DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mironets, et al. (US 2016/0144428) in view of Zheng, et al. (US 2016/0170158).
In reference to Claim 1, Mironets discloses an additive manufacturing process ([0014]) (a method for producing a workpiece), comprising: a metal build plate 36 ([0013]) (placing a workpiece holder on a base support of a support system in an additive manufacturing device), an anchor system connecting the build plate with the layers ([0023] and Fig. 2) (wherein the base support is arranged to be secured in a process chamber of the manufacturing device) and barrier holes used to align with a corresponding edge or perimeter ([0027]) (comprises at least two positioning elements); the powder build layer is applied to the upper surface of the component build layer which is above the non-metallic barrier layer which is attached to the metal build plate using removable anchor pins ([0029] and Fig. 2) (wherein the workpiece holder has a lower side and a building side as an upper side which is located substantially opposite the lower side, wherein the lower side of the workpiece holder has at least two first positioning devices for releasable), anchor pins 68 ([0029]) (positionally accurate attachment to the base support of the support system), the anchor pins 68 go into holes 66 ([0029]-[0031] and Fig. 2) (the at least two positioning elements and the at least two first positioning devices are designed in a complementary manner and form a pin/hole pairs comprising a pin and a hole), with the anchor pins expanding based on heating and a differential of thermal expansion ([0033]) (at least one section of each pin is made of a first material having a first thermal expansion coefficient, and a retaining section of each hole that is decisive for the positioning accuracy is made of a second material having a second thermal expansion coefficient, and wherein the second thermal expansion coefficient is lower than the first thermal expansion coefficient such that a clamping effect results between the pins and the surrounding hole in the event of a temperature increase of the support system during the manufacturing process due to the expansion of the section of the pins, or wherein the first thermal expansion coefficient is lower than the second thermal expansion coefficient such that a clamping effect results between the pin and the surrounding hole in the event of a temperature increase of the support system during the manufacturing process due to the expansion of the retaining section of the hole); during a build process anchors can be secured ([0032]) (said method comprising carrying out an additive manufacture of a workpiece on the workpiece holder by use of the manufacturing device), the anchor pins expanding based on heating and a differential of thermal expansion ([0033]) (the temperature of the support system increasing during the manufacturing process and a clamping effect resulting between the pin and the surrounding holes due to the expansion of the section of the pins or due to the expansion of the retaining section of the holes), until the build assembly is sufficiently cooled to permit removal of the build assembly ([0033]) (cooling the support system, whereby the clamping effect is released; disengaging the workpiece holder together with the workpiece produced thereon from the base support).
Mironets does not disclose arranging the workpiece holder on a support of an installation for the subtractive post-processing of the workpiece wherein a positioning element of the support and the positioning device of the workpiece holder engage in each other.
Zheng discloses using alignment markers to then post process a piece ([0061]) (arranging the workpiece holder on a support of an installation for the subtractive post-processing of the workpiece wherein a positioning element of the support and the positioning device of the workpiece holder engage in each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the additive manufacturing process of Mironets using the post processing method of Zheng because maintaining a position using the alignment tools ensures repeatability ([0061]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the post-processing method of Zheng because the alignment markers allow for multiple post processing steps ([0059]). The reasonable expectation of success using the method of Zheng with the method of Mironets would allow for a repeatable post-processing step.
In reference to Claim 2, modified Mironets discloses the method of Claim 1, as described above.
Mironets discloses a cooling post treatment ([0033]) (placing the workpiece holder on a support of an installation for thermal post-processing of the workpiece).
In reference to Claim 3, modified Mironets discloses the method of Claim 1, as described above.
Mironets discloses a notch at the top of an anchor pin to grip ([0037]) (the step of disengaging comprises: gripping, by means of a gripper, the workpiece holder at a gripping means arranged on a lateral surface of the workpiece holder).
In reference to Claim 4, modified Mironets discloses the method of Claim 1, as described above.
Mironets discloses anchor pins are next to each other ([0029] and Fig. 2) (a plurality of workpiece holders are arranged side by side on the base support of the manufacturing device).
In reference to Claim 5, Mironets discloses an additive manufacturing method that uses a data file to build each layer ([0019]) (a method for producing a workpiece according to an additive manufacturing process, comprising: determining a position and/or orientation of the workpiece to be produced relative to a workpiece holder on which the workpiece is additively manufactured while taking into account digital part data defining a geometry of the workpiece).
Mironets does not disclose while taking into account conditions defined by a subtractive post-processing step of the workpiece; carrying out the additive manufacture of the workpiece on the workpiece holder based on the determined position and/or orientation of the workpiece.
Zheng discloses using alignment markers to complete a manufacturing process ([0012]) both additive and subtractive processes ([0071]) using alignment markers to then post process a piece ([0061]) (while taking into account conditions defined by a subtractive post-processing step of the workpiece; carrying out the additive manufacture of the workpiece on the workpiece holder based on the determined position and/or orientation of the workpiece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the additive manufacturing process of Mironets using the post processing method of Zheng because maintaining a position using the alignment tools ensures repeatability ([0061]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the post-processing method of Zheng because the alignment markers allow for multiple post processing steps ([0059]). The reasonable expectation of success using the method of Zheng with the method of Mironets would allow for a repeatable post-processing step.
