DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page.2, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-15 under U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference(s) as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivier (US 20160202380 A1) in view of Gateman (US 20150301212 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Olivier teaches an ocean bottom seismic node, comprising: a non-metallic pressurized node housing (200), wherein at least one seismic sensor (110), at least one data recording unit (130), and at least one clock (clock) are located within the node housing (200) (wherein the sensor module further comprises one or more of an energy source, a memory, a clock, and a hydrophone). (Paragraphs 39, 34, 29, Claims 6, 15)
Olivier also teaches a hydrophone housing (dome shaped section 260 may be configured to house a hydrophone) coupled to the node housing (200), wherein at least one hydrophone is substantially contained within the hydrophone housing. (Paragraphs 40, 47-48, 50, Claims 15, 22, Figs.2A-2B, 4A-4B)
Olivier does not explicitly teach a detachable hydrophone housing coupled to the node housing.
Gateman teaches a detachable hydrophone housing (9) coupled to the node housing (5). (Fig.3, Paragraph 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate a detachable hydrophone housing coupled to the node housing as taught by Gateman in order for storing a large number of seismic node casings and sensor capsules on the deploying/retrieving vessel, and enable deploying and retrieving the seismic nodes in a quick and cost efficient way.
Regarding claim 3, Olivier teaches wherein the node housing is formed substantially of a polymerized material. (Paragraph 63)
Regarding claim 4, Olivier teaches wherein the hydrophone housing is coupled to a side face of the node housing. (Figs.2A-2B, 4A-4B)
Olivier does not explicitly teach a detachable hydrophone housing.
Gateman teaches a detachable hydrophone housing (9). (Fig.3, Paragraph 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate a detachable hydrophone housing as taught by Gateman in order for storing a large number of seismic node casings and sensor capsules on the deploying/retrieving vessel, and enable deploying and retrieving the seismic nodes in a quick and cost efficient way.
Regarding claim 5, Olivier does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one hydrophone is configured to be detached from the node housing when the detachable hydrophone housing is detached from the node housing.
Gateman teaches wherein the at least one hydrophone is configured to be detached from the node housing when the detachable hydrophone housing is detached from the node housing. (Fig.3, Paragraph 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate wherein the at least one hydrophone is configured to be detached from the node housing when the detachable hydrophone housing is detached from the node housing as taught by Gateman in order for storing a large number of seismic node casings and sensor capsules on the deploying/retrieving vessel, and enable deploying and retrieving the seismic nodes in a quick and cost efficient way.
Regarding claim 7, Olivier teaches wherein the seismic node is substantially in the shape of a cuboid. (Paragraph 55)
Regarding claim 8, Olivier teaches a baseplate coupled to a bottom portion of the node housing, wherein the baseplate is approximately a rectangle. (Paragraphs 60, 75, Figs.5I-5J, 11A-11B)
Regarding claim 10, Olivier teaches wherein the baseplate comprises a plurality of mounting points (573-574) configured to attach an accessory. (Paragraph 60, Figs.5I-5J)
Regarding claim 11, Olivier teaches a plurality of external electrical connectors (210) partially enclosed by the hydrophone housing. (Paragraphs 39-40, Figs.2A-2B)
Olivier does not explicitly teach a detachable hydrophone housing.
Gateman teaches a detachable hydrophone housing (9). (Fig.3, Paragraph 33)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate a detachable hydrophone housing as taught by Gateman in order for storing a large number of seismic node casings and sensor capsules on the deploying/retrieving vessel, and enable deploying and retrieving the seismic nodes in a quick and cost efficient way.
Regarding claim 12, Olivier teaches a plurality of external electrical connectors (210, 270) that are each configured to sit within a recess formed in an external face of the node pressure housing. (Paragraphs 39-40, 44, 57, Figs.2A-3)
Regarding claim 13, Olivier teaches a handling bracket (573) coupled to a top portion of the seismic node. (Paragraphs 60, Figs.5I-5J)
Regarding claim 14, Olivier teaches wherein the handling bracket is coupled to the node housing by a clip-on fitting (574). (Paragraph 60, Figs.5I-5J)
Regarding claim 29, Olivier teaches wherein a cross-sectional area of the seismic node is approximately a rectangle. (Paragraphs 41, 55-57)
Claim(s) 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivier in view of Gateman and Rokkan (US 20180106921 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Olivier does not explicitly teach a ballast weight positioned between the node housing and the baseplate.
Rokkan teaches a ballast weight positioned between the node housing and the baseplate. (Paragraphs 24, 26, 37, 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate a ballast weight positioned between the node housing and the baseplate in order to locate, retrieve, and/or raise various portions of the cable.
Regarding claim 15, Olivier does not explicitly teach a pressure relief valve, wherein the pressure relief valve is configured to fit within an integrated socket of the node housing.
Rokkan teaches a pressure relief valve (216), wherein the pressure relief valve is configured to fit within an integrated socket of the node housing (110, 202). (Paragraph 30, Figs.2A-2B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate a pressure relief valve, wherein the pressure relief valve is configured to fit within an integrated socket of the node housing in order to release unwanted pressure from seismic node.
Claim(s) 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olivier in view of Gateman and Olivier 927 (US 20220120927 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Olivier does not explicitly teach wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material.
Olivier 927 teaches wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material. (Paragraph 40, Fig.2)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Olivier to incorporate wherein the node housing comprises an injected molded housing formed of polymeric material as taught by Olivier 927 in order to have a corrosion free, shock resistant, and affordable housing and can be molded to encapsulate sensor components and related hardware housed within the sensor node.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645