DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 2 and 6 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendments to claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 03/19/2026. Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Inaba discloses “a temperature range of 10° C to 40 °C for the treated liquid, the temperature of the treated liquid is preferably 10 to 40 °C, more preferably 15 to 35 °C, and most preferably 25 to 30°C”. That is, the lowest temperature disclosed in Inaba is 10 °C”.
However, Inaba discloses wherein the system to be treated is at a temperature of (10–40°C) ([0041]), which is close to the claimed temperature of less than 10 0C , a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, See MPEP § 2144.05.
Applicant argues that Inaba does not disclose the use of a single AHLs signal molecule (C4-HSL) alone.
However, Inaba discloses “intermicrobial information transmission substance is preferably a compound selected from at least one of the following groups: C4-homoserine lactone, C8 -homoserine lactone, C10-homoserine lactone, C12-homoserine lactone, C14-homoserine lactone, 3-oxo-C6-homoserine lactone, and 3-oxo-C12-homoserine lactone” [0013], which encompass the use of a single AHLs signal molecule (C4-HSL alone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba et al. (CN104193091A, machine translation) herein known as Inaba, as applied to the claims above.
Regarding Claim 1, Inaba is directed to a method for treating wastewater containing ammonia- nitrogen [0003].
Inaba discloses a method for improving a biological nitrogen removal effect of a system to be treated in a biological wastewater treatment, comprising: adding an exogenous signal molecule to sewage in the system to be treated, wherein the exogenous signal molecule is L-homoserine lactone (C4-HSL) ([0005], [0035], ([0013], The aforementioned intermicrobial information transmission substance is preferably a compound selected from at least one of the following groups: C4-homoserine lactone, C8- homoserine lactone, C10-homoserine lactone, C12-homoserine lactone, C14-homoserine lactone, 3-oxo-C6-homoserine lactone, and 3-oxo-C12-homoserine lactone)).
Inaba also discloses wherein the system to be treated is at a temperature of (10–40 °C) ([0041]), which is close to the claimed temperature of less than 10 0C , a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close, See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 3, Inaba discloses the biological wastewater treatment is one or more selected from the group consisting of an activated sludge process, a biofilm process, and an activated sludge-biofilm composite system process ([0005]; [0042]- [0043]; [0045]- [0046]).
Regarding Claim 5, Inaba discloses the activated sludge process is selected from the group consisting of a sequencing batch reactor (SBR) activated sludge process and a continuous-flow activated sludge process ([0045]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Inaba et al. (CN104193091A, machine translation) herein known as Inaba, as applied to the claims above, in view of Feng et al. (CN105923744A Machine Translation), herein known as Feng.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Inaba teaches all the limitations in the claims as set forth above.
However, modified Inaba is silent to wherein the system to be treated in the biological wastewater treatment has a temperature of 5 °C to 7 °C.
Feng is directed to the field of water treatment technology and relates to a method for
rapidly initiating biofilm nitrification by regulating N-acyl homoserine lactones (AHLs) as
signaling molecules [0002].
Feng discloses the method wherein the system to be treated in the biological wastewater treatment has a temperature of (5-30℃) which overlaps the claimed temperature range of (5 °C to 7 °C). ([009], [0027]).
Feng also discloses this method has a good promoting effect under both normal temperature and low temperature start-up and operation conditions [0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Inaba ‘s method for improving a biological nitrogen removal effect, as taught by Feng, wherein the system to be treated in the biological wastewater treatment has a temperature of 5 °C to 7 °C, as this method has a good promoting effect under both normal temperature and low temperature start-up and operation condition (See Feng, [[0020]]), yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD MOTAZ ABDEL LATIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1773 /BENJAMIN L LEBRON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1773