DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2024, 04/14/2025, and 12/26/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 8-9, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the term “and/or” recited in line 6 renders the scope of the claim indefinite, as it is unclear as to whether the third indication information indicates a relationship between the eighth value and the seventh value to the network side device when the first information comprises the fourth threshold, a relationship between the ninth value and the tenth value to the network side device when the first information comprises the fifth threshold, or both. For examination purposes, the term will be interpreted as “or”.
Regarding claim 8, the term “and/or” in line 8 renders the scope of the claim indefinite, as it is unclear as to whether each RA procedure entry comprises at least one of an identity (ID) of a serving cell when the terminal initiates a random access channel (RACH), a reason why the terminal initiates the RACH, a first threshold, a second threshold, a third threshold, a first timer, or related information of the RACH, each RA procedure entry comprises at least one of a fourth threshold, a fifth threshold, first indication information, or second indication information, or both. For examination purposes, the term will be interpreted as “or”.
Regarding claim 9, the term “and/or” in line 9 renders the scope of the claim indefinite, as it is unclear as to whether the fourth indication information, the fifth indication information, or both are transmitted through radio resource control (RRC) signaling. For examination purposes, the term will be interpreted as “or”.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Agiwal et al. (US 2022/0022266 A1), hereinafter referred to as Agiwal.
Regarding claim 1, Agiwal teaches an information reporting method (Agiwal – Paragraph [0010], note a method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system is provided, the method includes in case that a random access procedure for small data transmission (SDT)), comprising:
reporting, by a terminal, first information to a network side device (Agiwal – Fig. 11; Paragraph [0328], note 2 step RA for SDT, in operation 1101, the UE may transmit, to the gNB, random access preamble), wherein
the first information is information when the terminal executes a random access small data transmission (RA SDT) procedure (Agiwal – Fig. 11; Paragraph [0329], note in operation 1101, in the MsgA payload, the UE may transmit full/short I-RNTI (resumeIdentity), ResumeMAC-I, Uplink data size included in RRC message/MAC CE to the last serving gNB on SRB 0).
Regarding claim 2, Agiwal teaches wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
an identity (ID) of a serving cell that the terminal is in when the terminal initiates a random access channel (RACH); a reason why the terminal initiates the RACH; related information of the RACH; a first threshold, indicating a data volume threshold when the terminal executes the RA SDT procedure; a second threshold, indicating a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold when the terminal executes the RA SDT procedure; a third threshold, indicating an RSRP threshold when the terminal executes the RA SDT procedure based on a 2-step random access procedure (2-step RACH); a fourth threshold, indicating an RSRP threshold when the terminal selects a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the 2-step RACH procedure to execute the RA SDT procedure; a fifth threshold, indicating an RSRP threshold when the terminal selects an SSB based on a 4-step RACH procedure to execute the RA SDT procedure; first indicating information, indicating whether a guide code selected by the terminal when executing the RA SDT procedure belongs to a group A or a group B; second indication information, indicating that the terminal has received a first command sent by the network side device, wherein the first command indicates the terminal to convert from an SDT procedure to a non-SDT procedure; or a first timer, indicating a time length for executing the RA SDT procedure by the terminal (Agiwal – Paragraph [0072], note if there is no SSB/CSI RS having DL RSRP above a threshold amongst the SSBs/CSI RSs for which contention free random access resources (i.e. dedicated preambles/ROs/PUSCH resources) are provided by the gNB, the UE select non dedicated preamble, 2 step CFRA, 2 step CBRA; Paragraph [0073], note RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL: the UE select the SUL carrier for performing Random Access procedure, the UE then determines whether to perform 2 step or 4 step RACH for this random access procedure; Paragraph [0124], note RA initiated for reasons (e.g. initial access, handover, beam failure recovery, SI acquisition, RRC Re-establishment, etc.); Paragraph [0188], note UE initiates RRC connection resumption for small data transmission when criteria to perform small data transmission is met (e.g. RSRP is above a threshold and available data volume for transmission is smaller than a threshold); Paragraph [0192], note UE may also stop the timer started upon initiation of SDT procedure; Paragraph [0302], note MsgA MAC PDU includes Resume Identity (full/short I-RNTI, whether to transmit full or short I-RNTI is indicated by the gNB in system information or RRCRelease message)).
