DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the amendments to the claims and the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18-19, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al (US Publication No.: US 2021/0341801 A1 of record, “Fang”) in view of Song (US Publication No.: US 2020/0220110 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fang discloses a display panel (Figure 7), comprising:
A substrate (Figure 4, substrate 180); and
A display medium layer located over the substrate (Figure 4, display medium layer 151), wherein the display medium layer comprises:
A plurality of charged particles (Figure 4, plurality of charged particles 152; Paragraph 0051);
A plurality of microstructure, wherein a microstructure of the plurality of microstructures comprises a sidewall not parallel to the substrate and a bottom surface adjacent to the substrate, and is disposed therein with some of the charged particles (Figure 4, non-parallel sidewalls 131a; Paragraph 0051);
A plurality of first electrodes (Figure 4F, first electrodes 140); and
A plurality of second electrodes (Figure 4F, second electrodes 120), wherein
A first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes and a second electrode of the plurality of second electrodes are at least partially located in the microstructure (Figure 4F, first electrodes 140 and second electrodes 120 are located within microstructures), the first electrode comprises a first side portion and a first extension portion, the first side portion is located on the sidewall of the microstructure, and the first extension portion is connected to the first side portion and located on part of the bottom surface of the microstructure (Figure 4C, first electrode comprises a first side portion 141 and a first extension portion 142), wherein
The sidewall comprises a first sidewall and a second sidewall that are opposite to each other along a first direction, and the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate, the first side portion is located on the first sidewall (Figure 4 discloses first and second sidewalls on opposite horizontal sides).
Fang fails to disclose that the second electrode comprises a first sub-electrode, and the first sub-electrode comprises a second side portion located on the second sidewall; wherein the first side portion located on the first sidewall and the second side portion located on the second sidewall are discontinuous.
However, Song discloses a similar display where the second electrode comprises a first sub-electrode, and the first sub-electrode comprises a second side portion located on the second sidewall; wherein the first side portion located on the first sidewall and the second side portion located on the second sidewall are discontinuous (Song, Figure 2, first sub-electrode 02 has side portions located on first and second sidewalls, where the sub-electrode portions are discontinuous).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second electrode as disclosed by Fang to be discontinuous as disclosed by Song. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving the efficiency of light emission from the display panel (Song, Paragraph 0054).
Regarding Claim 18, Fang in view of Song discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the second electrode comprises a third sub-electrode located on part of the bottom surface and overlapping a central region of the bottom surface (Figure 6, third sub-electrode 220), and wherein the sidewall of the microstructure is circular and surrounds the bottom surface, the first side portion is located on the circular sidewall and is circular, and the first extension portion is connected to the circular first side portion (Figure 6 discloses a circular sidewall).
Regarding Claim 19, Fang in view of Song discloses the display panel according to claim 18, further comprising a plurality of sub-pixels, and the plurality of sub-pixels comprising the plurality of microstructures, wherein a working mode of the sub-pixel comprises a first mode, and wherein, in the first mode, a voltage of the first electrode is not equal to a voltage of the third sub-electrode, and the charged particles in the microstructure move to the circular first side portion (Figure 6 discloses each microstructure section as a sub-pixel, where the voltage applied results in the charged particles to move to the circular first side portion).
Regarding Claim 23, Fang discloses a display apparatus (Figure 7), comprising
A display panel (Figure 7), wherein the display panel comprises:
A substrate (Figure 4, substrate 180); and
A sub-pixel (Figure 4, a single area of the microstructure may be considered a sub-pixel), and the sub-pixel comprises:
A microstructure comprising a sidewall not parallel to the substrate and a bottom surface adjacent to the substrate (Figure 4, non-parallel sidewalls 131a; Paragraph 0051);
A plurality of charged particles located in the microstructure (Figure 4, plurality of charged particles 152; Paragraph 0051);
A first electrode at least partially located in the microstructure (Figure 4F, first electrode 140); and
A second electrode at least partially located in the microstructure (Figure 4F, second electrode 120), wherein
The first electrode comprises a first side portion and a first extension portion, the first side portion is located on the sidewall of the microstructure, and the first extension portion is connected to the first side portion and located on part of the bottom surface of the microstructure (Figure 4C, first electrode comprises a first side portion 141 and a first extension portion 142), wherein
The sidewall comprises a first sidewall and a second sidewall that are opposite to each other along a first direction, and the first direction is parallel to a plane of the substrate, the first side portion is located on the first sidewall (Figure 4 discloses first and second sidewalls on opposite horizontal sides).
Fang fails to disclose that the second electrode comprises a first sub-electrode, and the first sub-electrode comprises a second side portion located on the second sidewall; wherein the first side portion located on the first sidewall and the second side portion located on the second sidewall are discontinuous.
However, Song discloses a similar display where the second electrode comprises a first sub-electrode, and the first sub-electrode comprises a second side portion located on the second sidewall; wherein the first side portion located on the first sidewall and the second side portion located on the second sidewall are discontinuous (Song, Figure 2, first sub-electrode 02 has side portions located on first and second sidewalls, where the sub-electrode portions are discontinuous).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the second electrode as disclosed by Fang to be discontinuous as disclosed by Song. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving the efficiency of light emission from the display panel (Song, Paragraph 0054).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 7, 11-12, 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang in view of Song in further view of Chen (US Publication No.: US 2021/0405495 A1 of record).
