DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. All claims are eligible for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 20 recites a movable crate that is attached to guide rails; this is not shown in the specification or drawings; the examiner believe that this is a typo and the “movable crate” should have been a “movable carriage”. However, since it is not certain that this is an obvious typo the present rejection is being made, since as presently drafted there is not possession shown in the original disclosure. If the interpretation that the claim in fact merely contains a typo is correct, then the claim would be objected to as allowable if rewritten in independent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9-11, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munson (US 2021/0112724) in view of Alexander et al. (2022/0007590 hereinafter Alexander).
With respect to claim 1, Munson discloses an assembly for management of an agricultural area (in the abstract, Munson discloses an agricultural system), the assembly comprising:
at least one elongated truss and an associated chassis with at least one wheel with which the truss is adapted to be moved in a circular or linear manner over arable land (in figure 1A, Munson discloses a radial framework like trolley beam 105 which reads on an elongated truss; as described in paragraph 23, Munson discloses frame pieces including 123 and 102 in figure 1A – a frame reads on a chassis; in figure 1A, Munson discloses wheels 103 which can be used to rotate the truss and frame in a circular motion around center pivot frame 123; in the abstract, Munson discloses that the system is for agriculture, which anticipates arable land);
at least one cultivator that is movable or displaceable along the truss (in figure 1A, Munson discloses harvesting units like cutterhead 110, which is movable along the trolley beam 105; a cutterhead that harvests crops reads on a cultivator because harvesting is one part of cultivation);
a plurality of carriages arranged on the truss, the plurality of carriages being attached to associated guide rails of the truss and being movable along the truss in a direction of a longitudinal extension of the truss, at least one cultivator being attached to each carriage and thus the carriages serve as tool carriers for a cultivator (in figure 1A, Munson discloses cutter trolley 111 disposed between cutterhead 110 and trolley beam 105; this cutter trolley reads on a carriage – see also paragraph 28; paragraph 29 explicitly discloses the cutterhead moving along the trolley beam by the cutter trolley); and
a conveyor system arranged on the truss along the longitudinal extension (in figure 1A and paragraph 23, Munson discloses radial conveyer 106, which is shown in the figure to be arranged along the trolley beam 105),
wherein at the same time different types of cultivators are mounted on at least one carriage and thus the carriage serves as a tool carrier for these different types of cultivators (in figure 3 and paragraph 37, Munson discloses that a cutterhead has different functions including cutting crop from the ground with knife 303 and chopping up harvested material with chopper 305; since these are different aspects of cultivating plants, the different tools on this cutterhead read on different types of cultivators held on the trolley at the same time), and
wherein a plurality of carriages is provided with at least one attached cultivator on opposite sides of the truss (in paragraph 3, Munson describes the agricultural system as including multiple frame segments, each of which has at least one cutterhead attached to the trolley beam; this plurality of frame segments leading to multiple cutterheads, which are held on the trolleys or carriages in applicant’s terminology; this paragraph suggests that there should be another cutterhead and carriage toward the right in figure 1B, which renders obvious cutterheads on opposite – left and right – sides of the truss; note that Tippery et al. 10149422 – cited by applicant - discloses in figure 2G a similar truss/cultivator structure where cultivator’s can be aligned back-to-back because of the double rails).
wherein the harvested material is adapted to be moved with the conveyor system along the longitudinal extension of the truss in a certain direction and thus to a predetermined position adjacent to the at least one cultivator (in paragraph 23, Munson discloses harvested material being transported by conveyor 106 to the center rotational point, which reads on a predetermined position).
Munson does not disclose:
at least one crate (note that the bin 124 is not being used; while in other contexts, bin 124 would read on a general crate, the system of the claimed invention requires that it moves, making bin 124 an awkward fit); and wherein the at least one crate is adapted to be moved with the conveyor system.
