Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2023-0019599, filed on February 14, 2023, Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2023-0068617, filed on May 26, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 5, 2024, July 25, 2024, May 8, 2025, and March 13, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 8, 9, 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SRIVASTAVA et al. (US 2023/0260531 A1) (herein after Srivastava).
Regarding Claim 1, Srivastava discloses, 1. A method of separating, by using an audio separation system (Fig. 1, ¶ 17 – 18 disclosed electronic device and the method, intelligent audio processing, network environment 100), one or more candidate audios in a sound source (Fig. 5, a source audio signal 512; “¶ 54 FIGS. 6A and 6B are explained in conjunction with elements from FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 4, and FIG. 5.”) including the one or more candidate audios and a background sound (Fig. 1, ¶ 55 any other background noise sound), the method comprising: extracting a first audio feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 53, 55 a first user input, extract the one or more audio features) from the sound source; extracting a background sound feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 55, 63 a second user input, the extracted first vocal signal may be free from any background noise) from the sound source, the background sound feature identifying a degree of association (Fig. 1, ¶ 56 second user input may be received based on the received first user input) between the first audio feature and the background sound; — and generating one or more separated audios (Fig. 5, ¶ 56 first audio signal 514A may need to be separated and removed from the source audio signal) based on target information (Fig. 5, ¶ 56 audio denoising operation) corresponding to the one or more candidate audios, the first audio feature, and the second audio feature in which the background sound is adjusted (Fig. 5, ¶ 16 automatic volume gain control).
Srivastava in the first embodiment fails to disclose, — generating a second audio feature based on the first audio feature, the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter configured to control the background sound; —
However, Srivastava in the second embodiment discloses, — generating a second audio feature (Fig. 6A, ¶ 55 a second user input) based on the first audio feature (Fig. 6A, ¶ 56 second user input may be received based on the received first user input), the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter (Fig. 6A, ¶ 16 automatic volume gain control) configured to control the background sound; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava by combining the method performed by the audio separation system in the first embodiment with a method performed by an audio separation system in the second embodiment, the method comprising: generating a second audio feature based on the first audio feature, the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter configured to control the background sound; disclosed by Srivastava for the benefit of separating, by using an audio separation system, one or more candidate audios in a sound source with minimal intervention from humans with a device that is easy for unspecialized humans to use [Srivastava i: ¶ 15 In contrast, the disclosed electronic device may possess the capability to perform several operations related to audio processing with minimal intervention from the human, the user interfaces associated with the disclosed electronic device may be relatively easy for the unspecialized humans to perform different audio processing operations].
Regarding Claim 2, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses, 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the extracting the first audio feature from the sound source comprises: generating a spectrogram (Fig. 5, ¶ 53 waveform of the corresponding audio signal) of the sound source by applying a short-time Fourier transform (STFT) (Fig. 4, ¶ 47 a Short-time Fourier transform (STFT) technique) on the sound source, and processing the spectrogram of the sound source by using an audio feature extraction module (Fig. 4, ¶ 43 set of blocks (such as operational blocks), fourth block 408) including a plurality of convolution blocks (Fig. 4, ¶ 27 a convolutional neural network (CNN), to extract the first audio feature from the sound source.
Regarding Claim 3, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses, 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the extracting the background sound feature from the sound source comprises: generating a spectrogram (Fig. 5, ¶ 53 waveform of the corresponding audio signal) of the sound source by applying a short-time Fourier transform (STFT) (Fig. 4, ¶ 47 a Short-time Fourier transform (STFT) technique) on the sound source, and processing the spectrogram of the sound source by using a background sound analysis module (Fig. 4, ¶ 43 set of blocks (such as operational blocks), fourth block 408) including a plurality of convolution blocks (Fig. 4, ¶ 27 a convolutional neural network (CNN), to extract the background sound feature from the sound source.
Regarding Claim 8, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses, 8. The method of claim 1, further comprises: extracting a target feature Fig. 1, ¶ 53, extract the one or more audio features) from the target information corresponding to the one or more candidate audios by using a target feature extraction module (Fig. 4, ¶ 43 set of blocks (such as operational blocks)), processing the target feature, the first audio feature, and the second audio feature by using an audio generation module (Fig. 4, ¶ 43 set of blocks (such as operational blocks), fourth block 408) including a plurality of up-convolution blocks (Fig. 4, ¶ 27 a convolutional neural network (CNN), to generate spectrograms (Fig. 5, ¶ 53 waveform of the corresponding audio signal) of the one or more separated audios, and generating the one or more separated audios by applying an inverse STFT (ISTFT) (Fig. 5, ¶ 53 one or more inverse transformation techniques (such as inverse Short-time Fourier transform (ISTFT))) on the spectrograms of the one or more separated audios.
