DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fink (US 8096193 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Fink discloses a flow meter (Turbine Flow Meter Having Easily Removable Meter Cartridge, Title), comprising:
a turbine (see Figs. 3 and 4) having a hub and a plurality of blades extending radially outward from the hub (rotor 62), the turbine having a central bore formed therein (axial recess 66);
a turbine core receivable within the central bore of the turbine, the turbine core including a plurality of radial bearing surfaces therewithin (The rotor 62 is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64, each of which is mounted in a corresponding axial recess 66 which is formed in an end of a generally cylindrical hub portion 68 of the rotor. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on a shaft 70 which is rigidly supported in the cartridge housing 38, col. 4 lines 47-52); and
a ball bearing disposed between the turbine and the turbine core (the bearings 64 are sealed lubricated ball bearings that allow the turbine flow meter to be used to measure both liquids and gases, col. 4 lines 50-58).
With respect to claim 2, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 1, wherein the turbine core (shaft 70) includes at least one magnet positioned to periodically align with a magnetic sensor as the turbine and the turbine core rotate in response to a flow of fluid (Referring again to FIGS. 1 and 2, rotation of the rotor 62 by the flow of fluid is detected by a conventional magnetic pickup 92, col. 5 Lines 21-22).
With respect to claim 4, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 1, wherein the turbine core includes a shaft having a longitudinally extending bore sized to receive an axle on which the turbine and the turbine core rotate in response to a flow of fluid (Referring to FIGS. 9 and 10, the meter assembly 122 comprises a pair of left and right stator members 136, 138 between which the rotor 62 is rotationally supported, col. 6 lines 25-27).
With respect to claim 5, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 4, wherein the ball bearing is at least partially disposed within the longitudinally extending bore of the turbine core and captured between a bearing seat formed within the central bore of the turbine and a set of bearing pads formed within the longitudinally extending bore (The meter assembly 122 includes a rotor 62 which is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on the shaft 146, and the assembly of the rotor 62 and the bearings is retained on the shaft by a retainer ring 152, col. 6 lines 40-44).
With respect to claim 6, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 4, wherein the ball bearing engages a substantially flat thrust bearing surface formed on an end of the axle (The rotor 62 is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64, each of which is mounted in a corresponding axial recess 66 which is formed in an end of a generally cylindrical hub portion 68 of the rotor, col. 4 lines 47-50).
With respect to claim 7, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 4, further comprising a plurality of axially spaced sets of bearing pads formed on an inner surface of the longitudinally extending bore of the shaft of the turbine core to provide a low-friction interface between the turbine core and the axle as the turbine and the turbine core rotate in response to a flow of fluid (The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on a shaft 70 which is rigidly supported in the cartridge housing 38. The shaft 70 comprises an enlarged diameter middle portion 72 which defines a pair of shoulders against which the bearings 64 are positioned to maintain the rotor 62 properly positioned on the shaft. In one embodiment of the invention, the bearings 64 are sealed lubricated ball bearings that allow the turbine flow meter to be used to measure both liquids and gases, col. 4 lines 50-58).
With respect to claim 9, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 1, wherein the turbine core includes a plurality of retainer clips which are received by a corresponding plurality of retainer receivers formed in the turbine when the turbine core is received within the central bore of the turbine (The meter assembly 122 includes a rotor 62 which is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64 in a manner similar to that described above. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on the shaft 146, and the assembly of the rotor 62 and the bearings is retained on the shaft by a retainer ring 152, col. 6 lines 40-44).
With respect to claim 10, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 9, wherein the retainer receivers are openings that extend between an inner surface of the central bore of the turbine and an outer surface of the hub (see Fig. 10).
With respect to claim 11, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 9, wherein the central bore of the turbine includes a key and the turbine core includes a keyway configured to receive the key to provide alignment of the plurality of retainer clips with the plurality of retainer receivers (As shown in FIG. 6, each stator 78 comprises a number of struts 80 which extend radially from a central body portion 82 to the inner diameter of the cartridge housing 38 in order to maintain the stators 78 axially aligned within the cartridge housing, col. 4 lines 61-65).
