DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 18 recite the limitation "both directions". Since there is no prior reference to any direction, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “both directions” is being interpreted as “two directions”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Martin et al. 2022/0327602.
In Re Claim 1, Martin et al. teach a vertical cold chain temperature-controlled storage system, comprising: a vertical lift module (Fig. 1C)(Paragraph 18) comprising: a plurality of shelves (120, Fig. 1C); and at least one opening (See Openings between shelves and opening at the top of Shelves, fig. 1C); wherein one or more of the plurality of shelves comprises a power subsystem (Paragraph 22) for powering a tote (100)
In Re Claim 2, Martin et al. teach wherein the power subsystem comprises power contacts (124) at the bottom of the shelves.
In Re Claim 3, Martin et al. teach wherein the power subsystem comprises a wireless power system. (Paragraph 22)
In Re Claim 4, Martin et al. teach wherein one or more of the plurality of shelves comprises a locking mechanism (Securing mechanism, Paragraph 21) for securing a tote.
In Re Claim 5, Martin et al. teach a communication module (200).
In Re Claim 6, Martin et al. teach wherein the communication module enables control of on demand cooling for one or more of the plurality of shelves. (abstract).
In Re Claim 7, Martin et al. teach at least two openings (Openings between shelves) in the vertical lift module.
In Re Claim 8, as best understood, Martin et al. teach wherein the at least two openings (top opening and openings between shelves, Fig. 1C) in the vertical lift module enable a tote to be placed on or off the shelf from two directions (top and front, Fig. 1C).
In Re Claim 9, Martin et al. teach wherein the vertical cold chain temperature-controlled storage system is in an ambient environment. (Paragraph 76)
method of operating a vertical cold chain temperature-controlled storage system, comprising:
In Re Claim 11, Martin et al. teach a method of operating a vertical cold chain temperature-controlled storage system, comprising: providing, via a power subsystem (Paragraph 22), power a tote (100) on one or more of a plurality of shelves (Fig. 1C); where the vertical cold chain temperature-controlled storage system comprises: a vertical lift module (Fig. 1C)(Paragraph 18) comprising: a plurality of shelves (Shelves, Fig. 1C); and at least one opening (Openings between shelves, Opening at the top, Fig. 1C).
In Re Claim 12, Martin et al. teach wherein the power subsystem comprises power contacts (124) at the bottom of the shelves.
In Re Claim 13, Martin et al. teach wherein the power subsystem comprises a wireless power system. (Paragraph 22)
In Re Claim 14, Martin et al. teach wherein one or more of the plurality of shelves comprises a locking mechanism (Securing mechanism, Paragraph 21) for securing a tote.
In Re Claim 15, Martin et al. teach providing, via a communication module (200), communication with the vertical cold chain temperature-controlled storage system. (abstract)
In Re Claim 16, Martin et al. teach wherein providing communication enables control of on demand cooling for one or more of the plurality of shelves. (abstract).
In Re Claim 17, Martin et al. teach at least two openings (Openings between shelves) in the vertical lift module.
In Re Claim 18, as best understood, Martin et al. teach enabling a tote to be placed on or off the shelf from two directions. (top opening and openings between shelves enable placing the tote from the top or front, Fig. 1C)
In Re Claim 19, Martin et al. teach wherein the vertical cold chain temperature-controlled storage system is in an ambient environment. (Paragraph 76)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin and in view of Yoshiaki JP 61081317, provided by Applicant.
In Re Claims 10 and 20, Martin teaches the system and method of Claims 1 and 11 as discussed above.
Martin does not teach wherein the vertical lift module can rotate the plurality of shelves to align one or more of the plurality of shelves with the at least one opening.
However, Yoshiaki teaches wherein the vertical lift module (Fig. 6) can rotate the plurality of shelves to align one or more of the plurality of shelves with the at least one opening. (See Fig. 6, Shelves rotate to openings)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to use a vertical lift module that can rotate the plurality of shelves to align one or more of the plurality of shelves with the at least one opening in the system/method of Martin as taught by Yoshiaki with a reasonable expectation for success in order reduce the amount of movement on the operator or transfer device when transferring material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Williams et al. teach a refrigerated tote that connects to shelves for power. Rutman et al. teach a refrigerated tote that wirelessly connects to power on a shelf. Moudy teaches a refrigerated tote connects to a storage system for power.
GLENN F. MYERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/GLENN F MYERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3652