DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed March 4, 2026, claims 1, 2, 8, and 15-16 has been amended, claims 4, 11, and 18 are canceled, claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 8 - page 12, filed March 4, 2026, with respect to claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Tang (EP3780745A1, further published as US Pub. No.:2021/0007069). A second new ground of rejection is also presented in view of Liu007 (Chinese Patent Application No. 201811122607.1, filed on Sep. 26, 2018, PCT/CN2019/103143, filed on Aug. 28, 2019, published as WO2020063243, 2/4/2020, further published as US Pub. No.:2021/0212007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN111934834A, further published as US Pub,. No.:2023/292336), and further in view of Tang (EP3780745A1, further published as US Pub. No.:2021/0007069).
As per claim 1, Liu disclose A signal transmission method, performed by a first network device (see Fig.2, Fig.9, a service node), comprising:
determining, based on a current network parameter (see para.0043, FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram illustrating that a CORESET corresponding to a target type terminal is determined/determining in the case where an additional SSB is configured / a current network parameter), a sending quantity or sending duration of a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) with a first periodicity (see para. 0044, the number of additional SSBs is equal to the number of first SSBs/a quantity of SSB, that is, for all SSBs, corresponding additional SSBs are configured for the target type terminal with a first periodicity); and
sending, on a basis of sending an SSB with a second periodicity, the SSB with the first periodicity based on the sending quantity or the sending duration (see para. 0043, sending the additional SSB that includes SSBs a to d and a period of the additional SSB is relatively small, for example, 10 ms {first periodicity}, and thus there are two additional SSBs used by the target type terminal within 20 ms {a second periodicity}, where one of the two additional SSBs has the same resource as the first SSB, and the other additional SSB is specially configured/ the sending duration for the target type terminal), wherein the first periodicity is less than or equal to 20 ms, and the second periodicity is greater than or equal to 40 ms (see para. 0043, an actual transmission period of the first SSB is 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms. 80 ms or 160 ms, the additional SSB includes SSBs a to d, and a period of the additional SSB may be relatively small. for example. 10 ms". Note that D1 discloses two SSBs with two different periods, where "the additional SSB" in D1 corresponds to "the first SSB" in the current application).
Although Liu disclose sending, on a basis of sending an SSB with a second periodicity, the SSB with the first periodicity based on the sending quantity or the sending duration.
Liu however does not explicitly disclose after the sending, stopping, the sending of the SSB with the first periodicity based on the current network parameter.
Tang however disclose after sending, stopping, the sending of the SSB with s first periodicity based on a current network parameter (see para. 0163, 0188, the network device stop/not sending the SSB with a first periodicity based on a current network parameter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of after sending, stopping, the sending of the SSB with s first periodicity based on a current network parameter, as taught by Tang, in the system of Liu, so as to achieve effective transmission of an SSB according to a channel sensing result and while a sending opportunity of an SSB is increased by configuring, by the network device, multiple time-frequency resources within the first period, quantity of times that an SSB is sent can also be reduced, and thus a resource overhead of SSB sending can be reduced, see Tang, paragraphs 4, 12-17, 0094.
As per claim 2, the combination of Liu and Tang disclose the transmission method according to claim 1.
Tang further disclose wherein determining, based on a current network parameter, a sending quantity or sending duration of SSB with a first periodicity comprises: obtaining, at least one of a load of a current network, a quantity of online activated users, or a quantity of cell edge users; and when at least one of the load, the quantity of online activated users, or the quantity of cell edge users is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, determining, the sending quantity or the sending duration of the SSB with the first periodicity (see para. 0099, "that quantity of times that the network device sends the first SSB within the first period or the second period may be related to the situation that the network device obtains availability of a channels within the period", EP0092; [0107]: "the network device or the communication system determines the maximum quantity of times that the first SSB is sent within the first period according to at least one of the length of the first period, the quantity of the terminal devices served by the network device, the size of the coverage area of the cell served by the network device
and the time delay requirement for the terminal device to access the network device, EP100).
