DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “square crest”, claim 7, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 7 recites for a squared crest, which is objected to. The squares crest, is understood by the examiner to define a “flat crest”, thus providing antecedent basis for “the flat end” of claim 8. It is also noted that a flat crest also renders moot the drawing objections, since at least Figs. 4-5 and 7, disclose a flat crest. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection under 112 (b) or 112, 2nd paragraph for ambiguity is not applied at this time, since it appears that the claim deficiencies are of form and not of clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maffeis et al. (2006/0263168 “Maffeis”) in view of Wessel (5,458,174), Ueda (4,193,216) and Robertson (1,910,182).
Maffeis meets all of the limitations of claim 1, i.e., a removable tire stud 1 comprising:
a solid 5 portion having a top surface, the head portion being continuous with a shank portion 2, 9, 10;
the shank portion comprising an unthreaded neck 9 proximal to the head 5 and a threaded portion 3 with a blunt tip 10, wherein the thread extends from the blunt tip to the unthreaded neck 9, Fig. 1 and wherein a first portion of the thread 13 is sharpened to cut through rubber of a tire [0029]; and
except for the solid drive head 5 to be hexagonal shaped and for a notched flange having two diametrically opposed notches in an outer edge thereof, and wherein each notch is centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head.
Wessel teaches a threadably engageable tire stud having a solid hexagonal drive 36, 05:06. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Maffeis with a hexagonal drive head as taught by Wessel in adapting the stud for a hexagonally shaped driving tool.
Maffeis modified by Wessel meets the claim, except for a notched flange having two diametrically opposed notches in an outer edge thereof.
Ueda teaches a spike assembly for sport shoes having a head portion 4 with a solid drive head 4a and a flange 5 fixed to the head, wherein the flange has two diametrically opposed notches 10 having claws 9 in an outer edge thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the stud of Maffeis and Wessel with the notches and claws as taught by Ueda so that the claws cut into the workpiece to prevent being unscrewed.
Maffeis modified by Wessel and Ueda meets the claim, except for each notch to be centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head.
Robertson teaches a slotted socket screw having a female square drive head with grooves or notches 5 on a flange defined by head 1 and wherein the notches may be centered on a side surface of the drive socket Fig. 1 or centered on the vertex of the rectangular head of the drive socket Fig. 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the stud of Maffeis, Wessel and Ueda with the notches centered on the vertex of the hexagonal head as taught by Robertson as an alternative arrangement of the notches with the minimum displacement of the metal.
Regarding claim 2, PA (prior art, Maffeis modified by Wessel, Ueda and Robertson) meets the limitations, i.e., the stud of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the thread is the first half (½) turn of the thread Fig. 1, Maffeis @13.
Regarding claim 3, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the stud of claim 1, wherein the thread of the first portion of the thread 13 has a thinner thickness than the remaining thread Fig. 1, Maffeis.
Regarding claim 4, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the stud of claim 1, except for a crest of the thread to have a diameter substantially the same as a width of the flange. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the stud of PA with a flange the same size as that of the thread, for a stronger engagement with the tire to prevent unscrewing the stud and since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (SQUARE
CREST)] Regarding claim 7, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the stud of claim 1, wherein the thread 13 having a second portion proximal to the unthreaded neck, the second portion has a squared crest as defined pre Figs. 4-5 of instant application to retain the stud within the rubber of the tire Fig. 1, Maffeis.
Regarding claim 8, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the stud of claim 7, wherein the flat end of the crest is parallel to the shank.
Regarding claim 9, PA meets the limitations, i.e., the stud of claim 1, wherein construction of the stud is unitary.
CLAIM 10
Maffeis meets all of the limitations of claim 10, i.e., a removable tire stud 1 comprising:
a solid 5 having a top surface, the head portion being continuous with a shank portion 2, 9, 10;
the shank portion comprising an unthreaded neck 9 proximal to the head 5 and a self-tapping threaded portion 12, 13 with a blunt tip 10;
except for a hexagonal head and a notched flange fixed to the head portion proximal to the shank portion; wherein the notched flange has two diametrically opposed notches in an outer edge thereof, and wherein each notch is centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head.
Wessel teaches a threadably engageable tire stud having a solid hexagonal drive 36, 05:06. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Maffeis with a hexagonal drive head as taught by Wessel in adapting the stud for a hexagonally shaped driving tool.
Maffeis modified by Wessel meets the claim, except for a notched flange having two diametrically opposed notches in an outer edge thereof.
Ueda teaches a spike assembly for sport shoes having a head portion 4 with a solid drive 4a and a flange 5 fixed to the head, wherein the flange has two diametrically opposed notches 10 having claws 9 in an outer edge thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the stud of Maffeis and Wessel with the notches and claws as taught by Ueda so that the claws cut into the workpiece to prevent being unscrewed.
Maffeis modified by Wessel and Ueda meets the claim, except for each notch to be centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head.
Robertson teaches a slotted socket screw having a female square drive head with grooves or notches 5 on a flange defined by head 1 and wherein the notches may be centered on a side surface of the drive socket Fig. 1 or centered on the vertex of the rectangular head of the drive socket Fig. 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the stud of Maffeis, Wessel and Ueda with the notches centered on the vertex of the hexagonal head as taught by Robertson as an alternative arrangement of the notches with the minimum displacement of the metal.
