Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the first sentence recites, “Disclosed is a suction nozzle”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Udy (US Patent No. 12,484,746).
Regarding claim 1, Udy (US Patent No. 12,484,746) discloses a suction nozzle (item 202; figs. 3-7), applied to a cleaning device (item 100a; fig. 2), wherein the cleaning device comprises a device body (includes items 102a, 104a; fig. 2), and the device body comprises a sewage tank (item 108a; fig. 2); the suction nozzle comprises:
a suction nozzle body (includes items 202, 204; figs. 6-7 and 10-12), wherein one end of the suction nozzle body is provided with a suction port (item 131a; figs. 6-7), and another end of the suction nozzle body is provided with a drainage port (item 618; figs. 6-7); a drainage channel (item 504; fig. 5) communicating with the suction port and the drainage port is formed inside the suction nozzle body (col. 14, ll. 48-54); the drainage port is configured to communicate with the sewage tank (via intermediate components; fig. 5); the suction nozzle body is configured to be rotatably installed to the device body (suction nozzle body is capable of rotating about device body via both items 614 and 1210; figs. 7 and 15; col. 16, ll. 29-40 and col. 17, ll. 46-57) so as to have a working position (defined as position in view of fig. 16) that maintains the suction port fitting a surface to be cleaned (fig. 16, suction port 131a fitted to glide along surface to be cleaned 110); and
a sealing ring (item 622; figs. 6-7) provided at the drainage port (col. 15, ll. 2; figs. 6-7), configured to seal a fitting clearance between the suction nozzle body and the sewage tank (sealing ring 622 is disposed between suction nozzle body and sewage tank and therefore, is capable of sealing a fitting clearance at a position between the suction nozzle and sewage tank), and capable of elastically deforming (seal 622 is capable of elastically forming to removably couple with opposing seal 1102 on device body).
Regarding claim 4, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, wherein a periphery of the suction port is provided with a guide slope (designated in annotated fig. 7 below), and the guide slope is obliquely extended upwards in a direction away from the suction port (designated in annotated fig. 7 below; also fig. 16).
Annotated Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 5, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, wherein a first elastic member (item 902; figs. 8-9) is connected between the suction nozzle and the device body (first elastic member 902 is connected between upper surface of suction nozzle and lower surface of drainage port, figs. 5-8; similar to applicant’s disclosure, fig. 4 in instant disclosure) and the suction nozzle is maintained in the working position under an action of the first elastic member (col. 15, ll. 45-47; first elastic member 902 is biased towards the latched position in which suction nozzle is disposed along surface to be cleaned 110).
Regarding claim 6, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 5, wherein the first elastic member is configured as a compression spring (fig. 9; col. 15, ll. 46-47), and the first elastic member is located above the rotational connection position between the suction nozzle body and the device body and located at a side of the rotational connection position away from the suction nozzle body;
in a compressed state (defined as position when user presses handle 910; col. 16, ll. 29-33), the first elastic member is configured to incline downwards in a direction close to the rotational connection position (when handle 910 is pressed and first elastic member 902 is compressed, the first elastic member 902 is capable of inclining downwards in a direction towards rotational connection position in order for connector 612 to pivot upwards and detach from device body; col. 16, ll. 29-41).
Regarding claim 7, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
an installation member (item 201; figs. 3-4 and 11);
wherein the installation member is provided with an accommodation recess (designated in annotated fig. 4 below; defined as groove, i.e. recess, on upper surface of installation member 201 in which suction nozzle body 202, 204 insert into; figs. 4 and 11);
an end of the suction nozzle body (designated in annotated fig. 7 above) that is provided with the drainage port is arranged in the accommodation recess (designated in annotated fig. 4 below);
the suction nozzle body is rotatably connected to the installation member (via both items 614 and 1210; figs. 7 and 15; col. 16, ll. 29-40 and col. 17, ll. 46-57);
the suction nozzle body and the accommodation recess are provided with a movement clearance in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction (suction nozzle body 202, 204 and accommodation recess include clearance in vertical direction in order for suction nozzle body to insert into accommodation recess from above and in horizontal direction in order to slide into place via items 1210, 1212; figs. 3-4 and 10-11).
Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 8, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 7, wherein two opposite side walls (left and right side walls in view of fig. 11) of the accommodation recess are both provided with a guide groove (items 1106, 1108; col. 15, ll. 66 through col. 16, ll. 3; fig. 11);
the guide groove is extended upwards in the vertical direction (designated in annotated fig. 4 above);
two opposite outer side walls (left and right side walls of portion 204 of suction nozzle body in view of figs. 11-12) of the suction nozzle body are both provided with a rotation shaft (items 1210, 1212; figs. 11-12); one rotation shaft is rotatably inserted in one guide groove (col. 17, ll. 46-56; figs. 11-12), and is configured to slide along an extension direction of a corresponding guide groove (in order to insert into place when assembled, rotation shaft is capable of sliding along vertical direction, i.e. extension direction, of guide groove).
Regarding claim 9, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 8, wherein an upper side of the suction nozzle body (defined as upper inner side of item 602, which is a portion of suction nozzle body) is connected with a second elastic member (item 902; figs. 8-9), and the suction nozzle body has a tendency to move downwards under an action of the second elastic member (col. 15, ll. 45-47; first elastic member 902 is biased towards the latched position in which suction nozzle body is disposed along surface to be cleaned 110).
Regarding claim 10, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 9, wherein a plurality of second elastic members are provided (items 902, 904; figs. 8-9), and
at least one second elastic member is further provided in a middle of the two rotation shafts (defined as shafts 1210, 1212; further, at least one second elastic member 904 is positioned in the middle, i.e. between, the two shafts 1210, 1212 within item 1012; fig. 10) and abutted against the suction nozzle body (defined as interior surface of item 202, which is a portion of suction nozzle body; col. 15, ll. 53-56; fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, Udy discloses a cleaning device (item 100a; fig. 2), comprising a device body (includes items 102a, 104a; fig. 2), and the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drainage port is communicated with the sewage tank of the device body (drainage port 618 communicates with sewage tank 108a via passage 510; fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cipolla (US 2006/0000051) in view of Nguyen (US 2020/0069137).
The embodiment of figs. 17-21 is used in the following rejection; however, specific reference numbers and features are shown in earlier figures. Please refer to those figures for details.
Regarding claim 1, Cipolla (US 2006/000051) discloses a suction nozzle (item 202; figs. 3-7), applied to a cleaning device (item 10; figs. 1 and 17), wherein the cleaning device comprises a device body (includes items 10, 12”, figs. 1 and 17), and the device body comprises a sewage tank (item 43; figs. 1 and 8); the suction nozzle comprises:
a suction nozzle body (item 18”, figs. 17-21), wherein one end of the suction nozzle body is provided with a suction port (item 20”, fig. 18), and another end of the suction nozzle body is provided with a drainage port (item 21”, fig. 20); a drainage channel (defined as fluid flow path “A” between walls 38” and 39”, pp. [0076]; fig. 18) communicating with the suction port and the drainage port is formed inside the suction nozzle body (pp. [0076]; between walls 38” and 39”, fig. 18); the drainage port is configured to communicate with the sewage tank (via intermediate components); the suction nozzle body is configured to be rotatably installed to the device body pp. [0076]; suction nozzle body 18” is capable of rotating about pivot points 324 to move between lowered position, i.e. fig. 18, and raised position, i.e. fig. 19) so as to have a working position (defined as position in view of fig. 18) that maintains the suction port fitting a surface to be cleaned (pp. [0076]; fig. 18; suction port 20” contact the floor to aid in liquid pickup).
Cipolla does not explicitly disclose a sealing ring provided at the drainage port configured to seal a fitting clearance between the suction nozzle body and the sewage tank, and capable of elastically deforming.
However, Nguyen (US 2020/0069137) teaches a suction nozzle (item 122; figs. 4 and 6) applied to a cleaning device (item 100; fig. 2) having a device body (item 125; fig. 3) and a sewage tank (item 20; fig. 2), wherein the suction nozzle comprises a drainage port (defined as opening through item 154; fig. 4) and wherein a sealing ring (item 165; fig. 4) is provided at the drainage port configured to seal a fitting clearance between the suction nozzle body and the sewage tank (seal is disposed between suction nozzle body and sewage tank to seal and secure a fitting clearance at a position between the suction nozzle and sewage tank) and capable of elastically deforming (seal 165 is capable of elastically deforming during insertion and removal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction nozzle body, as disclosed in Cipolla, to include a sealing ring at the drainage port, as taught in Nguyen, in order to assist in fluidly isolating the suctioned airflow from surrounding components and thereby, preventing air and fluid leaks (pp. [0056] in Nguyen).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Cipolla as modified discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, wherein a rotational connection position (defined as position at pivot point 324; fig. 17) between the suction nozzle body and the device body is configured to be adjacent to the drainage port (rotational connection position 324 is positioned adjacent, i.e. next to, drainage port 24”, figs. 17 and 20);
a distance between the drainage port and the rotational connection position is defined as L1 (designated in annotated fig. 17 below), and a distance between the suction port and the rotational connection position is defined as L2 (designated in annotated fig. 17 below).
