DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on October 30th, 2025 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 11, and 18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
The previous rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 101 has been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 20230021643 A1) (“Neumann”) in view of Murakami (US 20200130578 A1) (“Murakami”) in view of Urmson (US 11287817 B1) (“Urmson”).
With respect to claim 1, Neumann teaches a method comprising:
receiving, from a vehicle, a request for a map of a geographic location, a driving application associated with the request for which the map is to be used, a position of the vehicle; determining information to be included in the map based on the driving application; generating the map that includes the information (See at least Neumann FIGS. 1-3 and Paragraphs 54-63 “A three-dimensional map 100 is sketched in FIG. 2 , which is displayed for a user of the motor vehicle 10 on the display device 36 of the motor vehicle 10. The three-dimensional map 100 is initially generated by the navigation system 34 of the motor vehicle 10, wherein the generated map 100 displays the surroundings 33 of the motor vehicle 10 in a three-dimensional representation. This takes place in S1. Reference characters S1 to S6 are shown in FIG. 1 , whereas details relating to the three-dimensional map 100 are sketched in FIG. 2 . In S2, a route-related navigation representation 102 is generated in the generated map 100 by evaluating navigation system data of the navigation system 34 if route guidance by the navigation system 34 is activated. The route-related navigation representation 102 includes a route representation 104 of at least a subsection of a route of the motor vehicle 10 … In S3, it is checked whether the at least one driver assistance system 40, 41, 42 of the motor vehicle 10 is activated. If the at least one driver assistance system 40, 41, 42 is activated, in S4, the sensor unit 30, 31 is activated, so that this acquires predetermined sensor data describing the surroundings 33 of the motor vehicle 10, and does so according to a data acquisition rule of the at least one activated driver assistance system 40, 41, 42. In this case, three driver assistance systems 40, 41, 42 are activated. Due to the activity of the lane keeping assistant as the driver assistance system 40, a lane marking 18 of the road 12 is acquired as sensor data and additionally shown in the generated map 100 as a corresponding lane boundary representation 124. In S5, at least one driver assistance system-related additional information representation 120 is generated in the generated map 100 by selecting the acquired sensor data … In S6, the generated map 100 is provided with the generated route-related navigation representation 102 and the generated at least one driver assistance system-related additional information representation 120 in the motor vehicle 10 by the display device 36 of the motor vehicle 10.”);
Neumann fails to explicitly disclose receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking; determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking; generating a recommendation1 based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map.
Murakami teaches receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking and determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking (See at least Murakami Paragraph 35 “The gaze detection portion 400 detects an eye-gaze distribution (gaze distribution) of the driver 302 of the vehicle 1. In the present embodiment, the gaze detection portion 400 detects an image of the face and/or the eye(s) of the driver 302 based on a captured image obtained by the driver monitoring camera 201 that captures the image of the driver 302. The gaze detection portion 400 detects the gaze distribution of the driver 302 based on the detected image of the face and/or the eyes of the driver 302.” | Paragraph 38 “The generation portion 403 generates a personalized saliency map based on the captured image acquired by the image acquisition portion 401, the driver information, and the vehicle information acquired by the driver information acquisition portion 402. The personalized saliency map serves as a saliency map for the captured image and also serves as a saliency map which differs or varies depending on the driver 302. That is, saliency maps which may be different from one another are generated for respective drivers to serve as personalized saliency maps.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann to include receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking and determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking, as taught by Murakami as disclosed above, in order to increase driver safety (Murakami Paragraph 3 “The saliency map generated in the aforementioned manner is compared with a detection result of an eye-gaze distribution of a driver of the vehicle so as to determine whether or not the driver recognizes a subject that should be visually confirmed (i.e., a visual confirmation target) in the surroundings of the vehicle.”).
Neumann in view of Murakami fail to explicitly disclose generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map.
