DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites a method however no method steps are claimed. Thus the scope of the claim in unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al. (2011/0172570).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches a wearable motion assistance apparatus comprising: a waist plate (24) configured to be positioned on at least a rear of a waist of a user; a base frame (22) extending from opposite ends of the waist plate (24) and configured to accommodate at least part of a lumbar part of the user (as shown, a lumbar part can be accommodated); a main belt (44, 46) mounted on the base frame (22) and configured to wrap at least partially around an abdomen of the user; and a main band (36, 38) connected to the main belt (44, 46) and configured to closely fit the lumbar part of the user with elasticity ([0027] lines 1-5disclose flexible materials such a leather which includes at least low elasticity).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu discloses the main band (36, 38) is connected to the waist plate (24) and configured to space the base frame (22) apart from the lumbar part of the user such that the base frame (22) is configured so as to not touch the lumbar part of the user ([0024]).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu discloses the main belt (44, 46) comprises a first main belt (44) configured to wrap around a left abdomen of the user and a second main belt (46) configured to wrap around a right abdomen of the user ([0033]), wherein a length of the second main belt is equal to or different from a length of the first main belt (i.e. as shown, the lengths of the belts are about the same or different), and the main band (36, 38) comprises a first main band (36) configured to connect the first main belt to the waist plate and a second main band (38) configured to connect the second main belt to the waist plate ([0035] lines 1-6, [0036] lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu discloses the main band (36, 38) is configured to cause the main belt to open and close by applying tension to the main belt ([0032] lines 1-12, [0033] lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 5, Shimizu discloses the main band (36, 38) is configured to be elastically deformed by the waist of the user ([0027] lines 1-5, [0033] lines 1-10, [0034] lines 1-8) and configured to apply tension to a predetermined part of the main belt in a first state in which the main belt is open ([0032]lines 1-15).
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu discloses the main belt (44, 46) comprises at least one belt link (53, 54) that is connectable to the main band ([0038]) and at least one bending point that is bendable at a predetermined angle, and the bending point is disposed between an end of the base frame and the belt link (as shown, the belt is curved/bent at a predetermined angle around the side to fit a user’s waist [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Shimizu discloses a method of a wearable motion assistance apparatus worn by a user, the method comprising: a waist plate (24) configured to be positioned on at least a rear of a waist of a user; a base frame (22) extending from opposite ends of the waist plate (24) and configured to accommodate at least part of a lumbar part of the user (as shown, a lumbar part can be accommodated); a main belt (44, 46) mounted on the base frame (22) and configured to wrap at least partially around an abdomen of the user; and a main band (36, 38) connected to the main belt (44, 46) and configured to closely fit the lumbar part of the user with elasticity ([0027] lines 1-5disclose flexible materials such a leather which includes at least low elasticity).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of Shimada et al. (2006/0052731).
Shimizu substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a bistable spring provided at least partially inside the main belt and maintained in one of two stable states through resilience. However, Shimada teaches a bistable spring (resilient member 1b, 1c) provided at least partially inside the main belt and maintained in one of two stable states(open/closed) through resilience ([0029]-[0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the belt of Shimizu to include a bistable spring as taught by Shimada to provide enhanced adjustability and adaptability for user preference and/or need.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the modified Shimizu discloses (see figs. 3 and 4 of Shimada) the main band is configured to deform the bistable spring from one stable state (i.e. closed state in which waist is fixed), which is a shape that extends straight in a longitudinal direction, to another stable state (open), which is a shape with one bend (i.e. in the open state, the waist part U can be put through elastic deformation of the member 1b, 1c; [0029]-[0034] of Shimada).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Shimizu discloses (see figs. 3 and 4 of Shimada) the bistable spring is configured to be deformed by tension applied by the main band from the first stable state to the second stable state (i.e. end portions of members 1b,1c can be deformed into an outwardly opened state a and closed state ; [0030-[0031] of Shimada), and the main belt is configured to be deformed from the first state in which the main belt is open to the second state in which the main belt is closed (i.e. end portions of members 1b,1c can be deformed into an outwardly opened state a and closed state ; [0030-[0031] of Shimada).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu in view of JP (2010-000205) hereinafter JP’205.
Regarding claim 11, Shimizu substantially teaches the claimed invention except for when the main belt is in a second state in which the main belt is closed, a portion of the first main belt overlaps a portion of the second main belt and overlapping portions of the first main belt and the second main belt are attachable to or detachable from one another through an attachment element. However, JP’205 discloses left and right belts (26R, 26L) are overlapping and pivotally connected to the abdominal belts (24R, 24L) by attachment elements (25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the belt of Shimizu to be detachable via a connecting element as taught by JP’205 to provide enhanced adjustability for user comfort and fit.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Shimizu discloses the length of the first main band and the length of the second main band are adjustable (i.e. via length adjusting buckles 29A; fig. 1 of JP’205).
Conclusion
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785