Regarding Claim 3, Fang in view of Song discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
Fang fails to disclose that the first sub-electrode further comprises a second extension portion connected to the second side portion and located on part of the bottom surface.
However, Chen discloses a similar display panel where the first sub-electrode further comprises a second extension portion connected to the second side portion and located on part of the bottom surface (Chen, Figure 6 discloses the first sub-electrode 50 which has a side portion adjacent to the sidewall and an extension portion that extends along the bottom surface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first sub-electrode as disclosed by Fang to be disposed on a sidewall as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 4, Fang in view of Song discloses the display panel according to claim 2.
Fang fails to disclose a plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises the plurality of microstructures, wherein a working mode of the sub-pixel comprises a first mode, and wherein, in the first mode, a voltage of the first electrode is not equal to a voltage of the first sub-electrode, and the charged particle moves to the first side portion or the second side portion.
However, Chen discloses a similar display panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels (Chen, Paragraph 0053), wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises the plurality of microstructures, wherein a working mode of the sub-pixel comprises a first mode, and wherein, in the first mode, a voltage of the first electrode is not equal to a voltage of the first sub-electrode, and the charged particle moves to the first side portion or the second side portion (Chen, Paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Fang to optimize the voltage and structure of pixels as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 5, Fang in view of Song discloses the display panel according to claim 2.
Fang fails to disclose that the second electrode further comprises a second sub-electrode that is located on part of the bottom surface of the corresponding microstructure and runs through the corresponding microstructure along a second direction, and the second direction intersects with the first direction and is parallel to the plane of the substrate.
However, Chen discloses a similar display where the second electrode further comprises a second sub-electrode that is located on part of the bottom surface of the corresponding microstructure and runs through the corresponding microstructure along a second direction, and the second direction intersects with the first direction and is parallel to the plane of the substrate (Chen, Paragraph 0061 discloses that the second electrode 50 covers an entire face of the substrate, so a second sub-portion must extend in a second intersecting direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first sub-electrode as disclosed by Fang to be disposed in a second direction as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 7, Fang in view of Song and Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 5.
Fang fails to disclose a counter substrate located at a side of the display medium layer away from the substrate, wherein the counter substrate comprises third electrodes, and wherein, in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the third electrode at least overlaps with the second sub-electrode and the first extension portion.
However, Chen discloses a similar display comprising a counter substrate located at a side of the display medium layer away from the substrate, wherein the counter substrate comprises third electrodes, and wherein, in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the third electrode at least overlaps with the second sub-electrode and the first extension portion (Chen, Figure 6, counter substrate 20, third electrode 60; Paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electrodes as disclosed by Fang to include a third electrode as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 11, Fang in view of Song and Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 7.
Fang fails to disclose a plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises the plurality of microstructures and the third electrodes, wherein the third electrodes of the sub-pixels are electrically connected.
However, Chen discloses a similar display comprising a plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises the plurality of microstructures and the third electrodes, wherein the third electrodes of the sub-pixels are electrically connected (Chen, Paragraph 0053; Paragraphs 0060-0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Fang to optimize the structure of pixels as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 12, Fang in view of Song and Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 7.
Fang fails to disclose that the counter substrate comprises a plurality of color filter units, and at least one of the plurality of color filter units corresponds to the plurality of microstructures, and wherein in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the at least one color filter unit overlaps with at least part of the corresponding microstructure.
However, Chen discloses a similar display where the counter substrate comprises a plurality of color filter units, and at least one of the plurality of color filter units corresponds to the plurality of microstructures, and wherein in the direction perpendicular to the plane of the substrate, the at least one color filter unit overlaps with at least part of the corresponding microstructure (Chen, Figure 3 discloses counter substrate 20 comprises color filter units corresponding to microstructures; Paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Fang to optimize the structure of pixels as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 20, Fang in view of Song discloses the display panel according to claim 18.
Fang fails to disclose a counter substrate located at a side of the display medium layer away from the substrate, and the counter substrate comprising third electrodes, wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the third electrode at least overlaps with the third sub-electrode and the first extension portion.
However, Chen discloses a similar panel comprising a counter substrate located at a side of the display medium layer away from the substrate, and the counter substrate comprising third electrodes, wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the substrate, the third electrode at least overlaps with the third sub-electrode and the first extension portion (Chen, Figure 6, counter substrate 20, third electrode 60; Paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the electrodes as disclosed by Fang to include a third electrode as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 21, Fang in view of Song and Chen discloses the display panel according to claim 20.
Fang fails to disclose a plurality of sub-pixels, and each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprising one of the plurality of microstructures, wherein a working mode of the sub-pixel comprises a first mode, and wherein in the first mode, a voltage of the third electrode is equal to a voltage of the third sub-electrode, and not equal to a voltage of the first electrode, and the charged particles in the microstructure move to the circular first side portion.
However, Chen discloses a similar panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels, and each of the plurality of sub-pixels comprising one of the plurality of microstructures, wherein a working mode of the sub-pixel comprises a first mode, and wherein in the first mode, a voltage of the third electrode is equal to a voltage of the third sub-electrode, and not equal to a voltage of the first electrode, and the charged particles in the microstructure move to the circular first side portion (Chen, Paragraph 0053; Paragraphs 0060-0061).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel as disclosed by Fang to optimize the structure of pixels as disclosed by Chen. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of attaining a dark state and reflective state of a display panel with ease (Chen, Paragraph 0060).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is allowed.
Claims 6, 8-10, 13-17, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871