Urmson teaches generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map (See at least Urmson FIG. 5 and Col. 6 line 40 – Col. 7 line 21 “Based on data collected locally and from other vehicles, the computer system on vehicle 101 may process the data and make various kinds of recommendations to the user and recommendations to third parties. Recommendations may be made based on data collected solely from and processed by the user's vehicle. In one aspect, the system and method makes recommendations based both on data that was previously collected by the sensors and, at the time of the recommendation, is currently being collected by the sensors. POI based on what has been visited in the past For example, computer system 131 may provide the user with a recommended point of interest (POI) to visit. At the user's request, processor 131 may select the destination by consulting the data it received from geographic location component 210 the last time the vehicle was in the current geographic area. Processor 131 may then compare its current location with how long vehicle 101 has stayed at a particular POI, such as a restaurant. Depending on the average amount of time that the user stayed at a particular place, and based further on the vehicle's current position, processor 131 may then recommend a specific restaurant or other POI. By way of example, if the vehicle is currently near a POI that the user has previously stayed at for 30 minutes or more, the vehicle may identify the recommended destination and ask the user if they would like to be brought to the POI. The recommended action may be performed automatically. Continuing the foregoing example, vehicle 101 may automatically bring the user to the recommended destination if the user indicates to the vehicle that he or she accepts the recommendation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Neumann in view of Murakami to include generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map, as taught by Urmson as disclosed above, such that the recommendations are based on the area of interest, in order to ensure accurate recommendations (Urmson “In one aspect, a system and method is provided wherein an autonomous vehicle makes recommendations to a user based on the conditions detected by the car's sensors”).
With respect to claim 7, and similarly claim 15, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson teach receiving, from the vehicle, feedback about past recommendations; and generating the recommendation based at least in part on the feedback (See at least Urmson FIG. 5 and Col. 6 line 40 – Col. 7 line 21 “Based on data collected locally and from other vehicles, the computer system on vehicle 101 may process the data and make various kinds of recommendations to the user and recommendations to third parties. Recommendations may be made based on data collected solely from and processed by the user's vehicle. In one aspect, the system and method makes recommendations based both on data that was previously collected by the sensors and, at the time of the recommendation, is currently being collected by the sensors. POI based on what has been visited in the past For example, computer system 131 may provide the user with a recommended point of interest (POI) to visit. At the user's request, processor 131 may select the destination by consulting the data it received from geographic location component 210 the last time the vehicle was in the current geographic area. Processor 131 may then compare its current location with how long vehicle 101 has stayed at a particular POI, such as a restaurant. Depending on the average amount of time that the user stayed at a particular place, and based further on the vehicle's current position, processor 131 may then recommend a specific restaurant or other POI. By way of example, if the vehicle is currently near a POI that the user has previously stayed at for 30 minutes or more, the vehicle may identify the recommended destination and ask the user if they would like to be brought to the POI. The recommended action may be performed automatically. Continuing the foregoing example, vehicle 101 may automatically bring the user to the recommended destination if the user indicates to the vehicle that he or she accepts the recommendation.”).
With respect to claim 11, Yanase teaches a computing device comprising one or more processors configured to:
receiving, from a vehicle, a request for a map of a geographic location, a driving application associated with the request for which the map is to be used, a position of the vehicle; determining information to be included in the map based on the driving application; generating the map that includes the information (See at least Neumann FIGS. 1-3 and Paragraphs 54-63 “A three-dimensional map 100 is sketched in FIG. 2 , which is displayed for a user of the motor vehicle 10 on the display device 36 of the motor vehicle 10. The three-dimensional map 100 is initially generated by the navigation system 34 of the motor vehicle 10, wherein the generated map 100 displays the surroundings 33 of the motor vehicle 10 in a three-dimensional representation. This takes place in S1. Reference characters S1 to S6 are shown in FIG. 1 , whereas details relating to the three-dimensional map 100 are sketched in FIG. 2 . In S2, a route-related navigation representation 102 is generated in the generated map 100 by evaluating navigation system data of the navigation system 34 if route guidance by the navigation system 34 is activated. The route-related navigation representation 102 includes a route representation 104 of at least a subsection of a route of the motor vehicle 10 … In S3, it is checked whether the at least one driver assistance system 40, 41, 42 of the motor vehicle 10 is activated. If the at least one driver assistance system 40, 41, 42 is activated, in S4, the sensor unit 30, 31 is activated, so that this acquires predetermined sensor data describing the surroundings 33 of the motor vehicle 10, and does so according to a data acquisition rule of the at least one activated driver assistance system 40, 41, 42. In this case, three driver assistance systems 40, 41, 42 are activated. Due to the activity of the lane keeping assistant as the driver assistance system 40, a lane marking 18 of the road 12 is acquired as sensor data and additionally shown in the generated map 100 as a corresponding lane boundary representation 124. In S5, at least one driver assistance system-related additional information representation 120 is generated in the generated map 100 by selecting the acquired sensor data … In S6, the generated map 100 is provided with the generated route-related navigation representation 102 and the generated at least one driver assistance system-related additional information representation 120 in the motor vehicle 10 by the display device 36 of the motor vehicle 10.”);
Neumann fails to explicitly disclose receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking; determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking; generating a recommendation2 based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map.
