DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-16, 24-37 and 29-32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group I – display devices, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 17, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 17-23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamano (US 8,912,986).
Referring to claim 1, Yamano discloses a display apparatus (fig. 1, display device 100), comprising
a working area (fig. 1, area of display unit 120) and a non-working area (fig. 1, border area of casing 110),
wherein the non-working area presents a first color or a first pattern (fig. 1, color/pattern of casing 110, e.g., black), and
wherein the display apparatus comprises a display module (fig. 2, display unit 120), and the display module comprises a transparent display unit (fig. 2, transparent display 124) located in the working area (fig. 1, area of display unit 120).
As to claim 2, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the display module comprises an electronic paper unit (fig. 2, electronic paper 122) located at a side of the transparent display unit (fig. 3, lower side of transparent unit 124) away from a display surface of the transparent display unit (fig. 3, away from display surface above transparent unit 124), and
the electronic paper unit (fig. 6A, electronic paper 122) comprises a first sub-portion (fig. 6A, areas C1/C2/C3) located in the working area.
As to claim 3, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 2,
wherein the display module has a first state (fig. 5, displaying A1; 4:1-6, display-on state), and
wherein, in the first state, the transparent display unit displays working image (fig. 5, displaying news journal; fig. 6B, displaying areas D1/D2/D3;), while the first sub-portion displays dark-colored image (fig. 6A, areas C1/C2/C3; 8:6-9, in black or dark color).
As to claim 4, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 2,
wherein the display module comprises a second state (4:1-6, display-off state), and
wherein, in the second state, the transparent display unit does not display working image (4:66-5:7, transparent display 124 being transparent), while image displayed by the first sub-portion is related to (6:3-7, displayed electronic paper 122) the first color or the first pattern.
As to claim 5, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein in the second state, a texture of a pattern displayed by the first sub-portion has a same background color and texture color (fig. 6A, areas C1/C2/C3; 8:6-9, in black or dark color) as a texture of the first pattern.
As to claim 6, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein, in the second state, the first sub-portion displays the first color (fig. 6A, areas C1/C2/C3; 8:6-9, in black or dark color).
As to claim 17, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display apparatus comprises a carrier module (fig. 7, casing 110), and a portion of the carrier module (fig. 7, casing 110 around display 120) exposed by the display module is located in the non-working area and presents the first color or the first pattern (fig. 1, color/pattern of casing 110, e.g., black).
As to claim 18, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the display module is embedded into the carrier module (fig. 1, display 120 embedded into casing 110).
As to claim 19, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 17,
wherein the carrier module comprises a first surface (fig. 1, top surface of casing 110), the display module has a light exiting surface (fig. 3, top surface of display unit 120), the first surface and the light exiting surface face to a same direction (fig. 1, top/surface direction), the first surface is exposed by the light exiting surface, and the first surface has the first pattern (fig. 1).
As to claim 20, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein a segment difference between the first surface and the light exiting surface is less than 100um (fig. 1, continuous surfaces for 110/120).
As to claim 21, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the first surface and the light exiting surface are continuous (fig. 1, continuous surfaces for 110/120).
As to claim 22, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 17,
wherein the display module comprises an ink layer (fig. 3, electronic paper 122 layer) located at a side (fig. 3, bottom side of transparency display unit 122) of the display surface of the transparent display unit,
the ink layer presents the first color or a pattern of the ink layer is related to the first pattern (fig. 6A, areas C1/C2/C3; 8:6-9, in black or dark color).
As to claim 23, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
wherein the display module comprises a cover plate (fig. 1, casing 110) located at a side of the display module and in the working area (fig. 1, inner side surrounding transparent display unit 120); and
the display apparatus comprises a first module (fig. 3, operation unit 160, sound output unit 130 etc.; fig. 1, buttons) located at a side (fig. 1, bottom of casing 110) of the cover plate and in the non-working area, and the first module presents the first color or the first pattern.
As to claim 28, Yamano discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the electronic paper unit comprises a second sub-portion (fig. 3, top border area of casing 110) located in the non-working area, and the second sub-portion presents the first color or the first pattern (fig. 1, color/pattern of casing 110, e.g., black).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“display region configured to display …” in claims 9, 13 and 27.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615