DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 15-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Specifically claims 1, 6, 8, and 10 have been amended to require “determining a common power level … for the set of terminal devices based at least in part on the received information”. The instant specification makes no mention of determining a common power level based on measurements, and the cited paragraphs instead describe "As no information of terminal device properties may not be available at this phase, the (e/g)NodeB, may be configured to set the transmission power of the wireless power transfer transmission assuming the worst case: the minimum of the upper bounds of receiving power windows/categories for all standardized energy harvesting terminal devices, which represents the highest applicable receiving power at the initial deployment stage for each beam in the beam grid". For examination purposes Examiner will be interpreting the claim as requiring applying a worst case power transmission before information is received.
Further dependent claims 2-5, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, and 18-21 are rejected as they inherit the deficiencies of their base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 13-15, 6-8, 16-18, 10-12, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takabayashi et al. (US 2022/0094212).
Takabayashi discloses:
In regard to claim 1: (Currently Amended)
An apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10) in a communication system (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 1), comprising: at least one processor (Figs. 1, 2, 4 Items 12 & 32);and at least one memory (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 11) common power level of wireless power transfer transmission (Fig. 2 Item 10 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. minimum power or common test beam) for the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) based at least in part on the received information (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]); and control the wireless power transfer transmission based on the determination (Figs . 1, and 9 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]).
In regard to claim 3: (Currently Amended)
The apparatus of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10),wherein the information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission comprises a power conversion window category of the terminal device (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0127], [0151], and [0157]), the power conversion window category denoting the capability of the terminal device to receive wireless power transfer transmission (Figs. 1 & 8 and Par. [0118]).
In regard to claim 4: (Previously Presented)
The apparatus of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10), wherein the
In regard to claim 13: (Previously Presented)
The apparatus of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10), wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 12 & Par. [0036]), cause the apparatus further to: receive from each terminal device (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] and Pars. [0153-0154]) in the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) information on power level of a transmission received with the terminal device; and determine power level of wireless power transfer transmission for the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) based at least in part on the received information (Figs 1, 8 & 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0043], [0142-0143], [0157] and [0180]).
In regard to claim 14: (Canceled)
In regard to claim 15: (Previously Presented)
The apparatus of claim 20(Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10), wherein the information is received from each terminal device of the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] and Pars. [0153-0154]); and the determined power level is a minimum of the received upper thresholds (Figs. 1, 2 & 29 Items 10, 30, (Modules 1-3) & Pars. [0154] and [0312-0313]).
In regard to claim 6: (Currently Amended)
An apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10) in a communication system (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 1), comprising: at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 12); and at least one memory (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 11) storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 12 & Par. [0036]), cause the apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10) to: transmit to a network element (Figs. 1 Item 30) information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission of the apparatus (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0127], [0151], and [0157]),wherein the information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission comprises a lower and an upper threshold for a power level (Fig. 9 Items s110, s111, s112, S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0126-0127] i.e. a minimum and maximum power range value and {0141-0142] and [0154]) for consideration by the network element (Figs. 1 Items 30 and S130) in determining a common power level of wireless power transfer transmission (Fig. 2 Item 10 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. minimum power or common test beam) for a set of Apparatus including the apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10 & Par. [0050]); and control reception of the wireless power transfer transmission (Figs . 1, and 9 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]).
In regard to claim 7: (Currently Amended)
The apparatus of claim 6 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10), wherein the information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission comprises a power conversion window category of the apparatus (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0127], [0151], and [0157]), the power conversion window category denoting the capability of the apparatus to receive wireless power transfer transmission (Figs. 1 & 8 and Par. [0118]).
In regard to claim 20: (Currently Amended)
The apparatus of claim 7 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10), wherein the power conversion window category comprises a first category indicating an energy harvesting device category (Figs. 1 & 8 and Pars. [0016-0119] i.e. energy harvesting categories) and a second category indicating that the apparatus does not support energy harvesting (Figs. 1 & 8 and Pars. [0016-0119] i.e. outside of those defined energy harvesting categories).
In regard to claim 16: (Previously Presented)
The apparatus of claim 6 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10), wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 12 & Par. [0036]), cause the apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10) further to: transmit to a network element (Fig. 1 Item 30) information on power level of wireless power transfer transmission received with the apparatus (Figs 1, 8 & 9 and Pars. [0043] and [0142-0143]).
In regard to claim 17: (Cancelled)
In regard to claim 8: (Currently Amended)
A method in an apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10) in a communication system (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 1), comprising: receiving from a set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission requested with the terminal devices, (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0127], [0151], and [0157]) wherein the information on power conversion window of a wireless power transfer transmission from each terminal device (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) in the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) comprises a lower and an upper threshold for a power level (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0126-0127] i.e. a minimum and maximum power range value and [0154]); determining a common power level of wireless power transfer transmission (Fig. 2 Item 10 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. minimum power or common test beam) for the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) based at least in part on the received information (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]); and controlling the wireless power transfer transmission based on the determination (Figs . 1, and 9 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]).
In regard to claim 18: (Previously Presented)
The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving from each terminal device (Figs. 1 Item 30) in the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) information on power level of a transmission requested with the terminal device (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]); and determining power level of wireless power transfer transmission for the set of terminal devices (Figs. 1, 29 & 30 Item 30 and Par. [0049] i.e. a plurality of reception apparatuses) based at least in part on the received information (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]).
