DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments of April 3, 2026 have been fully considered, but pertain to the previously-cited Orcutt reference, and thus are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection based upon the newly-cited Shiraishi reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiraishi, US 2019/0293927 A1, newly-cited.
Regarding Claim 1, Shiraishi discloses: A mirror device comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features):
a support portion (support portions 226, 228; paragraphs [0043]-[0049] and FIG. 4 of Shiraishi);
a movable portion including a body portion including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, a mirror surface being formed on the first surface and a rib portion being formed on the second surface (movable portion 210A includes a first moveable plate 212A which has a reflecting surface 216 on its upper side and a second moveable plate 214A at its lower side [underside], the second moveable plate 214A including ribs 234A; FIGS. 4-6 of Shiraishi); and
a coupling portion that couples the movable portion to the support portion such that the movable portion is swingable around a predetermined axis (elastic members 222, 224 are configured to swingably support the movable portion 210A about a swinging axis; Abstract and paragraph [0043] and FIG. 4 of Shiraishi);
wherein the rib portion includes an extending portion extending along an outer edge of the body portion when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the second surface (second moveable plate 214A, as depicted in FIG. 4 of Shiraishi, includes an outermost periphery, i.e., the rectangle-shaped perimeter of plate 214A, which extends along an outer edge of the first movable plate 212A at least in region where it connects to elastic member 224); and
the extending portion includes a protrusion portion, the protrusion portion protruding outward from and past the outer edge of the body portion and extending along the outer edge of the body portion when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface (the rectangle-shaped perimeter of plate 214A, as depicted in FIG. 4 of Shiraishi [see annotated FIG. 4 below], includes a lower-left wall which both: (A) protrudes outward from and past the outer edge of the first movable plate 212A, and (B) extends along an outer edge of the first movable plate 212A, when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the underside of first moveable plate 212A; FIGS. 4-6 of Shiraishi; the Office notes that the present claim language does not require the extending portion to be curved, nor, e.g., to match a curvature of the body portion).
Regarding Claim 4, Shiraishi discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, the rib portion (second moveable plate 214A; FIGS. 4-6 of Shiraishi) includes
a pair of first portions extending from a side of a reference position toward one side in a predetermined direction and facing each other in a direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction (when counting the internal ribs 234A of second moveable plate 214A from left to right, a first two of the ribs may be identified as the claimed “first portions”, and these first two ribs extend downward and to the left from a central bisecting line, i.e., the axial line [reference position] as defined by elastic members 222, 224, of the second moveable plate 214A, and such ribs face each other in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which they extend; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi),
a first connecting portion connected to the pair of first portions (the lower-left wall of the second moveable plate 214A may be identified as the claimed “first connecting portion”, and is connected to the first two ribs; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi),
a pair of second portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the predetermined direction and facing each other in the direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction (another two [e.g., a third and fourth] of the internal ribs 234A of second moveable plate 214A may be identified has the claimed “second portions”, and these two ribs extend from the axial line [reference position] in a direction upward and to the right, and face each other in the direction perpendicular to the direction in which they extend; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi), and
a second connecting portion connected to the pair of second portions (the upper-right wall of the perimeter of plate 214A may be identified as the claimed “second connecting portion”, and is connected to the another two [third and fourth] ribs; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi), and
the extending portion is formed of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion (the outermost periphery of second moveable plate 214A, i.e., the rectangle-shaped perimeter of plate 214A, is formed of the lower-left wall and upper-right wall of the plate 214A; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi; the Office notes that the claim does not require that the extending portion consists of, or is formed exclusively of, the first and second connecting portions).
Regarding Claim 5, Shiraishi discloses the limitations of Claim 4 and further discloses: wherein a width of the first connecting portion is wider than a width of each of the pair of first portions, and a width of the second connecting portion is wider than a width of each of the pair of second portions (a width of the lower-left wall of the perimeter of plate 214A is wider than each of internal ribs 234A, and a width of the upper-right wall of the perimeter of plate 214A is wider than each of internal ribs 234A; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi).
Regarding Claim 6, Shiraishi discloses the limitations of Claim 4 and further discloses: wherein the pair of first portions are connected to each other on the side of the reference position, and the pair of second portions are connected to each other on the side of the reference position (the first two ribs 234A are connected to each other at the lower-left side of the central [axial] line via the lower-left wall of the perimeter of plate 214A; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi; the Office notes that the claim does not require the pair of first portions to be directly connected to each other).
Regarding Claim 8, Shiraishi discloses the limitations of Claim 4 and further discloses: wherein the reference position coincides with a center of the body portion when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface (the reference position is identified as the central bisecting line, i.e., the axial line, of the second moveable plate 214A as defined by elastic members 222, 224; FIG. 4 of Shiraishi).
Regarding Claim 20, Shiraishi discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein the protrusion portion is not in contact with portions other than the body portion (the lower-left wall of perimeter of plate 214A [see annotated FIG. 4 of Shiraishi above] is not in contact with the coupling portion 222, 224 nor the support portion 226, 228; the Office notes that the claimed protrusion portion is part of the extending portion which is part of the rib portion, and thus the claimed protrusion portion necessarily contacts the extending portion and the rib portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3, Shiraishi discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose: wherein when a direction parallel to the axis is a first direction, and a direction perpendicular to both the first direction and the direction perpendicular to the second surface is a second direction:
(A) a length of the protrusion portion along the outer edge of the body portion is larger than a minimum width of the coupling portion in the second direction; or
(B) a protrusion length of the protrusion portion from the outer edge of the body portion is smaller than a minimum width of the coupling portion in the second direction.
However, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, then the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP § 2144.04, Section IV, Subsection A, citing Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
In the present case, prior art reference Shiraishi discloses all of the claimed components of the present invention, and arranged in the same manner as the claimed invention (see rejection of Claim 1 above). The only missing disclosure of Shiraishi is merely a recitation of the relative dimensions of the particular components, or portions thereof.
However, it appears that selecting the claimed relative dimensions for the device of Shiraishi would still result in a device which would perform substantially the same, i.e., selecting widths of the coupling portion (elastic members 222, 224 in Shiraishi) relative to lengths of portions of the protrusion portion (lower-left wall of the perimeter of plate 214A in Shiraishi) would still result in an optical deflector which functions via swingably supporting a reflecting surface by use of elastic members.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the claimed relative dimensions of the protrusion portion and coupling portion for the device of Shiraishi because such device would still function in substantially the same manner, as evidenced by FIG. 4 and corresponding text of Shiraishi (but see especially Abstract and paragraphs [0043]-[0049] of Shiraishi).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-19 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claim 7, although the prior art discloses various mirror devices, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claim 9, although the prior art discloses various mirror devices, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claim 11, although the prior art discloses various mirror devices, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claim 21, although the prior art discloses various mirror devices, including:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above combination of features further comprising:
With respect to Claims 10 and 12-19, these claims each depend from either Claim 9 or Claim 11, and are therefore allowable for at least the reasons stated above.
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of Reference
Although various text and figures of the cited reference have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of the reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872