Regarding claim 3, Agiwal teaches wherein the ID of the serving cell comprises at least one of the following:
an NR cell global identifier (NCGI); or an ID of a physical cell (Agiwal – Paragraph [0102], note the I-RNTI (short or full I-RNTI) is used for context identification and a value of the I-RNTI shall be the same as a value of the I-RNTI that the UE had received from the last serving gNB; Paragraph [0108], note source PCI (set to the physical cell identity of the PCell the UE was connected to));
wherein in a case that the ID of the serving cell comprises the ID of the physical cell, the first information further comprises frequency information corresponding to the physical cell (Agiwal – Paragraph [0062], note RA-RNTI identifies the time-frequency resource occasion in which RA preamble was detected by the gNB; Paragraph [0329], note the UE may transmit full/short I-RNTI (resumeIdentity), ResumeMAC-I, Uplink data size included in RRC message/MAC CE).
Regarding claim 4, Agiwal teaches wherein the related information of the RACH comprises at least one of the following:
an absolute frequency position of a reference resource block; a frequency domain position and a bandwidth of a bandwidth part (BWP) associated with a random access resource used by the terminal; a sub-carrier spacing of the BWP associated with the random access resource used by the terminal; a time frequency resource of Msg 1; a time frequency resource of a Msg A; or information recorded by the terminal each time the terminal attempts to initiate the RACH procedure (Agiwal – Paragraph [0060], note the subcarrier spacing can be ordered to change, in RRC connected state, the UE is configured with one or more DL and UL BWPs, for each configured Serving Cell (i.e. PCell or SCell); Paragraph [0062], note s_id is the index of the first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the PRACH occasion where the UE has transmitted Msg1, ul_carrier_id is the UL carrier used for Msg1 transmission; Paragraph [0071], note the gNB assigns to the UE dedicated random access preamble (s) and PUSCH resource(s) for MsgA transmission; Paragraph [0073], note upon selecting the UL carrier, the UE determines the UL and DL BWP for random access procedure);
wherein the information recorded by the terminal each time the terminal attempts to initiate the RACH procedure comprises at least one of the following:
an index of an SSB corresponding to a random access attempt; an index of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) corresponding to the random access attempt; an index of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) corresponding to the random access attempt; measurement information of the CSI-RS corresponding to the random access attempt; measurement information of the SSB corresponding to the random access attempt; or measurement information of the PBCH corresponding to the random access attempt (Agiwal – Paragraph [0065], note during first step of random access i.e. during random access resource selection for Msg1 transmission the UE determines whether to transmit dedicated preamble or non dedicated preamble, dedicated preambles are typically provided for a subset of SSBs/CSI RSs; Paragraph [0070], note the MsgA payload may include SSB information, the control information may include SSB ID(s)).