In regard to claim 12: (Previously Presented)
A non-transitory program storage device (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 11)readable with an apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Items 10 & 12), tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus to cause the apparatus to perform the method of claim 8 (Figs. 1 & 2 Items 10, 11 and 12).
In regard to claim 10: (Currently Amended)
A method in an apparatus (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10) in a communication system(Figs. 1 & 2 Item 1), comprising: transmitting to a network element information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission of the apparatus (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0127], [0151], and [0157]), wherein the information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission comprises a lower and an upper threshold for a power level (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0126-0127] i.e. a minimum and maximum power range value and [0154]) for consideration by the network element in determining a common power level of wireless power transfer transmission (Fig. 2 Item 10 and Pars. [0043-0044] i.e. minimum power or common test beam) for a set of apparatuses including the apparatus; and controlling reception of the wireless power transfer transmission (Figs . 1, and 9 & Pars. [0157] and [0180]).
In regard to claim 11: (Currently Amended)
The method of claim 10, wherein the information on power conversion window of wireless power transfer transmission comprises a power conversion window category of the apparatus (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0127], [0151], and [0157]), the power conversion window category denoting the capability of the apparatus to receive wireless power transfer transmission (Figs. 1 & 8 and Par. [0118]).
In regard to claim 21: (Currently Amended)
The method of claim 11, wherein the power conversion window category comprises a first category indicating an energy harvesting device category (Figs. 1 & 8 and Pars. [0016-0119] i.e. energy harvesting categories) and a second category indicating that the apparatus does not support energy harvesting (Figs. 1 & 8 and Pars. [0016-0119] i.e. outside of those defined energy harvesting categories).
In regard to claim 19: (Previously Presented)
The method of claim 10, further comprising: transmitting to a network element (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 30) information on power level of wireless power transfer transmission received with the apparatus (Figs. 1 & 8 and Par. [0118]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi et al. (US 2022/0094212) in view of Khan et al. (US 2018/0109150).
In regard to claim 2: (Previously Presented)
Takabayashi discloses the apparatus of claim 13 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10) including wherein the information on power level of a transmission received with the set of terminal devices (Fig. 1 Item 30 & Par. [0049]) relates to at least one of wireless power transfer transmission (Fig. 9 Items S131, S111, S112 & Pars. [0127], [0151], and [0157]) signaling, or data transmission.
However Takabayashi is vague in its disclosure of the terminal devices receiving wireless power, signaling or data transmission from a base station.
Khan teaches the sending of a wireless energy transfer signal (WET) from a base station to a receiving device (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 110 and claim 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have combined the known joint selection of Antennas and transmission power level for wireless energy transfer as taught by Khan with the known power control method of Takabayashi as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of maximizing energy transfer efficiency (Khan: Pars [0011-0012]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi et al. (US 2022/0094212).
In regard to claim 5: (Previously Presented)
Takabayashi discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 10), including a processor (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 12) and the terminal device (Fig 1 Item 30).
However, Takabayashi does not explicitly disclose calculating the threshold limits according to: the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, causing the apparatus further to: determine, based on information on power level of the transmission received with at least one terminal device, pathloss of the at least one terminal device, wherein the information comprises a beam index of a beam j the at least one terminal device is receiving; determine the power level P of wireless power transfer transmission for the beam j as
P=min
,I E B. where W is the higher threshold for the power level of the power conversion window of terminal device i PLi is the pathloss for the terminal device I and B is the set containing all terminal devices associated with the beam j.
However, deriving mathematical formula based on the relationship of variable is a known practice in the art, in this case the relationship between the different power levels of the wireless power transfer transmission for the beam. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to come up with the similar mathematical formula to calculate the power threshold levels since it is just the known practice in the art.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takabayashi et al. (US 2022/0094212) in view of Khan et al. (US 2018/0109150).
In regard to claim 9: (Previously Presented)
Takabayashi discloses the method of claim 1
However Takabayashi is vague in its disclosure of the terminal device receiving wireless power, signaling or data transmission from a base station.
Khan teaches the sending of a wireless energy transfer signal (WET) from a base station to a receiving device (Figs. 1 & 2 Item 110 and claim 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to have combined the known joint selection of Antennas and transmission power level for wireless energy transfer as taught by Khan with the known power control method of Takabayashi as doing so would have yielded the predictable results of maximizing energy transfer efficiency (Khan: Pars [0011-0012]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the amendments made overcome the Takabayashi reference, specifically "determine a common power level ... for the set of terminal devices based at least in part on the received information".
Examiner Disagrees, the above limitation does not appear to be disclosed within Applicants specification and figures of record, and appears to be new matter. Further Examiner reminds Applicant that the reference is to be taken in its entirety. Therefore Examiner has clarified the rejection of claims 1-13, 15, 16, & 18-21 above in light of the new amendments, showing how Takabayashi teaches a common power transmission, as a minimum powered test beam. At this time claims 1-13, 15, 16, & 18-21 stand rejected as the dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of their base claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please See attached form PTO-892.
MW
3/20/2026
/DANIEL C PUENTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849