However, Alexander discloses at least one crate (in figure 5 and paragraph 155, Alexander harvest bins 116 on conveyor 172 which move about the system and thus read on applicant’s crate); and
wherein the at least one crate is adapted to be moved with the conveyor system (in figure 5 and paragraph 155, Alexander discloses a conveyor 172 that transfers harvest bins 116 in front of a robotic plant manipulator 150 that fills the harvest bins with plant material).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the instant invention to combine the harvest bins of Alexander with the harvesting and plant transport system of Munson because each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The predictable result of the combination would be an harvesting system that has added ability to separate harvested crops by putting different crops in different bins before they are conveyed to the collection point (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
With respect to claim 7, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 1. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses the plurality of carriages with the cultivators attached to them can be moved independently of each other (in paragraph 3, Munson describes the agricultural system as including multiple frame segments, each of which has at least one cutterhead attached to the trolley beam; this plurality of frame segments leading to multiple cutterheads, which are held on the trolleys or carriages in applicant’s terminology; the additive nature of Munson’s system, where numerous frames can be combined renders obvious that different cutterheads and trolleys can move independently of the others).
With respect to claim 9, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 1. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses comprising a tool change system that is mounted or provided on the truss, wherein a plurality of different cultivators are adapted to be attached or mounted on or in the tool change system (in paragraph 23, Munson discloses that the trolley can hold a series of harvesting units, and in paragraph 8, Munson discloses that the system can also plant; the interchangeability of the tools reads on a tool change system because the implement that is changed is part of that system) and, wherein, on at least one robotic arm (in paragraph 5, Munson discloses that the trolley can raise and lower the cutterhead or other implement; this extension makes the trolley read on a robotic arm), at least one cultivator is interchangeable with another cultivator (in paragraph 23, Munson discloses that the trolley can hold a series of harvesting units) or the tool change system is attached to an associated guide rail of the truss and is movable along the truss in the direction of the longitudinal extension (the last part is in the alternative and need not be addressed to render the claim obvious – note the parallel rails in Tippery show an associated guide rail).
With respect to claim 10, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 1. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses a control or adjustment apparatus via which a movement of the truss over the arable area and / or an actuation of at least one cultivator is controlled or adjusted, wherein a transmitter / receiver is signally connected to the control and adjustment apparatus and is used to either receive and / or transmit information or data packets for monitoring and / or control of the operation of the truss and / or cultivators attached to it or provided there from a remote location or from a control station, and wherein the transmitter / receiver is attached to the truss (in figures 1A and 1F as well as paragraph 33, Munson discloses control unit 128 that is attached to the truss and controls the agricultural system; as shown in figure 1F, the controller includes communication interface 154 that can receive instructions via WiFi or cellular networks).
With respect to claim 11, Munson in view of Alexander discloses a method for management of an agricultural area, the method being carried out fully automatically and includes associated crop management process steps of planting or sowing the plants until they are harvested, the method comprising:
placing a predetermined quantity of harvested crops mechanically in a crate that is provided for this purpose in a course of harvesting (in figure 5, Alexander discloses placing a predetermined number of harvested plants on empty tray 116 – the number of harvested plants per tray is six in this diagram);
sowing or harvesting, on the same agricultural area, different plants in the form of mixed management, wherein plant management and harvesting processes are mapped as pick-and-place processes, and the pick-and-place processes are carried out across crops for different species and sizes of vegetable plants (in paragraph 23, Munson discloses planting or harvesting different crop around a field; note in paragraph 17 that Munson discloses that the trolley can change the height of the cutterhead to adjust to the height of different crops),
placing together, when the harvest is brought in, the harvested crop from different plants in a common crate via a cultivator (the combination of Munson in view of Alexander has been shown to place the crop from multiple plants in a common bin; note that this claim does not say that the different plants are different species);
performing spot farming on the agricultural area, in which the management of the arable area only focuses on targeted planting points where plants are introduced into the ground, the targeted planting points being used for sowing the plants, irrigating and / or harvesting the mature plants (in paragraph 33, Munson discloses controlling the agricultural system to perform specific planting, irrigating, and harvesting, with specific instructions on where to position the cutterhead for a revolution; this last detail in particular renders obvious spot farming because the positioning of the cutterhead determines which agricultural location it can cultivate); and
providing an assembly according to claim 1 (the limitations of claim 1 have been addressed by Munson in view of Alexander above).
With respect to claim 14, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 11. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses the method is performed with the assembly (as described with respect to claim 11, the apparatus of Munson in view of Alexander performs the method).
