Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 20200249463 A1), hereinafter Suzuki.
Regarding independent claim 1, Suzuki discloses a mirror device comprising:
a support portion (2; Fig. 1; ¶0032);
a movable portion (3, 4; Fig. 1; ¶0032) having a first surface (front surface shown in Fig. 1) and a second surface opposite (back surface shown in Fig. 4; ¶0045) to the first surface, a mirror surface (41a; Fig. 1; ¶0040) being formed on the first surface (Fig. 1; ¶0040) and a rib portion (47, 48, 49; Fig. 4; ¶0056) being formed on the second surface (Fig. 4; ¶0056); and
a coupling portion (5, 6; Fig. 1; Fig. 1; ¶0031) that couples the movable portion (3, 4) to the support portion (2) such that the movable portion (3, 4) is swingable around a first axis (Y; Fig. 1),
wherein the rib portion includes a first rib portion (47; Fig. 4; ¶0056), a second rib portion (48; Fig. 4; ¶0056), a third rib portion (left 49; Fig. 4; ¶0056), and a fourth rib portion (right 49; Fig. 4; ¶0056),
when a direction parallel to the first axis (Y) is a first direction, an axis perpendicular to both the first direction and a third direction passing through a center of the movable portion (3, 4) when viewed in the third direction perpendicular to the second surface is a second axis (X; Fig. 4), and a direction parallel to the second axis is a second direction (Fig. 4), the first rib portion (47, 48, 49) includes a pair of first portions (sides of 47) extending from a side of a reference position (center O; Fig. 4) toward one side in the first direction and facing each other with the first axis (Y) interposed between the pair of first portions (sides of 47) in the second direction (Fig. 4), and a first extending portion (section that connects both sides of 47; Fig. 4) extending between the pair of first portions (sides of 47) to intersect the first axis (Y) when viewed in the third direction (Fig. 4), the second rib portion (48) includes a pair of second portions (sides of 48) extending from the side of the reference position (center) toward the other side in the first direction and facing each other with the first axis (Y) interposed between the pair of second portions (sides of 48) in the second direction (Fig. 4), and a second extending portion (section that connects both sides of 48; Fig. 4) extending between the pair of second portions (sides of 48) to intersect the first axis (Y) when viewed in the third direction (Fig. 4), the third rib portion (left 49; Fig. 4) includes a pair of third portions (sides of left 49) extending from the side of the reference position (center) toward one side in the second direction and facing each other with the second axis (X) interposed between the pair of third portions (sides of left 49) in the first direction (Fig. 4), and the fourth rib portion (right 49; Fig. 4) includes a pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) extending from the side of the reference position (center) toward the other side in the second direction and facing each other with the second axis (X) interposed between the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) in the first direction (Fig. 4; ¶0056),
the rib portion (47, 48, 49) does not include a portion formed between the pair of third portions (sides of left 49) and extending to intersect the second axis (X) when viewed in the third direction (Fig. 4), and a portion formed between the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) and extending to intersect the second axis (X) when viewed in the third direction (Fig. 4), and
the pair of first portions (sides of 47), the pair of second portions (sides of 48), the pair of third portions (sides of left 49), and the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) are portions different from one another (Fig. 4; ¶0056).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the first extending portion (section that connects both sides of 47) is connected to the pair of first portions (sides of 47) (Fig. 4), and the second extending portion (section that connects both sides of 48) is connected to the pair of second portions (sides of 48) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the pair of first portions (sides of 47) are connected to each other on the side of the reference position (center), and the pair of second portions (sides of 48) are connected to each other on the side of the reference position (center) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the pair of third portions (sides of left 49) are connected to each other on the side of the reference position (center), and the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) are connected to each other on the side of the reference position (center) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the rib portion (47, 48, 49) includes a reference portion (intersection O) disposed at the reference position (center) when viewed in the third direction (Fig. 4), and the pair of first portions (sides of 47), the pair of second portions (sides of 48), the pair of third portions (sides of left 49), and the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) are connected to the reference portion (intersection O) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the first extending portion (section that connects both sides of 47) is connected to end portions on an opposite side of the pair of first portions (sides of 47) from the reference position (center), and the second extending portion (section that connects both sides of 48) is connected to end portions on an opposite side of the pair of second portions (sides of 48) from the reference position (center) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the reference position (center) coincides with the center of the movable portion (3, 4) when viewed in the third direction (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the movable portion (3, 4) includes a body portion (4; Fig. 1; ¶0032) including the first surface and the second surface (Figs. 1, 4), a ring-shaped1 portion (3; Fig. 1; ¶0032) surrounding the body portion (4) with a gap interposed between the ring-shaped portion (3) and the body portion (4) when viewed in the third direction (Fig. 1), and connected to the coupling portion (5, 6) (Fig. 1), and a connection portion (7, 8; Fig. 1; ¶0031) that connects the ring-shaped portion (3) to the body portion (4) (Fig. 1), and the mirror surface (41a) is formed on the first surface of the body portion (4) (Fig. 1; ¶0040), and the rib portion (47, 48, 49) is formed on the second surface of the body portion (4) (Fig. 4; ¶0056).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20200249463 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki does not disclose when viewed in the third direction, the first extending portion is curved to be convex toward the one side in the first direction, and the second extending portion is curved to be convex toward the other side in the first direction.
However, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Instant application Figs. 7A, 7B, and 8B, which depict potential modifications pertaining to different curvatures of the extending portions – convex, concave, and straight, respectively, indicates that these are all functionally equivalent. One would have been motivated to have the first and extending portions be curved in a convex manner instead of straight for the purpose of decreasing the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suzuki to have the first and second extending portions be curved to be convex since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, for the purpose of decreasing the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses each of the pair of first portions (sides of 47), the pair of second portions (sides of 48), the pair of third portions (sides of left 49), and the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) extends straight (Fig. 4) and when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, an angle between the pair of first portions (sides of 47) is θ1, an angle between the pair of second portions (sides of 48) is θ2, an angle between the pair of third portions (sides of left 49) is θ3, and an angle between the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) is θ4 (these are definitions, and each angle can be designated as these). Suzuki does not disclose each of θ1 and θ2 is larger than each of θ3 and θ4.
However, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Instant application Figs. 7-13 indicate that there are many possible shapes of the rib portion that are functionally equivalent, including where each of θ1 and θ2 are not larger than each of θ3 and θ4. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case, Suzuki has all the claimed elements of the rib portion of the mirror device. One would be motivated to have each of θ1 and θ2 larger than each of θ3 and θ4 for the purpose of having the optimal shape to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for each of θ1 and θ2 to be larger than each of θ3 and θ4 for the purpose of having the optimal shape to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075), and since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 8, as set forth above. Suzuki does not disclose the following relationships are satisfied: θ3 < θ1 < 3 x θ3, θ4 < θ1 < 3 x θ4, θ3 < θ2 < 3 x θ3, θ4 < θ2 < 3 x θ4.
However, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Instant application Figs. 7-13 indicate that there are many possible shapes of the rib portion that are functionally equivalent. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case, Suzuki has all the claimed elements of the rib portion of the mirror device. One would be motivated to have θ3 < θ1 < 3 x θ3, θ4 < θ1 < 3 x θ4, θ3 < θ2 < 3 x θ3, and θ4 < θ2 < 3 x θ4 for the purpose of having the optimal shape to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have θ3 < θ1 < 3 x θ3, θ4 < θ1 < 3 x θ4, θ3 < θ2 < 3 x θ3, and θ4 < θ2 < 3 x θ4 for the purpose of having the optimal shape to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075), and since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Suzuki does not disclose each of a length of the pair of first portions and a length of the pair of second portions is longer than each of a length of the pair of third portions and a length of the pair of fourth portions.
However, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Instant application Figs. 7-13 indicate that there are many possible shapes of the rib portion that are functionally equivalent. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case, Suzuki has all the claimed elements of the rib portion of the mirror device. One would be motivated to have each of a length of the pair of first portions and a length of the pair of second portions be longer than each of a length of the pair of third portions and a length of the pair of fourth portions for the purpose of having the optimal shape to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of a length of the pair of first portions and a length of the pair of second portions be longer than each of a length of the pair of third portions and a length of the pair of fourth portions for the purpose of having the optimal shape to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075), and since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 2, as set forth above. Suzuki does not disclose when viewed in the third direction, an inner edge of the first extending portion is smoothly connected2 to inner edges of the pair of first portions, and an inner edge of the second extending portion is smoothly connected to inner edges of the pair of second portions, as required by claim 12, or when viewed in the third direction, inner edges of the pair of third portions are smoothly connected to each other, and inner edges of the pair of fourth portions are smoothly connected to each other, as required by claim 13.
However, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Instant application Figs. 7-13 indicate that there are many possible shapes of the rib portion that are functionally equivalent, including wherein an inner edge of the first and second extending portions are not smoothly connected to the inner edges of the first and second portions and the inner edges of the third and fourth portions are not smoothly connected (instant application ¶0104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an inner edge of the first extending portion to be smoothly connected to inner edges of the pair of first portions and an inner edge of the second extending portion to be smoothly connected to inner edges of the pair of second portions, as required by claim 12, and for inner edges of the pair of third portions to be smoothly connected to each other, and inner edges of the pair of fourth portions to be smoothly connected to each other, as required by claim 13, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination.
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 20200249463 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 20230056353 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki discloses the mirror device according to claim 14, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses the movable portion (3, 4) includes a first connection portion (7; Fig. 1; ¶0031) and a second connection portion (8; Fig. 1; ¶0031) as the connection portion (7, 8), the first connection portion (7) is disposed on the one side in the second direction with respect to the body portion (4) (Fig. 1), and the second connection portion (8) is disposed on the other side in the second direction with respect to the body portion (4) (Fig. 1). Suzuki also discloses the first connection portion (7) is connected to the body portion (4) and the ring-shaped portion (3) (Fig. 1), the second connection portion (8) is connected to the body portion (4) and the ring-shaped portion (3) (Fig. 1), and the pair of third portions (sides of left 49) extend toward the first connection portion (7) (Fig. 4), and the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) extend toward the second connection portion (8) (Fig. 4).
Suzuki does not disclose the first connection portion includes a pair of first connection regions separated from each other by a space and the second connection portion includes a pair of second connection regions separated from each other by a space, which would result in each of the pair of first connection regions is connected to the body portion and the ring-shaped portion, and each of the pair of second connection regions is connected to the body portion and the ring-shaped portion, and the pair of third portions extend toward the pair of respective first connection regions, and the pair of fourth portions extend toward the pair of respective second connection regions.
However, Liu teaches a similar mirror device comprising a support portion (110; Fig. 1; ¶0027), a movable portion (120, 131; Fig. 1; ¶0028-¶0029) comprising a body portion (120) and portion that is similar to a ring-shaped portion (131b) (Fig. 1), a rib portion (122; Fig. 1; ¶0028), and a first connection portion (upper 131a; Fig. 1; ¶0029) and a second connection portion (lower 131a; Fig. 1; ¶0029), wherein the first connection portion (upper 131a) includes a pair of first connection regions (each of upper 131a; Fig. 1) separated from each other by a space (Fig. 1) and the second connection portion (lower 131a) includes a pair of second connection regions (each of lower 131a; Fig. 1) separated from each other by a space (Fig. 1; ¶0029), wherein each of the pair of first connection regions (each of upper 131a) is connected to the body portion (120) and the ring-shaped portion (131b) (Fig. 1), and each of the pair of second connection regions (each of lower 131a) is connected to the body portion (120) and the ring-shaped portion (131b) (Fig. 1). Modifying Suzuki to incorporate the first connection portion including a pair of first connection regions separated by a space and the second connection portion including a pair of second connection regions separated by a space as taught by Liu would then necessarily result in the pair of third portions extend toward the pair of respective first connection regions, and the pair of fourth portions extend toward the pair of respective second connection regions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Suzuki to incorporate the first connection portion includes a pair of first connection regions separated