DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without “a plurality of elongated elements…configured to transition from a first state to a second state when ambient temperature exceeds a threshold” and “each of the first and second sheets is flexible”, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). For example, independent Claim 3 recites these properties of the elongated elements and the first and second dielectric sheets and independent Claim 23 is a copy of Claim 3 verbatim without these properties. For example, based on the doctrine of claim differentiation, Claim 23 claims the invention without these properties. These properties are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim. For example, the basis of the disclosure of the invention is utilizing elongated elements which transition from a first state to a second state when ambient temperature exceeds a threshold; the disclosure of the invention does not enable the practice of the invention without ambient temperature exceeding a threshold. Similarly, the disclosure of the invention does not enable the practice of the invention without the first and second dielectric sheets being flexible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10-16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070200763 A1 (hereinafter “Allen”) in view of US 11128033 B1 (hereinafter “Shapoury”) in view of US 10367246 B2 (hereinafter “Rudys”)
Claim 2: Allen teaches a conductor apparatus (e.g., see 10 in FIGS. 2-4) comprising: a base layer (e.g., see 16, see Para. 20); a second layer (e.g., see 12) comprising a plurality of conductive patches (e.g., see 14) separated from one another by one or more isolation regions (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1, separation between 14 providing ‘isolation regions’); and a plurality of elongated elements (e.g., see 18 comprising 31, 32, 33, shown in FIG. 3, see Para. 28), each electrically connecting one of the conductive patches to the base layer and each configured to transition from a first state (e.g., see state in FIG. 4, see Para. 21) to a second state (e.g., see state in FIG. 3), wherein: in the second state, the plurality of elongated elements are rigid (e.g., see FIG. 3, wherein the 18 is more rigid than as shown in FIG. 4) causing the second layer to be spaced with respect to the base layer with a fixed spacing therebetween (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3), and the second layer is collapsible towards the base layer when the elongated elements are in the first state (e.g., as shown in FIG. 4).
While in the primary embodiment, Allen does not explicitly teach the elongated elements are rigid so as to causing the second layer to be mechanically supported with respect to the base layer, Allen clearly discloses, that in other embodiments, that the elongated members may be rigid members and define a fixed constant spacing such that they would provide at least some mechanical support to the second layer with respect to the base layer (e.g., see Para. 29).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to form the elongated elements are rigid, causing the second layer to be mechanically supported with respect to the base layer as taught by Allen in other embodiments thereby forming a combined embodiment in order to ensure the second layer has sufficient mechanical support for antenna conductive patches and elements and sufficient resistance to deformations or damage from the environment.
Allen does not explicitly teach the transition from the first state to the second state is configured when ambient temperature exceeds a threshold.
However Shapoury teaches conductive patches (e.g., see 214 in FIG. 7, Col. 10, Lns. 33-44) connected to elongated elements (e.g., see 218 in FIG. 7, note the cylindrical stem “218” below 214 is mislabeled and should be labeled “216” as discussed in Col. 10, Lns. 45-56) comprising shape-memory alloy (e.g., see Col. 10, Lns. 45-56) which are at least deformable into a deployed configuration from a deformed configuration (e.g., in a direction 218 in FIG. 7) based on when ambient temperature exceeds a threshold (e.g., see Col. 10, Lns. 45-56 discussion on storing during launch and extending from a stored position; see Col. 2, Lns. 52-56; Col. 3, Lns. 43-59; Col. 6, Lns. 56-63; Col. 7, Lns. 44-49; Col. 7, Ln. 65 to Col. 8, Ln. 4 for discussion on temperature transition of shape-memory alloy and controller utilized to cause a deformation event by heating of conductive shape memory alloy, i.e., in stem 216, for restoring the shape-memory alloy).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize a shape-memory alloy as taught by Shapoury for the elongated elements of Allen such that the transition from the first state to the second state is configured when ambient temperature exceeds a threshold in order to utilize temperature as the controlling factor for the stowing and deploying the antenna as opposed to other mechanical or actuator type elements or to reduce the point of mechanical failures of elements associated with mechanical fasteners or actuator moving parts thus increasing reliability of the system for long term use such as in space.
Nonetheless Allen does not disclose a retaining structure; and an actuator configured to remove the conductor apparatus from the retaining structure.
However Rudys teaches a conductor apparatus comprising antennas (e.g., see 2’, 2” in FIGS. 1-4) including shape memory strips (e.g., see Col. 2, Lns. 37-55) and insulating element (e.g., see 92 in FIG. 9, Col. 5, Lns. 1-9) folded when the conductor apparatus is stowed (e.g., see FIG. 2, see Para. Col. 2, Lns. 38-55 and Col. 3, Lns. 37-42) stored in a retaining structure (e.g., see 5 in FIGS. 1-2, Col. 3, Lns. 56-68). Furthermore Rudys teaches rotatory actuator for deployment in a prior art publication (e.g., see Col. 2, Lns. 13-21).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize the conductor apparatus of Allen wherein the conductor apparatus is stowed in a retaining structure as taught by Rudys in order reduce the space occupied by the conductor apparatus when launching in space or for transporting to space where space occupied is essential as discussed by Allen (e.g., see Para. 2-5). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize a rotatory actuator based on the teachings of Rudys to configure the removal and/or stowage of the conductor apparatus from the retaining structure in order to easily facilitate the deployment of the conductor apparatus while reducing additional stress on the conductor apparatus and prevent deformation of the surfaces of the conductor apparatus especially in a system where deployment may be repeated.
Claim 10: Allen does not explicitly teach the conductor apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second layer comprises a plated through hole and a conductive adherent for each elongated element.
