DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 03/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1,3-5 and 7-15 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, applicant states “Olivier therefore fails to disclose: - a detachable hydrophone housing coupled to the node housing, wherein at least one hydrophone is substantially contained within the detachable hydrophone housing; - wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material; and - a cross-sectional area of the seismic node is approximately a rectangle”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Olivier teaches the seismic sensor device 410 may be detachably coupled to the vessel body 450. For example, FIG. 4A illustrates a configuration where the seismic sensor module 410 is detached from the vessel body 450 (See Paragraphs 47-48, Figs.4A-4B, Claims 15, 22 of Olivier). Thus, Olivier properly teaches the first limitation in question. Furthermore, Olivier teaches the housings for the seismic sensor device can have any reasonable shape, for example, capsule, conical, cubical, rectangular, pyramid, spherical, etc. (See Paragraph 41 of Olivier) and Olivier also teaches the vessel 450 may have any desirable shape, for example, capsule, conical, cubical, rectangular, pyramid, spherical, etc. (See Paragraphs 55-57 of Olivier). Thus, Olivier properly teaches the third limitation in question. Examiner does not rely on Olivier to teach the second limitation of “wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material”, instead the examiner relies upon Olivier 927 to teach this limitation as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivier (US 20160202380 A1) in view of Olivier 927 (US 20220120927 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Olivier teaches an ocean bottom seismic node, comprising: a non-metallic pressurized node housing (200), wherein at least one seismic sensor (110), at least one data recording unit (130), and at least one clock (clock) are located within the node housing (200) (wherein the sensor module further comprises one or more of an energy source, a memory, a clock, and a hydrophone). (Paragraphs 39, 34, 29, Claims 6, 15)
Olivier also teaches a detachable hydrophone housing (dome shaped section 260 may be configured to house a hydrophone) coupled to the node housing (200), wherein at least one hydrophone is substantially contained within the detachable hydrophone housing (The seismic sensor device 410 may be detachably coupled to the vessel body 450. For example, FIG. 4A illustrates a configuration where the seismic sensor module 410 is detached from the vessel body 450). (Paragraphs 40, 47-48, 50, Claims 15, 22, Figs.2A-2B, 4A-4B)
Olivier also teaches wherein a cross-sectional area of the seismic node is approximately a rectangle. (Paragraphs 41, 55-57)
Olivier does not explicitly teach wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material.
Olivier 927 teaches wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material. (Paragraph 40, Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material in order to have a corrosion free, shock resistant, and affordable housing and can be molded to encapsulate sensor components and related hardware housed within the sensor node.
Regarding claim 3, Olivier teaches wherein the node housing is formed substantially of a polymerized material. (Paragraph 63)
Regarding claim 4, Olivier teaches wherein the detachable hydrophone housing is coupled to a side face of the node housing. (Figs.2A-2B, 4A-4B)
Regarding claim 5, Olivier teaches wherein the at least one hydrophone is configured to be detached from the node housing when the detachable hydrophone housing is detached from the node housing. (Paragraphs 47-48, 54, Figs.2A-2B, 4A-4B)
Regarding claim 7, Olivier teaches wherein the seismic node is substantially in the shape of a cuboid. (Paragraph 55)
Regarding claim 8, Olivier teaches a baseplate coupled to a bottom portion of the node housing, wherein the baseplate is approximately a rectangle. (Paragraphs 60, 75, Figs.5I-5J, 11A-11B)
Regarding claim 10, Olivier teaches wherein the baseplate comprises a plurality of mounting points (573-574) configured to attach an accessory. (Paragraph 60, Figs.5I-5J)
Regarding claim 11, Olivier teaches a plurality of external electrical connectors (210) partially enclosed by the detachable hydrophone housing. (Paragraphs 39-40, Figs.2A-2B)
Regarding claim 12, Olivier teaches a plurality of external electrical connectors (210, 270) that are each configured to sit within a recess formed in an external face of the node pressure housing. (Paragraphs 39-40, 44, 57, Figs.2A-3)
Regarding claim 13, Olivier teaches a handling bracket (573) coupled to a top portion of the seismic node. (Paragraphs 60, Figs.5I-5J)
Regarding claim 14, Olivier teaches wherein the handling bracket is coupled to the node housing by a clip-on fitting (574). (Paragraph 60, Figs.5I-5J)
Claim(s) 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivier in view of Olivier 927 and Rokkan (US 20180106921 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Olivier does not explicitly teach a ballast weight positioned between the node housing and the baseplate.
Rokkan teaches a ballast weight positioned between the node housing and the baseplate. (Paragraphs 24, 26, 37, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate a ballast weight positioned between the node housing and the baseplate in order to locate, retrieve, and/or raise various portions of the cable.
Regarding claim 15, Olivier does not explicitly teach a pressure relief valve, wherein the pressure relief valve is configured to fit within an integrated socket of the node housing.
Rokkan teaches a pressure relief valve (216), wherein the pressure relief valve is configured to fit within an integrated socket of the node housing (110, 202). (Paragraph 30, Figs.2A-2B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate a pressure relief valve, wherein the pressure relief valve is configured to fit within an integrated socket of the node housing in order to release unwanted pressure from seismic node.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645