DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 10, filed 2/11/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 6 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art FR38541E which discloses a toilet comprising a refillable cleanser container and a mechanical float valve which controls both the water inflow and cleanser inflow.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., details regarding the flow regulator) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the mechanical valve which is claimed as being interconnected to the handle, resetting the handle and controlling the water inflow and cleanser inflow it is noted that the claims and specification cite a valve 110 which in Applicant’s figures indicates two separate valves. Fig. 5A depicts the mechanical water inflow control valve and indicates a separate outlet valve as valve 110:
Fig. 6A then indicates the water inflow and cleanser inflow valve is valve 110:
Fig. 6C then indicates the outlet valve as valve 110:
It is noted that the claim language requires the same mechanical valve 110 to be “interconnected to said handle” (the flush handle), to control water inflow, to control cleanser inflow and to “reset said handle”. The disclosure indicates that one valve, the outlet valve, is connected to and potentially resets the handle (the outlet valve is controlled by a handle) while another valve reacts to a mechanical float to control the inflow of water.
For the purpose of examination any valve which controls the inflow of water is being considered to be ‘interconnected to’ a handle or flush actuator of the toilet as the valve is actuated by a flush emptying the tank caused by the actuator/handle.
For the purpose of examination any valve which controls the inflow of water is being considered to ‘reset’ a handle or flush actuator of the toilet as the valve is actuated by a flush caused by the actuator/handle and refills the tank to ‘reset’ the tank for a subsequent flush activated by the handle or actuator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FR38541E (Boulenger) in view of US 2,207,363 (Vipond) and CN 111501937 (Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Boulenger discloses a self-cleaning toilet system comprising a tank (n/j) for containing liquids, the tank comprising:
a refillable container (s) in an upper portion of said tank (Fig. 1), said refillable container configured for storing toilet liquid cleanser; and
in a lower portion of said tank
a water supply inlet (m; annotated figure below);
a mechanical dose regulator (b/c/d/e) interconnected with said refillable container (Fig. 1), said dose regulator being adjustable (Specification; positions of ‘valves’ d/e on threaded tube b) and configured to provide a predetermined cleanser flow rate of said toilet liquid cleanser during a refill interval in which water flows into said lower portion of said tank such that a fixed proportional flow ration between the cleanser inflow and the water inflow is maintained (Specification. In so much as applicant’s achieves this - the same float valve controls the water inflow and the cleanser inflow so the ratio is controlled each flush);
an actuator for flushing said self-cleaning toilet (annotated figure above);
a mechanical valve (m/k/l) interconnected to said actuator configured to rise in accordance with a liquid level in said lower portion of said tank (l - float valve) and reset said handle when reaching a predetermined maximum liquid level to enable the next flushing (In so much as Applicant’s invention achieves this. The float valve is responsible for refilling the tank so it ‘resets’ the system for the next flush and as such ‘resets’ the handle), said mechanical valve being configured, upon reaching said predetermined maximum liquid level, to block said water supply inlet thereby stopping said water inflow and to block an outlet from said mechanical dose regulator thereby stopping said cleanser inflow (Specification), said mechanical valve being configured, when said liquid level falls below a predetermined minimum level, to open said water supply inlet thereby allowing said water inflow and to open said outlet from said mechanical dose regulator thereby allowing said cleanser inflow, so that during said refill interval said water and said toilet liquid cleanser enter said lower portion of said tank concurrently and remix with liquid in said lower portion of said tank prior to flushing (Specification);
wherein said liquid in said lower portion of said tank comprises a predetermined ratio of said toilet liquid cleanser to said water, said predetermined ratio being maintainable in said lower portion of said tank (Specification - the inflow of cleanser and the inflow of water are controlled by the same float valve so their ratio is maintainable through repeatable flush sequences).
While Boulenger discloses a self-clean toilet flush system is does not explicitly disclose the toilet. Boulenger appears to depict a spout in the top of the flush tank for refilling the liquid cleanser container (Fig. 1) but does not explicitly identify or describe the structure as such or a stopper. Boulenger also does not explicitly disclose a handle for flushing the toilet/tank or that dosage regulator is adjustable from outside of the tank.
