DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein an instruction is stored in the memory, the instruction, when being executed by the processor, implements:”. Please insert a colon ":" after comprising so that a processor and a memory are in the body of the claim.
Claims 18-19 are depending on claim 17 and therefore they are also objected.
Claim 20 recites “the storage medium” in lines 1-2. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to revise as “the non-transitory computer readable storage medium”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220167445 A1), hereinafter Wang.
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches A secondary cell group control method ([0006], a method to control secondary cell group), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal, a first command ([0118, 0121], a terminal receives a deactivation indication/command);
controlling, by the terminal, a state of a secondary cell group (SCG) according to the first command ([0118, 0121], the terminal deactivates a secondary cell group (SCG) according to the deactivation indication/command); and
performing, by the terminal, a first operation based on the state of the SCG, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following:
reconfiguring or switching a radio bearer related to the SCG ([0133], the terminal suspends an SCG RLC bearer associated with a bearer of the SN; [0138], change a bearer type related to the SCG).
With respect to claim 2, Wang teaches wherein the controlling, by the terminal, a state of a serving cell of the SCG based on the state of the SCG comprises at least one of the following: in a case that the SCG is in a deactivated state, controlling, by the terminal, states of some or all serving cells of the SCG to be the deactivated state ([0127], [0129], The terminal retains a configuration of the SCG; [0133], The terminal suspends an SCG RLC bearer associated with a bearer of the SN; [0142], The terminal stops all or some of physical layer operations for the PSCell; [0144-0145]).
With respect to claim 3, Wang teaches wherein the first MAC CE is an SCell activation or deactivation MAC CE, and when a reserved bit of the SCell activation or deactivation MAC CE is a first value, the reserved bit is used to indicate that the SCell activation or deactivation MAC CE is applied to the SCG ([0124], The MAC CE includes one reserved bit (denoted as R in the figure) and 31 activation/deactivation bits, the reserved bit is used to indicate that the SCell activation or deactivation MAC CE is applied to the SCG).
With respect to claim 8, Wang teaches wherein in a case that the SCG is in a deactivated state, a first configuration received by the terminal does not trigger SCell activation of the SCG, and the first configuration is used to indicate to activate an SCell of the SCG or is used when the SCell of the SCG is in an activated state ([0124], The configuration of the SCell includes a correspondence between an SCell identifier and an index (index) indicating the SCell. As shown in FIG. 5, for an SCell whose index is i, Ci indicates an activated/deactivated state of the SCell).
With respect to claim 17, Wang teaches A terminal ([0118], a terminal), comprising
a processor and a memory (fig. 12, [0283], a processor and a memory), wherein an instruction is stored in the memory (fig. 12, [0289], program stores in the memory), the instruction, when being executed by the processor (fig. 12, [0289], program executes by the processor), implements:
receiving a first command ([0118, 0121], a terminal receives a deactivation indication/command);
controlling a state of a secondary cell group (SCG) according to the first command ([0118, 0121], the terminal deactivates a secondary cell group (SCG) according to the deactivation indication/command); and
performing a first operation based on the state of the SCG, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following:
reconfiguring or switching a radio bearer related to the SCG ([0133], the terminal suspends an SCG RLC bearer associated with a bearer of the SN; [0138], change a bearer type related to the SCG).
With respect to claim 18, this claim recites the method of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 20, Wang teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores an instruction, and the instruction, when executed by a processor (fig. 12, [0289], program stores in the memory, program executes by the processor), implements:
receiving a first command ([0118, 0121], a terminal receives a deactivation indication/command);
controlling a state of a secondary cell group (SCG) according to the first command ([0118, 0121], the terminal deactivates a secondary cell group (SCG) according to the deactivation indication/command); and
performing a first operation based on the state of the SCG, wherein the first operation comprises at least one of the following:
reconfiguring or switching a radio bearer related to the SCG ([0133], the terminal suspends an SCG RLC bearer associated with a bearer of the SN; [0138], change a bearer type related to the SCG).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of AWONIYI-OTERI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230224129 A1), hereinafter AWONIYI-OTERI.
With respect to claim 10, Wang teaches wherein before the receiving, by a terminal, a first command (fig. 9. [0229], S901. The SN determines to deactivate the SCG).
Wang does not explicitly teach sending, by the terminal, an SCG activation request to a network side device; wherein the SCG activation request carries one of the following: a type of a serving cell expected to be activated.
However, AWONIYI-OTERI teaches sending, by the terminal, an SCG activation request to a network side device ([0079]); wherein the SCG activation request carries one of the following: a type of a serving cell expected to be activated ([0079-0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of AWONIYI-OTERI, sending, by the terminal, an SCG activation request to a network side device; wherein the SCG activation request carries one of the following: a type of a serving cell expected to be activated, into the teachings of Wang, in order for the UE may perform measurements of one or more cells of the SCG and report the measurement to the SN (AWONIYI-OTERI, [0037]).
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210014893 A1), hereinafter Park.
With respect to claim 11, Wang teaches wherein the reconfiguring or switching, by the terminal based on the state of the SCG ([0133], [0138]), a radio bearer related to the SCG comprises at least one of the following: switching, by the terminal, a bearer type of at least one radio bearer in a case that the SCG is in a deactivated state ([0133], the terminal suspends an SCG RLC bearer associated with a bearer of the SN; [0138], change a bearer type in a case that the SCG is in a deactivated state).
Wang does not explicitly teach from an SCG bearer to a split bearer.
However, Park teaches from an SCG bearer to a split bearer ([0166]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park, from an SCG bearer to a split bearer, into the teachings of Wang, in order for the UE to receive/transmit packets of the MCG bearer via one or more cells of the MCG, and/or to receive/transmit packets of the SCG bearer via one or more cells of the SCG (Park, [0163]).
With respect to claim 19, this claim recites the method of claim 11, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190254117 A1), hereinafter Chen.
With respect to claim 12, Wang teaches in a case that the SCG is in a deactivated state ([0118, 0121]).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the controlling, by the terminal, a state of a PDCP duplication function based on the state of the SCG comprises at least one of the following: deactivating, by the terminal, a PDCP duplication function of at least one radio bearer.
However, Chen teaches wherein the controlling, by the terminal, a state of a PDCP duplication function based on the state of the SCG comprises at least one of the following: deactivating, by the terminal, a PDCP duplication function of at least one radio bearer ([0147]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen, wherein the controlling, by the terminal, a state of a PDCP duplication function based on the state of the SCG comprises at least one of the following: deactivating, by the terminal, a PDCP duplication function of at least one radio bearer, into the teachings of Wang, in order to achieve higher reliability on data transmission (Chen, [0003]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230254866 A1), hereinafter ‘866.
With respect to claim 15, Wang teaches wherein the performing, by the terminal, a measurement-related operation based on the state of the SCG at least one of the following ([0143, 0176]): performing, by the terminal, at least one of measurement and measurement reporting in a case that the SCG is in a deactivated state ([0143, 0176], the terminal performs measurement and measurement reporting in a case that the SCG is in a deactivated state).
Wang does not explicitly teach an SCG activation request sent by the terminal is rejected.
However, ‘866 teaches an SCG activation request sent by the terminal is rejected (fig. 4, [0106, 0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ‘866, an SCG activation request sent by the terminal is rejected, a PDCP duplication function of at least one radio bearer, into the teachings of Wang, in order for a terminal device to perform uplink transmission with second network device serving the terminal device (‘866, [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9, 13-14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20220217801 A1; “CHANG”, ([0026])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469