DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites “A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:”. Please insert a colon ":" after comprising so that a processor and memory are in the body of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SABOURI-SICHANI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220338124 A1), hereinafter SABOURI-SICHANI.
With respect to claim 1, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches A measurement relaxation method ([0174-0175], a relaxed measurement method), comprising:
determining, by a terminal based on a measurement result for each of at least one cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], based on a measurement result for the serving cell), a low mobility state determination criterion (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE in low mobility), and a cell center determination criterion (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at a cell center, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center)), a low mobility state determination result and a cell center determination result for each of the at least one cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at the center of the serving cell and in low mobility, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center) and no/low mobility); and
performing, by the terminal, measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility state determination result and cell center determination result for the cell group ([0167- 0168, 0174-0175], UE performs measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility and cell center for the cell group, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center) and no/low mobility the UE may lead to a complete relaxation in RRM measurements including the serving cell measurements).
With respect to claim 2, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches wherein the performing, by the terminal, measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility state determination result and cell center determination result for the cell group comprises ([0167- 0168, 0174-0175], UE performs measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility and cell center for the cell group, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center) and no/low mobility the UE may lead to a complete relaxation in RRM measurements including the serving cell measurements): for any cell group, in a case that a low mobility state determination result of the terminal for the cell group is being in a low mobility state and a cell center determination result of the terminal for the cell group is being at a cell center (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at the center of the serving cell and in low mobility), determining, by the terminal, to perform measurement relaxation in a serving cell in the cell group ([0167- 0168, 0174-0175], UE performs measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility and cell center for the cell group), wherein the cell center determination result of the terminal for the cell group is obtained based on a cell center determination result corresponding to at least one serving cell in the cell group ([0167- 0168, 0174-0175], UE at the center of the serving cell, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center)).
With respect to claim 3, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches wherein the determining a low mobility state determination result for each of the at least one cell group comprises: determining, by the terminal, the low mobility state determination result of the terminal for each cell group based on the measurement result for the at least one serving cell in the cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE determines low mobility state determination result of the UE based on a measurement result for the serving cell).
With respect to claim 5, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches wherein the determining a cell center determination result for each of the at least one cell group comprises: determining, by the terminal, the cell center determination result of the terminal for each cell group based on the measurement result for the at least one serving cell in the cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE determines cell center determination result of the UE based on a measurement result for the serving cell).
With respect to claim 8, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches wherein the determining a cell center determination result for each of the at least one cell group comprises: in a case that a configuration mode for the cell center determination criterion is based on serving cell configuration (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at the center of the serving cell), determining, by the terminal, the cell center determination result of the terminal for each cell group based on a measurement result for at least one serving cell in the cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE determines cell center determination result of the UE based on a measurement result for the serving cell).
With respect to claim 20, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches A terminal (fig. 14, [0254], UE), comprising a processor (fig. 14, [0254], processor), a memory (fig. 14, [0254], memory), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor (fig. 14, [0254, 0256], memory stores programs, that executed by the processor), causes the terminal to perform:
determining, based on a measurement result for each of at least one cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], based on a measurement result for the serving cell), a low mobility state determination criterion (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE in low mobility), and a cell center determination criterion (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at a cell center, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center)), a low mobility state determination result and a cell center determination result for each of the at least one cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at the center of the serving cell and in low mobility, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center) and no/low mobility); and
performing, measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility state determination result and cell center determination result for the cell group. ([0167- 0168, 0174-0175], UE performs measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility and cell center for the cell group).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SABOURI-SICHANI, in view of Chou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20110310753 A1), hereinafter Chou.
With respect to claim 7, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches wherein the determining a low mobility state determination result for each of the at least one cell group comprises (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], based on a measurement result for the serving cell): in a case that a configuration mode for the low mobility state determination criterion is based on serving cell configuration, determining, by the terminal, a low mobility state determination result of the terminal for each cell group based on a measurement result for a first or latest serving cell configured with the low mobility state determination criterion (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE determines a low mobility state determination result of the UE for a serving cell configured with the low mobility state determination criterion); determining, by the terminal, the low mobility state determination result of the terminal for each cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE determines the low mobility state determination result of the UE for each cell group) based on a measurement result for a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in the cell group
SABOURI-SICHANI does not explicitly teach based on a measurement result for a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in the cell group.
However, Chou teaches based on a measurement result for a primary cell (PCell) in the cell group ([0047], based on a measurement result of a (PCell) in the cell group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chou, based on a measurement result for a primary cell (PCell) in the cell group, into the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI, in order to provide measurement configuration in multi-carrier OFDMA systems (Chou, [0002]).
Claims 9-13, 15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SABOURI-SICHANI, in view of SHI et al. (Pub. No.: US 20240292252 A1), hereinafter SHI.