With respect to claim 12, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 9, wherein the central bore of the turbine includes a plurality of notches positioned to receive the plurality of retainer clips (the retaining means may comprise means for securing the retainer within the second portion of the through bore, such as a ring seal which is secured to the flow pipe and which engages an end of the retainer opposite the meter cartridge, col. 1 lines 63-66).
With respect to claim 13, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 1, wherein the turbine core includes a keyway that aligns with a key formed in the central bore of the turbine to prevent relative rotation of the turbine and the turbine core (the turbine flow meter 10 ideally includes means to prevent the meter cartridge from rotating relative to the flow pipe 1… the second bore section 28 and engage an axial slot 112 in the cartridge housing 38 (FIG. 5) in order to prevent the meter cartridge 12 from rotating within flow pipe 14, col. 5 lines 46-58).
With respect to claim 14, Fink discloses the 14. The flow meter of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of bearings disposed within the turbine core (the bearings 64 are sealed lubricated ball bearings that allow the turbine flow meter to be used to measure both liquids and gases, col. 4 lines 50-58), the plurality of bearings including a first bearing disposed adjacent a first end of a longitudinally extending bore of the turbine core and a second bearing disposed adjacent a second end of the longitudinally extending bore (see Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 15, Fink discloses the turbine core includes a first cylindrical bearing surface adjacent a first end of the turbine core and a second cylindrical bearing surface adjacent a second end of the turbine core (The meter assembly 122 includes a rotor 62 which is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64 in a manner similar to that described above. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on the shaft 146, and the assembly of the rotor 62 and the bearings is retained on the shaft by a retainer ring 152, col. 6 lines 40-44; and also see Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 16, Fink discloses the turbine core includes a pair of keyways extending from an outer surface of the turbine core and the central bore of the turbine includes a plurality of arms that define a pair of keys for receiving the pair of keyways (As shown in FIG. 1, when the intermediate adapter is installed in the port 98, the extension leg 110 will extend a slight distance, e.g., the thickness of the cartridge housing 38, into the second bore section 28 and engage an axial slot 112 in the cartridge housing 38 (FIG. 5) in order to prevent the meter cartridge 12 from rotating within flow pipe 14, col. 5 lines 52-58).
With respect to claim 17, Fink discloses a flow meter, comprising:
a turbine having a hub(see Figs. 3 and 4) and a plurality of blades extending radially outward from the hub(rotor 62), the turbine having a central bore formed therein(axial recess 66), the central bore including a plurality of retainer receivers (retainer ring 152, see Fig. 10, col. 6 lines 40-44); and
a turbine core receivable within the central bore of the turbine ((The rotor 62 is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64, each of which is mounted in a corresponding axial recess 66 which is formed in an end of a generally cylindrical hub portion 68 of the rotor. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on a shaft 70 which is rigidly supported in the cartridge housing 38, col. 4 lines 47-52) and including a plurality of retainer clips configured to be received by the plurality of retainer receivers (The meter assembly 122 includes a rotor 62 which is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64 in a manner similar to that described above. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on the shaft 146, and the assembly of the rotor 62 and the bearings is retained on the shaft by a retainer ring 152, col. 6 lines 40-44), a first cylindrical bearing surface positioned adjacent a first end of the turbine core and a second cylindrical bearing surface positioned adjacent a second end of the turbine core that is opposite the first end (The meter assembly 122 includes a rotor 62 which is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64 in a manner similar to that described above. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on the shaft 146, and the assembly of the rotor 62 and the bearings is retained on the shaft by a retainer ring 152, col. 6 lines 40-44; and also see Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 18, Fink discloses the turbine core includes an end cap having an inner surface that engages a substantially flat thrust bearing surface formed on an end of an axle on which the turbine and the turbine core rotate in response to a flow of fluid (The rotor 62 is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64, each of which is mounted in a corresponding axial recess 66 which is formed in an end of a generally cylindrical hub portion 68 of the rotor, col. 4 lines 47-50).