Regarding claim 5, Agiwal teaches wherein the first threshold comprises at least one of the following:
a first value, wherein the first value is the data volume threshold, and the first value for determining whether the terminal executes the RA SDT; a second value, wherein the second value is a sum of data volumes of to-be-transmitted data, and the to-be-transmitted data is data corresponding to a data radio bearer (DRB) configured with SDT on the terminal; or a difference between the first value and the second value (Agiwal – Paragraph [0188], note the UE initiates RRC connection resumption for small data transmission when criteria to perform small data transmission is met (e.g. RSRP is above a threshold and available data volume for transmission is smaller than a threshold)); or
the second threshold comprises at least one of the following:
a third value, wherein the third value is the RSRP threshold, and the third value is for determining whether the terminal executes the RA SDT; a fourth value, wherein the fourth value is an RSRP value measured by the terminal when executing the RA SDT; or a difference between the third value and the fourth value (Agiwal – Paragraph [0073], note if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL: the UE selects the SUL carrier for performing Random Access procedure; Paragraph [0188], note the UE initiates RRC connection resumption for small data transmission when criteria to perform small data transmission is met (e.g. RSRP is above a threshold and available data volume for transmission is smaller than a threshold)); or
the third threshold comprises at least one of the following:
a fifth value, wherein the fifth value is the data volume threshold, and the fifth value is for determining whether the terminal executes the RA SDT based on the 2-step RACH; a sixth value, wherein the sixth value is an RSRP value measured by the terminal when executing the RA SDT; or a difference between the fifth value and the sixth value (Agiwal – Paragraph [0212], note the UE may initiate RRC connection resumption for the small data transmission when criteria (e.g. RSRP is above a threshold and available data volume for transmission is smaller than a threshold), the UE may initiate 2 step RA procedure for the small data transmission); or
the fourth threshold comprises at least one of the following:
a seventh value, wherein the seventh value is a threshold for screening SSBs when the terminal executes the RA SDT procedure based on the 2-step RACH; an eighth value, wherein the eighth value is an RSRP value obtained through measurement of the terminal based on a selected SSB; or a difference between the seventh value and the eighth value (Agiwal – Paragraph [0072], note SSB/CSI RS having DL RSRP above a threshold, 2 step CFRA, 2 step CBRA; Paragraph [0073], note if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL: the UE select the SUL carrier for performing Random Access procedure, the UE then determines whether to perform 2 step or 4 step RACH for this random access procedure; Paragraph [0189], note the UE may identify an SSB from SSBs transmitted in camped cell, the identified SSB is the one whose SS-RSRP is above a threshold); or
the fifth threshold comprises at least one of the following:
a ninth value, wherein the ninth value is a threshold for screening SSBs when the terminal executes the RA SDT procedure based on the 4-step RACH; a tenth value, wherein the tenth value is an RSRP value obtained through measurement of the terminal based on a selected SSB; or a difference between the ninth value and the tenth value (Agiwal – Paragraph [0073], note if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is less than rsrp-ThresholdSSB-SUL: the UE select the SUL carrier for performing Random Access procedure, the UE then determines whether to perform 2 step or 4 step RACH for this random access procedure; Paragraph [0189], note the UE may identify an SSB from SSBs transmitted in camped cell, the identified SSB is the one whose SS-RSRP is above a threshold); or
the first command comprises at least one of the following:
a medium access control (MAC) random access response (RAR); a fallback RAR; or a downlink control information (DCI) (Agiwal – Paragraph [0142], note fallbackRAR received in MsgB; Paragraph [0217], note the UE may receive, from the gNB, UL grant in fallbackRAR; Paragraph [0242], note DCI may include an indication to switch to non-SDT (DCI is in PDCCH addressed to RA-RNTI)).
Regarding claim 7, Agiwal teaches wherein a length of the first timer is determined based on at least on of the following:
a timing length of a second timer, wherein the second timer is configured to determine whether the RA SDT fails; a timing length of a third timer, wherein the start time of the third timer is determined based on transmission time of a radio resource control (RRC) resume request, end time of the third timer is determined based on receiving time of second information or cell reselection time, and the second information comprises at least one of an RRC resume message, an RRC setup Setup message, an RRC releasemessage, an RRC release with suspend configure Release with suspend Configure message, an RRC message, or a non access stratum (NAS) connection establishment interruption indication; and a difference between the timing length of the second timer and the timing length of the third timer (Agiwal – Paragraph [0063], note contention resolution timer, if contention resolution is considered successful, contention