DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
“communications means”
1, 17
No clear structure
“connection means”
1, 17
Plug connectors and functional equivalents [0009] & [0038]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “communication means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Furthermore, claim 24 recites “a mutual check”. It is unclear what is meant by a “mutual check” and the specification does not shed light on the meaning.
Claims 1-24 have been found indefinite for reciting the 112(f) limitation "communication means" in claims 1 and 17 for which there is not adequate structure disclosed for performing the corresponding function of "for communication with the battery system and further battery modules in the battery system"; therefore there is a lack of written description since an indefinite unbounded functional limitation would cover all ways of performing a function, known and unknown, and would indicate that the inventor has not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14, 16-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheucher US PGPUB 2008/0053716.
Regarding claim 1, Scheucher discloses an autonomously operable battery module for a battery system of a satellite or spacecraft [par. 218; the modular battery system of fig. 1 can be used in a spacecraft], with a carrier board on which a plurality of battery cells and operating components for temperature control of the battery cells charge balancing between the battery cells and for monitoring the battery cells are arranged [figs. 1, 1C-1H & 5; shelves 103 hold for the battery cells 102; the shelves 103 hold battery interface circuits (“140, 141, 142, 143”) as well as the other components including controller for temperature (i.e. 495 which controls the fans according to temperature measurements, par. 220) individual interface circuits for each battery are on 110, with a processor 495 that controls temperature and balances charge status of the cells (“equalize…electrical status”, “equality in charge”); pars. 126, 133, 214, 216, 220, 226-227, 266 & 371],
wherein communication means are also present on the carrier board for communication with the battery system and further battery modules in the battery system [pars. 222, 225, 227-228, 230 & 248-249; the interface circuit of fig. 5 includes communication means like the information bus], and
connection means for electrical series and/or parallel coupling with one or more
other similar battery modules are arranged on the carrier board [pars. 71, 90, 169 & 379; the cells can be connected in series or parallel or both].
Regarding claim 2, Scheucher discloses wherein the carrier board has first and second holding devices and the battery cells are clamped between a first and a second holding device [figs. 1C, 1G & 2; pars. 218, 221, 226, 229; the batteries are held by supports 105 and clamped in between the supports using a spring-loaded locking mechanism that uses the recess 106 as a lock].
Regarding claim 3, Scheucher discloses wherein one of the first holding devices is arranged on opposite side edges of the carrier board [fig. 1C, on the opposite side of the carrier board (i.e. the bottom carrier board; fig. 1)].
Regarding claim 4, Scheucher discloses wherein the second holding devices are arranged between the first holding devices [fig. 1C, a plurality of second holding devices 105 are central between holding device 105 on side edges of the carrier device (like the second and fourth support 105 for example or as in fig. 2A)].
Regarding claim 5, Scheucher discloses wherein the battery cells are arranged lying on the carrier board [figs. 1-1D, cells 102 are the shelves 103].
Regarding claim 6, Scheucher discloses wherein the battery cells are arranged next to one another [fig. 1] and/or one behind one another with respect to their longitudinal axis, wherein the battery cells on the carrier board are electrically interconnected or can be interconnected in parallel and/or series [pars. 71, 90, 169 & 379; the cells can be connected in series or parallel or both].
Regarding claim 7, Scheucher discloses wherein structural elements are arranged at least in regions between adjacent battery cells, which elements are designed for passive temperature control of the battery cells, wherein the structural elements are adapted, at least in regions, to an external shape of the battery cells [fig. 1-1A & 1C; spacer 105 separate the batteries and allow for passive temperature control by passively reducing the heat radiating from one battery to another, they are shaped to fit the battery cells].
Regarding claim 8, Scheucher discloses wherein the structural elements are integrated into the holding devices [fig. 1-1A & 1C; spacer 105 is the holding device, thus integrated into].
Regarding claim 9, Scheucher discloses wherein the carrier board has one or more heating elements [figs. 1-1D; the battery cells can be used as heating elements; pars. 298 & 356].
Regarding claim 10, Scheucher discloses wherein one heating element is respectively provided for simultaneously heating at least two adjacent battery cells on the carrier board [fig. 1, when four battery cells are on the shelf, one of the two middle cells acts as a heating element for the others].
Regarding claim 11, Scheucher discloses wherein the carrier board has one or more temperature sensors which are provided for thermally contacting the battery cells [fig. 1I; temperature sensor 144 on 103; par. 230].
Regarding claim 12, Scheucher discloses wherein connection poles of the battery cells are electrically connected to current paths of the carrier board by means of cell connectors [par. 228, battery contacts connected to carrier board 103 via 131a/132a].
Regarding claim 13, Scheucher discloses wherein the carrier board has at least one unit for monitoring and balancing the charge of the battery cells in at least one free space between the battery cells [pars. 226 & 371; the cells are monitored and balanced using the interface circuits illustrated in fig. 5; the interface circuit 142 is in a free space in between the cells which would be attached to interface circuits 141 and 143].
Regarding claim 14, Scheucher discloses wherein the carrier board has at least one regulation and and/or control device in at least one free space between the battery cells for controlling a charging and discharging operation of the battery cells [pars. 69, 126, 226 & 371; the cells are monitored and balanced (controlled/regulated using the interface circuits illustrated in fig. 5; the interface circuit 142 is in a free space in between the cells which would be attached to interface circuits 141 and 143].
Regarding claim 16, Scheucher discloses wherein the first and second holding devices of the carrier board are designed for mechanical connection to a carrier board of a further battery module stacked above it and/or to a termination board.