Murakami teaches receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking and determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking (See at least Murakami Paragraph 35 “The gaze detection portion 400 detects an eye-gaze distribution (gaze distribution) of the driver 302 of the vehicle 1. In the present embodiment, the gaze detection portion 400 detects an image of the face and/or the eye(s) of the driver 302 based on a captured image obtained by the driver monitoring camera 201 that captures the image of the driver 302. The gaze detection portion 400 detects the gaze distribution of the driver 302 based on the detected image of the face and/or the eyes of the driver 302.” | Paragraph 38 “The generation portion 403 generates a personalized saliency map based on the captured image acquired by the image acquisition portion 401, the driver information, and the vehicle information acquired by the driver information acquisition portion 402. The personalized saliency map serves as a saliency map for the captured image and also serves as a saliency map which differs or varies depending on the driver 302. That is, saliency maps which may be different from one another are generated for respective drivers to serve as personalized saliency maps.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann to include receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking and determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking, as taught by Murakami as disclosed above, in order to increase driver safety (Murakami Paragraph 3 “The saliency map generated in the aforementioned manner is compared with a detection result of an eye-gaze distribution of a driver of the vehicle so as to determine whether or not the driver recognizes a subject that should be visually confirmed (i.e., a visual confirmation target) in the surroundings of the vehicle.”).
Neumann in view of Murakami fail to explicitly disclose generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map.
Urmson teaches generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map (See at least Urmson FIG. 5 and Col. 6 line 40 – Col. 7 line 21 “Based on data collected locally and from other vehicles, the computer system on vehicle 101 may process the data and make various kinds of recommendations to the user and recommendations to third parties. Recommendations may be made based on data collected solely from and processed by the user's vehicle. In one aspect, the system and method makes recommendations based both on data that was previously collected by the sensors and, at the time of the recommendation, is currently being collected by the sensors. POI based on what has been visited in the past For example, computer system 131 may provide the user with a recommended point of interest (POI) to visit. At the user's request, processor 131 may select the destination by consulting the data it received from geographic location component 210 the last time the vehicle was in the current geographic area. Processor 131 may then compare its current location with how long vehicle 101 has stayed at a particular POI, such as a restaurant. Depending on the average amount of time that the user stayed at a particular place, and based further on the vehicle's current position, processor 131 may then recommend a specific restaurant or other POI. By way of example, if the vehicle is currently near a POI that the user has previously stayed at for 30 minutes or more, the vehicle may identify the recommended destination and ask the user if they would like to be brought to the POI. The recommended action may be performed automatically. Continuing the foregoing example, vehicle 101 may automatically bring the user to the recommended destination if the user indicates to the vehicle that he or she accepts the recommendation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Neumann in view of Murakami to include generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map, as taught by Urmson as disclosed above, such that the recommendations are based on the area of interest, in order to ensure accurate recommendations (Urmson “In one aspect, a system and method is provided wherein an autonomous vehicle makes recommendations to a user based on the conditions detected by the car's sensors”).
With respect to claim 18, Yanase teaches a system comprising a vehicle and an edge server, wherein:
receiving, from a vehicle, a request for a map of a geographic location, a driving application associated with the request for which the map is to be used, a position of the vehicle; determining information to be included in the map based on the driving application; generating the map that includes the information (See at least Neumann FIGS. 1-3 and Paragraphs 54-63 “A three-dimensional map 100 is sketched in FIG. 2 , which is displayed for a user of the motor vehicle 10 on the display device 36 of the motor vehicle 10. The three-dimensional map 100 is initially generated by the navigation system 34 of the motor vehicle 10, wherein the generated map 100 displays the surroundings 33 of the motor vehicle 10 in a three-dimensional representation. This takes place in S1. Reference characters S1 to S6 are shown in FIG. 1 , whereas details relating to the three-dimensional map 100 are sketched in FIG. 2 . In S2, a route-related navigation representation 102 is generated in the generated map 100 by evaluating navigation system data of the navigation system 34 if route guidance by the navigation system 34 is activated. The route-related navigation representation 102 includes a route representation 104 of at least a subsection of a route of the motor vehicle 10 … In S3, it is checked whether the at least one driver assistance system 40, 41, 42 of the motor vehicle 10 is activated. If the at least one driver assistance system 40, 41, 42 is activated, in S4, the sensor unit 30, 31 is activated, so that this acquires predetermined sensor data describing the surroundings 33 of the motor vehicle 10, and does so according to a data acquisition rule of the at least one activated driver assistance system 40, 41, 42. In this case, three driver assistance systems 40, 41, 42 are activated. Due to the activity of the lane keeping assistant as the driver assistance system 40, a lane marking 18 of the road 12 is acquired as sensor data and additionally shown in the generated map 100 as a corresponding lane boundary representation 124. In S5, at least one driver assistance system-related additional information representation 120 is generated in the generated map 100 by selecting the acquired sensor data … In S6, the generated map 100 is provided with the generated route-related navigation representation 102 and the generated at least one driver assistance system-related additional information representation 120 in the motor vehicle 10 by the display device 36 of the motor vehicle 10.”);
Neumann fails to explicitly disclose receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking; determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking; generating a recommendation3 based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map.