from each other by a space and the second connection portion includes a pair of second connection regions separated from each other by a space as taught by Liu for the purpose of driving the mirror to rotate at an appropriate rotation angle with good reliability (¶0009 of Liu) and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki in view of Liu discloses the mirror device according to claim 15, including wherein the first connection portion includes a pair of first connection regions separated from each other by a space and the second connection portion includes a pair of second connection regions separated from each other by a space, as set forth above. Suzuki further discloses when viewed in the third direction, the pair of third portions (sides of left 49) do not reach the first connection portion (7) (Fig. 4), and the pair of fourth portions (sides of right 49) do not reach the second connection portion (8) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki in view of Liu discloses the mirror device according to claim 16, including wherein the first connection portion includes a pair of first connection regions separated from each other by a space and the second connection portion includes a pair of second connection regions separated from each other by a space, as set forth above. Neither Suzuki nor Liu disclose a distance between the pair of third portions and the pair of first connection regions is smaller than a maximum width of each of the pair of first connection regions, and a distance between the pair of fourth portions and the pair of second connection regions is smaller than a maximum width of each of the pair of second connection regions.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case Suzuki in view of Liu has all the claimed elements of the mirror device, fulfilling the general conditions of the claim. Additionally, it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being with in the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination. In re Dailey 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Instant application Figs. 7-13 indicate that there are many possible shapes of the rib portion that are functionally equivalent. One would be motivated to have a distance between the pair of third portions and the pair of first connection regions be smaller than a maximum width of each of the pair of first connection regions, and a distance between the pair of fourth portions and the pair of second connection regions be smaller than a maximum width of each of the pair of second connection regions for the purpose of having the optimal rib portion shape and connection region widths to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distance between the pair of third portions and the pair of first connection regions be smaller than a maximum width of each of the pair of first connection regions, and a distance between the pair of fourth portions and the pair of second connection regions be smaller than a maximum width of each of the pair of second connection regions for the purpose of having the optimal rib portion shape and connection region widths to decrease the stress occurring in the body portion due to the twisting of the torsion bars (¶0075).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/432,299 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the devices claimed in '299 and the instant application are coextensive such that there exist devices which could simultaneously be claimed under both.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application
18/432,299
1. A mirror device comprising: a support portion; a movable portion having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, a mirror surface being formed on the first surface and a rib portion being formed on the second surface; and a coupling portion that couples the movable portion to the support portion such that the movable portion is swingable around a first axis, wherein the rib portion includes a first rib portion, a second rib portion, a third rib portion, and a fourth rib portion, when a direction parallel to the first axis is a first direction, an axis perpendicular to both the first direction and a third direction passing through a center of the movable portion when viewed in the third direction perpendicular to the second surface is a second axis, and a direction parallel to the second axis is a second direction, the first rib portion includes a pair of first portions extending from a side of a reference position toward one side in the first direction and facing each other with the first axis interposed between the pair of first portions in the second direction, and a first extending portion extending between the pair of first portions to intersect the first axis when viewed in the third direction, the second rib portion includes a pair of second portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the first direction and facing each other with the first axis interposed between the pair of second portions in the second direction, and a second extending portion extending between the pair of second portions to intersect the first axis when viewed in the third direction, the third rib portion includes a pair of third portions extending from the side of the reference position toward one side in the second direction and facing each other with the second axis interposed between the pair of third portions in the first direction, and the fourth rib portion includes a pair of fourth portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the second direction and facing each other with the second axis interposed between the pair of fourth portions in the first direction, the rib portion does not include a portion formed between the pair of third portions and extending to intersect the second axis when viewed in the third direction, and a portion formed between the pair of fourth portions and extending to intersect the second axis when viewed in the third direction, and the pair of first portions, the pair of second portions, the pair of third portions, and the pair of fourth portions are portions different from one another.
