DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berckmans et al. (hereinafter Berckmans) (EP 2276416 B1).
Regarding claim 1: Berckmans discloses receiving a 3-D dental scan of an interior of a user's mouth that includes a 3-D representation of the interior of the user's mouth including upper teeth and gums and lower teeth and gums in a closed mouth position (FIG. 1 illustrates a first scan 10 of a patient's mouth with the mouth in a closed position. In this example, the patient is in need of multiple dental implants in the lower jawbone. Multiple scans may be taken from the sides to obtain scan data reflecting the entire condition of the lower jawbone. The scanning of the patient's mouth may be achieved by a CT scanner (or other scanning technologies or devices) to obtain scan data regarding the details of the bone structure, teeth and overlying gingival tissue. The first scan 10 usually involves a scanning appliance that is placed in a patient's mouth. As is known in the art, a scanning appliance is used for a partial or fully edentulous patient and includes physical shape information representing the desired prosthetic teeth in the region, usually with added material (e.g., barium sulfate) that can be picked-up by a typical CT scan., par. 12; If a single scan is used, then a need exists for providing a bite registration between the upper jaw conditions and the lower jaw conditions. One way to accomplish this task is by the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include material for the bite registration. The scanning appliance for the patient may include a layer of barium sulfate of the modeled teeth structures such that the teeth structures are identified by the CT scan. Next, impression material is added to the region of the scanning appliance at which the bite registration for the opposing teeth is expected. The patient would then close his or her mouth to create the bite registration in the impression material on the scanning appliance. Once hardened, the impression material is then provided with a layer of barium sulfate (or other material that is identifiable by the scan) at a different concentration level so that the patient's bite registration can be independently identified in the single CT scan and distinguished from the teeth structure on the scanning appliance. More information about CT-scanning and the use of scanning appliances can be found in the product brochure entitled "Simplant® SurgiGuide Cookbook" from Materialise US Clinical Services, Inc., Glen Burnie, Maryland. After the patient undergoes the single scan with the mouth in the opened position using the scanning device having the bite registration, a virtual model of the patient's mouth in the closed position can be created by merging the upper and lower conditions with a shape-matching algorithm. The surgical plan can be developed, and the instrumentation to be used in the surgical plan can be checked for spatial constraints, as described above. As such, the present invention contemplates the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include a representation of a bite registration., par. 39); updating the 3-D representation of the user's mouth to generate an updated 3-D representation of the interior of the user's mouth, including the upper teeth and gums and the lower teeth and gums, in an open mouth position (FIG. 2 illustrates a second scan 20 of the patient's mouth with the mouth in the opened position. Bite blocks may be used to assist the patient in holding his or her mouth in the opened position. If the patient is wearing a removable denture in the jaw opposing the implant-receiving region, then they would remove it during the second scan 20. Like the first scan 10 of FIG. 1 , the second scan 20 may be achieved by a CT scanner that produces scan data that can be entered or downloaded into a computer for developing the surgical plan. As will be described in detail below, the second scan 20 allows the surgical plan to take into account the spatial constraints within the mouth of that particular patient. In other words, the scan second 20 provides dimensional limitations to be measured between the opposing dental structure (e.g., teeth and/or gingival tissue) and the surgical guide that will be placed on the lower jawbone in this particular patient. FIG. 3 illustrates a virtual model 30 of the patient's mouth that has been derived from the scan data from FIG. 1 and the opened-mouth scan data from FIG. 2 . In particular, the virtual model 30 is shown on a computer display 35 and includes the upper jaw (maxillary) 40 and the lower jaw (mandible) 45. The relative dimensions between the upper jaw 40 and the lower jaw 45 are derived from the second scan 20 of the patient's mouth in the opened position. Additionally, a virtual surgical guide 50 is located on the lower jaw 45 and includes virtual openings 52 that have been established for receiving instrumentation, such as tissue punches, drill bits, counter sinks, and the dental implant that is needed for surgery. The surgical guide 50 is developed based on the desired locations in the lower jaw of the dental implants as determined by the first scan 10 from the patient's mouth. Thus, prior to the display of the virtual surgical guide 50, the technician working on this case for the patient would have placed various sizes of virtual implants at ideal locations and orientations in the lower jaw 45 for properly supporting a prosthesis, such as a denture or a partial denture. The technician chooses the sizes of the dental implants, as well as their locations and angles, based on the various bone densities and underlying tissue (e.g., sinus cavity or mandibular canal) provided by the