaped pipe 33c and branches 34,25 are structurally capable of directing gas, i.e. air bubbles, from air connection pipe 21, to the branch sections 34,35 which are in a horizontal direction), and the deflection portion is arranged at the upper portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 teaches the cross-shaped pipe 33c and pipe branch sections 34,35 are at an upper portion of the airlift piping 30), and the deflection portion includes an insertion hole through which the gas supply portion is inserted (Fig. 1 shows cross-shaped pipe 33c including an opening or hole through which air connection pipe 21 is inserted).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP ‘957 in view of Berzin as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kamees (US 20170341080 A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified JP ‘957 fails to teach: the culture device according to claim 4, wherein the one or more support portions include a plurality of support portions arranged in an extending direction of the guide body, and when a support portion of the plurality of support portions located at a lowermost position in the depth direction is defined as a lowermost support portion, an opening area of a through hole formed in the lowermost support portion is smaller than an opening area of a through hole formed in a support portion other than the lowermost support portion.
Berzin teaches include a plurality of support portions arranged in an extending direction of a gas inlet at different support portions (Fig. 2B teaches support legs 172 arranged in a direction of gas inlet 170).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the one or more support portions of modified JP ‘957 to incorporate Berzin’s teachings of support portions arranged in an extending direction of a gas inlet at different positions (Fig. 2B) to provide: the culture device according to claim 4, wherein the one or more support portions include a plurality of support portions arranged in an extending direction of the guide body, and when a support portion of the plurality of support portions located at a lowermost position in the depth direction is defined as a lowermost support portion. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving supporting the extended tube portion at multiple locations in a suspended state within the guide body.
Modified JP ‘957 fails to teach: an opening area of a through hole formed in the lowermost support portion is smaller than an opening area of a through hole formed in a support portion other than the lowermost support portion.
Kamees teaches a tube holding assembly (abstract; Fig. 3). Kammes teaches an opening area of a through hole formed in the lowermost support portion is smaller than an opening area of a through hole formed in a support portion other than the lowermost support portion (Fig. 3, inner diameter 90 of central aperture 82 of stop ring 62 is smaller than inner diameter 74 of central aperture 62 of support ring 58a). Kamees teaches diameter of support rings may differ from other support rings ([0018]). Kamees teaches the assembly allows for storage of different combination of test tubes of various sizes and configured to allow for storing tubes in different positions ([0001]). Kamees teaches in laboratory settings, product flexibility is important to accommodate various different experiments ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support portions of modified JP ‘957 to incorporate Kamees’ teachings of support rings for tubes that have different diameters, such as a lowermost support portion diameter being smaller than another support portion (Fig. 3; [0018]) to provide: an opening area of a through hole formed in the lowermost support portion is smaller than an opening area of a through hole formed in a support portion other than the lowermost support portion. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving flexibility of the support portions to accommodate the extended tube portion at desired positions as taught by Kamees. Additionally, doing so would have been an obvious change in size and shape of the support portions, which is an obvious matter of choice in view of Kamees (MPEP 2114.04(IV)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/845,440 (herein, “App ‘440”) in view of JP3203957U (see machine translation; Herein, “JP ‘957”).
Regarding claim 1, App ‘440 recites a culture device for culturing microalgae in a culture solution (claim 1), the culture device comprising:
an accommodation portion (claim 1, “accommodating section”) configured to accommodate the culture solution and the microalgae (claim 1);
a guide portion (claim 1, “guide members”) provided inside the accommodation portion and extending in a depth direction of the accommodation portion (claim 1);
a gas supply portion (claim 1, “gas supply unit”) configured to supply gas at a lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (claim 1);
wherein
convection of the culture solution is caused by the gas supplied into the culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; claim 1 recites gas is supplied at a lower end and rises up along the body portion, therefore convection is capable of being caused by the gas), and
when a region through which an upward flow of the convection passes is defined as an upward flow region wherein the upward flow moves from a lower portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction toward the upper portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction (claim 1 recites the body portion includes an upper end, and gas rises along the body portion; therefore, the body portion includes an upper flow region through which an upward flow moves from the lower portion of the accommodation portion to the upper portion of the accommodation portion).