Murakami teaches receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking and determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking (See at least Murakami Paragraph 35 “The gaze detection portion 400 detects an eye-gaze distribution (gaze distribution) of the driver 302 of the vehicle 1. In the present embodiment, the gaze detection portion 400 detects an image of the face and/or the eye(s) of the driver 302 based on a captured image obtained by the driver monitoring camera 201 that captures the image of the driver 302. The gaze detection portion 400 detects the gaze distribution of the driver 302 based on the detected image of the face and/or the eyes of the driver 302.” | Paragraph 38 “The generation portion 403 generates a personalized saliency map based on the captured image acquired by the image acquisition portion 401, the driver information, and the vehicle information acquired by the driver information acquisition portion 402. The personalized saliency map serves as a saliency map for the captured image and also serves as a saliency map which differs or varies depending on the driver 302. That is, saliency maps which may be different from one another are generated for respective drivers to serve as personalized saliency maps.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann to include receiving a direction that an occupant of the vehicle is looking and determining an area of interest of the occupant of the vehicle based on the position of the vehicle and the direction that the occupant of the vehicle is looking, as taught by Murakami as disclosed above, in order to increase driver safety (Murakami Paragraph 3 “The saliency map generated in the aforementioned manner is compared with a detection result of an eye-gaze distribution of a driver of the vehicle so as to determine whether or not the driver recognizes a subject that should be visually confirmed (i.e., a visual confirmation target) in the surroundings of the vehicle.”).
Neumann in view of Murakami fail to explicitly disclose generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map.
Urmson teaches generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map (See at least Urmson FIG. 5 and Col. 6 line 40 – Col. 7 line 21 “Based on data collected locally and from other vehicles, the computer system on vehicle 101 may process the data and make various kinds of recommendations to the user and recommendations to third parties. Recommendations may be made based on data collected solely from and processed by the user's vehicle. In one aspect, the system and method makes recommendations based both on data that was previously collected by the sensors and, at the time of the recommendation, is currently being collected by the sensors. POI based on what has been visited in the past For example, computer system 131 may provide the user with a recommended point of interest (POI) to visit. At the user's request, processor 131 may select the destination by consulting the data it received from geographic location component 210 the last time the vehicle was in the current geographic area. Processor 131 may then compare its current location with how long vehicle 101 has stayed at a particular POI, such as a restaurant. Depending on the average amount of time that the user stayed at a particular place, and based further on the vehicle's current position, processor 131 may then recommend a specific restaurant or other POI. By way of example, if the vehicle is currently near a POI that the user has previously stayed at for 30 minutes or more, the vehicle may identify the recommended destination and ask the user if they would like to be brought to the POI. The recommended action may be performed automatically. Continuing the foregoing example, vehicle 101 may automatically bring the user to the recommended destination if the user indicates to the vehicle that he or she accepts the recommendation.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Neumann in view of Murakami to include generating a recommendation based on the area of interest; and transmitting the generated map and the recommendation to the vehicle; and causing the vehicle to perform autonomous driving operations based on the generated map, as taught by Urmson as disclosed above, such that the recommendations are based on the area of interest, in order to ensure accurate recommendations (Urmson “In one aspect, a system and method is provided wherein an autonomous vehicle makes recommendations to a user based on the conditions detected by the car's sensors”).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 20230021643 A1) (“Neumann”) in view of Murakami (US 20200130578 A1) (“Murakami”) in view of Urmson (US 11287817 B1) (“Urmson”) further in view of Urmson II (US 10372129 B1) (“Urmson II”).