Regarding claim 17, Scheucher discloses a battery system of a satellite or spacecraft [par. 218; the modular battery system of fig. 1 can be used in a spacecraft], with at least two autonomously operable battery modules wherein the at least two battery modules are constructed identically and each have a carrier board on which a plurality of battery cells and operating components for temperature control of the battery cells, for charge balancing between the battery cells and for monitoring the battery cells are arranged [fig. 60; pars. 14, 27 & 234-235; a plurality of the modular battery devices can be combined to scale the size of the power system; figs. 1, 1C-1H & 5; shelves 103 hold for the battery cells 102; the shelves 103 hold battery interface circuits (“140, 141, 142, 143”) as well as the other components including controller for temperature (i.e. 495 which controls the fans according to temperature measurements, par. 220) individual interface circuits for each battery are on 110, with a processor 495 that controls temperature and balances charge status of the cells (“equalize…electrical status”, “equality in charge”); pars. 126, 133, 214, 216, 220, 226-227, 266 & 371],
wherein communication means are also present on the carrier board for communication with the battery system and the at least one further battery module in the battery system [pars. 341-342; a hierarchical arrangement of modular battery devices can be formed with management being performed by a gateway device, thus communication means in each of the devices is present; pars. 222, 294 & 296; fig. 4C; the interface circuit of the modular devices includes a serial interface as well as an ethernet device]
wherein the at least two battery modules are electrically coupled in series and/or
parallel by means of connection means which are arranged on the carrier board [pars. 71, 90, 169 & 379; the cells can be connected in series or parallel or both].
Regarding claim 18, Scheucher discloses wherein the at least two battery modules are arranged in a battery housing, in particular wherein at least one of the battery modules is completed with a termination board which is arranged on a holding device of the at least one battery module, in particular wherein the topmost battery module in a stacking direction is completed with the termination board [fig. 1; a plurality of the battery modules in a box (thus termination boards on the top and sides near at least one battery module)].
Regarding claim 19, Scheucher discloses wherein the battery housing has respective holders for fixing to a mounting plate and/or wherein the battery housing has at least one electrical plug connector for power supply and/or for transmitting data [fig. 2L; pars. 46-47,120 & 243; power receptacles 255].
Regarding claim 20, Scheucher discloses wherein the termination board has at least one electrical connection for an onboard data connection and/or an electrical connection for programming a regulation and/or control device [figs. 1D-1H; par. 227; the interface circuits with data, control and electrical connections can be on the termination board 110 which is on one side of the rack (fig. 1D)].
Regarding claim 21, Scheucher discloses a method for operating a battery system with at least two autonomously operable battery modules [fig. 60; pars. 14, 27 & 234-235; a plurality of the modular battery devices can be combined to scale the size of the power system; figs. 1, 1C-1H & 5; shelves 103 hold for the battery cells 102; the shelves 103 hold battery interface circuits (“140, 141, 142, 143”) as well as the other components including controller for temperature (i.e. 495 which controls the fans according to temperature measurements, par. 220) individual interface circuits for each battery are on 110, with a processor 495 that controls temperature and balances charge status of the cells (“equalize…electrical status”, “equality in charge”); pars. 126, 133, 214, 216, 220, 226-227, 266 & 371], wherein end-of-charge voltages of the battery cells of battery modules are selected according to operating parameters [pars. 67-68 & 266; nominal “fully charged” voltages are selected according to the battery type] and/or are set by means of a unit for monitoring and balancing the charge of battery cells of at least one battery module.
Regarding claim 23, Scheucher discloses wherein a charging and discharging operation of the battery cells is controlled and/or regulated by means of distributed communication with regulation and and/or control devices of the individual battery modules [pars. 213, 220, 227, 230, 235, 239, 245, 248 & 250; charging and discharging is regulated by control signals].
Regarding claim 24, Scheucher discloses wherein a mutual check of the individual battery modules is carried out via the regulation and/or control devices of the battery modules [pars. 28-32, 213, 220, 227, 230, 235, 239, 245-246, 248 & 250; the controller check the voltages and statuses of the respective modules].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheucher US PGPUB 2008/0053716 in view of in view of Niedzwiecki et al. US PGPUB 2022/0311081
Regarding claim 15, Scheucher does not explicitly disclose wherein the carrier board has at least one CAN transceiver in at least one free space between the battery cells for communication with other battery modules and/or the battery system.
However, Niedzwiecki discloses a spacecraft battery system [par. 335; fig. 1A & 24A] wherein the carrier board has at least one CAN transceiver in at least one free space between the battery cells for communication with other battery modules and/or the battery system [fig. 24A; CAN bus 515 between sets of battery cells ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scheucher to further include wherein the carrier board has at least one CAN transceiver in at least one free space between the battery cells for communication with other battery modules and/or the battery system for the purpose of communicating information, as taught by Niedzwiecki (pars. 231, 238 & 245).
Regarding claim 22, Scheucher discloses wherein external communication of the battery system and/or an internal communication between the battery modules is carried out via at least one CAN network.
However, Niedzwiecki discloses a spacecraft battery system [par. 335; fig. 1A & 24A] wherein external communication of the battery system and/or an internal communication between the battery modules is carried out via at least one CAN network [fig. 24A; CAN bus 515 between sets of battery cells].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Scheucher to further include wherein external communication of the battery system and/or an internal communication between the battery modules is carried out via at least one CAN network for the purpose of communicating information, as taught by Niedzwiecki (pars. 231, 238 & 245).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Burke US PGPUB 2017/0141369 discloses a battery system for a space station.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859