DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 20 January is found to be supported at least in Paragraph 45 of the originally filed specification and the originally filed claims. No new matter has been found.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirasawa et al. (JPH05-319932 – machine translation).
Considering claim 1, Hirasawa teaches a method of producing a SiC member for a semiconductor diffusion furnace (Paragraph 4) comprising adding coarse SiC particles having an average particle size of 40-70 µm and fine SiC particles having an average particle size of 5-30 µm (Paragraph 7) blending in a ratio of 1.5-2.5:1 (Paragraph 8) with a binder to form a molded body (Paragraph 8). The molded body is sintered (i.e. fired) and impregnated with molted metal Si (Paragraph 12).
While not teaching a singular example of the instantly claimed method for producing a ceramic body this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the teachings of Hirasawa as Hirasawa teaches a method of forming a sintered SiC body infiltrated with Si metal with overlapping particles sizes in ratios as that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Hirasawa teaches where the sintering is performed while the SiC member is in contact with metal Si (Paragraph 12).
Considering claim 3, Hirasawa teaches where the sintering occurs at 1500-1800 °C under vacuum (Paragraph 12). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 4, Hirasawa teaches where the only ceramic material in the mix are the SiC powders (Paragraph 8).
Considering claim 5, Hirasawa teaches where the molded body is calcined at 500-1000 °C (i.e. drying and/or degreasing) before sintering (Paragraph 12).
Considering claim 7, in addition to the disclosure as outlined in claim 1 above, Hirasawa teaches where the SiC powders are sintered at 1500-1800 °C under vacuum while in contact with metal Si such that it impregnates the SiC body which necessarily fills the pores of the SiC body (Paragraph 12). While not expressly teaching the claimed thermal conductivity, the infiltrated SiC body disclosed by Hirasawa teaches a substantially identical Si infiltrated SiC body with particle sizes as that which is claimed and therefore the thermal conductivity is expected to be present as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of Hirasawa teaches a method of forming a molded SiC body for a semiconductor furnace and does not teach the claimed hollow honeycomb shape, walls, and cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pp.4-7, filed 20 January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 USC 103 in view of Sugano and Majima in view of Kobayashi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended the claims to recite combinations of features not disclosed by the prior art. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hirasawa as outlined above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784