With respect to claim 2, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson fail to explicitly disclose generating the recommendation based at least in part on a time of day.
Urmson II teaches generating the recommendation based at least in part on a time of day (See at least Urmson II Col. 7 lines 27-35 “In addition to recommending points of interest depending on information received from the sensors, the vehicle may also recommend locations to avoid. For instance, the data collected by vehicle 302 may indicate a pattern of avoiding certain commercial districts during a specific time of day. As such, the computer system may recommend that the user avoid certain routes or areas during that time based on the starting and destination address entered by the user in a navigation request”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson to include generating the recommendation based at least in part on a time of day, as taught by Urmson II as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate recommendations are presented at various times (Urmson II “In one aspect, a system and method is provided wherein an autonomous vehicle makes recommendations to a user based on the conditions detected by the car's sensors.”).
Claims 3-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 20230021643 A1) (“Neumann”) in view of Murakami (US 20200130578 A1) (“Murakami”) in view of Urmson (US 11287817 B1) (“Urmson”) further in view of Kong (US 20190084571 B1) (“Kong”).
With respect to claim 3, and similarly claim 12, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson teach generating recommendations (See at least Urmson FIG. 5 and Col. 6 line 40 – Col. 7 line 21)
Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson fail to explicitly disclose receiving driving statistics associated with the vehicle; and generating the recommendation based at least in part on the driving statistics.
Kong teaches receiving driving statistics associated with the vehicle; and generating the recommendation based at least in part on the driving statistics (See at least Kong Paragraph 8 “In a further aspect of the disclosure, the computer-implemented method for path planning of autonomous driving vehicles comprises: collecting driving statistics of a plurality of vehicles driving on a plurality of roads with different road configurations; performing an analysis on the driving statistics to identify a list of driving scenarios matching a set of predefined driving scenarios at different locations at different points in time; for each of the driving scenarios, identifying a list of locations at which at least some of the vehicles operated under the same driving scenario, for each of the locations associated with the driving scenario, determining a preferred path segments based on driving statistics associated with the location, and generating a driving scenario to path (scenario/path) data structure for the driving scenario to map specific locations to preferred path segments, wherein the scenario/path data structure is utilized subsequent to plan a path segment of a path at a particular location under a particular driving scenario using a corresponding preferred path segment without having to dynamically calculating the path segment.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson to include receiving driving statistics associated with the vehicle; and generating the recommendation based at least in part on the driving statistics, as taught by Kong as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate recommendations (Kong Paragraph 1 “More particularly, embodiments of the disclosure relate to driving scenario based lane guideline for path planning of autonomous driving vehicles.”).
With respect to claim 4, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson in view of Kong teach that the driving statistics include how long the vehicle has been driven (See at least Urmson Col. 8 lines 3-18 “The vehicle may generate a recommendation based on information provided by both the other vehicle and the current vehicle. For example, processor of vehicle 401 may consider its previously sensed data (e.g., the average times that vehicle 401 has spent at different restaurants), its currently sensed data (e.g., its current location) and the currently sensed data from another vehicle (e.g., the amount of snow at the location of vehicle 402) when generating a recommendation (e.g., going to a different restaurant than the one requested by the user if the weather conditions are bad at the location near the requested restaurant). In that regard, the recommended action may be determined based on the sensors (e.g., GPS receivers) that identify the current and past location of the car, as well as sensors that do not identify the location of the car (e.g., road conditions).”).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 20230021643 A1) (“Neumann”) in view of Murakami (US 20200130578 A1) (“Murakami”) in view of Urmson (US 11287817 B1) (“Urmson”) further in view of Kim (US 20150328985 A1) (“Kim”).
With respect to claim 6, and similarly claim 14, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson teaches receiving a direction at which the occupant is looking at a plurality of timesteps (See at least Murakami Paragraph 35 and 38).
Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson fails to explicitly disclose determining the area of interest when the occupant looks at a particular location for longer than a predetermined period of time.
Kim teaches determining the area of interest when the occupant looks at a particular location for longer than a predetermined period of time (See at least Kim Paragraph 444 “In addition, in order to obtain an image of a region of interest (ROI) according to coordinates of a point at which the user gazes, the multiple image obtainment apparatuses 900 may, in some implementations, be installed toward multiple regions inside of and outside of the vehicle in such a manner as to obtain image information on the multiple regions inside of and outside of the vehicle.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson, as taught by Kim as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate recommendations (Kim Paragraph 2 “This application relates to a driver monitoring system and particularly, to a mobile terminal and a vehicle control apparatus that determine whether a driver of a vehicle is driving in a dangerous driving state.”).