With respect to claim 15, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 11. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses the method is carried out using at least one platform which is movable relative to the agricultural area (in figure 1A, Munson discloses wheels that can move the agricultural implement) with at least one cultivator attached to a chassis of the platform or part thereof (in figure 1A, Munson discloses a cultivator or cutterhead attached to the frame or chassis), and with which at least one crop management process step is carried out (in figure 1A, Munson discloses a cutterhead, which performs the crop management process of harvesting crop), wherein a conveyor system is attached to the chassis of the platform or part thereof (in figure 1A, Munson discloses conveyor 106), via which at least one crate is moved longitudinally and / or transversely of the chassis of the platform and thus placed in a predetermined position or adjacent to a cultivator (in combination with Munson, Alexander discloses bins moving along a conveyor after being filled with an harvested plant in figure 5; Munson discloses in figure 1A that the conveyor moves harvested crop to the central location near the rotation axis of the agricultural system).
With respect to claim 16, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 15. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses the platform adjacent to the truss of the assembly is brought into a position such that crates are transferred back either from the truss to the platform or from the platform to the truss (in figure 5, Alexander discloses cycling bins 116 from full to empty and from empty to full; this reads on the limitations of the claims because there is no structure provided for how the bins are transferred – a person moving them by hand would be a specific modality, but no specific modality is claimed so generally cycling bins renders the transfer obvious).
With respect to claim 17, Munson in view of Alexander discloses a system for management of an agricultural area, the system comprising:
an assembly according to claim 1 (Munson in view of Alexander has shown the limitations of claim 1 above), which fulfils the function of a base station on an agricultural area (in figure 1A, Munson discloses a central location – either bin 124 or more generally center pivot frame 123 - at which harvested crop is aggregated, which reads on a base station); and
at least one platform movable relative to the agricultural area, the at least one platform being provided separately from the assembly and comprises at least one cultivator attached to a chassis of the platform or part thereof, with which a crop management process step is carried out (in paragraph 23, Munson discloses that the system can support a series of harvesting units; while the first harvesting units shown in figure 1A of Munson are part of the assembly, additional harvesting units read on additional platforms – the conveyor, basically – and cultivators, specifically the cutterheads or other implements attached to the additional harvesting units’ trolleys),
wherein the chassis of the platform or part thereof is fitted with a conveyor system to transport at least one crate that is moveable in a longitudinal and / or transverse direction of the chassis to a predetermined position or to a cultivator (because the new platform movable with respect to the agricultural area is largely identical to the assembly, the chassis of the platform is read on by the frame shown in figure 1A, including element 102, and the conveyor 106 of the assembly reads on the conveyor of the platform),
wherein the platform is placed in a position adjacent to the truss of the assembly such that the platform is adapted to receive crates from the truss or return to the truss such crates that are filled with crops of plants and are on the platform (in figure 1C, Munson discloses segment transfer conveyors 108 that read on placing consecutive agricultural implements together; when combined with Alexander, these conveyors move crates to the central point 123 or bin 124),
wherein the platform is part of a mobile field robot comprising a plurality of wheels attached to a chassis of the mobile field robot, which is adapted to be moved over the arable area (in paragraph 5, Munson discloses that the trolley can raise and lower the cutterhead; for at least this reason, the platform and the structure around it reads on a robot; wheels 103 in figure 1A read on a plurality of wheels),
wherein at least one of the wheels is provided equipped with a drive (in paragraph 26, Munson discloses motor 103A, which drives the wheels), and
wherein at least one wheel is mounted about a vertical axis on the chassis so as to swivel or rotate to allow for the mobile field robot to change a direction of travel (in paragraph 26, Munson discloses that the wheels 103 and 103’ may be swivel wheels; as can be seen in figure 1A, the wheels can rotate about a swivel which comprises a vertical axis).