With respect to claim 19, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 17, wherein the turbine core also includes a pair of keyways that engage a corresponding pair of keys defined by inwardly directed arms formed in the central bore of the turbine (As shown in FIG. 1, when the intermediate adapter is installed in the port 98, the extension leg 110 will extend a slight distance, e.g., the thickness of the cartridge housing 38, into the second bore section 28 and engage an axial slot 112 in the cartridge housing 38 (FIG. 5) in order to prevent the meter cartridge 12 from rotating within flow pipe 14, col. 5 lines 52-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fink in view of MAIRHOFER (US 20210156720 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 2 above. Fink in Figs. 1 and 2, teaches a conventional magnetic pickup 92 (col. 5 lines 20-22), however, Fink is silent about a magnet the at least one magnet is received within at least one recess formed in an outer surface of a flange of the turbine core.
MAIRHOFER invention related to a turbine wheel meter for measuring the flow rate of a liquid discloses magnet the at least one magnet is received within at least one recess formed in an outer surface of a flange of the turbine core (The turbine wheel 6 has a plurality of curved blades 8, which cause the turbine wheel 6 to rotate as a function of the flow rate. The permanent magnet 4.1 is fastened to the turbine wheel 6 as a result of which the turbine wheel 6 cooperates with the measuring device 4 to measure the flow rate of the liquid, para. [0034]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fink to position the magnet within at least one recess formed in an outer surface of a flange of the turbine core as taught by MAIRHOFER in order to securely mount the magnet and improve alignment and protection of the magnet during turbine rotation, yielding predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fink as applied to claim 7 above.
With respect to claim 8, Fink discloses the flow meter of claim 7 above. However, Fink is silent about the plurality of axially spaced sets of bearing pads includes three sets of bearing pads spaced evenly about a circumference of the longitudinally extending bore, each set of bearing pads including a first bearing pad disposed adjacent a first end of the longitudinally extending bore and a second bearing pad disposed adjacent a second end of the longitudinally extending bore, the second end being opposite the first end. However, it would have been obvious to provide the plurality of axially spaced sets of bearing pads as claimed because the number and spacing of bearing pads would have been an obvious matter of design choice for load distribution and support, absent a showing of criticality or unexpected result.
Claims 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fink in view of Scilingo (US 11624636 B2).
With respect to claim 20, Fink discloses a flow meter assembly (Turbine Flow Meter Having Easily Removable Meter Cartridge, Title), comprising:
a housing having an opening (Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a turbine flow meter 10 having a tubular flow pipe 14 with inlet and outlet);
an axle (76) having a first end (see Fig. 3) connected to the housing inside the opening (Fig. see Fig. 2);
a sensor positioned in the housing adjacent the opening (the turbine flow meter may include a number of supplemental ports in the flow pipe which are connected to the through bore and within which corresponding sensors may be mounted, col. 2 lines 16-20),
a turbine having a hub (see Figs. 3 and 4) and a plurality of blades extending radially outward from the hub (rotor 62, the turbine having a central bore formed therein (axial recess 66); and
a turbine core receivable within the central bore of the turbine and within the opening of the housing (Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, a turbine flow meter 10 having a tubular flow pipe 14 with inlet and outlet), the turbine core including an end cap having an inner surface that engages a bearing surface formed on a second end of the axle (The rotor 62 is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64, each of which is mounted in a corresponding axial recess 66 which is formed in an end of a generally cylindrical hub portion 68 of the rotor. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on a shaft 70 which is rigidly supported in the cartridge housing 38, col. 4 lines 47-52);
wherein the sensor sense rotation of the turbine and the turbine core about the axle and provides a signal to the controller (Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, rotation of the rotor 62 by the flow of fluid is detected by a conventional magnetic pickup 92, col. 5 lines 20-22).