Regarding Claim 9, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses, 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the audio separation system is trained by comparing (Fig. 6A, ¶ 67 602J, a features comparison operation) an audio separation result inferred by the audio separation system with a target result (Fig. 6A, ¶ 67 a feature database), with respect to a training sound source (Fig. 6A, ¶ 68 trained to compare sample audio features stored in the feature database) comprising one or more training candidate audios and a training background sound (Fig. 6A, ¶ 68 first vocal signal (i.e. extracted from the source audio signal)), wherein the training is performed for a plurality of cases (Fig. 6A, ¶ 69 trained based on different audio features) corresponding to a plurality of background sound parameters, and wherein a separate target result (Fig. 6A, ¶ 70 then the trained second ML model 106B may analyze different audio features) is used for each case.
Regarding Claim 12, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses,12. The method of claim 1, wherein the target information corresponding to the one or more candidate audios is one of visual information (Fig. 1, ¶ 55 recording or capturing a movie scene) or audio information that is separate (Fig. 1, ¶ 55 audio/vocal signals related to different source sources are captured) from the one or more candidate audios.
Regarding Claim 13, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses, 13. The method of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more candidate audios is a human voice, or a sound produced by a musical instrument (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 audio signals (i.e. related to musical instruments and/or vocal signals).) or a machine, and wherein the background sound comprises at least one of a human voice, ambient noise, or background music (Fig. 1, ¶ 55 any other background noise sound).
Regarding Claim 14, Srivastava discloses, 14. A computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a computer program that, when executed by one or more computing devices (Fig. 1, ¶ 36 memory 204 may be configured to store information about the selected operation of the plurality of operations associated with the audio processing; “¶ 54 FIGS. 6A and 6B are explained in conjunction with elements from FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 4, and FIG. 5.”), causes the one or more computing devices to perform a method of separating, by using an audio separation system (Fig. 1, ¶ 17 – 18 disclosed electronic device and the method, intelligent audio processing, network environment 100), one or more candidate audios in a sound source (Fig. 5, a source audio signal 512) including the one or more candidate audios and a background sound (Fig. 1, ¶ 55 any other background noise sound), the method comprising: extracting a first audio feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 53, 55 a first user input, extract the one or more audio features) from the sound source; extracting a background sound feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 55, 63 a second user input, the extracted first vocal signal may be free from any background noise) from the sound source, the background sound feature identifying a degree of association (Fig. 1, ¶ 56 second user input may be received based on the received first user input) between the first audio feature and the background sound; — and generating one or more separated audios (Fig. 5, ¶ 56 first audio signal 514A may need to be separated and removed from the source audio signal) based on target information (Fig. 5, ¶ 56 audio denoising operation) corresponding to the one or more candidate audios, the first audio feature, and the second audio feature in which the background sound is adjusted (Fig. 5, ¶ 16 automatic volume gain control).
Srivastava in the first embodiment fails to disclose, —generating a second audio feature based on the first audio feature, the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter configured to control the background sound; —
However, Srivastava in the second embodiment discloses, — generating a second audio feature (Fig. 6A, ¶ 55 a second user input) based on the first audio feature (Fig. 6A, ¶ 56 second user input may be received based on the received first user input), the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter (Fig. 6A, ¶ 16 automatic volume gain control) configured to control the background sound; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava by combining the computer-readable recording medium in the first embodiment with a computer-readable recording medium in the second embodiment, the computer-readable recording medium performing a method of: generating a second audio feature based on the first audio feature, the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter configured to control the background sound; disclosed by Srivastava for the benefit of separating, by using an audio separation system, one or more candidate audios in a sound source with minimal intervention from humans with a device that is easy for unspecialized humans to use [Srivastava i: ¶ 15 In contrast, the disclosed electronic device may possess the capability to perform several operations related to audio processing with minimal intervention from the human, the user interfaces associated with the disclosed electronic device may be relatively easy for the unspecialized humans to perform different audio processing operations].
