DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on June 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim is rejected because at no time can there be 90% by wt of the alkali activator or 90% by wt of the filler. The minimum amount of the aluminum source is 50 wt%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103466986 (appears on the PTO-892) in view of McNulty (US 6,264,740-appears on the PTO-892).
CN teaches a cementitious composition comprising 45-60 parts Ca aluminate powder (Al source) and up to 1.5 parts additive (see abstract). The additive may be sodium hydroxide or potassium hydroxide (see para 0007). The calcium aluminate powder is 50-55% Al2O3 and 28-32% CaO (see para 0010). CN meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences set forth below.
CN does not specifically teach the fillers or the conductive particles. However, McNulty teaches these differences.
McNulty teaches inorganic cementitious material wherein the material may contain carbon (encompasses the conductive particle materials of present claim 10), metakaolin (filler)and slag (encompasses blast furnace slag) (see col. 1, lines 10-17; col. 2, lines 28-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the above materials to the cementitious material because McNulty teaches that these materials are added to enhance the final product.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103466986 as applied to the claims above, and further in view of XU (US 8,685,901-appears on PTO-892).
CN has been discussed above. CN does not specifically teach the use of transition metals. However, XU meets this limitation.
XU teaches set modifiers suitable for use with the CAC (calcium aluminate cementitious material) wherein the modifiers comprise a polyvalent cation-containing compound. The polyvalent cation-containing compound may function to increase the thickening time of the CAC and as such act as a set retarder. The polyvalent cation-containing compound comprises a salt containing a polyvalent cationic metal. Such polyvalent cationic metal containing salts are known to one of ordinary skill in the art and include for example and without limitation transition metal salts such as zirconium (IV) chloride, zirconium (IV) oxychloride, zirconium (IV) acetate, zirconium (IV) citrate, zirconium (IV) lactate and nickel (II) chloride; or combinations thereof (see col. 3, lines 50 through col. 4, lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add a transition metal to the cementitious material because XU teaches that the transition metal compounds alter the time required for the composition to undergo the phase transition from a slurry to a set mass with appreciable compressive strength.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103466986 as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Eckert (US 20120048466-appears on the PTO-892).
CN has been discussed above. CN does not specifically teach that the aluminum source is aluminum sulfate. However, Eckert teaches this difference.
Eckert teaches a cementitious composition comprising setting accelerators. Examples include 0.01-10% by wt of aluminum sulfate or lithium hydroxide (see abstract; para 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the lithium hydroxide setting accelerator of CN with aluminum sulfate because Eckert teaches that the two compounds are both recognized as accelerators and are art recognized equivalents.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18432615/20260710