DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment submitted on 28 June 2026. After entry of the amendment claims 1-9 and 11-21 are currently pending in the application.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 28 June 2069 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,151,974; 11,168,029; 10,737,980; and 10,131,575 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim is confusing and therefore vague and indefinite as claim 1 excludes gypsum and calcium sulfate hemihydrate however these are listed as possible additives in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by China Patent Specification No. CN 105417978 A.
The reference teaches, in example 1, a cement additive comprising 10% coagulant calcium formate, 10% oil absorbing particles, 15% microsilica powder, 15% activated carbon, 18% wood fiber, 15% fly ash, 17% crack resistant fiber. The components weighed are pulverized and uniformly mixed to obtain a cement additive.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches a cement additive comprising at least calcium formate, oil absorbing particles, microsilica powder, activated carbon, wood fiber, fly ash, crack resistant fiber. The fly ash and microsilica powder (i.e. silica fume) meets the mineral fines. The calcium formate meets the performance enhancing additive as it functions as an accelerator.
As for claim 2, the reference teaches fly ash.
As for claim 5, the reference teaches calcium formate which functions as an accelerator.
As for claim 6, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and a water reducer is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 6.
As for claim 7, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and a set controller and retardant are not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 7.
As for claim 8, the reference teaches calcium formate with is an alkaline earth metal salts.
As for claim 9, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and a strength enhancer is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 9.
As for claim 16, according to Example 1, , the reference teaches a cement additive comprising at least calcium formate, oil absorbing particles, microsilica powder, activated carbon, wood fiber, fly ash, crack resistant fiber. The fly ash and microsilica powder (i.e. silica fume) meets the mineral fines. The calcium formate meets the performance enhancing additive as it functions as an accelerator. The additive is added to Portland cement.
As for claim 17, the reference teaches fly ash and microsilica powder (silica fume).
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by China Patent Specification No. CN 103880318 A.
The reference teaches, in the abstract, a powder for use in cement production comprising pink marble, granite powder and limestone desulfurization slag powder is obtained by mixing papermaking white mud and cement grinding material activation synergist comprising 15-20 wt.% additive, 70-80 wt.% activator and 20-30 wt.% modifier.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the pink marble and the granite powder meets the mineral fines. The cement grinding material activation synergist meets the performance enhancing additive.
As for claim 3, the reference teaches granite powder as well as pink marble.
As for claim 4, the granite fines would be non-cementitious and is igneous mineral.
Claims 1 3, 5-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by China Patent Specification No. CN 104556804 A.
The reference teaches, in embodiment 1, an additive for improving the performance of a cement mortar, the materials are divided by weight: 1% fly ash 45%, air entraining agent 1%, microcrystalline expansion agent 10%, alkaline activator 15%; Water retention agent 3%, calcium carbonate 10%, sodium alkyl sulfate 2%, hydroxymethyl cellulose 2%, polyvinyl alcohol 1%, slag micropowder 10%. The above materials are sequentially added to a mixer or a ball mill, and then uniformly mixed, and the mixing time is 10 to 50 minutes to obtain the product of the present invention.
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the calcium carbonate and the fly ash meets the mineral fines. The air entraining agent, expansion agent, alkaline activator, water retention agent, sodium alkyl sulfate, hydroxymethyl cellulose and polyvinyl alcohol meets the performance enhancing agents.
As for claim 2, the reference teaches fly ash.
As for claim 3, the calcium carbonate meets the ground limestone as limestone is composed of calcium carbonate and the materials are milled and therefore it would be reduced in size.
As for claim 5, the reference teaches sodium alkyl sulfate which meets the set controller as well as hydroxymethyl cellulose which meets the viscosity enhancing agent.
As for claim 6, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and a water reducer is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 6.
As for claim 7, the reference teaches sodium alkyl sulfate.
As for claim 8, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and an accelerator is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 8.
As for claim 9, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and a strength enhancer is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 9.
As for claim 18, the calcium carbonate and the fly ash meets the mineral fines. The calcium carbonate meets the limestone powder component as limestone is made up of calcium carbonate and the materials are milled and therefore it would be reduced in size. The air entraining agent, expansion agent, alkaline activator, water retention agent, sodium alkyl sulfate, hydroxymethyl cellulose and polyvinyl alcohol meets the performance enhancing agents.
As for claim 19, the calcium carbonate and the fly ash meets the mineral fines. The calcium carbonate meets the ground limestone as limestone is made up of calcium carbonate and the materials are milled and therefore it would be reduced in size. The air entraining agent, expansion agent, alkaline activator, water retention agent, sodium alkyl sulfate, hydroxymethyl cellulose and polyvinyl alcohol meets the performance enhancing agents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over China Patent Specification No. CN 105198247 A.
The reference teaches, in the claims and the examples, a whole tailings cementing material prepared by sintering desulfurization ash, characterized in that it is mainly composed of the following raw materials of weight ratio: sintering desulfurization ash 17%~22%, cement clinker 2%~4 %, smelting water quenching slag 73% ~ 80.5% and 0.5% ~ 1.0% of admixture (industrial mirabilite).
The instant claims are obvious over the reference.
As for claim 1, the cement clinker and the mirabilite meets the mineral fines. The sintering desulfurization ash works as a set controller.
As for claim 5, the sintering desulfurization ash works as a set controller.
As for claim 6, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and a water reducer is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 6.
As for claim 8, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and an accelerator is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 8.
As for claim 9, this claim is met as this claim depends on claim 5 and a strength enhancer is not required to be selected, just that, if it is, it be selected from the types recited in claim 9.
As for claim 11, the cement clinker has a D90 22.19 to 42.21 microns which overlaps the claimed range and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05.
As for claim 12, the cement clinker has a D90 22.19 to 42.21 microns which overlaps the claimed range and in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
July 16, 2026