Regarding Claim 15, Srivastava discloses, 15. An electronic device (Fig. 2, electronic device 102; “¶ 54 FIGS. 6A and 6B are explained in conjunction with elements from FIG. 1, FIG. 2, FIG. 3, FIG. 4, and FIG. 5.”) comprising: one or more processors (Fig. 2, ¶ 35 circuitry 202 may include one or more specialized processing units); and a memory storing a program for separating (Fig. 1, ¶ 36 memory 204 may be configured to store information about the selected operation of the plurality of operations associated with the audio processing), by using an audio separation system (Fig. 1, ¶ 17 – 18 disclosed electronic device and the method, intelligent audio processing, network environment 100) one or more candidate audios in a sound source (Fig. 5, a source audio signal 512) comprising the one or more candidate audios and a background sound (Fig. 1, ¶ 55 any other background noise sound), wherein the program, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the electronic device to perform operations comprising: extracting a first audio feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 53, 55 a first user input, extract the one or more audio features) from the sound source; extracting a background sound feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 55, 63 a second user input, the extracted first vocal signal may be free from any background noise) from the sound source, the background sound feature identifying a degree of association (Fig. 1, ¶ 56 second user input may be received based on the received first user input) between the first audio feature and the background sound; generating a second audio feature based on the first audio feature, the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter configured to control the background sound; and generating one or more separated audios (Fig. 5, ¶ 56 first audio signal 514A may need to be separated and removed from the source audio signal) based on target information (Fig. 5, ¶ 56 audio denoising operation) corresponding to the one or more candidate audios, the first audio feature, and the second audio feature in which the background sound is adjusted (Fig. 5, ¶ 16 automatic volume gain control).
Srivastava in the first embodiment fails to disclose, — generating a second audio feature based on the first audio feature, the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter configured to control the background sound; —
However, Srivastava in the second embodiment discloses, — generating a second audio feature (Fig. 6A, ¶ 55 a second user input) based on the first audio feature (Fig. 6A, ¶ 56 second user input may be received based on the received first user input), the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter (Fig. 6A, ¶ 16 automatic volume gain control) configured to control the background sound; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava by combining the electronic device in the first embodiment with an electronic device in the second embodiment that performs operations comprising: generating a second audio feature based on the first audio feature, the background sound feature, and a background sound control parameter configured to control the background sound; disclosed by Srivastava for the benefit of separating, by using an audio separation system, one or more candidate audios in a sound source with minimal intervention from humans with a device that is easy for unspecialized humans to use [Srivastava i: ¶ 15 In contrast, the disclosed electronic device may possess the capability to perform several operations related to audio processing with minimal intervention from the human, the user interfaces associated with the disclosed electronic device may be relatively easy for the unspecialized humans to perform different audio processing operations].
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 16, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SRIVASTAVA et al. (US 2023/0260531 A1) (herein after Srivastava) in view of Fueg et al. (US 9,955,282 B2) (herein after Fueg).
Regarding Claim 4, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava fails to disclose, 4. The method of claim 1, further comprises: obtaining a scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature, and generating the second audio feature by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor.
In analogous art, Fueg discloses, 4. The method of claim 1, further comprises: obtaining a scaling factor (Fig. 7. Col. 18. Ln. 23 gain or scaling factor g) based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature, and generating the second audio feature by scaling the first audio feature (Fig. 4. Col. 4. Ln. 25 wherein the gain factor is determined based on the condition of the one or more input channels of the audio) by using the scaling factor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava by combining the method performed by the audio separation system with a method performed by an audio separation system, further comprising: obtaining a scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature, and generating the second audio feature by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor; disclosed by Fueg for the benefit of scaling, by using an audio separation system that reduces computation complexity of the scaling. [Fueg: Col. 4, Ln. 12: a predefined correlation measure is advantageous as it reduces the computational complexity in the process].
Regarding Claim 5, Srivastava in view of Fueg disclose the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava fails to disclose, 5. The method of claim 4, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: based on the background sound control parameter being 1, obtaining the scaling factor to be 1 , based on the background sound control parameter being 0, obtaining the scaling factor to be a smaller number as a size of the background sound feature increases, and obtaining the scaling factor to be a larger number as the size of the background sound feature decreases, and wherein the scaling factor is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 1.