App ‘440 fails to recite: the gas supply portion includes an extended tube portion that extends along the guide portion from an upper portion to the lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction; the guide portion includes a hollow interior; the extended tube portion is arranged in the hollow interior; and the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of the guide portion.
JP ‘957 teaches a culture device (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0001]) for culturing microalgae in a culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; [0001],[0016]), the culture device comprising: an accommodation portion (Fig. 1, culture tank 10) configured to accommodate the culture solution and the microalgae (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; [0001],[0016] and Fig. 1 teaches the culture tank 10 is capable of accommodating a culture medium and microalgae); a guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) provided inside the accommodation portion (Fig. 1) and extending in a depth direction of the accommodation portion (Fig. 1); a gas supply portion (Fig. 1, air connection pipe 21 coupled to air pump 20) configured to supply gas at a lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 and [0035] teaches the air connection pipe provides air, i.e. gas, at a lower portion of the airlift piping 30 in a depth direction near intake port 31); wherein the gas supply portion includes an extended tube portion that extends along the guide portion from an upper portion to the lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 teaches the air connection pipe 21, i.e. extended tube portion, extends along airlift piping 30 from an upper portion, e.g. near element 42, towards a lower portion, i.e. near element 31, in the depth direction), the guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) includes a hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0019] teaches airlift piping 30 includes a hollow interior of the cylindrical pipe), the extended tube portion (Fig. 1 teaches the air connection pipe 21, i.e. extended tube portion, extends along airlift piping 30 from an upper portion, e.g. near element 42, towards a lower portion, i.e. near element 31, in the depth direction) is arranged in the hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0018] teaches air connection pipe 21 extends through the inside of the air lift pipe 30), convection of the culture solution is caused by the gas supplied into the culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Fig. 1 and [0007] teaches the provided air allows for circulation of the culture medium, therefore convection is capable of being caused by the air supplied into the culture medium of the culture tank 10), and when a region through which an upward flow of the convection passes is defined as an upward flow region (Fig. 1, interpreted as a region of upward flow of the air bubbles in air lift piping 30) wherein the upward flow moves from a lower portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction toward the upper portion of the accommodation portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 and [0026] teaches the air bubbles cause culture medium to be drawn from the lower portion near element 31 and rise towards the upper end of the pipping 33), the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of the guide portion (Fig. 1 shows the air connection pipe 21 is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of air lift piping 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas supply portion of App ‘440 to incorporate JP ‘957’s teachings of a gas supply portion including an extended tube extending and arranged along the guide portion in the depth direction to provide: the gas supply portion includes an extended tube portion that extends along the guide portion from an upper portion to the lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction; the guide portion includes a hollow interior; the extended tube portion is arranged in the hollow interior; and the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of the guide portion. Additionally, doing so would be an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)), wherein the particular placement and arrangement of the gas supply portion as an extended tube portion would be an obvious matter of design choice in view of JP ‘957.
Regarding claim 2, App ‘440 recites wherein the guide portion includes a guide body extending in the depth direction (claim 1 recites the guide members is inside the accommodation section and include a body portion that includes a lower end facing the accommodation section, therefore the guide member extends in the depth direction into the accommodation section), the guide body includes a first wall portion and a second wall portion facing each other (claim 5, first and third wall portion that face each other), and a third wall portion interposed between the first wall portion and the second wall portion (claim 5, second wall portion) and continuous with the first wall portion and the second wall portion (claim 5 recites the first, second, and third wall portions are connected together, therefore the second wall portion, i.e. third wall portion, is continuous with the first and third wall portions), and a cross section of the guide body cut along a direction perpendicular to the depth direction is formed into a U-shape by the first wall portion, the second wall portion, and the third wall portion (claim 5), and the hollow interior of the guide body is part of the upward flow region (claim 5 recites the guide member includes a first, second, and third wall portion that are connected to form a U-shape; therefore, the guide member is interpreted as having a hollow interior, i.e. the hollow portion of the U-shape, that is part of an upward flow region).