Fink further discloses rotation of the rotor 62 by the flow of fluid is detected by a conventional magnetic pickup 92. The pickup 92 is mounted in pickup adapter 94 (col. 5 lines 20-22, see also FIGS. 1 and 2), but, Fink does not explicitly discloses the sensor being electrically coupled to a controller.
Scilingo invention related to flow meters discloses the sensor being electrically coupled to a controller (the processor 162 receives signals from the flow sensor 130 and any other flow/fluid sensors 140, col. 13 lines 50-51).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to electrically couple the sensor of Fink to a controller as taught by Scilingo because flow meter sensors were conventionally connected to controllers to receive and process sensor signals for determining flow parameters, and such coupling would have been a predictable use of known signal processing arrangements.
With respect to claim 22, Fink and Scilingo disclose the flow meter of claim 20 above. Fink further discloses the turbine core includes a first cylindrical bearing surface positioned adjacent the first end of the turbine core and a second cylindrical bearing surface positioned adjacent a second end of the turbine core that is opposite the first end (The meter assembly 122 includes a rotor 62 which is supported on pair of suitable bearings 64 in a manner similar to that described above. The bearings 64 in turn are mounted on the shaft 146, and the assembly of the rotor 62 and the bearings is retained on the shaft by a retainer ring 152, col. 6 lines 40-44; and also see Fig. 4).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fink in view of Scilingo as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of MAIRHOFER.
With respect to claim 21, Fink discloses the flow meter assembly of claim 20 above. Fink further discloses the turbine core (shaft 70) includes a flange at a first end of the turbine core (Fig. 3). Fink is silent about at least one magnet mounted to the flange such that rotation of the turbine core one the axle is sensed by the sensor as a change in magnetic field caused by the proximity of the at least one magnet to the sensor.
MAIRHOFER discloses at least one magnet mounted to the flange such that rotation of the turbine core one the axle is sensed by the sensor as a change in magnetic field caused by the proximity of the at least one magnet to the sensor (The permanent magnet 4.1 is fastened to the turbine wheel 6 as a result of which the turbine wheel 6 cooperates with the measuring device 4 to measure the flow rate of the liquid, para. [0034]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fink to include at least on magnet mounted to the flange as taught by MAIRHOFER in order to allow the sensor to detect rotation of the turbine core based on changes in magnetic field, because using a magnet in conjunction with a sensor to detect rotational movement was a known and predictable technique for rotational sensing in flow meters.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5433118 A discloses a turbine electronic fluid meter including a body portion through which flows the fluid to be measured, a rotor rotatably mounted in the body portion and having a plurality of blades, the rotor being adapted to be rotated by the flowing fluid, a shaft fixed on the rotor and within the body portion, bearing means to mount the shaft so that the shaft is freely rotatable, and a sensor-transducer mounted on the body portion proximate the rotor to convert movement of the blades into electrical signals; wherein the rotor, including the blades, is injection-molded or sintered and consists of plastic resin and magnetizable particles mixed in said resin and the blades are magnetized; wherein the magnetic blade portions are magnetized in regular sequence with a North magnetized portion being followed by a South magnetized portion; and wherein the sensor-transducer is a Wheatstone bridge having four arms, at least some of whose arms are magnetoresistive.
US 20200191633 A1 discloses a flowmeter system that includes a flowmeter body defining a central bore. A plurality of flanges couple to the flowmeter body. The flowmeter body and the plurality of flanges form a one-piece structure without welded joints. A rotor within the central bore of the flowmeter body. A first vane within the central bore of the flowmeter body. The first vane couples to and supports the rotor within the flowmeter body. The flowmeter body, the flanges, the rotor, and the first vane comprise additive structures.
/GEDEON M KIDANU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855 3/24/26