DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boron et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0191363) in view of Ouyang (US Pub. No. 2010/0157141).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 15-17, Boron teaches a camera module comprising:
a cover (Fig. 2, item 5, 12) having an accommodating space therein and comprising a front cover portion (4,5);
a lens barrel (2) disposed within the accommodating space and spaced apart from an inner surface of the front cover portion in an optical axis direction;
an image sensor (an image sensor is disposed on the image sensor board 10) disposed within the accommodating space in a rear area of the lens barrel in the optical axis direction;
a light emitting portion (6) disposed around the lens barrel within the accommodating space;
the front cover portion comprises a transmissive material (the front cover comprises a cover lens 4) [claim 15];
a first substrate (10) on which the image sensor is mounted, the first substrate being disposed in the accommodating space; and
a second substrate (6) on which the light emitting portion is mounted, the second substrate being disposed in the accommodating space in front of the first substrate in the optical axis direction [claim 16].
Boron does not specifically teach the following: the front cover portion comprises a groove portion formed in the inner surface of the front cover portion around a region of the front cover portion corresponding to the lens barrel viewed in the optical axis; wherein the groove portion faces an outermost portion corresponding to the lens barrel on an object-side of the lens barrel in the optical axis direction; wherein the groove portion surrounds the region of the front cover portion corresponding to the lens barrel viewed in the optical axis direction [claim 2]; wherein the groove portion has a stepped cross-sectional shaped when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction [claim 5].
Ouyang teaches a camera module comprises a front cover portion (the combination of a housing 10 and a base seat 40) comprises a groove portion (422) formed in the inner surface of the front cover portion around a region of the front cover portion corresponding to the lens barrel viewed in the optical axis; wherein the groove portion faces an outermost portion corresponding to the lens barrel on an object-side of the lens barrel in the optical axis direction (Fig. 4); wherein the groove portion surrounds the region of the front cover portion corresponding to the lens barrel viewed in the optical axis direction (Fig. 4); wherein the groove portion has a stepped cross-sectional shaped when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a groove portion as taught by Ouyang within Boron’s front cover portion in order to facilitate positioning and/or securing of the lens barrel with respect to the front cover portion.
Regarding claim 4, Boron, as modified by Ouyang, teaches all the claimed limitations except for the groove portion has a wedge-shaped cross-sectional shape view in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the shape of the groove portion from stepped cross-sectional shape into a wedge-shape cross-sectional shaped as claimed, since the applicant has not disclosed that a wedge-shape cross-sectional shaped solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the stepped cross-sectional shape.
Regarding claim 6, Boron, as modified by Ouyang, teaches all the claimed limitations except for the groove portion has a cross-sectional shape of a curved line view in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction, however it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the shape of the groove portion from stepped cross-sectional shape into a cross-sectional shape of a curved line as claimed, since the applicant has not disclosed that a wedge-shape cross-sectional shaped solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the stepped cross-sectional shape.
Claim(s) 7-14 and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boron in view of Ouyang, and further in view of Weber et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0255000).
Regarding claims 7-8, 11-12 and 19-20, Boron, as modified by Ouyang, teaches all the claimed limitations except for a light blocking portion disposed in the accommodating space and surrounding a front portion of the lens barrel in the optical axis direction, wherein the light blocking portion comprises a protruding portion coupled to the groove portion of the front cover portion; wherein the protrusion portion has a shape that is complementary to a shape of the groove portion [claim 8]; wherein the light blocking portion comprises a non-transmissive material [claims 11, 20]; and wherein the light blocking portion contacts the lens barrel [claim 12].
Weber teaches a camera module comprises a light blocking portion (Fig. 8018) disposed in the accommodating space and surrounding a front portion of the lens barrel in the optical axis direction, wherein the light blocking portion comprises a protruding portion coupled to the groove portion of the front cover portion (the light blocking portion 8018 includes a protruding portion protrudes into the groove, Fig. 31); wherein the protrusion portion has a shape that is complementary to a shape of the groove portion (Fig. 31); wherein the light blocking portion comprises a non-transmissive material (para. 217) and wherein the light blocking portion contacts the lens barrel (Fig. 31).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a light blocking portion as taught by Weber within said camera module in order to effectively block stray lights from entering the camera’s lens.
Regarding claims 9-10, Boron, as modified by Ouyang and Weber, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7 above. Weber further teaches the light blocking portion comprises a portion (8020) extending from the protrusion portion in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction and surrounding the light emitting portion; wherein the light blocking portion further comprises an opening accommodating the light emitting portion (Fig. 31) [claim 10].
Regarding claims 13-14 and 21-22, Boron, as modified by Ouyang and Weber, teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7 above. The combination of Boron, Ouyang and Weber does not specifically teach the front cover portion further comprises a surface treatment portion disposed on the inner surface of the front cover portion and comprising a non-transmissive material, wherein the surface of the treatment portion surrounds the region of the front cover portion corresponding to the lens barrel when view in the optical axis direction and a region of the front cover portion corresponding to the light emitting portion viewed in the optical axis direction [claims 14, 22]. Weber further teaches a surface treatment portion (Fig. 31, item 8020) disposed on the inner surface of the front cover portion and comprising a non-transmissive material, wherein the surface of the treatment portion surrounds the region of the front cover portion corresponding to the lens barrel when view in the optical axis direction and a region of the front cover portion corresponding to the light emitting portion viewed in the optical axis direction. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a surface treatment portion as taught within said front cover in order to obtain a cheaper and lighter light blocking layer for said front cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, filed 07/28/2026, regarding the new language has changed the grounds of rejection to include a new reference, Ouyang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MINH Q. PHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/MINH Q PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852