Regarding claim 6, App ‘440 fails to recite: wherein the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion includes a gas discharge port configured to discharge gas toward the accommodation portion, and the gas discharge portion opens toward a bottom portion of the accommodation portion.
JP ‘957 teaches wherein the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion includes a gas discharge port (Fig. 1, interpreted as the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31) configured to discharge gas toward the accommodation portion (Fig. 1 and [0026] teaches air is pumped or discharged towards the culture tank 10 via the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31), and the gas discharge port opens toward a bottom portion of the accommodation portion (Fig. 1 teaches the lower port of air connection pipe 21 near element 31 opens towards a bottom portion of the culture tank 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas supply portion of App ‘440 to incorporate JP ‘957’s teachings of a gas discharge port towards a bottom portion of the accommodation portion to provide: wherein the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion includes a gas discharge port configured to discharge gas toward the accommodation portion, and the gas discharge port opens toward a bottom portion of the accommodation portion. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully allowing for introduction of gas to the bottom portion of the accommodation portion to allow for proper circulation of culture medium. Additionally, doing so would be an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)), wherein the particular placement and arrangement of the extended tube portion and gas discharge port would be an obvious matter of design choice in view of JP ‘957.
Regarding claim 7, App ‘440 recites wherein the guide portion includes a deflection portion (claim 1) that directs the gas supplied from the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion in a horizontal direction (claim 1), and the deflection portion is arranged at the upper portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (claim 1).
App ‘440 fails to recite: the deflection portion includes an insertion hole through which the gas supply portion is inserted.
JP ‘957 teaches wherein the guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) includes a deflection portion (Fig. 1, first pipe branch 34, second pipe branch 35, and cross-shaped pipe 33c) that directs the gas supplied from the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion in a horizontal direction (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; Figs. 1-2 and [0026] teaches air bubbles rise through piping 33 to cause culture medium to rise and then flow through cross-shaped pipe 33c and pipe branch sections 34,35 to be blown out from the airlift pipe 30; therefore, the cross-shaped pipe 33c and branches 34,25 are structurally capable of directing gas, i.e. air bubbles, from air connection pipe 21, to the branch sections 34,35 which are in a horizontal direction), and the deflection portion is arranged at the upper portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 teaches the cross-shaped pipe 33c and pipe branch sections 34,35 are at an upper portion of the airlift piping 30), and the deflection portion includes an insertion hole through which the gas supply portion is inserted (Fig. 1 shows cross-shaped pipe 33c including an opening or hole through which air connection pipe 21 is inserted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified deflecting portion of App ‘440 to incorporate JP ‘957’s teachings of a deflection portion with an insertion hole for the gas supply portion to provide: the deflection portion includes an insertion hole through which the gas supply portion is inserted. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully allowing for insertion of the gas supply portion and introduction of gas to the bottom portion of the accommodation portion to allow for proper circulation of culture medium.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Prior Art
Claim 2 is not taught or fairly suggested, alone or in combination, from the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, the closest prior art of JP3203957U (see machine translation; Herein, “JP ‘957”) teaches the culture device according to claim 1 (see above rejection of claim 1), and further teaches wherein the guide portion includes a guide body extending in the depth direction (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30 extends in a depth direction), a wall portion (Figs. 1-3, interpreted as the cylindrical wall of airlift piping 30, which includes the main body of the pipping 33), and the hollow interior of the guide body is part of the upward flow region (Fig. 1 shows a hollow interior of airlift piping 30 is part of the upward flow region).
However, JP ‘957 fails to teach the guide body includes a first wall portion and a second wall portion facing each other, and a third wall portion interposed between the first wall portion and the second wall portion and continuous with the first wall portion and the second wall portion, and a cross section of the guide body cut along a direction perpendicular to the depth direction is formed into a U-shape by the first wall portion, the second wall portion, and the third wall portion. None of the prior art teaches or fairly suggest motivation to have modified JP ‘957 to include the claimed guide body having three wall portions forming a U-shape.