Annotated Fig. 17.
Though Cipolla appears to disclose L2 is greater than L1, Cipolla does not explicitly recite wherein L2 is greater than L1, as required by claim 2, and further, wherein L2 is greater than or equal to three times of L1 and less than or equal to thirty times of L1, as required by claim 3.
First, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the distance(s) of L1 and L2, specifically wherein L2 is between three times L1 and thirty times L1. Since such a modification would involve a mere change in size of the component, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. The distance of L2 can vary depending on the design need to solve a problem. If the distance larger (thirty times L1, wherein L1 = 1), the overall size of the drainage channel and nozzle may be larger thereby, resulting in more fluid to pass through the drainage channel and covering more ground quickly, making the nozzle better suited for large, open areas which helps in cleaning faster and more efficiently; while, if the distance is smaller (three times L1, wherein L1 = 1), the overall size of the drainage channel and nozzle may be smaller thereby, ensuring a smaller, specific area is cleaned during use and allowing the nozzle to reach areas underneath furniture and within crevices. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Cipolla, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to L2 to be greater than or equal to three times L1 and less than or equal to thirty times L1. Further in the instant application, pp. [0041-0042], the applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Cipolla as modified discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, wherein a periphery of the suction port is provided with a guide slope (item 346; fig. 21), and the guide slope is obliquely extended upwards in a direction away from the suction port (at least an outer leftmost portion of guide slop 346 extends obliquely, i.e. leftward and upward, from the suction port).
Regarding claim 7, Cipolla as modified discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
an installation member (includes items 322, 323; figs. 17 and 20);
wherein the installation member is provided with an accommodation recess (defined as opening through item 323; fig. 20);
an end of the suction nozzle body (defined as end at item 320; fig. 20) that is provided with the drainage port is arranged in the accommodation recess (when assembled, end of suction nozzle body 320 inserts into accommodation recess within item 323);
the suction nozzle body is rotatably connected to the installation member (via pivot point 324);
the suction nozzle body and the accommodation recess are provided with a movement clearance in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction (suction nozzle body and accommodation recess include clearance in vertical and horizontal directions in order for end of suction nozzle body to insert into grooves 336 of accommodation recess; pp. [0076]; fig. 20).
Regarding claim 11, Cipolla as modified discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 7, wherein two ends of the sealing ring are configured as a first end (defined as upper end of sealing ring 622) and a second end (defined as lower end of sealing ring 622 which couples directly to opposing seal 1102 on device body);
an outer peripheral side of the second end is provided with a second ring groove (designated in annotated fig. 4 below), and an installation member (item 125; fig. 3, corresponding to installation member in Udy) is provided with a passage (item 162; fig. 4) facing the drainage port, and wherein a periphery of the passage is provided with a second ring protrusion (designated in annotated fig. 4 below), and the second ring protrusion is tightly clamped in the second ring groove (when assembly, second ring protrusion is tightly clamped and secured in second ring groove of sealing ring 165; fig. 4 below).
Nguyen Annotated Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 14, Cipolla as modified discloses a cleaning device (item 10; figs. 1 and 17), comprising a device body (includes items 10, 12”, figs. 1 and 17), and the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the drainage port is communicated with the sewage tank of the device body (drainage port 21” communicates with sewage tank via passage).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udy (US Patent No. 12,484,746) in view of Nguyen (US 2020/0069137).
Regarding claim 11, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 7, wherein two ends of the sealing ring are configured as a first end (defined as upper end of sealing ring 622) and a second end (defined as lower end of sealing ring 622 which couples directly to opposing seal 1102 on device body).