scans 10 and 20 One example of the display of the virtual implants is shown in FIG. 6 ., pars. 14-15; If a single scan is used, then a need exists for providing a bite registration between the upper jaw conditions and the lower jaw conditions. One way to accomplish this task is by the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include material for the bite registration. The scanning appliance for the patient may include a layer of barium sulfate of the modeled teeth structures such that the teeth structures are identified by the CT scan. Next, impression material is added to the region of the scanning appliance at which the bite registration for the opposing teeth is expected. The patient would then close his or her mouth to create the bite registration in the impression material on the scanning appliance. Once hardened, the impression material is then provided with a layer of barium sulfate (or other material that is identifiable by the scan) at a different concentration level so that the patient's bite registration can be independently identified in the single CT scan and distinguished from the teeth structure on the scanning appliance. More information about CT-scanning and the use of scanning appliances can be found in the product brochure entitled "Simplant® SurgiGuide Cookbook" from Materialise US Clinical Services, Inc., Glen Burnie, Maryland. After the patient undergoes the single scan with the mouth in the opened position using the scanning device having the bite registration, a virtual model of the patient's mouth in the closed position can be created by merging the upper and lower conditions with a shape-matching algorithm. The surgical plan can be developed, and the instrumentation to be used in the surgical plan can be checked for spatial constraints, as described above. As such, the present invention contemplates the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include a representation of a bite registration., par. 39); and generating, based on the updated 3-D representation of the user's mouth, a customized mouthpiece for the user, wherein the customized mouthpiece is configured to be received in the user's mouth in the open mouth position (The present invention is a method of manufacturing a surgical guide to be placed in a patient's mouth, comprises developing a virtual model of the patient's mouth using scan data from the patient's mouth, and developing, with the use of the virtual model, a surgical plan that includes the location of multiple dental implants to be placed in the mouth of the patient. The surgical plan includes a surgical protocol of instrumentation to be used to install the multiple dental implants. The method further includes developing a virtual surgical guide based on the surgical plan and, by use of opened-mouth scan data from an opened-mouth condition from the patient's mouth, determining an available dimension from the virtual surgical guide to dental structures that are opposing each of the multiple dental implants. In response to the available dimensions being less than a dimension for the instrumentation to be used with each of the multiple dental implants, the method includes altering the surgical plan, obtaining final surgical-guide manufacturing information based on the virtual model after the altering, and manufacturing the surgical guide based on the final surgical-model manufacturing information., par. 10; FIG. 7 illustrates the actual surgical guide 110 that is manufactured in accordance to standard CAD-CAM techniques based on the virtual surgical guide 50. The surgical guide 110 can be produced from various materials and techniques. One preferred method is using a rapid-prototyping technique. Because there is a need for eight implants, the surgical guide 110 includes eight openings, each of which is defined by a master tube 120 that is integrated into the material of the surgical guide 110 with the assistance of the outer roughened surface and adhesive. The master tubes 120 are located on flat surfaces 122 that are substantially flush with the top surfaces of the master tubes 120. The master tubes 120 have notches 124 that can be aligned with the slots 87 on the flange 86 of the implant mount 80 to dictate the exact location of the anti-rotational feature of the implant when installed in the patient's mouth. The under portion of the surgical guide 110 (not visible in FIG. 7 ) has a contour that follows the scan 10 ( FIG. 1 ) of the gingival surface and/or remaining teeth in the patient's lower jaw bone. In other words, the under portion of the surgical guide 110 is a negative impression of the patient's conditions in the lower jaw bone. The surgical guide 110 also includes a plurality of openings 128 through which temporary fixation screws or pins can be placed. The temporary fixation screws or pins engage the bone and hold the surgical guide 110 in the proper location so that the surgical plan can be executed using the surgical guide 110., par. 24; Once the alteration of the surgical plan at step 312 has occurred, the information from the second CT scan is again used to ensure that the newly suggested instrumentation (based on the alteration of the surgical plan) will not cause spatial problems in the patient's mouth (i.e., step 308 is repeated). If no spatial problems are encountered at step 310, then manufacturing data for the virtual surgical guide can be developed for use in manufacturing the actual surgical guide (step 314). Once the actual surgical guide is manufactured, it can then be delivered to the clinician for placement in the patient's mouth and for conducting surgery in accordance with the surgical plan derived from the virtual model., par. 36).