Fueg further discloses, 5. The method of claim 4, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: based on the background sound control parameter being 1 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient 1), obtaining the scaling factor to be 1 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient 1), based on the background sound control parameter being 0 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient 0), obtaining the scaling factor to be a smaller number (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient) as a size of the background sound feature increases, and obtaining the scaling factor to be a larger number (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. linearly depending on a correlation) as the size of the background sound feature decreases, and wherein the scaling factor is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 1 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 correlation coefficient between 0 and 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg by combining the method performed by the audio separation system with a method performed by an audio separation system wherein, the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: based on the background sound control parameter being 1, obtaining the scaling factor to be 1 , based on the background sound control parameter being 0, obtaining the scaling factor to be a smaller number as a size of the background sound feature increases, and obtaining the scaling factor to be a larger number as the size of the background sound feature decreases, and wherein the scaling factor is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 1; disclosed by Fueg for the benefit of scaling, by using an audio separation system that reduces computation complexity of the scaling. [Fueg: Col. 4, Ln. 12: a predefined correlation measure is advantageous as it reduces the computational complexity in the process].
Regarding Claim 10, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses, 10. The method of claim 1, wherein the extracting the background sound feature from the sound source comprises: extracting a first background sound feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 55, 63 a second user input, the extracted first vocal signal may be free from any background noise) from the sound source; and extracting a second background sound feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 55, 63 a second user input, the extracted first vocal signal may be free from any background noise) from the sound source; —
Srivastava fails to disclose — and wherein the generating the second audio feature based on the first audio feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor based on a first background sound control parameter, a second background sound control parameter, the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature; and generating the second audio feature in which the background sound is adjusted, by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor.
In analogous art, Fueg discloses, — and wherein the generating the second audio feature based on the first audio feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor (Fig. 7. Col. 18. Ln. 23 gain or scaling factor g) based on a first background sound control parameter (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 2 control input a reproduction layout signal indicating the way the channel signals 228 are to be converted), a second background sound control parameter (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 2 control input a reproduction layout signal indicating the way the channel signals 228 are to be converted), the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature; and generating the second audio feature (Fig. 4. Col. 4. Ln. 25 wherein the gain factor is determined based on the condition of the one or more input channels of the audio) in which the background sound is adjusted (Fig. 7. Col. 18. Ln. 23 gain or scaling factor g), by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava by combining the method performed by the audio separation system with a method performed by an audio separation system, and wherein the generating the second audio feature based on the first audio feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor based on a first background sound control parameter, a second background sound control parameter, the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature; and generating the second audio feature in which the background sound is adjusted, by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor.; disclosed by Fueg for the benefit of scaling, by using an audio separation system that reduces computation complexity of the scaling. [Fueg: Col. 4, Ln. 12: a predefined correlation measure is advantageous as it reduces the computational complexity in the process].
Regarding Claim 16, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava fails to disclose, 16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the program, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the electronic device to perform operations further comprising: obtaining a scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature, and generating the second audio feature by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor.
In analogous art, Fueg discloses, 16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the program, when executed by the one or more processors, causes the electronic device to perform operations further comprising: obtaining a scaling factor (Fig. 7. Col. 18. Ln. 23 gain or scaling factor g) based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature, and generating the second audio feature by scaling the first audio feature (Fig. 4. Col. 4. Ln. 25 wherein the gain factor is determined based on the condition of the one or more input channels of the audio) by using the scaling factor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava by combining the electronic device with an electronic device that performs operations further comprising: obtaining a scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature, and generating the second audio feature by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor; disclosed by Fueg for the benefit of scaling, by using an audio separation system that reduces computation complexity of the scaling. [Fueg: Col. 4, Ln. 12: a predefined correlation measure is advantageous as it reduces the computational complexity in the process].
Regarding Claim 17, Srivastava in view of Fueg disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava fails to disclose, 17. The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: based on the background sound control parameter being 1, obtaining the scaling factor to be 1, based on the background sound control parameter being 0, obtaining the scaling factor to be a smaller number as a size of the background sound feature increases, and obtaining the scaling factor to be a larger number as the size of the background sound feature decreases, and wherein the scaling factor is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 1.
