DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13-17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HONG (Pub. No.: US 20250088849 A1), hereinafter HONG, in view of Mohan Raj et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240365102 A1), hereinafter Mohan Raj.
With respect to claim 1, HONG teaches A method comprising (figure 25, [0221-0224, 0226], a method):
receiving, by a network device (figure 25, i.e. second core network device) of a first core network (figure 25, i.e. second core network) from a second network device (figure 25, i.e. first core network device) of a second core network (figure 25, i.e. first core network), a first message (figure 25, [0222], i.e. a PDU session establishment request message), which includes a first data network name (DNN), pertaining to a packet data unit (PDU) session creation procedure with a third network device (figure 25, i.e. base station) of the first core network (figure 25, [0221-0224, 0226], second core network device receives from first core network device a PDU session establishment request message, the PDU session establishment request message includes a DNN and pertains to the base station);
obtaining, by the network device, a policy, which includes a second DNN, that pertains to the PDU session creation procedure (figures, 25, 27, [0223, 0234], the second core network device obtains security policy information, which include DNN information configured in the second core network device, that based on the PDU session establishment request message);
determining, by the network device, that the second DNN differs from the first DNN ([0240], the second core network device determines that the DNN information configured in the second core network device is not matching with the DNN in the third PDU session establishment request message);
receiving, by the network device from the second network device, a second message to create a PDU session with the third network device (figures, 25, 27, [0223, 0234], the second core network device receives from first core network device a third PDU session establishment request message with the base station).
HONG does not explicitly teach modifying, by the network device, the second message to include the second DNN; and transmitting, by the network device to the third network device, the modified second message.
However, Mohan Raj teaches modifying, by the network device, the second message to include the second DNN (figure 2, [0030-0031], H-SEPP 202 receives message 3 from V-SEPP 204, the H-SEPP 202 modifies to include the second DNN / replaces the DNN value or add a new DNN value from the home list); and transmitting, by the network device to the third network device, the modified second message (figure 2, [0030-0031], the H-SEPP 202 transmits the modified second message / message 3 to the H-NRF 206, via message 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, modifying, by the network device, the second message to include the second DNN; and transmitting, by the network device to the third network device, the modified second message, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of HONG and Mohan Raj teaches the method of claim 1. HONG does not explicitly teach performing, by the network device in response to the receiving, a discovery procedure for a policy control device of the first core network that stores the policy.
However, Mohan Raj teaches performing, by the network device in response to the receiving, a discovery procedure for a policy control device of the first core network that stores the policy (figure 2, [0031-0032], H-SEPP 202 performs a discovery procedure / examines the message to determine it include an SMF discovery request for a policy control device / H-NRF 206).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, performing, by the network device in response to the receiving, a discovery procedure for a policy control device of the first core network that stores the policy, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 3, the combination of HONG and Mohan Raj teaches the method of claim 1. HONG does not explicitly teach performing, by the network device in response to the determining, a discovery procedure for the third network device based on the second DNN.
However, Mohan Raj teaches performing, by the network device in response to the determining, a discovery procedure for the third network device based on the second DNN (figure 2, [0031-0032], H-SEPP 202 performs a discovery procedure / examines the message to determine it include an SMF discovery request for a policy control device / H-NRF 206 based on the second DNN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, performing, by the network device in response to the determining, a discovery procedure for the third network device based on the second DNN, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of HONG and Mohan Raj teaches the method of claim 1. HONG does not explicitly teach transmitting, by the network device to the second network device, a third message that identifies the third network device.
However, Mohan Raj teaches transmitting, by the network device to the second network device, a third message that identifies the third network device (figure 2, [0032], H-SEPP 202 send a response message to V-SEPP 204).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, transmitting, by the network device to the second network device, a third message that identifies the third network device, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of HONG and Mohan Raj teaches the method of claim 1. HONG teach establishing via the network device a PDU session between the second network device and the third network device (figures 20, 22, [0200-0203, 0207], establishing via the network device a PDU session between the second network device / first core network device and the third network device / base station).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of HONG and Mohan Raj teaches the method of claim 1. HONG does not explicitly teach establishing a PDU session between an end device and a network device of the second DNN.
However, Mohan Raj teaches establishing a PDU session between an end device and a network device of the second DNN (figure 3, [0038-0040], establishing a PDU session between an end device / UE and a network device / H-NRF of the second DNN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, establishing a PDU session between an end device and a network device of the second DNN, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 7, the combination of HONG and Mohan Raj teaches the method of claim 1. HONG does not explicitly teach wherein the PDU session creation procedure relates to an end device in a home-routed roaming context, and wherein the first core network is a home network of the end device and the second core network is a visited network.