Regarding claim 8: Berckmans satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Berckmans further discloses wherein the open mouth position is a position where the user's upper teeth contact an upper portion of the customized mouthpiece, and the user's lower teeth contact a lower portion of the customized mouthpiece (FIG. 3 illustrates a virtual model 30 of the patient's mouth that has been derived from the scan data from FIG. 1 and the opened-mouth scan data from FIG. 2 . In particular, the virtual model 30 is shown on a computer display 35 and includes the upper jaw (maxillary) 40 and the lower jaw (mandible) 45. The relative dimensions between the upper jaw 40 and the lower jaw 45 are derived from the second scan 20 of the patient's mouth in the opened position. Additionally, a virtual surgical guide 50 is located on the lower jaw 45 and includes virtual openings 52 that have been established for receiving instrumentation, such as tissue punches, drill bits, counter sinks, and the dental implant that is needed for surgery. The surgical guide 50 is developed based on the desired locations in the lower jaw of the dental implants as determined by the first scan 10 from the patient's mouth. Thus, prior to the display of the virtual surgical guide 50, the technician working on this case for the patient would have placed various sizes of virtual implants at ideal locations and orientations in the lower jaw 45 for properly supporting a prosthesis, such as a denture or a partial denture. The technician chooses the sizes of the dental implants, as well as their locations and angles, based on the various bone densities and underlying tissue (e.g., sinus cavity or mandibular canal) provided by the scans 10 and 20 One example of the display of the virtual implants is shown in FIG. 6 ., par. 15).
Regarding claim 9: Berckmans satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Berckmans further discloses wherein the open mouth position is a position where the user's upper teeth and the user's lower teeth are separated by a predetermined distance (Based on the virtual model 30, the height dimension between the top of the virtual surgical guide 50 and the opposing dental structures (in this case, teeth) can be easily determined. As shown, the height dimensions H1, H2, H3 and H4 are provided for four openings 52 in the virtual surgical guide 50 and generally correspond to the maximum height for instrumentation that will be permitted in the mouth of this particular patient due to the second scan 20 from FIG. 2 . These height dimensions H1, H2, H3 and H4 are measured along the axis of the opening, which is also coincident with the axis of the planned virtual implant for that site. Thus, because the implants may not be installed in a parallel fashion due to constraints such as adjacent teeth or inadequate bone densities in certain regions of the patient's mouth, the direction of measurement of the height dimensions H1, H2, H3 and H4 may not be parallel either. As an example, a virtual model 30 includes a hand depiction 60 of the clinician and, more importantly, a virtual drill bit 65 attached to a virtual hand piece 67 that is needed for drilling the i osteotomy for the implant to be inserted through the openings 52 corresponding to height dimension H3. If the height dimension H3 is less than the length of the instrumentation necessary to complete the implant installation on the virtual model, then alterations must be made to be surgical plan so that the instrumentation will fit within the patient's mouth at each surgical location. Examples of such alterations include (i) changes to the size of the implant or the implant mount, (ii) changes to the location (e.g., angular orientation and/or position) of the implant in the bone, (iii) changes to the surgical guide, and/or (iv) changes to the instrumentation that is to be used for a certain implant., par. 16).