With respect to claim 9, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches for any serving cell in each cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], the serving cell), determining, by the terminal, that a cell center determination criterion of the terminal for the serving cell is in effect (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE determines that a cell center determination criterion of the terminal for the serving cell is in effect).
SABOURI-SICHANI does not explicitly teach according to first indication information from a network-side device.
However, SHI teaches according to first indication information from a network-side device (fig. 4, [0051, 0053], the network device configures a measurement relaxation criterion, the measurement relaxation criterion includes a non-cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion, or a stationary criterion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SHI, according to first indication information from a network-side device, into the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI, in order to lower power consumption of the terminal (SHI, [0003]).
With respect to claim 10, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches if a configuration mode for the low mobility state determination criterion is based on terminal configuration, a configuration mode for the cell center determination criterion is based on terminal configuration (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at the center of the serving cell and in low mobility); if the configuration mode for the low mobility state determination criterion is based on cell group configuration, the configuration mode for the cell center determination criterion is based on cell group configuration (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at the center of the serving cell and in low mobility); and if the configuration mode for the low mobility state determination criterion is based on serving cell configuration, the configuration mode for the cell center determination criterion is based on serving cell configuration (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], a configuration mode for the cell center determination criterion).
SABOURI-SICHANI does not explicitly teach wherein the low mobility state determination criterion is configured by a network-side device; wherein in a case that the low mobility state determination criterion is configured by the network-side device.
However, SHI teaches wherein the low mobility state determination criterion is configured by a network-side device (fig. 4, [0051, 0053], the network device configures a measurement relaxation criterion, the measurement relaxation criterion includes a non-cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion, or a stationary criterion); wherein in a case that the low mobility state determination criterion is configured by the network-side device (fig. 4, [0051, 0053], the network device configures a measurement relaxation criterion, the measurement relaxation criterion includes a non-cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion, or a stationary criterion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SHI, wherein the low mobility state determination criterion is configured by a network-side device; wherein in a case that the low mobility state determination criterion is configured by the network-side device, into the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI, in order to lower power consumption of the terminal (SHI, [0003]).
With respect to claim 11, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches wherein a configuration mode for the cell center determination criterion is determined based on a configuration mode (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], a configuration mode for the cell center determination criterion).
SABOURI-SICHANI does not explicitly teach for the first indication information.
However, SHI teaches for the first indication information (fig. 4, [0051, 0053], the network device configures a measurement relaxation criterion, the measurement relaxation criterion includes a non-cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion, or a stationary criterion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SHI, for the first indication information, into the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI, in order to lower power consumption of the terminal (SHI, [0003]).
With respect to claim 12, SABOURI-SICHANI teaches A measurement relaxation method ([0174-0175], a relaxed measurement method), comprising:
in a serving cell in each of at least one cell group ([0167- 0168, 0174-0175], in a serving cell in each of at least one cell group), whether the terminal performs measurement relaxation is determined based on a low mobility state determination result and a cell center determination result of the terminal for each of the at least one cell group ([0167- 0168, 0174-0175], UE performs measurement relaxation in a serving cell in each cell group based on the low mobility and cell center for the cell group), and the low mobility state determination result and cell center determination result for each cell group are determined by the terminal based on a measurement result for each cell group (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], low mobility and cell center for cell group are determined by UE based on a measurement result for the serving cell), the low mobility state determination criterion (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE in low mobility), and a cell center determination criterion (fig. 8, [0167- 0168], UE at a cell center, RSRP level (≥thr1 at the cell center)).
Although SABOURI-SICHANI teaches in a serving cell in each of at least one cell group as set forth above. SABOURI-SICHANI does not explicitly teach configuring, by a network-side device, a low mobility state determination criterion for a terminal; and receiving, by the network-side device, first indication information from the terminal, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal performs measurement relaxation.
However, SHI teaches configuring, by a network-side device, a low mobility state determination criterion for a terminal (fig. 4, [0051, 0053], the network device configures a measurement relaxation criterion, the measurement relaxation criterion includes a non-cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion, or a stationary criterion); and receiving, by the network-side device, first indication information from the terminal, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal performs measurement relaxation (fig. 9, [0155, 0157], network device receives measurement relaxation report from the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of SHI, configuring, by a network-side device, a low mobility state determination criterion for a terminal; and receiving, by the network-side device, first indication information from the terminal, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal performs measurement relaxation, into the teachings of SABOURI-SICHANI, in order to lower power consumption of the terminal (SHI, [0003]).
With respect to claim 13, this claim recites the method of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 15, this claim recites the method of claim 5, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 18, this claim recites the method of claim 8, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 19, this claim recites the method of claim 9, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SABOURI-SICHANI, in view of SHI, in view of Chou.
With respect to claim 17, this claim recites the method of claim 7, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20240172020 A1; “Li”, ([0130])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469