1. A mirror device comprising: a support portion; a movable portion including a body portion including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, a mirror surface being formed on the first surface and a rib portion being formed on the second surface; and a coupling portion that couples the movable portion to the support portion such that the movable portion is swingable around a predetermined axis, wherein the rib portion includes an extending portion extending along an outer edge of the body portion when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the second surface, and the extending portion includes a protrusion portion protruding outward from the outer edge of the body portion and extending along the outer edge of the body portion when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface.
4. The mirror device according to claim 1, wherein when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, the rib portion includes a pair of first portions extending from a side of a reference position toward one side in a predetermined direction and facing each other in a direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction, a first connecting portion connected to the pair of first portions, a pair of second portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the predetermined direction and facing each other in the direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction, and a second connecting portion connected to the pair of second portions, and the extending portion is formed of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion.
3. The mirror device according to claim 1, wherein the pair of first portions are connected to each other on the side of the reference position, and the pair of second portions are connected to each other on the side of the reference position.
6. The mirror device according to claim 4, wherein the pair of first portions are connected to each other on the side of the reference position, and the pair of second portions are connected to each other on the side of the reference position.
11. The mirror device according to claim 1, wherein the reference position coincides with the center of the movable portion when viewed in the third direction.
8. The mirror device according to claim 4, wherein the reference position coincides with a center of the body portion when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface.
14. The mirror device according to claim 1, wherein the movable portion includes a body portion including the first surface and the second surface, a ring-shaped portion surrounding the body portion with a gap interposed between the ring-shaped portion and the body portion when viewed in the third direction, and connected to the coupling portion, and a connection portion that connects the ring- shaped portion to the body portion, and the mirror surface is formed on the first surface of the body portion, and the rib portion is formed on the second surface of the body portion.
11. The mirror device according to claim 1, wherein the movable portion further includes a ring-shaped portion surrounding the body portion with a gap interposed between the ring-shaped portion and the body portion when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, and connected to the coupling portion, and a connection portion that connects the ring-shaped portion to the body portion, and at least a part of the protrusion portion overlaps the gap when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface.
1. A mirror device comprising: a support portion; a movable portion having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, a mirror surface being formed on the first surface and a rib portion being formed on the second surface; and a coupling portion that couples the movable portion to the support portion such that the movable portion is swingable around a first axis, wherein the rib portion includes a first rib portion, a second rib portion, a third rib portion, and a fourth rib portion, when a direction parallel to the first axis is a first direction, an axis perpendicular to both the first direction and a third direction passing through a center of the movable portion when viewed in the third direction perpendicular to the second surface is a second axis, and a direction parallel to the second axis is a second direction, the first rib portion includes a pair of first portions extending from a side of a reference position toward one side in the first direction and facing each other with the first axis interposed between the pair of first portions in the second direction, and a first extending portion extending between the pair of first portions to intersect the first axis when viewed in the third direction, the second rib portion includes a pair of second portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the first direction and facing each other with the first axis interposed between the pair of second portions in the second direction, and a second extending portion extending between the pair of second portions to intersect the first axis when viewed in the third direction, the third rib portion includes a pair of third portions extending from the side of the reference position toward one side in the second direction and facing each other with the second axis interposed between the pair of third portions in the first direction, and the fourth rib portion includes a pair of fourth portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the second direction and facing each other with the second axis interposed between the pair of fourth portions in the first direction, the rib portion does not include a portion formed between the pair of third portions and extending to intersect the second axis when viewed in the third direction, and a portion formed between the pair of fourth portions and extending to intersect the second axis when viewed in the third direction, and the pair of first portions, the pair of second portions, the pair of third portions, and the pair of fourth portions are portions different from one another.
1. A mirror device comprising: a support portion; a movable portion including a body portion including a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, a mirror surface being formed on the first surface and a rib portion being formed on the second surface; and a coupling portion that couples the movable portion to the support portion such that the movable portion is swingable around a predetermined axis, wherein the rib portion includes an extending portion extending along an outer edge of the body portion when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the second surface, and the extending portion includes a protrusion portion protruding outward from the outer edge of the body portion and extending along the outer edge of the body portion when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface.