resolution timer is stopped and the RA procedure is completed, If the contention resolution timer expires and the UE has not yet transmitted the RA preamble for a configurable number of times, the UE goes back to first step i.e. select random access resource (preamble/RACH occasion) and transmits the RA preamble; Paragraph [0085], note I-RNTI that the UE had received from the last serving gNB in the RRCRelease with suspendConfig message; Paragraph [0141], note if RAR window expiry or contention resolution timer expiry occurs before performing preamble retransmission, the UE may select a random backoff time, after the backoff time, the UE may perform preamble retransmission; Paragraph [0175], note in the case where RAR window expiry or contention resolution timer expiry occurs, if the random access procedure is not initiated for the SDT and the UE has not yet performed the maximum number of allowed RA attempts, the UE may select a random backoff time; Paragraph [0192], note the UE may also stop the timer started upon initiation of SDT procedure and start the timer for connection resume procedure);
wherein that the second timer is configured to determine whether the RA SDT fails comprises:
starting the second timer in a case that the terminal transmits the RRC resume request; and determining, in a case that the second timer times out, that the execution of the RA SDT fails, and executing a predetermined timeout behavior (Agiwal – Paragraph [0063], note if the contention resolution timer expires and the UE has not yet transmitted the RA preamble for a configurable number of times, the UE goes back to first step i.e. select random access resource (preamble/RACH occasion) and transmits the RA preamble; Paragraph [0064], note if the RAR window expires and the RA is not successfully completed and the UE has not yet transmitted the RA preamble for a configurable (configured by the gNB in RACH configuration) number of times, the UE retransmits the RA preamble; Paragraph [0141], note if RAR window expiry or contention resolution timer expiry occurs before performing preamble retransmission, the UE may select a random backoff time, after the backoff time, the UE may perform preamble retransmission; Paragraph [0175], note in the case where RAR window expiry or contention resolution timer expiry occurs, if the random access procedure is not initiated for the SDT and the UE has not yet performed the maximum number of allowed RA attempts, the UE may select a random backoff time; Paragraph [0192], note the UE may also stop the timer started upon initiation of SDT procedure and start the timer for connection resume procedure).
Regarding claim 9, Agiwal teaches wherein before the reporting, by a terminal, first information to a network side device, the method further comprises:
sending, by the terminal, fourth indication information to the network side device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates that the terminal stores the first information (Agiwal – Paragraph [0102], note the I-RNTI (short or full I-RNTI) is used for context identification and a value of the I-RNTI shall be the same as a value of the I-RNTI that the UE had received from the last serving gNB in the RRCRelease with suspendConfig message); and
the reporting, by a terminal, first information to a network side device comprises:
reporting, by the terminal, the first information to the network side device in a case that fifth indication information sent by the network side device is received (Agiwal – Fig. 11; Paragraph [0328], note 2 step RA for SDT; Paragraph [0329], note in operation 1101, in the MsgA payload, the UE may transmit full/short I-RNTI (resumeIdentity), ResumeMAC-I, Uplink data size included in RRC message/MAC CE to the last serving gNB on SRB 0);
wherein the fourth indication information or the fifth indication information is transmitted through radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Agiwal – Paragraph [0101], note in the MsgA payload, the UE may transmit an RRCResumeRequest/RRCResumeRequestl to the gNB (same as the last serving GNB) on SRB 0).
Regarding claim 11, Agiwal teaches an information reporting method (Agiwal – Paragraph [0012], note a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system is provided, the method includes in case that a random access procedure for small data transmission (SDT)), comprising:
receiving, by a network side device, first information, wherein the first information is information when a terminal executes a random access small data transmission (RA SDT) procedure (Agiwal – Fig. 11; Paragraph [0328], note 2 step RA for SDT; Paragraph [0329], note in operation 1101, in the MsgA payload, the UE may transmit full/short I-RNTI (resumeIdentity), ResumeMAC-I, Uplink data size included in RRC message/MAC CE to the last serving gNB on SRB 0); and
sending, by the network side device, the first information to a target network device, wherein the target network device is a network device corresponding to a serving cell in which the RA SDT procedure occurs (Agiwal – Paragraph [0339], note the gNB (i.e. target gNB) may identify the gNB identity of last serving gNB (i.e., source gNB) from I-RNTI and request the last serving gNB to provide the UE's context data by sending an Retrieve UE Context Request with the following included: I-RNTI, the ResumeMAC-I and target Cell-ID).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Lei et al. (US 2021/0195654 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lei.
