DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are presented for examination. Claims 1-11 have been elected without traverse. Claims 12-13, 17, 19-20, 22-23, 26, and 30 are withdrawn.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Acoustic Output Device with First and Second Diaphragms Vibrating in Opposite Phase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo Korean Publication No. 10-2018-0107601 (from IDS).
Referring to claim 1, Yoo teaches an acoustic output device (Fig. 3), comprising:
a first acoustic assembly, wherein the first acoustic assembly includes a first diaphragm, and the first diaphragm is configured to vibrate to produce a first sound (Fig. 3: first diaphragm 71 vibrates to produce first sound); and
a second acoustic assembly, wherein the second acoustic assembly includes a second diaphragm, and the second diaphragm is configured to vibrate to produce a second sound (Fig. 3: second diaphragm 81 vibrates to produce second sound), wherein
at least a portion of the second diaphragm is disposed around the first diaphragm (Figs. 2-3: second diaphragm 81 around first diaphragm 71); and
in a target frequency range, a vibration phase of the first diaphragm is opposite to a vibration phase of the second diaphragm, and the second sound interferes with the first sound (Page 6, Para 4: “among the sounds output through the first diaphragm 71, the sound diffused toward the radially outer side of the first diaphragm 71 is interfered by the sound of the opposite phase output through the second diaphragm 81”) to produce a directional acoustic field pointing to a target direction (Page 6, Para 4: “may be a directional speaker capable of changing a direction to a specific area”).
Referring to claim 3, Yoo teaches the first diaphragm is a circular diaphragm, the second diaphragm is an annular diaphragm around the circular diaphragm, and the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm are coaxially arranged (Fig. 2: annular second diaphragm 81 coaxially arranged around circular first diaphragm 71).
Referring to claim 4, Yoo teaches the first diaphragm and the second diaphragm are disposed side-by-side, and a vibration direction of the second diaphragm is parallel to a vibration direction of the first diaphragm (Fig. 3: first diaphragm 71 and second diaphragm 81 are arranged side by side and vibrations of each diaphragm are parallel to one another; Page 5, Para 6: “The voice coil 73 vibrates in the vertical direction”; Page 6, Para 3: “The voice coil 74 vibrates in the vertical direction”).
Referring to claim 8, Yoo teaches the second diaphragm is disposed obliquely relative to the first diaphragm (Fig. 3: inner side of second diaphragm 81 disposed obliquely relative to outer side of first diaphragm 71), and an angle between a vibration direction of the second diaphragm and a vibration direction of the first diaphragm is in a range of 0°-45° (Page 5, Para 6: “The voice coil 73 vibrates in the vertical direction”; Page 6, Para 3: “The voice coil 74 vibrates in the vertical direction” – Examiner notes that the angle between vibration directions will be 0).
Referring to claim 9, Yoo teaches along the vibration direction of the first diaphragm, an outer edge of the second diaphragm is farther away from the first diaphragm than an inner edge of the second diaphragm (Fig. 3: along the vertical vibration direction, an upper side of an outer edge of diaphragm 81 is farther away from a lower side of diaphragm 71 than a lower side of an inner edge of diaphragm 81).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tada US Patent No. 4938074.
Referring to claim 11, Yoo does not specify vibration amplitudes, but Tada teaches a ratio between a vibration amplitude of the first diaphragm and a vibration amplitude of the second diaphragm is in a range of 0.8 to 1.2 (Column 4, Lines 36-39: “When the detector 8 is vibrated in such a direction that the diaphragms 87a and 87b are deformable, the diaphragms are deformed by the same quantity”). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of deforming diaphragms, therefore it would have been obvious to try vibrating two diaphragms at the same amplitude, as taught in Tada, as opposed to vibrating at different amplitudes in the device of Yoo because all deformations will allow for setups of multiple vibrating diaphragms to project sound.
Claim(s) 5-7 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo as applied to claims 1, 3-4, and 8-9 above, and further in view of Sagren US Publication No. 20020094097.
Referring to claim 5, Yoo does not teach a larger outer diaphragm, but Sagren teaches a ratio between an outer diameter of the second diaphragm and a diameter of the first diaphragm is not less than 2 (Fig. 1d: ratio between outer diameter of diaphragms 165 and 191 is not less than 2). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of sizing diaphragms, therefore it would have been obvious to try using a larger outer diaphragm, as taught in Sagren, as opposed to using a same size or smaller outer diaphragm, as taught in Yoo, because all setups allow for coaxial setups of vibrating diaphragms to project sound.
Referring to claim 6, Yoo does not teach a larger outer diaphragm, but Sagren teaches a ratio between an annular width of the second diaphragm and a radius of the first diaphragm is not less than 2 (Fig. 1d: ratio between annular width of diaphragm 165 and radius of diaphragm 191 is not less than 2). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of sizing diaphragms, therefore it would have been obvious to try using a larger outer diaphragm, as taught in Sagren, as opposed to using a same size or smaller outer diaphragm, as taught in Yoo, because all setups allow for coaxial setups of vibrating diaphragms to project sound.
Referring to claim 7, Yoo does not teach a larger outer diaphragm, but Sagren teaches a ratio between an area of the second diaphragm and an area of the first diaphragm is not less than 4 (Fig. 1d: ratio between areas of diaphragms 165 and 191 is not less than 4). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of sizing diaphragms, therefore it would have been obvious to try using a larger outer diaphragm, as taught in Sagren, as opposed to using a same size or smaller outer diaphragm, as taught in Yoo, because all setups allow for coaxial setups of vibrating diaphragms to project sound.
Referring to claim 10, Yoo does not teach a larger outer diaphragm, but Sagren teaches a ratio between an area of the second diaphragm and an area of the first diaphragm is not less than 1 (Fig. 1d: ratio between areas of diaphragms 165 and 191 is not less than 1). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of sizing diaphragms, therefore it would have been obvious to try using a larger outer diaphragm, as taught in Sagren, as opposed to using a same size or smaller outer diaphragm, as taught in Yoo, because all setups allow for coaxial setups of vibrating diaphragms to project sound.
Referring to claim 11, Yoo does not teach a larger outer diaphragm, but Sagren teaches a ratio between an outer diameter of the second diaphragm and a diameter of the first diaphragm is not less than 1 (Fig. 1d: ratio between outer diameter of diaphragm 165 and diameter of diaphragm 191 is not less than 1). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of sizing diaphragms, therefore it would have been obvious to try using a larger outer diaphragm, as taught in Sagren, as opposed to using a same size or smaller outer diaphragm, as taught in Yoo, because all setups allow for coaxial setups of vibrating diaphragms to project sound.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693