Though Udy discloses the sealing ring removably coupled to an opposing seal on the installation member (col. 15, ll. 2-5), Udy does not disclose an outer peripheral side of the second end of the sealing ring is provided with a second ring groove, and the installation member is provided with a passage facing the drainage port, wherein a periphery of the passage is provided with a second ring protrusion, and the second ring protrusion is tightly clamped in the second ring groove.
However, Nguyen (US 2020/0069137) teaches a suction nozzle (item 122; figs. 4 and 6) applied to a cleaning device (item 100; fig. 2) having a device body (item 125; fig. 3) and a sewage tank (item 20; fig. 2), wherein the suction nozzle comprises a drainage port (defined as opening through item 154; fig. 4) and wherein a sealing ring (item 165; fig. 4) is provided at the drainage port (fig. 4), and wherein the sealing ring has first end (defined as upper end of sealing ring) and a second end (defined as lower end of sealing ring which couples directly to passage), and an outer peripheral side of the second end is provided with a second ring groove (designated in annotated fig. 4 above), and an installation member (item 125; fig. 3, corresponding to installation member in Udy) is provided with a passage (item 162; fig. 4) facing the drainage port, and wherein a periphery of the passage is provided with a second ring protrusion (designated in annotated fig. 4 above), and the second ring protrusion is tightly clamped in the second ring groove (when assembly, second ring protrusion is tightly clamped and secured in second ring groove of sealing ring 165; fig. 4 above).
Both Udy and Nguyen disclose sealing ring means for the drainage port on the installation member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sealing ring removably coupled to an opposing seal on the installation member, as disclosed in Udy, with the sealing ring having a second ring to tightly clamp with a second ring protrusion on the installation member, as taught in Nguyen, to achieve the predictable result of fluidly isolating the suctioned airflow and preventing air and liquid leaks during use.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udy (US Patent No. 12,484,746) in view of Lenkiwicz (US 2006/0288518).
Regarding claim 12, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 1, wherein the suction nozzle body comprises a body part (item 204; figs. 7 and 10) and an installation head (item 202; figs. 6-7);
the drainage port is provided at the installation head (drainage port 618 is provided on lower surface of installation head 202; figs. 6-7), and the body part is detachably connected to the installation head (body part 204 detachably connects to installation head 202 via items 612, 616; figs. 3-4 and 7).
Udy does not explicitly disclose a position where the body part and the installation head are connected is provided with a sealing gasket; the sealing gasket is accommodated and clamped between the installation head and the body part.
However, Lenkiwicz (US 2006/0288518) teaches a suction nozzle (item 90; fig. 6) applied to a cleaning device (item 14; figs. 1 and 6), wherein the suction nozzle includes a body part (item 90; fig. 6) and an installation head (item 30; fig. 6) provided with a drainage port (item 50; fig. 6), and wherein a position in which the body part and the installation head are connected (defined as position in fig. 1) includes a sealing gasket (item 58; fig. 6), the sealing gasket is accommodate and clamped between the installation head and the body part (pp. [0091]; figs. 6-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suction nozzle body, as disclosed in Udy, to include a sealing gasket between the body part and the installation head, as taught in Lenkiwicz, to effectively seal the two parts together during use to reduce air and water leaks (pp. [0091] in Lenkiwicz).
Regarding claim 13, Udy discloses the suction nozzle as claimed in claim 12, wherein the installation head is provided with an installation opening (designated in annotated fig. 9 below), a periphery of the installation opening is provided with a buckle (according to Merriam-Webster, “buckle” is defined as a fastening for two loose ends that is attached to one and holds the other by a catch; therefore, buckles 906, 908 are provided on periphery of opening to secure into catch 808 of body part), and the body part is clamped to the buckle (via catch 808; col. 16, ll. 12-34).
Annotated Fig. 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krebs (US 2021/0330149) discloses a suction nozzle applied to a cleaning device, wherein the suction nozzle is rotatably coupled to a device body of the clean device (figs. 20A-20B).
Nguyen (US 2021/0345851) discloses a suction nozzle applied to a cleaning device, wherein the cleaning device comprises a device body and a sewage tank, and wherein a suction nozzle body comprises a suction port, a drainage port, and a drainage channel, and wherein the suction nozzle body is rotatably installed to the device body.
/SIDNEY D FULL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723