DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/624,294 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/624,294 recite similar claimed subject matters as specified in claims 1-20 of the instant application, with various wordings.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui (9,781,685) in view of Zamat (5,983,085).
Regarding claims 17-18, Tsui discloses a method, comprising: determining, by network equipment comprising a processor (See fig. 4 and col. 11 lines 33-40), a statistical function (i.e. absolute value of a difference) applied to differences between respective uplink path losses between cellular network equipment and a group of user equipment (See fig. 11 steps {1102, 1106} and col. 10 lines 40-44, col. 21 lines 48-51, col. 22 lines 28-42), and corresponding downlink path losses between the cellular network equipment and the group of user equipment (See fig. 11 steps {1102, 1106} and col. 10 lines 40-44, col. 21 lines 48-51, col. 22 lines 28-42); and in response to a result of applying the statistical function (i.e. absolute value) to the differences (i.e. to each difference of a plurality of differences) between the respective uplink path losses and the corresponding downlink path losses being determined to satisfy a defined difference threshold (See fig. 11 step 1108 and col. 22 lines 43-54), determining, by the network equipment, that uplink/downlink attenuation settings of the cellular network equipment (i.e. base station and/or mobile device) are incorrect; and based on the uplink/downlink attenuation settings of the cellular network equipment being determined incorrect, recalibrating (adjusting), by the network equipment, the uplink/downlink attenuation settings to correct values (applicable values) (See fig. 11 steps {1108, 1112} and col. 12 line 4 to col. 13 line 22, col. 22 lines 43-54). However, Tsui does not explicitly mention that determining, by the network equipment, that the cellular network equipment is not transmitting according to a specified power level and based on the cellular network equipment being determined not to be transmitting according to the specified power level, recalibrating, by the network equipment, a transmission power level applicable to the cellular network equipment. Since it is known in the art the cooperative relationship between attenuation settings of a wireless device and its transmit power, wherein the attenuation settings of the wireless device is a configuration that is utilized to control at least transmit power level of the wireless device as shown by Zamat (See figs. 2, 5, claim 16 and col. 4 lines 3-26); therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the Tsui’s system, as suggested by Zamat, such that the network equipment determines the cellular network equipment is not transmitting according to a specified power level (incorrect transmission power level) and recalibrates/adjusts/control transmission power level applicable (correct transmission power level) to the cellular network equipment based on determined incorrect attenuation settings, for the advantage of expanding the capability of the system to various adjustment parameters to achieve the desired goals.
Regarding claim 20, Tsui & Zamat discloses as cited in claim 17. Tsui further discloses respective uplink transmissions corresponding to the uplink path losses and corresponding downlink transmissions corresponding to the downlink path losses utilize physical resource blocks (PRB) (See col. 11 lines 23-32, col. 13 lines 53-62). However, they do not explicitly mention the utilization of common resource block (CRB). Since common resource block (CRB) is well known in the art; therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize CRB for the system of Tsui & Zamat, for the advantage of expanding the capability of the system to various signaling parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19, Tsui & Zamat discloses as cited in claim 17. However, they fail to disclose that the statistical function applied to the differences is an average of the differences, and wherein recalibrating the transmission power level comprises increasing the transmission power level based on the average of the differences between the respective uplink path losses and the corresponding downlink path losses.
Claims 1-16 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art to the claimed subject matters is Tsui & Zamat. Tsui & Zamat discloses as cited in claim 17. However, they fail to disclose the step of determining an average or mean of differences between respective uplink path losses between a cellular node and a group of user equipment, and corresponding downlink path losses between the cellular node and the group of user equipment, as specified in claims 1 and 9.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO-892 for a listing of cited prior arts of record.
Conclusion
/TUAN A TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648