With respect to claim 18, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 17. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses the chassis of the platform is modular (in paragraph 23, Munson discloses that the system can support a series of harvesting units; this series makes the platform and its chassis or frame modular) and comprises a plurality of elongated and tubular plug-in elements, wherein the plug-in elements are connectable to each other and are adapted to be separated from each other without the use of special tools such that at least one dimension of the chassis is variable (in figure 1A, Munson discloses power source 129 which, as mentioned in paragraph 32, the power can come from the power grid, which renders obvious electrical couplings between the modular assemblies; electrical wires are elongate and their couplings render obvious not needing specialized tools).
With respect to claim 19, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 17. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses, in relation to the platform, at least one carriage is attached to associated guide rails of the chassis, which is movable along a longitudinal extension of the platform, and wherein at least one cultivator is attached to the carriage and thus the carriage (20) serves as a tool carrier for a cultivator (in figure 1A, Munson discloses a trolley 111 associated with cutterhead 110; the trolley beam 105 reads on guide rails; in figure 3 and paragraph 37, Munson discloses that a cutterhead has different functions including cutting crop from the ground with knife 303 and chopping up harvested material with chopper 305; since these are different aspects of cultivating plants, the different tools on this cutterhead read on different types of cultivators held on the trolley at the same time).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munson and Alexander as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arnold et al. (US 2020/0205346 hereinafter Arnold).
With respect to claim 2, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 1. Munson in view of Alexander does not disclose the truss or the conveyor system is equipped with a storage or roller magazine in which a plurality of crates are accommodated, or wherein at least 10, 20, or 50 crates are accommodated in the storage or roller magazine.
However, Arnold discloses a storage or roller magazine in which a plurality of crates are accommodated, or wherein at least 10, 20, or 50 crates are accommodated in the storage or roller magazine (in figure 9, Arnold discloses a storage and dispensing machine for bins that are used, according to paragraph 5, to hold harvested fruit).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the instant invention to combine the harvest bin accessory system of Arnold with the harvesting system of Munson in view of Alexander because each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The predictable result of the combination would be an harvesting system that sorts harvested plants into bins right after the harvesting and has a supply of bins readily available (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munson and Alexander as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abatti et al. (US 4590739 hereinafter Abatti).
With respect to claim 3, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 1. Munson in view of Alexander does not disclose the conveyor system has a roller table with a plurality of carrier rollers, each with a horizontal axis of rotation, and wherein at least one crate is adapted to be placed on the carrier rollers of the roller table.
However, Abatti discloses a conveyor system has a roller table with a plurality of carrier rollers, each with a horizontal axis of rotation, and wherein at least one crate is adapted to be placed on the carrier rollers of the roller table (in the abstract, Abatti discloses a roller conveyor that is used to move boxes of harvested crop; a roller conveyor reads on a roller table with a plurality of horizontally placed rollers – see also element 40 of figure 8 which is the conveyor).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the instant invention to combine the roller conveyor of Abatti with the harvesting system conveyor of Munson in view of Alexander because each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The predictable result of the combination would be an harvesting system that uses a conveyor with an easily changeable length – a conveyor belt, by contrast, would need a new belt to be extended or shortened – Abatti even teaches lining up two roller beds I lines 12-15 of column 2 as facilitating transport of boxes of harvested crop (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
With respect to claim 5, Munson in view of Alexander and Abatti discloses the limitations of claim 3. Munson in view of Alexander and Abatti further discloses at least one roller of the roller table is motor-driven in order to transport the crate in a desired direction along the truss (in figure 1B and paragraph 32, Munson discloses motor 106a which provides power to the conveyor; as the conveyor includes rollers in this combination, at least one roller is motor-driven even if it is indirect).
With respect to claim 6, Munson in view of Alexander and Abatti discloses the limitations of claim 3. Munson in view of Alexander and Abatti further discloses at least one of the carrier rollers is motor-driven (in figure 1B and paragraph 32, Munson discloses motor 106a which provides power to the conveyor; as the conveyor includes rollers in this combination, at least one roller is motor-driven even if it is indirect).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munson in view of Alexander and Abatti as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Middleton (US 4212145).
With respect to claim 4, Munson in view of Alexander and Abatti discloses the limitations of claim 3. Munson in view of Alexander does not disclose the roller table also has a plurality of guide rollers, each with a vertical axis of rotation, and wherein the guide rollers are each arranged on the side of the roller table and limit the roller table to the side.