Regarding claim 10: Berckmans satisfies all the elements of claim 1. Berckmans further discloses wherein the customized mouthpiece is configured such that, while in customized mouthpiece is in use, the user's upper teeth and the user's lower teeth are separated by the predetermined distance (Based on the virtual model 30, the height dimension between the top of the virtual surgical guide 50 and the opposing dental structures (in this case, teeth) can be easily determined. As shown, the height dimensions H1, H2, H3 and H4 are provided for four openings 52 in the virtual surgical guide 50 and generally correspond to the maximum height for instrumentation that will be permitted in the mouth of this particular patient due to the second scan 20 from FIG. 2 . These height dimensions H1, H2, H3 and H4 are measured along the axis of the opening, which is also coincident with the axis of the planned virtual implant for that site. Thus, because the implants may not be installed in a parallel fashion due to constraints such as adjacent teeth or inadequate bone densities in certain regions of the patient's mouth, the direction of measurement of the height dimensions H1, H2, H3 and H4 may not be parallel either. As an example, a virtual model 30 includes a hand depiction 60 of the clinician and, more importantly, a virtual drill bit 65 attached to a virtual hand piece 67 that is needed for drilling the i osteotomy for the implant to be inserted through the openings 52 corresponding to height dimension H3. If the height dimension H3 is less than the length of the instrumentation necessary to complete the implant installation on the virtual model, then alterations must be made to be surgical plan so that the instrumentation will fit within the patient's mouth at each surgical location. Examples of such alterations include (i) changes to the size of the implant or the implant mount, (ii) changes to the location (e.g., angular orientation and/or position) of the implant in the bone, (iii) changes to the surgical guide, and/or (iv) changes to the instrumentation that is to be used for a certain implant., par. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berckmans in view of Carrier, Jr. et al. (hereinafter Carrier) (US 2022/0369916 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Berckmans further discloses wherein updating the 3-D representation of the user's mouth (FIG. 2 illustrates a second scan 20 of the patient's mouth with the mouth in the opened position. Bite blocks may be used to assist the patient in holding his or her mouth in the opened position. If the patient is wearing a removable denture in the jaw opposing the implant-receiving region, then they would remove it during the second scan 20. Like the first scan 10 of FIG. 1 , the second scan 20 may be achieved by a CT scanner that produces scan data that can be entered or downloaded into a computer for developing the surgical plan. As will be described in detail below, the second scan 20 allows the surgical plan to take into account the spatial constraints within the mouth of that particular patient. In other words, the scan second 20 provides dimensional limitations to be measured between the opposing dental structure (e.g., teeth and/or gingival tissue) and the surgical guide that will be placed on the lower jawbone in this particular patient. FIG. 3 illustrates a virtual model 30 of the patient's mouth that has been derived from the scan data from FIG. 1 and the opened-mouth scan data from FIG. 2 . In particular, the virtual model 30 is shown on a computer display 35 and includes the upper jaw (maxillary) 40 and the lower jaw (mandible) 45. The relative dimensions between the upper jaw 40 and the lower jaw 45 are derived from the second scan 20 of the patient's mouth in the opened position. Additionally, a virtual surgical guide 50 is located on the lower jaw 45 and includes virtual openings 52 that have been established for receiving instrumentation, such as tissue punches, drill bits, counter sinks, and the dental implant that is needed for surgery. The surgical guide 50 is developed based on the desired locations in the lower jaw of the dental implants as determined by the first scan 10 from the patient's mouth. Thus, prior to the display of the virtual surgical guide 50, the technician working on this case for the patient would have placed various sizes of virtual implants at ideal locations and orientations in the lower jaw 45 for properly supporting a prosthesis, such as a denture or a partial denture. The technician chooses the sizes of the dental implants, as well as their locations and angles, based on the various bone densities and underlying tissue (e.g., sinus cavity or mandibular canal) provided by the scans 10 and 20 One example of the display of the virtual implants is shown in FIG. 6 ., pars. 14-15; If a single scan is used, then a need exists for providing a bite registration between the upper jaw conditions and the lower jaw conditions. One way to accomplish this task is by the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include material for the bite registration. The scanning appliance for the patient may include a layer of barium sulfate of the modeled teeth structures such that the teeth structures are identified by the CT scan. Next, impression material is added to the region of the scanning appliance at which the bite registration for the opposing teeth is expected. The patient would then close his or her mouth to create the bite registration in the impression material on the scanning appliance. Once hardened, the impression material is then provided with a layer of barium sulfate (or other material that is identifiable by the scan) at a different concentration level so that the patient's bite registration can be independently identified in the single CT scan and distinguished from the teeth structure on the scanning appliance. More information about CT-scanning and the use of scanning appliances can be found in the product brochure entitled "Simplant® SurgiGuide Cookbook" from Materialise US Clinical Services, Inc., Glen