DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains 159 words and therefore it exceeds the 150 words in length range. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/05/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. JP 4206743 is not in the English language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubo (US 2005/0128491 A1).
As to claim 1, Kubo discloses a color conversion apparatus (see figures 1-2) comprising: a processor (12) configured to: generate a first color-conversion table (see figure 2, device independent color space conversion part 31) describing a correspondence between an input value (YMCRGK) in a first color space (YMCRGK) and a colorimetric value in the first color space (see paragraphs 59 and 66, i.e., Y’ M’ C’ K’ R’ G’ of the image output device 13 is printed out by device 13 and colorimetric vales are measured), the first color space being independent of a printer (see figure 2, part 31, and see pars 16, 19, 20, 21, 43, and 44 i.e., “device independent” or “machine independent”), the colorimetric value (L*, a* b*, i.e., see pars 59 and 66) being a result of color measurement of a printed image obtained by the printer printing a signal value in a second color space (see figure 2, i.e., Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’), the second color space being dependent of the printer (see pars 16 and 20, i.e., “machine dependent” and see par 127, “device dependent”), the signal value in the second color space being a conversion result of the input value(see figure 2, the signal flow from part 31 to part 41); and convert an input signal value in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’) by using the first color-conversion table (31) and a second color-conversion table (38, 40 and 41), the second color-conversion table being predetermined in accordance with the printer (see par 23, i.e., color printer, see figure 1, image output device 13, see par 34, 37, 41, 42, 59 and see figure 2, part 25) and being used to convert a signal value in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’).
As to claim 5, Kubo discloses wherein the processor (12) is configured to: generate the first color-conversion table (see figure 2, device independent color space conversion part 31) for converting the colorimetric value (L*, a* b*, i.e., see pars 59 and 66) in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value which is in the first color space (YMCRGK) and which corresponds to the input value (YMCRGK) (see figure 2).
As to claim 8, Kubo discloses wherein the processor (12) is configured to: combine (see figure 2) the first color-conversion table (31) with the second color-conversion table (38) and generate an output profile (Y’ M’ C’) which is used to convert, for output, an input signal value in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’); and convert a first-color-space signal value to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’) by using the output profile (Y’ M’ C’), the first-color-space signal value being in the first color space (YMCRGK) and being obtained through conversion from a signal value in a third color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’) through an input profile, the third color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’) being dependent of an input apparatus (see figure 2).
As to claim 9, Kubo discloses a color-conversion-table generating apparatus (see figures 1-2) comprising: a processor (12) configured to: generate a first color-conversion table (see figure 2, device independent color space conversion part 31) describing a correspondence between an input value (YMCRGK) in a first color space (YMCRGK) and a colorimetric value in the first color space (see paragraphs 59 and 66, i.e., Y’ M’ C’ K’ R’ G’ of the image output device 13 is printed out by device 13 and colorimetric vales are measured), the first color space being independent of a printer (see figure 2, part 31, and see pars 16, 19, 20, 21, 43, and 44 i.e., “device independent” or “machine independent”), the colorimetric value (L*, a* b*, i.e., see pars 59 and 66) being a result of color measurement of a printed image obtained by the printer printing a signal value in a second color space (see figure 2, i.e., Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’), the second color space being dependent of the printer (see pars 16 and 20, i.e., “machine dependent” and see par 127, “device dependent”), the signal value in the second color space being a conversion result of the input value (see figure 2, the signal flow from part 31 to part 41); combine (see figure 2) the first color-conversion table (31) and a second color-conversion table (38) predetermined in accordance with the printer (see par 23, i.e., color printer, see figure 1, image output device 13, see par 34, 37, 41, 42, 59 and see figure 2, part 25), the second color-conversion table (38) being used to convert a signal value in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’), and generate a third color-conversion table (40) for converting an input signal value (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’) in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’) (see figure 2).
As to claim 10, Kubo discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium (see pars 121-122, i.e., storage medium, computer readable storage medium) storing a program (see pars 121, 122, 123, i.e., program 101, see figure 7) causing a computer (102) to execute a process (i.e., process 12 executes a process, see pars 121-123, see figures 1-2) comprising: generating a first color-conversion table (see figure 2, device independent color space conversion part 31) describing a correspondence between an input value (YMCRGK) in a first color space (YMCRGK) and a colorimetric value in the first color space (see paragraphs 59 and 66, i.e., Y’ M’ C’ K’ R’ G’ of the image output device 13 is printed out by device 13 and colorimetric vales are measured), the first color space being independent of a printer (see figure 2, part 31, and see pars 16, 19, 20, 21, 43, and 44 i.e., “device independent” or “machine independent”), the colorimetric value (L*, a* b*, i.e., see pars 59 and 66) being a result of color measurement of a printed image obtained by the printer printing a signal value in a second color space (see figure 2, i.e., Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’), the second color space being dependent of the printer (see pars 16 and 20, i.e., “machine dependent” and see par 127, “device dependent”), the signal value in the second color space being a conversion result of the input value (see figure 2, the signal flow from part 31 to part 41); and converting an input signal value in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’) by using the first color-conversion table (31) and a second color-conversion table (38, 40 and 41), the second color-conversion table being predetermined in accordance with the printer (see par 23, i.e., color printer, see figure 1, image output device 13, see par 34, 37, 41, 42, 59 and see figure 2, part 25) and being used to convert a signal value in the first color space (YMCRGK) to a signal value in the second color space (Y’ M’ C’ R’ G’ K’).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 2, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kubo (US 2005/0128491 A1), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the processor is configured to: obtain sheet information which is information about a type of a sheet on which the printer prints an image, and generate the first color-conversion table in accordance with the sheet information, as recited in dependent claim 2.
Claims 3-4 are objected to as containing allowable subject matter, because claims 3-4 are dependent on objected to dependent claim 2, discussed above.
Regarding dependent claim 6, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kubo (US 2005/0128491 A1), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, wherein the processor is configured to: generate a first correspondence for converting the input value in the first color space to the colorimetric value in the first color space, and generate the first color-conversion table through reverse conversion of the first correspondence, as claimed in dependent claim 6.
Regarding dependent claim 7, the closest prior art of record, namely, Kubo (US 2005/0128491 A1), discussed above, does not disclose, teach or suggest, convert a signal value in the first color space of three variables to a signal value in the second color space of five or more variables including a signal value of a normal color and a signal value of a spot color, the normal color being a color used normally, the spot color being a color other than the normal color, as recited in dependent claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KUEHN (US 2013/0107291) teaches generating a CIE L* a* b* to CIE L* a* b* correction profile (see par 0056).
YAMASHITA (US 2020/0314292 A1) teaches color conversion apparatus, first and second color space, and second conversion information (see the abstract).
URATANI (US 2021/0142130 A1) teaches color conversion unit, device-dependent color space, and first and second color space (see the abstract).
/DOV POPOVICI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681