Vipond teaches a self-cleaning flush toilet (Fig. 1) comprising a toilet (15), a flush water tank (16) flushable by a handle (29) and comprising a liquid cleanser container (22) within the tank (Fig. 1). Vipond further teaches the provision of a spout (23) for refilling the container and a stopper (24) for sealing the container.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to install the self-cleaning toilet tank on a toilet, as taught by Vipond, so that the self-cleaning toilet tank can be utilized for its purpose in flushing and self-cleaning a user’s toilet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the toilet tank with a handle, as taught by Vipond, to facilitate flushing of the toilet by a user as required/desired.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a spout and a stopper on the cleanser container, as taught by Vipond, to facilitate refilling of the container as required instead of replacing it (convenience and cost savings) and to ensure the container is sealed from contamination/for user safety between refills.
Lin teaches a flush toilet tank (20) comprising a container (8) for liquid cleanser and a mechanical dose regulator (4/5/7/9/10) driven by a float (4) responsive to the water level in the tank to control the release of cleanser into the water of the flush toilet tank making the release of cleanser repeatable between flushes. Lin further teaches that the dose regulator is adjustable from outside of the tank (Fig. 1 - 28/42 accessible outside the tank) to adjust the addition of cleanser to the water in the flush toilet tank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the dosage regulator to be adjustable from outside of the flush tank, as taught by Lin, to facilitate adjusting/maintaining the system without requiring a user to open/disassemble the flush toilet tank.
Regarding claim 3, Boulenger states that the mechanical valve is a float valve (Specification, Fig. 1 – l is a float).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Boulenger discloses a method for using a self-cleaning toilet system comprising the steps of:
providing a toilet tank (n/j) for containing liquids, the tank comprising:
a refillable container (s) in an upper portion of said tank (Fig. 1), said refillable container configured for storing toilet liquid cleanser; and
in a lower portion of said tank
a water supply inlet (m; annotated figure below);
a mechanical dose regulator (b/c/d/e) interconnected with said refillable container (Fig. 1), said dose regulator being adjustable (Specification; positions of ‘valves’ d/e on threaded tube b) and configured to provide a predetermined cleanser flow rate of said toilet liquid cleanser during a refill interval in which water flows into said lower portion of said tank such that a fixed proportional flow ration between the cleanser inflow and the water inflow is maintained (Specification. The same float valve controls the water inflow and the cleanser inflow so the ratio is controlled each flush);
an actuator for flushing said self-cleaning toilet (annotated figure above);
a mechanical valve (m/k/l) interconnected to said actuator, wherein said mechanical valve is a float valve (l) disposed within said tank (Fig. 1);
connecting said self-cleaning toilet tank to a water supply (Fig. 1, annotated figure above);
providing toilet liquid cleanser in said refillable container (Specification, Fig. 1);
flushing said self-cleaning toilet tank;
wherein, after said flushing, when a liquid level in said lower portion of said tank falls below a predetermined minimum level, said mechanical valve opens said water supply inlet to allow said water inflow and opens an outlet from said mechanical dose regulator to allow said cleanser inflow so that water and cleanser enter said tank concurrently during said refill interval and premix prior to a subsequent flushing (Specification, Fig. 1 – the float controls both water and cleanser supply to the tank);
and wherein, upon reaching a predetermined maximum liquid level, said mechanical valve blocks said water supply inlet and also blocks said outlet from said mechanical dose regulator (Specification, Fig. 1 – the float controls both water and cleanser supply to the tank);
thereby generating in said lower portion of said tank a predetermined ratio of said toilet liquid cleanser to said water;
said predetermined ratio being maintainable in said lower portion of said tank (Specification - the inflow of cleanser and the inflow of water are controlled by the same float valve so their ratio is maintainable through repeatable flush sequences).
While Boulenger appears to depict a spout in the top of the flush tank for refilling the liquid cleanser container (Fig. 1) it does not explicitly identify or describe refilling the container through a spout and a stopper. Boulenger also does not explicitly disclose a handle for flushing the toilet/tank or that dosage regulator is adjustable from outside of the tank.
Vipond teaches a method of flushing a self-cleaning toilet comprising providing a flush toilet (15; Fig. 1) comprising a flush water tank (16) flushable by a handle (29) and comprising a liquid cleanser container (22) within the tank (Fig. 1). Vipond further teaches refilling the container through a spout (23) and a stopper (24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a toilet and install the self-cleaning toilet tank on the toilet, as taught by Vipond, so that the self-cleaning toilet tank can be utilized for its purpose in flushing and self-cleaning a user’s toilet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the toilet tank with a handle, as taught by Vipond, to facilitate flushing of the toilet by a user as required/desired.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a spout and a stopper on the cleanser container and to refill the container therethrough, as taught by Vipond, to facilitate refilling of the container as required instead of replacing it (convenience and cost savings) while also ensuring the container is sealed from contamination/for user safety between refills.