However the elongated element is clearly going through layer the second layer to connect to conductive patches (e.g., see 18 going through 12 to connect to 14).
Furthermore, Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) discloses that a plated through hole in a dielectric layer to connect to something on the dielectric layer and connecting by solder, i.e., conductive adherent, is ‘old and well known in the art’.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize a plated through hole in the second layer for additional stability and/or ease of manufacture and assembly and further, to connect the elongated element to the conductive patches utilizing solder, i.e., conductive adherent, to secure the elongated element to the conductive patches for support forming a robust connection against environmental damage or disturbances of the connection.
Claim 11: Allen teaches the conductor apparatus of claim 2, wherein an air gap exists between the base layer and the second layer when the elongated elements are in the second state (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3, see air gap between 12 and 16).
Claim 12: Allen does not teach the conductor apparatus of claim 2, wherein the base layer and the second layer are configured to be stored in a retaining structure when in a coiled state, and the actuator is configured to cause the conductor apparatus to be rolled out of the retaining structure in a plate-like shape.
However Rudys teaches a conductor apparatus comprising antennas (e.g., see 2, 2’, 2” in FIGS. 1-4) including shape memory strips (e.g., see Col. 2, Lns. 37-55) and insulating element (e.g., see 92 in FIG. 9, Col. 5, Lns. 1-9) stored in a retaining structure (e.g., see 5 in FIGS. 1-2) when in a coiled state (e.g., as shown in FIG. 2-3).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize the conductor apparatus of Allen wherein the base layer and the second layer are each folded when the conductor apparatus is stowed as taught by Rudys in order reduce the space occupied by the conductor apparatus when launching in space or for transporting to space where space occupied is essential as discussed by Allen (e.g., see Para. 2-5). The modification would be such that a skilled artisan would recognize the problem of needing to facilitate the unrolling of the conductor apparatus to reduce stress on the apparatus and configure the actuator to cause the conductor apparatus to be rolled out of the retaining structure in a plate-like shape in order to facilitate the deployment of the conductor apparatus.
Claim 13: Allen does not teach the conductor apparatus of claim 2, wherein the elongated elements are composed of nitinol.
However Shapoury teaches wherein the elongated elements are composed of nitinol (e.g., see Col. 2, Lns. 30-34, nitinol being nickel titanium shape memory alloy).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to utilize nitinol for the elongated elements of Allen as taught by Shapoury in order to utilize an alloy which has a unique shape memory, super elasticity including high strength-to-weight ratio and flexibility, durability and resistance to corrosion.
Claim 14: Allen does not teach the conductor apparatus of claim 2, wherein the base layer and the second layer are each folded when the conductor apparatus is stowed.
However Rudys teaches a conductor apparatus comprising antennas (e.g., see 2’, 2” in FIGS. 1-4) including shape memory strips (e.g., see Col. 2, Lns. 37-55) and insulating element (e.g., see 92 in FIG. 9, Col. 5, Lns. 1-9) folded when the conductor apparatus is stowed (e.g., see FIG. 2, see Para. Col. 2, Lns. 38-55 and Col. 3, Lns. 37-42).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize the conductor apparatus of Allen wherein the base layer and the second layer are each folded when the conductor apparatus is stowed as taught by Rudys in order reduce the space occupied by the conductor apparatus when launching in space or for transporting to space where space occupied is essential as discussed by Allen (e.g., see Para. 2-5).
Claim 15: Allen teaches the conductor apparatus of claim 2, wherein the base layer comprises printed conductive material on a flexible substrate (e.g., see Para. 23, FIG. 5).
Claim 16: Allen teaches the conductor apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a plurality of support structures (e.g., see 31 wherein the elongated elements are further interpreted as being restricted to only 32 and 33 for this claim rejection) each supporting a mechanical connection between one of the elongated elements and the base layer and/or one of the conductive patches (e.g., as shown, further see Para. 28-29).
Alternatively Shapoury teaches the elongated elements comprise first layer (e.g., see 122 in FIG. 2, see Col. 8, Lns. 5-13) and an additional second layer (e.g., see 124 in FIG. 2), i.e., so as to form a plurality of support structures in the elongated elements.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to utilize additional supporting layers in the elongated elements such that they form a plurality of support structures each supporting a mechanical connection between the elongated element and the base layer and/or the conductive patches in order to further reduce structural damage to the elongated elements and/or to secure the spacing between the base layer and the second layer for additional mechanical support.
Claim 22: Allen does not explicitly teach the conductor apparatus of claim 2, wherein when the ambient temperature is below the threshold, each of the plurality of elongated elements undergoes the transmission from the first state to the second state in response to an application of current thereto.
However Shapoury further teaches wherein when the ambient temperature is below the threshold, each of the plurality of elongated elements undergoes the transmission from the first state to the second state in response to an application of current hereto (e.g., see Col. 7, Lns. 7-9, Lns. 44-49).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to utilize wherein when the ambient temperature is below the threshold, each of the plurality of elongated elements of Allen undergoes the transmission from the first state to the second state in response to an application of current hereto as taught by Shapoury in order to easily implement a controller as taught by Shapoury to control the elongated elements to transition the elongated elements in a simple manner utilizing current as opposed to other complicated devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-9 is allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Allen and/or Shapoury and/or the references of record do not teach a three layer arrangement with at least one antenna element on an antenna layer on a flexible second dielectric sheet with the arrangement of the base layer, second layer and elongated elements therebetween in a collapsable configuration and based on a transition temperature.
Conclusion
/AMAL PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845