However, Mohan Raj teaches wherein the PDU session creation procedure relates to an end device in a home-routed roaming context (figure 3, [0038-0040], the PDU session creation procedure relates to an end device / UE / subscriber in a home-routed roaming context), and wherein the first core network is a home network of the end device and the second core network is a visited network (figure 3, [0038-0040], the first core network is a home network / H-PLMN of the end device / UE and the second core network is a visited network / V-PLMN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, wherein the PDU session creation procedure relates to an end device in a home-routed roaming context, and wherein the first core network is a home network of the end device and the second core network is a visited network, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of HONG and Mohan Raj teaches the method of claim 1. HONG does not explicitly teach wherein the network device includes a security edge protection proxy device.
However, Mohan Raj teaches wherein the network device includes a security edge protection proxy device (figure 3, [0038-0040], the a security edge protection proxy (H-SEPP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, wherein the network device includes a security edge protection proxy device, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 9, HONG teaches A network device comprising (figure 25, [0221-0224, 0226], a second core network device):
a processor, wherein the processor is configured to ([0264], the processor is configured to):
receive from a second network device of a second core network, a first message, which includes a first data network name (DNN), pertaining to a packet data unit (PDU) session creation procedure with a third network device of a first core network (figure 25, [0221-0224, 0226], second core network device receives from first core network device a PDU session establishment request message, the PDU session establishment request message includes a DNN and pertains to the base station), wherein the network device is of the first core network (figure 25, [0221-0224, 0226], the second core network device of the second core network);
obtain policy, which includes a second DNN, that pertains to the PDU session creation procedure (figures, 25, 27, [0223, 0234], the second core network device obtains security policy information, which include DNN information configured in the second core network device, that based on the PDU session establishment request message);
determine that the second DNN differs from the first DNN ([0240], the second core network device determines that the DNN information configured in the second core network device is not matching with the DNN in the third PDU session establishment request message);
receive from the second network device, a second message to create a PDU session with the third network device (figures, 25, 27, [0223, 0234], the second core network device receives from first core network device a third PDU session establishment request message with the base station).
HONG does not explicitly teach modify the second message to include the second DNN; and transmit to the third network device, the modified second message.
However, Mohan Raj teaches modify the second message to include the second DNN (figure 2, [0030-0031], H-SEPP 202 receives message 3 from V-SEPP 204, the H-SEPP 202 modifies to include the second DNN / replaces the DNN value or add a new DNN value from the home list); and transmit to the third network device, the modified second message (figure 2, [0030-0031], the H-SEPP 202 transmits the modified second message / message 3 to the H-NRF 206, via message 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, modify the second message to include the second DNN; and transmit to the third network device, the modified second message, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 10, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 11, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 12, this claim recites the method of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 13, this claim recites the method of claim 5, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 14, this claim recites the method of claim 6, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 15, this claim recites the method of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 16, this claim recites the method of claim 8, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 17, HONG teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions executable by a processor of a network device of a first core network ([0263-0264], memory storing instructions executable by a processor of a second core network device of a second core network), wherein the instructions are configured to ([0263-0264], the instructions are configured to):
receive from a second network device of a second core network, a first message, which includes a first data network name (DNN), pertaining to a packet data unit (PDU) session creation procedure with a third network device of the first core network (figure 25, [0221-0224, 0226], second core network device receives from first core network device a PDU session establishment request message, the PDU session establishment request message includes a DNN and pertains to the base station);
obtain policy, which includes a second DNN, that pertains to the PDU session creation procedure (figures, 25, 27, [0223, 0234], the second core network device obtains security policy information, which include DNN information configured in the second core network device, that based on the PDU session establishment request message);
determine that the second DNN differs from the first DNN ([0240], the second core network device determines that the DNN information configured in the second core network device is not matching with the DNN in the third PDU session establishment request message);
receive from the second network device, a second message to create a PDU session with the third network device (figures, 25, 27, [0223, 0234], the second core network device receives from first core network device a third PDU session establishment request message with the base station).
HONG does not explicitly teach modify the second message to include the second DNN; and transmit to the third network device, the modified second message.
However, Mohan Raj teaches modify the second message to include the second DNN (figure 2, [0030-0031], H-SEPP 202 receives message 3 from V-SEPP 204, the H-SEPP 202 modifies to include the second DNN / replaces the DNN value or add a new DNN value from the home list); and transmit to the third network device, the modified second message (figure 2, [0030-0031], the H-SEPP 202 transmits the modified second message / message 3 to the H-NRF 206, via message 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mohan Raj, modify the second message to include the second DNN; and transmit to the third network device, the modified second message, into the teachings of HONG, in order to improve data network name (DNN) replacement for roaming devices (Mohan Raj, [0001]).
With respect to claim 18, this claim recites the method of claim 5, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 19, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 20, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20210212136 A1; “LEE”, ([0089])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469