Lin teaches a method of flushing a self-cleaning toilet comprising providing a flush toilet tank (20) comprising a container (8) for liquid cleanser and a mechanical dose regulator (4/5/7/9/10) driven by a float (4) responsive to the water level in the tank to control the release of cleanser into the water of the flush toilet tank making the release of cleanser repeatable between flushes. Lin further teaches that the dose regulator is adjustable from outside of the tank (Fig. 1 - 28/42 accessible outside the tank) to adjust the addition of cleanser to the water in the flush toilet tank.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the dosage regulator to be adjustable from outside of the flush tank, as taught by Lin, to facilitate adjusting/maintaining the system without requiring a user to open/disassemble the flush toilet tank.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulenger in view of Vipond and Lin as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of DE 10246866 (Alessandro).
Regarding claim 2, Boulenger does not state that the tank is a hidden tank.
Alessandro teaches a self-cleaning system for a toilet comprising a tank (1/1a) which comprises a container (10/10a) for an additive which can be a cleaner, disinfectant or fragrance which mixes with water (4/4a) in the tank. Alessandro further teaches that the tank can be visible (1, Fig. 2) or can be a hidden tank (la, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a hidden tank, as taught by Alessandro, depending upon design choices such user preference or installation requirements based upon factors such as aesthetic choice, costs and/or maintenance/security requirements for accessing the tank.
Regarding claim 7, Boulenger does not state that the provided tank is a hidden tank.
Alessandro teaches a method for using a self-cleaning system for a toilet comprising a tank (1/1a) which comprises a container (10/10a) for an additive which can be a cleaner, disinfectant or fragrance which mixes with water (4/4a) in the tank. Alessandro further teaches that the tank can be provided as a visible tank (1, Fig. 2) or can be a hidden tank (la, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a hidden tank, as taught by Alessandro, depending upon design choices such user preference or installation requirements based upon factors such as aesthetic choice, costs and/or maintenance/security requirements for accessing the tank.
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boulenger in view of Vipond and Lin as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of US 3,023,426 (Neal).
Regarding claims 4-5, Boulenger states that the toilet liquid cleanser is for cleaning a toilet but does not explicitly disclose it contains a deodorizer and a specific cleaning liquid.
Neal teaches a self-cleaning toilet system comprising a container (16) installed in a toilet tank (10) with a float (56) actuated valve which selectively releases cleaning liquid with the rise and fall of the water level in the tank. Neal further teaches that the cleaning liquid can be a soap, detergent, deodorant, bleach or a combination of any thereof with an identified intent of the liquid to clean, deodorize and bleach (C1 L40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a liquid cleanser comprising a deodorizer and a cleaning liquid such as bleach or detergent, as taught by Neal, to provide greater functionality to the system by facilitating the simultaneous cleaning of the toilet for sanitation reasons and reduction in unpleasant odors for user comfort.
Regarding claims 9-10, Boulenger states that the toilet liquid cleanser is for cleaning a toilet but does not explicitly disclose providing a cleanser which contains a deodorizer and a specific cleaning liquid.
Neal teaches a method of using a self-cleaning toilet system comprising a container (16) installed in a toilet tank (10) with a float (56) actuated valve which selectively releases cleaning liquid with the rise and fall of the water level in the tank. Neal further teaches a method of providing a cleaning liquid which comprises a soap, detergent, deodorant, bleach or a combination of any thereof with an identified intent of the liquid to clean, deodorize and bleach (C1 L40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide/supply a liquid cleanser comprising a deodorizer and a cleaning liquid such as bleach or detergent, as taught by Neal, to provide greater functionality to the system by facilitating the simultaneous cleaning of the toilet for sanitation reasons and reduction in unpleasant odors for user comfort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 1,182,742 (Bickerton) teaches a toilet tank with a water supply controlled by a float valve and a refillable cleanser container with an outlet controlled by a float valve with both floats responsive to the water level in the tank.
US 1,260,180 (Gallagher) teaches a toilet tank with a cleanser container and a single mechanical float valve controlling water inflow into the tank and cleanser inflow into the tank to be mixed between flushes.
US 3,009,168 (Cooper) teaches a toilet comprising a refillable cleanser container and a float valve wherein the float valve controls both the inflow of water and an inflow of cleanser which mixes with the inflow of water at a predetermined rate.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A ROS/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754