Fueg further discloses, 17. The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: based on the background sound control parameter being 1 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient 1), obtaining the scaling factor to be 1 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient 1), based on the background sound control parameter being 0 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient 0), obtaining the scaling factor to be a smaller number (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 linearly depending on a correlation coefficient) as a size of the background sound feature increases, and obtaining the scaling factor to be a larger number (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. linearly depending on a correlation) as the size of the background sound feature decreases, and wherein the scaling factor is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 1 (Fig. 9. Col. 25. Ln. 60 correlation coefficient between 0 and 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg by combining the electronic device with an electronic device wherein, the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: based on the background sound control parameter being 1, obtaining the scaling factor to be 1, based on the background sound control parameter being 0, obtaining the scaling factor to be a smaller number as a size of the background sound feature increases, and obtaining the scaling factor to be a larger number as the size of the background sound feature decreases, and wherein the scaling factor is greater than 0 but less than or equal to 1; disclosed by Fueg for the benefit of scaling, by using an audio separation system that reduces computation complexity of the scaling. [Fueg: Col. 4, Ln. 12: a predefined correlation measure is advantageous as it reduces the computational complexity in the process].
Regarding Claim 20, Srivastava discloses the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava further discloses, 20. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the extracting the background sound feature from the sound source comprises: extracting a first background sound feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 55, 63 a second user input, the extracted first vocal signal may be free from any background noise) from the sound source; and extracting a second background sound feature (Fig. 1, ¶ 55, 63 a second user input, the extracted first vocal signal may be free from any background noise) from the sound source; —
Srivastava fails to disclose — and wherein the generating the second audio feature based on the first audio feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor based on a first background sound control parameter, a second background sound control parameter, the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature; and generating the second audio feature in which the background sound is adjusted, by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor.
In analogous art, Fueg discloses, — and wherein the generating the second audio feature based on the first audio feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor (Fig. 7. Col. 18. Ln. 23 gain or scaling factor g) based on a first background sound control parameter (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 2 control input a reproduction layout signal indicating the way the channel signals 228 are to be converted), a second background sound control parameter (Fig. 2. Col. 8. Ln. 2 control input a reproduction layout signal indicating the way the channel signals 228 are to be converted), the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature; and generating the second audio feature (Fig. 4. Col. 4. Ln. 25 wherein the gain factor is determined based on the condition of the one or more input channels of the audio) in which the background sound is adjusted (Fig. 7. Col. 18. Ln. 23 gain or scaling factor g), by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg by combining the electronic device with an electronic device wherein, the generating the second audio feature based on the first audio feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor based on a first background sound control parameter, a second background sound control parameter, the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature; and generating the second audio feature in which the background sound is adjusted, by scaling the first audio feature by using the scaling factor; disclosed by Fueg for the benefit of scaling, by using an audio separation system that reduces computation complexity of the scaling. [Fueg: Col. 4, Ln. 12: a predefined correlation measure is advantageous as it reduces the computational complexity in the process].
Claim(s) 6, 7, 11, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SRIVASTAVA et al. (US 2023/0260531 A1) (herein after Srivastava) in view of Fueg et al. (US 9,955,282 B2) (herein after Fueg), and further in view of Bessette et al. (US 2012/0271644 A1) (herein after Bessette).
Regarding Claim 6, Srivastava in view of Fueg disclose the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava and Fueg fail to disclose, 6. The method of claim 4, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according a background sound control function f(x) that is symmetric with respect to x = 0, approaches 0 as an absolute value of x increases, and satisfies f(0) = 1.
In analogous art, Bessette discloses, 6. The method of claim 4, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according a background sound control function f(x) (Fig. 9, ¶ 216 F’(z)) that is symmetric (Fig. 9, ¶ 216 F’(z) are symmetric) with respect to x = 0, approaches 0 as an absolute value of x increases (Fig. 9, ¶ 166 quantized using an absolute quantization approach), and satisfies f(0) = 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg by combining the method performed by the audio separation system with a method performed by an audio separation system wherein, the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according a background sound control function f(x) that is symmetric with respect to x = 0, approaches 0 as an absolute value of x increases, and satisfies f(0) = 1; disclosed by Bessette for the benefit of using an audio separation system that allows for efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains [Bessette: ¶ 20 the above-described concepts also allows for an efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains].
Regarding Claim 7, Srivastava in view of Fueg in view of Bessette disclose the limitations of claim 6, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava and Fueg fail to disclose, 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hci x (1 - α)), wherein α is the background sound control parameter and hci is the background sound feature.
Bessette further discloses, 7. The method of claim 6, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hci x (1 - α)) (Fig. 9, ¶ 213 F1’(z) = (1 + z-1)F1(z)), wherein α is the background sound control parameter (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise) and hci is the background sound feature (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg in view of Bessette by combining the method performed by the audio separation system with a method performed by an audio separation system wherein, obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hci x (1 - α)), wherein α is the background sound control parameter and hci is the background sound feature; disclosed by Bessette for the benefit of using an audio separation system that allows for efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains [Bessette: ¶ 20 the above-described concepts also allows for an efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains].