In reference to Claim 6, modified Mironets discloses the method of Claim 5, as described above.
Mironets discloses localized support structures 70 ([0023]) (determining a support geometry that includes at least one support structure for the workpiece while taking into account the conditions defined by the subtractive post-processing of the workpiece, wherein the step of carrying out the additive manufacture includes the additive manufacture of the support structure).
In reference to Claim 7, modified Mironets discloses the method of Claim 5, as described above.
Zheng discloses using alignment markers to complete a manufacturing process ([0012]) both additive and subtractive processes ([0071]) using alignment markers to then post process a piece ([0061]) (the conditions defined by the subtractive post-processing of the workpiece include at least one of the following conditions: milling forces of the tools used for the subtractive post- processing, milling torques of the tools used for the subtractive post-processing, vibrations during the subtractive post-processing, attainability of the geometry of the workpiece and/or the support structure by the tools used for subtractive post-processing, machine kinematics of the tools used for the subtractive post-processing, tool geometry of the tools used for the subtractive post-processing, and tool linking of the tools used for the subtractive post-processing).
In reference to Claim 8, modified Mironets discloses the method of Claim 5, as described above.
Mironets discloses a metal build plate 36 ([0013]) (configuring a possible building space of a manufacturing device for the additive manufacture of the workpiece).
In reference to Claim 9, modified Mironets discloses the method of Claim 1, as described above.
Mironets discloses a data file to build each layer with predetermined specifications including a layer thickness ([0019]) (determining a layer thickness of the additive manufacture and/or determining an exposure strategy for the additive manufacture while taking into account the digital part data defining a geometry of the workpiece and while taking into account the conditions defined by the subtractive post-processing of the workpiece).
In reference to Claim 10, Mironets discloses an additive manufacturing method that uses a data file to build each layer ([0019]) (a method for producing a workpiece according to an additive manufacturing process, comprising: determining a position and/or orientation of the workpiece to be produced relative to a workpiece holder on which the workpiece is additively manufactured while taking into account digital part data defining a geometry of the workpiece) an additive manufacturing process ([0014]) (providing support system for the additive manufacturing device), comprising: a metal build plate 36 ([0013]) (placing a workpiece holder on a base support of a support system in an additive manufacturing device), an anchor system connecting the build plate with the layers ([0023] and Fig. 2) (a base support that is arranged to be secured in a process chamber of the manufacturing system) and barrier holes used to align with a corresponding edge or perimeter ([0027]) (at least one positioning element); the powder is applied ([0029]) (a workpiece holder on which a workpiece can be produced according to a manufacturing process including the layered application of a raw material in powder form) the powder build layer is applied to the upper surface of the component build layer which is above the non-metallic barrier layer which is attached to the metal build plate using removable anchor pins ([0029] and Fig. 2) (wherein the workpiece holder has a lower side and a building side as an upper side which is located substantially opposite the lower side, on the lower side, the workpiece holder has at least one first positioning device for releasable), anchor pins 68 ([0029]) (positionally accurate attachment to the base support of the support system), the anchor pins 68 go into holes 66 ([0029]-[0031] and Fig. 2) (the at least one positioning element and the at least one first positioning device are designed in a complementary manner and form a pin/hole pair comprising a pin and a hole), with the anchor pins expanding based on heating and a differential of thermal expansion ([0033]) (at least one section of the pin is made of a first material having a first thermal expansion coefficient, and a retaining section of the hole that is decisive for the positioning accuracy is made of a second material having a second thermal expansion coefficient, and wherein the second thermal expansion coefficient is lower than the first thermal expansion coefficient such that a clamping effect results between the pin and the surrounding hole in the event of a temperature increase of the support system during the manufacturing process due to the expansion of the section of the pin, or wherein the first thermal expansion coefficient is lower than the second thermal expansion coefficient such that a clamping effect results between the pin and the surrounding hole in the event of a temperature increase of the support system during the manufacturing process due to the expansion of the retaining section of the hole); during a build process anchors can be secured ([0032]) (wherein the workpiece holder is the workpiece holder of the support system).
Mironets does not disclose while taking into account conditions defined by a subtractive post-processing step of the workpiece; carrying out the additive manufacture of the workpiece on the workpiece holder based on the determined position and/or orientation of the workpiece.
Zheng discloses using alignment markers to complete a manufacturing process ([0012]) both additive and subtractive processes ([0071]) using alignment markers to then post process a piece ([0061]) (while taking into account conditions defined by a subtractive post-processing step of the workpiece; carrying out the additive manufacture of the workpiece on the workpiece holder based on the determined position and/or orientation of the workpiece).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to complete the additive manufacturing process of Mironets using the post processing method of Zheng because maintaining a position using the alignment tools ensures repeatability ([0061]). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the post-processing method of Zheng because the alignment markers allow for multiple post processing steps ([0059]). The reasonable expectation of success using the method of Zheng with the method of Mironets would allow for a repeatable post-processing step.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mironets does not disclose two positioning elements, however Examiner respectfully disagrees because Mironets discloses at least one barrier hole ([0027]) with anchor pins ([0028])- both of which are used for positioning. Applicant argues Zheng would not have been obvious to combine, however Examiner respectfully disagrees because Zheng describes alignment helps with proper subtractive post-processing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELSEY C. GRACE
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/CHRISTINA A JOHNSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1742