Burnie, Maryland. After the patient undergoes the single scan with the mouth in the opened position using the scanning device having the bite registration, a virtual model of the patient's mouth in the closed position can be created by merging the upper and lower conditions with a shape-matching algorithm. The surgical plan can be developed, and the instrumentation to be used in the surgical plan can be checked for spatial constraints, as described above. As such, the present invention contemplates the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include a representation of a bite registration., par. 39) openings 52 that have been established for receiving instrumentation, such as tissue punches, drill bits, counter sinks, and the dental implant that is needed for surgery. The surgical guide 50 is developed based on the desired locations in the lower jaw of the dental implants as determined by the first scan 10 from the patient's mouth. Thus, prior to the display of the virtual surgical guide 50, the technician working on this case for the patient would have placed various sizes of virtual implants at ideal locations and orientations in the lower jaw 45 for properly supporting a prosthesis, such as a denture or a partial denture. The technician chooses the sizes of the dental implants, as well as their locations and angles, based on the various bone densities and underlying tissue (e.g., sinus cavity or mandibular canal) provided by the scans 10 and 20 One example of the display of the virtual implants is shown in FIG. 6 ., pars. 14-15; If a single scan is used, then a need exists for providing a bite registration between the upper jaw conditions and the lower jaw conditions. One way to accomplish this task is by the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include material for the bite registration. The scanning appliance for the patient may include a layer of barium sulfate of the modeled teeth structures such that the teeth structures are identified by the CT scan. Next, impression material is added to the region of the scanning appliance at which the bite registration for the opposing teeth is expected. The patient would then close his or her mouth to create the bite registration in the impression material on the scanning appliance. Once hardened, the impression material is then provided with a layer of barium sulfate (or other material that is identifiable by the scan) at a different concentration level so that the patient's bite registration can be independently identified in the single CT scan and distinguished from the teeth structure on the scanning appliance. More information about CT-scanning and the use of scanning appliances can be found in the product brochure entitled "Simplant® SurgiGuide Cookbook" from Materialise US Clinical Services, Inc., Glen Burnie, Maryland. After the patient undergoes the single scan with the mouth in the opened position using the scanning device having the bite registration, a virtual model of the patient's mouth in the closed position can be created by merging the upper and lower conditions with a shape-matching algorithm. The surgical plan can be developed, and the instrumentation to be used in the surgical plan can be checked for spatial constraints, as described above. As such, the present invention contemplates the use of a scanning appliance that has been modified to include a representation of a bite registration., par. 39).
Berckmans fails to specifically address is performed automatically, without user intervention.
Carrier discloses is performed automatically, without user intervention (The set of instructions, when executed by the processor, can further cause the processor to automatically trigger an indicator when the overlay approximately matches with the patient's teeth. For example, the set of instructions can further cause the processor to estimate an indicator of the distance between an edge of the patient's teeth in the view of the patient's teeth and to trigger the indicator when the outline of teeth in the overlay is less than or equal to a threshold value. The set of instructions, when executed by the processor, can further cause the processor to estimate an indicator of the distance between an edge of the patient's teeth at two or more regions in the view of the patient's teeth and to trigger the indicator when the outline of teeth in the overlay is less than or equal to a threshold value. The set of instructions can cause the processor to trigger the indicator by displaying a visual indicator on the screen. Any appropriate visual indicator may be displayed, including a color, intensity (e.g., changing the color and/or intensity of the outline of the teeth overlay, cropping window, etc.), a textual/character indicator, or some combination thereof. Alternatively or additionally the indicator may be audible (beeping, tonal, etc.) and/or tactile (a vibration, buzzing, etc.). The set of instructions, when executed by the processor, can further cause the processor to check the image quality of the captured image and displaying on the screen if the image quality is below a threshold for image quality. The quality may automatically determine focus, lighting (dark/light), etc. of the image and may alert the user and/or automatically reject or accept the image. The apparatus may further process the image (e.g., sharpen, lighten/darken, etc., including cropping). For example, the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium, wherein the set of instructions, when executed by the processor, can further cause the processor to automatically crop the captured image based on a cropping outline displayed as part of the overlay., pars. 23-24).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include is performed automatically, without user intervention in order to produce a better quality image as taught by Carrier (pars. 23-24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-7 and 11-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLOTTE M BAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664
25 March 2026