Regarding claim 10, Agiwal does not teach wherein the reporting, by a terminal, first information to a network side device, the method further comprises: reporting, by the terminal a first capability to the network side device, wherein the first capability comprises at least one of the following: a capability of the terminal to execute the 4-step RACH; a capability of the terminal to execute the 2-step RACH; or a capability of the terminal to execute the RA SDT or the SDT; or before the reporting, by a terminal, first information to a network side device, the method further comprises: determining, by the terminal, the first information based on target configuration information, wherein at least one of the following is configured in the target configuration information: whether the terminal enables recording of the first information; information about a region in which the terminal is allowed to record the first information; or a quantity of RA procedure entries allowed to be comprised in the first information, and a quantity of RA attempt entries comprised in each RA procedure entry.
In an analogous art, Lei teaches wherein the reporting, by a terminal, first information to a network side device, the method further comprises:
reporting, by the terminal a first capability to the network side device (Lei – Fig. 5; Paragraph [0078], note UE 502 may transmit, to the base station 504, an indication of a UE capability of the UE, e.g., indication 544), wherein the first capability comprises at least one of the following:
a capability of the terminal to execute the 4-step RACH; a capability of the terminal to execute the 2-step RACH; or a capability of the terminal to execute the RA SDT or the SDT (Lei – Fig. 5; Paragraph [0079], note if the indication of the UE capability is transmitted during the RACH procedure, the indication may correspond to a message A (msgA) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) when the RACH procedure is a 2-step RACH procedure, or a message 3 (msg3) and a message 5 (msg5) PUSCH when the RACH procedure is a 4-step RACH procedure); or
before the reporting, by a terminal, first information to a network side device, the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal, the first information based on target configuration information, wherein
at least one of the following is configured in the target configuration information:
whether the terminal enables recording of the first information; information about a region in which the terminal is allowed to record the first information; or a quantity of RA procedure entries allowed to be comprised in the first information, and a quantity of RA attempt entries comprised in each RA procedure entry.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lei into Agiwal in order to facilitate communication based on indication of UE capability and additionally enable UE capability switching to save power (Lei – Paragraphs [0061] and [0083]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 10 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 16, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant’s dependent claims recite sending, by the terminal, third indication information to the network side device, wherein in a case that the first information comprises the fourth threshold, the third indication information indicates a relationship between the eighth value (RSRP value obtained through measurement of the terminal based on a selected SSB) and the seventh value (threshold for screening SSBs when the terminal executes the RA SDT procedure based on the 2-step RACH) to the network side device; or in a case that the first information comprises the fifth threshold, the third indication information indicates a relationship between the ninth value (threshold for screening SSBs when the terminal executes the RA SDT procedure based on the 4-step RACH) and the tenth value (RSRP value obtained through measurement of the terminal based on a selected SSB) to the network side device; and
wherein the first information comprises M RA procedure entries, and each RA procedure entry comprises N RA attempt entries, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 0; wherein each RA procedure entry comprises at least one of an identity (ID) of a serving cell when the terminal initiates a random access channel (RACH), a reason why the terminal initiates the RACH, a first threshold, a second threshold, a third threshold, a first timer, or related information of the RACH; or each RA procedure entry comprises at least one of a fourth threshold (RSRP threshold when the terminal selects a synchronization signal block (SSB) based on the 2-step RACH procedure to execute the RA SDT procedure), a fifth threshold (RSRP threshold when the terminal selects an SSB based on a 4-step RACH procedure to execute the RA SDT procedure), first indication information (indicating whether a guide code selected by the terminal when executing the RA SDT procedure belongs to a group A or a group B), or second indication information (indicating that the terminal has received a first command sent by the first device, wherein the first command indicates the terminal to convert from an SDT procedure to a non-SDT procedure).
The limitations above are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wei et al. (US 2021/0274525 A1) discloses 2-step and 4-step RA procedures for small data transmission, and RSRP threshold for selection of uplink carriers and 2-step random access.
Tseng et al. (US 2022/0078697 A1) discloses 2-step/4-step RA type for RA-SDT procedure, RSRP threshold for SSB selection, and data volume threshold for determining whether to initiate RA procedure.
Xu et al. (US 2022/0256484 A1) discloses random access small data procedure, 2-step/4-step RACH procedures, and RSRP threshold for SSB selection.
/BAILOR C HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461