Claims 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 20230021643 A1) (“Neumann”) in view of Murakami (US 20200130578 A1) (“Murakami”) in view of Urmson (US 11287817 B1) (“Urmson”) further in view of Yusuke (JP 2019185306 A) (“Yusuke”) (Translation Attached).
With respect to claim 8, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson fail to explicitly disclose determining one or more layers of information to be included in the map.
Yusuke teaches determining one or more layers of information to be included in the map (See at least Yusuke Paragraph 32 “(3) Further, as described in the explanation of FIG. 2, the statistical speed and the statistical acceleration are obtained in lane units. Therefore, when performing automatic travel using statistical speed or statistical acceleration, it is possible to control the travel speed in lane units. It becomes possible to do. (4) In addition, statistically comprehensible road congestion such as rush hours and weekend tourist spots can be included in the map data as static data, so that it does not rely on dynamic information in time series. Understand changing road conditions. (5) In addition, it is possible to provide advanced automatic driving and safe driving support even in places where dynamic data is difficult to obtain such as communication facilities are not available.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson to include determining one or more layers of information to be included in the map, as taught by Yusuke as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate information is included in the map (Yusuke Paragraph 8 “An object of the present invention is to enable vehicle travel using three-dimensional map data having contents suitable for actual road conditions”).
With respect to claim 9, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson in view of Yusuke teaches that the one or more layers of information include static information, dynamic information, and transient information (See at least Yusuke Paragraph 12 “Embodiment 1 FIG. FIG. 1 shows the data structure of the dynamic map 100. The dynamic map 100 includes static information, quasi-static information, quasi-dynamic information, and dynamic information. (1) The static information 104 includes basic map data 104a and statistical speed information 104b. The basic map data 104a is highly accurate three-dimensional map data. The basic map data 104a includes road surface information, lane information, a three-dimensional structure, and the like, and is composed of three-dimensional position coordinates indicating a feature and linear vector data. The statistical speed information 104b will be described later. (2) The quasi-static information, the quasi-dynamic information, and the dynamic information are dynamic data that changes every moment, and are data that is superimposed on the static information based on the position information. (3) The quasi-static information 103 includes traffic regulation information, road construction information, wide area weather information, and the like. (4) The quasi-dynamic information 102 includes accident information, traffic jam information, narrow-area weather information, and the like. (5) The dynamic information 101 includes ITS information (peripheral vehicle information, pedestrian information, signal information, etc.).”).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 20230021643 A1) (“Neumann”) in view of Murakami (US 20200130578 A1) (“Murakami”) in view of Urmson (US 11287817 B1) (“Urmson”) further in view of Josefdi (KR 20030017559 A) (“Josefdi”) (Translation Attached).
With respect to claim 10, and similarly claim 17, Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson fail to explicitly disclose determining whether the information is stored locally; and upon determination that the information is not stored locally, transmitting a request for the information to a remote computing device.
Josefdi teaches determining whether the information is stored locally; and upon determination that the information is not stored locally, transmitting a request for the information to a remote computing device (See at least Josefdi Paragraph 180 “The storage component 145 is a key component that enables a storage mechanism referred to herein as a & quot; mega-store. & Quot; In the mega-store, the server association 120 of FIG. 1 acts as an integrated storage mechanism from the end-user viewpoint. The mega-store is illustrated by the following scenarios. The user logs on to the PC. This logon authenticates the user with the Internet Authentication Service provided by the security component 165. After the user is authenticated, the directory component 150 may be used to determine where the user's information is stored. The storage component 145 then retrieves the data and provides it to the user interface component 140. Thus, personalized information does not require additional user intervention and appears in a user interface, such as a history list, favorite list, inbox, and the like. Thus, when a user moves from a device to a device, they follow their data and applications”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Neumann in view of Murakami in view of Urmson to include determining whether the information is stored locally; and upon determination that the information is not stored locally, transmitting a request for the information to a remote computing device, as taught by Josefdi as disclosed above, in order to ensure an accurate retrival of information needed (Josefdi Paragraph 1 “More particularly, the present invention describes a distributed computing services platform for facilitating advanced communication and coordination in an entire computer network”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667
1 There is no limiting definition as to what constitutes a recommendation
2 There is no limiting definition as to what constitutes a recommendation
3 There is no limiting definition as to what constitutes a recommendation