Regarding claim 11, PA (prior art, Maffeis modified by Wessel, Ueda and Robertson) meets the limitations, i.e., the removable tire stud of claim 10, wherein the self-tapping threaded portion comprises a cutting surface 13.
CLAIM 12
Maffeis meets all of the limitations of claim 12, i.e., a removable tire stud 1 comprising:
a solid 5 having a top surface, the head portion being continuous with a shank portion 2, 9, 10;
the shank portion comprising an unthreaded neck 9 proximal to the head and a thread-forming threaded portion 12, 13 with a blunt tip 10;
except for a hexagonal head and a notched flange fixed to the head portion proximal to the shank portion; wherein the notched flange has two diametrically opposed notches in an outer edge thereof, and wherein each notch is centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head.
Wessel teaches a threadably engageable tire stud having a solid hexagonal drive 36, 05:06. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of Maffeis with a hexagonal drive head as taught by Wessel in adapting the stud for a hexagonally shaped driving tool.
Maffeis modified by Wessel meets the claim, except for a notched flange having two diametrically opposed notches in an outer edge thereof.
Ueda teaches a spike assembly for sport shoes having a head portion 4 with a solid drive 4a and a flange 5 fixed to the head, wherein the flange has two diametrically opposed notches 10 having claws 9 in an outer edge thereof. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the stud of Maffeis and Wessel with the notches and claws as taught by Ueda so that the claws cut into the workpiece to prevent being unscrewed.
Maffeis modified by Wessel and Ueda meets the claim, except for each notch to be centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head.
Robertson teaches a slotted socket screw having a female square drive head with grooves or notches 5 on a flange defined by head 1 and wherein the notches may be centered on a side surface of the drive socket Fig. 1 or centered on the vertex of the rectangular head of the drive socket Fig. 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to further modify the stud of Maffeis, Wessel and Ueda with the notches centered on the vertex of the hexagonal head as taught by Robertson as an alternative arrangement of the notches with the minimum displacement of the metal.
Regarding claim 13, PA (prior art, Maffeis modified by Wessel, Ueda and Robertson) meets the limitations, i.e., the removable tire stud of claim 12, wherein the thread-forming threaded portion PA (prior art, Maffeis modified by Wessel, Ueda and Robertson) 12 comprises a cutting surface 13.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PA as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wessel.
PA (prior art, Maffeis modified by Wessel, Ueda and Robertson) meets all of the limitations of claim 5 as applied to claim 1 above, except for the top surface has a head protrusion.
Wessel teaches a threadably engageable tire stud having a solid hexagonal head 30 including a combination of a unitary elongated steel housing 32 and a carbide pin 34. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to modify the invention of PA with the carbide tip as taught by Wessel to improve traction of the tire.
Regarding claim 6, PA (prior art, Maffeis modified by Wessel, Ueda, Robertson and Wessel for the tip) meets the limitations, i.e., the stud of claim 5, wherein the head protrusion is a circular protrusion Fig. 4 Wessel.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-11 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11/255,366. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
For double patenting to exist as between the rejected claims and the reference claims it must be determined that the rejected claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims. In order to make this determination, it first must be determined whether there are any differences between the rejected claims and the reference claims and, if so, whether those differences render the claims patentably distinct.
In this case the kit of USP`366 recites at least one tire stud and an installation and removal device configured to install and remove the tire stud, the tire stud comprising a solid hexagonal shaped head portion continuous with a threaded, pointed shank portion; a notched flange fixed to the hexagonal shaped head portion proximal to the threaded, pointed shank portion; wherein the notched flange has two diametrically opposed notches in its outer edge and wherein each notch is centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head portion and extends from the hexagonal shaped head portion through the flange; and the device comprising: an elongated shaft connected to a wrench head, the wrench head comprising: a neck with two substantially diametrically opposed walls extended therefrom; each wall having an interior face configured to receive a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head portion of the tire stud, each wall further comprising a tip portion that extends from a free end of the wall and is configured to fit in the notch of the tire stud, wherein gaps are provided between the two walls.. It is clear, as underlined above that all of the elements of the instant application claims 1-13 are to be found in the reference claims USP`366, except for a blunt tip. Prior art as applied above teaches this feature. It would have been obvious, to have provided the tire stud of the USP`366 claims 1-11 with the blunt tip and other features in view of prior art applied above, since combining prior art elements according to known methods yields predictable results.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-8 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11/892,022. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
In this case the removable tire stud of claims 1-8 USP`022 recite for a removable tire stud consisting of: a solid hexagonal shaped head portion having a top surface, the head portion being continuous with a threaded, pointed shank portion; a notched flange fixed to the head portion proximal to the threaded, pointed shank portion; wherein the notched flange has two diametrically opposed notches in an outer edge thereof, wherein each notch is centered on a vertex of the hexagonal shaped head, meeting the pending claims, except for that which is old (blunt tip) and within the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art in view of art applied above, since combining prior art elements according to known methods yields predictable results.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon at this time, are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. LeCompte et al. female hex drive with grooves at vertex, Barmore interchangeability of a female socket drive to a male drive, Smith center projection b, cone shaped, square or of other convenient form Forslund and Livingston are cited to show related inventions.
/Hadi Shakeri/
February 5, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723