None of the prior art teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, all of the limitations of claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 09/30/2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), specifically regarding claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that JP ‘957 fails to disclose “a culture device for culturing microalgae in a culture solution with a guide portion provided inside an accommodation portion and extending in a depth direction of the accommodation portion, the guide portion includes a hollow interior; a gas supply portion includes an extended tube portion that extends along the guide portion from an upper portion to the lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction, the extended tube portion is arranged in the hollow interior, and the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of the guide portion” (Remarks, pages 7-9), the examiner disagrees.
JP ‘957 teaches:
a culture device (Figs. 1-4; paragraph [0001]) for culturing microalgae in a culture solution (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; [0001],[0016]) with a guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) provided inside an accommodation portion (Fig. 1 teaches airlift piping 30 is provided inside of culture tank 10) and extending in a depth direction of the accommodation portion (Fig. 1 teaches airlift piping 30 extends in a depth direction of the culture tank 10), the guide portion includes a hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0019] teaches airlift piping 30 includes a hollow interior of the cylindrical pipe);
a gas supply portion (Fig. 1, air connection pipe 21 coupled to air pump 20) includes an extended tube portion that extends along the guide portion from an upper portion to the lower portion of the guide portion in the depth direction (Fig. 1 teaches the air connection pipe 21, i.e. extended tube portion, extends along airlift piping 30 from an upper portion, e.g. near element 42, towards a lower portion, i.e. near element 31, in the depth direction),
the extended tube portion is arranged in the hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0018] teaches air connection pipe 21 extends through the inside of the air lift pipe 30), and
the extended tube portion of the gas supply portion is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of the guide portion (Fig. 1 shows the air connection pipe 21 is arranged in the upward flow region along the hollow interior of air lift piping 30).
In response to applicant’s argument that the airlift piping 30 of JP ‘957 is different from the claimed guide portion of claim 1 and the air connection pipe 21 of JP ‘957 is different from the claimed gas supply portion (Remarks, pages 8-9), the examiner disagrees. As discussed above, JP ‘957’s airlift pipe 30 reads on the claimed guide portion and the air lift pipe 30 reads on the claimed gas supply portion.
In response to applicant’s argument that JP ‘957 does not disclose the configuration and advantage of the extended tube portion and the guide portion (Remarks, page 9), the examiner disagrees. JP ‘957 the claimed extended tube portion of the gas supply portion configured to supply gas at the lower portion of the guide portion and extends along the guide portion and is arranged in the upward flow region as claimed (see above rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103; JP ‘957, Fig. 1; [0007],[0018]-[0019],[0027],[0035]).
In response to applicant’s argument that JP ‘957 does not disclose each and every feature of claim 1, especially the guide portion including a hollow interior and a gas portion includes an extended tube portion arranged in the hollow interior (Remarks, page 9), the examiner disagrees. JP ‘957 teaches:
the guide portion (Fig. 1, airlift piping 30) includes a hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0019] teaches airlift piping 30 includes a hollow interior of the cylindrical pipe),
the extended tube portion (Fig. 1 teaches the air connection pipe 21, i.e. extended tube portion, extends along airlift piping 30 from an upper portion, e.g. near element 42, towards a lower portion, i.e. near element 31, in the depth direction) is arranged in the hollow interior (Fig. 1 and [0018] teaches air connection pipe 21 extends through the inside of the air lift pipe 30).
It is suggested to incorporate all of the limitations of claim 2 into claim 1 to differentiate claim 1 from the prior art.
Applicant's arguments, see page 9, filed 09/30/2026, with respect to the double patenting rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. However, in view of the amended claims, new grounds of rejections necessitated by amendments are made over copending Application No. 18/845,440 (herein, “App ‘440”) in view of JP3203957U (see machine translation; Herein, “JP ‘957”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758