However, Middleton discloses a plurality of guide rollers, each with a vertical axis of rotation, and wherein the guide rollers are each arranged on the side of the conveyor and limit the conveyor to the side (in lines 42-60 of column 3, Middleton discloses vertical axis rollers 64 that form a throat – that is, a guide - for a conveyance system).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the instant invention to combine the vertical guide rollers of Middleton with the harvesting system conveyor of Munson in view of Alexander and Abatti because each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. The predictable result of the combination would a conveyance system that better directs the harvested material (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)). Further, doing so would achieve the benefit of easier transmission of the crop being conveyed.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munson in view of Alexander as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Tippery et al. (US 10149422 hereinafter Tippery)
With respect to claim 12, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 11. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses non-edible biomass from the plants to be harvested is separated by a cultivator of the assembly, wherein the separation of non-edible biomass takes place at a stage of the plant while it is still attached to the agricultural area (in paragraph 18, Munson discloses continuously grown forage crops that are harvested while the remaining plant is watered, which renders obvious harvesting part of a crop while it is in the ground – forage is non-edible, at least for humans). Munson in view of Alexander does not disclose a separation of non-edible plants takes place in the course of a process step when the plant is removed from the ground, wherein, a cutting of plants and / or separation of non-edible biomass is supported by an optical sensor fitted to a cultivator or an associated carriage of the assembly, thereby detecting the plant and its position and / or size.
However, Tippery discloses disclose a separation of non-edible plants takes place in the course of a process step when the plant is removed from the ground, wherein, a cutting of plants and / or separation of non-edible biomass is supported by an optical sensor fitted to a cultivator or an associated carriage of the assembly, thereby detecting the plant and its position and / or size (in figure 12C and lines 60 of column 51 through 17 of column 52, Tippery disclose detasseling a corn; the detasseling reads on a separation of non-edible plants while harvesting the corn reads on removing the plant from the ground because corn is generally uprooted when harvested; in lines 24-28 of column 19, Tippery discloses a camera disposed on a work tool).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the instant invention to substitute the camera-guided detasseling harvesting unit taught by Tippery for the general forage harvester of one embodiment of Munson in view of Alexander because the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. The predictable result of the substitution is an agricultural system that can harvest corn such that some non-edible portions of the corn are disposed of expeditiously (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
With respect to clam 13, Munson in view of Alexander discloses the limitations of claim 11. Munson in view of Alexander further discloses the agricultural area with different varieties of plants and vegetables is managed and a mixed management of plants or vegetables takes place on the agricultural area (in paragraph 23, Munson discloses using the agricultural system for different kinds of crops). Munson in view of Alexander does not disclose the agricultural area with different varieties of plants and vegetables is managed and includes iceberg, butterhead and romaine lettuce, red cabbage and white cabbage (mini), broccoli, kohlrabi, celery, cucumbers, zucchini and / or pumpkin.
However, Tippery discloses the agricultural area with different varieties of plants and vegetables includes iceberg, butterhead and romaine lettuce, red cabbage and white cabbage (mini), broccoli, kohlrabi, celery, cucumbers, zucchini and / or pumpkin (in lines 28-33 of column 20, Tippery disclose harvesting pumpkins, and in line 1 of column 43, Tippery discloses planting lettuce).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the instant invention to substitute lettuce or pumpkins as taught by Tippery for the general crops described by Munson in view of Alexander because the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. The predictable result of the substitution is an agricultural system that can harvest pumpkins and lettuce (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the support housed on the carriage is neither shown nor rendered obvious by the prior art. Most of the references do not disclose crates being sent down the conveyor system. Even when on of the harvesting systems, for example Munson, has crates added, there is no suggestion that part of the support for the crates is provided by the carriage. In Munson, the carriage, or trolley, runs along a trolley beam which is distinct from the conveyor, as shown well in figure 1A. While the trolley of Munson might be in contact with the conveyor, it does not teach or suggest supporting – directly or indirectly - the harvested material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pohlman, Jr. et al. (US 2006/0016610) discloses an hybrid harvesting and conveyor system, as shown in the abstract and figure 1.
/DOUGLAS J MEISLAHN/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671