4. The mirror device according to claim 1, wherein when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, the rib portion includes a pair of first portions extending from a side of a reference position toward one side in a predetermined direction and facing each other in a direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction, a first connecting portion connected to the pair of first portions, a pair of second portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the predetermined direction and facing each other in the direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction, and a second connecting portion connected to the pair of second portions, and the extending portion is formed of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion.
9. The mirror device according to claim 4, wherein when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, the rib portion further includes a pair of third portions extending from the side of the reference position toward one side in the direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction and facing each other in the predetermined direction, and a pair of fourth portions extending from the side of the reference position toward the other side in the direction perpendicular to the predetermined direction and facing each other in the predetermined direction.
8. The mirror device according to claim 1, wherein each of the pair of first portions, the pair of second portions, the pair of third portions, and the pair of fourth portions extends straight, and when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, if an angle between the pair of first portions is θ1, an angle between the pair of second portions is θ2, an angle between the pair of third portions is θ3, and an angle between the pair of fourth portions is θ4, each of θ1 and θ2 is larger than each of θ3 and θ4.
10. The mirror device according to claim 9, wherein when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface, an angle between the pair of first portions is larger than an angle between the pair of third portions.
Regarding the differences between instant application claim 1 and claims 1 and 4 of ‘299, instant application has further limitations regarding third and fourth portions of the rib portion, a first extending portion, and a second extending portion. Additionally, claims 1 and 4 of ‘299 has further limitations of an extending portion, a protrusion portion, a first connecting portion, and a second connecting portion. However, none of these limitations are mutually exclusive and there exist devices (such as seen in instant application Figs. 1-3) that reads on both instant application claim 1 and claims 1 and 4 of ‘299.
Regarding the differences between instant application claim 11 and claim 8 of ‘299, the claims are functionally identical – instant application states “when viewed in the third direction” and ‘299 states “when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the second surface”, however these refer to the same direction and these limitations are not mutually exclusive and there exist devices (such as seen in instant application Figs. 1-3) that reads on both instant application claim 11 and claim 8 of ‘299.
Regarding the differences between instant application claim 14 and claim 11 of ‘299, ‘299 has a further limitation regarding the protrusion portion. However, none of these limitations are mutually exclusive and there exist devices (such as seen in instant application Figs. 1-3) that reads on both instant application claim 14 and claim 11 of ‘299.
Regarding the differences between instant application claim 1 and claims 1, 4, and 9 of ‘299, instant application has further limitations regarding a first extending portion, a second extending portion, not having portions between the pair of third portions and the pair of fourth portions, and the first through fourth portions being different from each other. Additionally, claims 1, 4, and 9 of ‘299 has further limitations of an extending portion, a protrusion portion, a first connecting portion, and a second connecting portion. However, none of these limitations are mutually exclusive and there exist devices (such as seen in instant application Figs. 1-3) that reads on both instant application claim 1 and claims 1, 4, and 9 of ‘299.
Regarding the differences between instant application claim 8 and claim 10 of ‘299, instant application has further limitations regarding each of the angle between the pair of the first portions and the angle between the pair of the second portions being larger than each of the angle between the pair of the third portions and the angle between the pair of the fourth portions, whereas ‘299 only has the angle between the pair of first portions being larger than the angle between the pair of third portions. However, none of these limitations are mutually exclusive and there exist devices (such as seen in instant application Figs. 1-3) that reads on both instant application claim 8 and claim 10 of ‘299.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishiura et al. (US 20230350193 A1), Fujimoto (US 20160006330 A1), and Maeda et al. (US 20120228504 A1) disclose similar mirror devices comprising ribs of various shapes on the back surfaces of the mirrors.
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 March 23rd, 2026
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 Given that the ring-shaped portion of the instant application is not perfectly circular, ring-shaped is being interpreted as any being any enclosed shape, not necessarily a circle, forming a hollow/empty region within it.
2 “Smoothly connected” is being interpreted to mean that there are no sharp corners between the edges as per instant application ¶0049.