Regarding Claim 11, Srivastava in view of Fueg disclose the limitations of claim 10, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava and Fueg fail to disclose,11. The method of claim 10, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the first background sound control parameter, the second background sound control parameter, the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hc1i x (1 - α)) x f(hc2i x (1 - β)), wherein α is the first background sound control parameter, β is the second background sound control parameter, hc1i is the first background sound feature, and hc2i is the first background sound feature.
In analogous art, Bessette discloses, 11. The method of claim 10, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the first background sound control parameter, the second background sound control parameter, the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hc1i x (1 - α)) x f(hc2i x (1 - β)) (Fig. 9, ¶ 213 F1’(z) = (1 + z-1)F1(z)), wherein α is the first background sound control parameter (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise), β is the second background sound control parameter (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise), hc1i is the first background sound feature (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise), and hc2i is the first background sound feature (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg by combining the method performed by the audio separation system with a method performed by an audio separation system wherein, obtaining the scaling factor based on the first background sound control parameter, the second background sound control parameter, the first background sound feature, and the second background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hc1i x (1 - α)) x f(hc2i x (1 - β)), wherein α is the first background sound control parameter, β is the second background sound control parameter, hc1i is the first background sound feature, and hc2i is the first background sound feature; disclosed by Bessette for the benefit of using an audio separation system that allows for efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains [Bessette: ¶ 20 the above-described concepts also allows for an efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains].
Regarding Claim 18, Srivastava in view of Fueg disclose the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava and Fueg fail to disclose, 18. The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according a background sound control function f(x) that is symmetric with respect to x = 0, approaches 0 as an absolute value of x increases, and satisfies f(0) = 1.
In analogous art, Bessette discloses, 18. The electronic device of claim 16, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according a background sound control function f(x) (Fig. 9, ¶ 216 F’(z)) that is symmetric (Fig. 9, ¶ 216 F’(z) are symmetric) with respect to x = 0, approaches 0 as an absolute value of x increases (Fig. 9, ¶ 166 quantized using an absolute quantization approach), and satisfies f(0) = 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg by combining the electronic device with an electronic device wherein, the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according a background sound control function f(x) that is symmetric with respect to x = 0, approaches 0 as an absolute value of x increases, and satisfies f(0) = 1; disclosed by Bessette for the benefit of using an audio separation system that allows for efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains [Bessette: ¶ 20 the above-described concepts also allows for an efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains].
Regarding Claim 19, Srivastava in view of Fueg in view of Bessette disclose the limitations of claim 18, which this claim depends on.
Srivastava and Fueg fail to disclose, 19. The electronic device of claim 18, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hci x (1 - α)), wherein α is the background sound control parameter and hci is the background sound feature.
Bessette further discloses, 19. The electronic device of claim 18, wherein the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according to f(hci x (1 - α)) (Fig. 9, ¶ 213 F1’(z) = (1 + z-1)F1(z)), wherein α is the background sound control parameter (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise) and hci is the background sound feature (Fig. 9, ¶ 239 performance in case of stationary background noise).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Srivastava in view of Fueg in view of Bessette by combining the electronic device with an electronic device wherein, the obtaining the scaling factor based on the background sound control parameter and the background sound feature comprises: obtaining the scaling factor according a background sound control function f(x) that is symmetric with respect to x = 0, approaches 0 as an absolute value of x increases, and satisfies f(0) = 1; disclosed by Bessette for the benefit of using an audio separation system that allows for efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains [Bessette: ¶ 20 the above-described concepts also allows for an efficient reduction of aliasing artifacts between portions (for example, frames) of the audio content encoded in different domains].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (US 2023/0386500 A1) teaches, processing the spectrogram of the sound source by using a background sound analysis module (Fig. 2, ¶ 54 the time-frequency transform of the multiple frames of the audio signal is possible in different scales.) including a plurality of convolution blocks (Fig. 2, ¶ 54 The multi-scale convolutional block 2 generate an output by concatenating or adding outputs of at least two parallel convolution paths 21, 22, 23. While the number of parallel convolution paths is not limited, the aggregated multi-scale CNN may include three parallel convolution paths 21, 22, 23)..
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858