As per claim 3, the combination of Liu and Tang disclose the transmission method according to claim 1.
Tang further disclose wherein the method further comprises: determining, a sending periodicity of an SSB cluster, wherein the SSB cluster comprises a plurality of consecutive SSBs with the first periodicity; and sending, on the basis of sending the SSB with the second periodicity, the SSB with the first periodicity based on the sending periodicity of the SSB cluster (see para. 0146, the
SSB group includes S SSBs, the network device configures M groups of time-frequency resources
within the first period, each group of time-frequency resources in the M groups of time-frequency
resources include S time-frequency resources, wherein the S time-frequency resources are
respectively configured for sending the S SSBs, and the network device configures a maximum
quantity of times that the SSB group is sent to be N, that is, a maximum quantity of times that
each SSB in the SSB group is sent is N. Herein the first period includes M sub-periods, EP0139).
As per claim 5, the combination of Liu and Tang disclose the transmission method according to claim 2.
Tang further disclose wherein the stopping, based on the current network parameter, sending the SSB with the first periodicity comprises: periodically obtaining, at least one of the load of the current network, the quantity of online activated users, or the quantity of cell edge users; and when at least one of the load, the quantity of online activated users, or the quantity of cell edge users is less than the preset threshold (see para. 0099, 0177, "that quantity of times that the network device sends the first SSB within the first period or the second period may be related to the situation that the network device obtains availability of a channels within the period"; [0107]: "the network device or the communication system determines the maximum quantity of times that the first SSB is sent within the first period according to at least one of the length of the first period, the quantity of the terminal devices served by the network device, the size of the coverage area of the cell served by the network device
and the time delay requirement for the terminal device to access the network device).
As per claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Liu also disclose An apparatus (see Fig.9, a service node), comprising: a processor (see Fig.9, processor 510) and a memory (see Fig.9, storage apparatus/a memory 520), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory, wherein the computer program (see para. 0256, one or more programs are executed by one or more processors 510 to cause the one or more processors to implement the resource set configuration method applied to a service node and para. 0257, 0258, as a computer-readable storage medium, the storage apparatus 520 in the service node is configured to store one or more programs which is software programs, computer-executable programs and modules, such as program instructions/modules applied to the service node).
As per claim 9, claim 9 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 10, claim 10 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 12, claim 12 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
As per claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 19, claim 19 is rejected the same way as claim 5.
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN111934834A, further published as US Pub,. No.:2023/292336), in view of Tang (EP3780745A1, further published as US Pub. No.:2021/0007069)and further in view of Jin et al (US Pub. No.:2022/0303926).
As per claim 6, the combination of Liu and Tang disclose the transmission method according to claim 1.
Liu further disclose an SSB with a third periodicity based on an indication information, wherein the third periodicity is less than or equal to 20 ms (see para. 0043, an actual transmission period of the first SSB is 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms. 80 ms or 160 ms, the additional SSB includes SSBs a to d, and a period of the additional SSB may be relatively small. for example. 10 ms" / the third periodicity is less than (5 ms, 10 ms) or equal to 20 ms).
The combination of Liu and Tang however does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving, indication information from a second network device, wherein the indication information indicates that a terminal device requests access, the first network device is a primary network device, and the second network device is a secondary network device; and sending, on the basis of sending the SSB with the second periodicity, an SSB with a third periodicity based on the indication information.
Jin however disclose wherein a method further comprises: receiving, indication information from a second network device, wherein the indication information indicates that a terminal device requests access, the first network device is a primary network device, and the second network device is a secondary network device; and sending, on the basis of sending the SSB with the second periodicity, an SSB with a third periodicity based on the indication information (see Fig.4 para. 0094, S400: a first
access network device determines to request a second access network device to perform resource
allocation for a terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a method further comprises: receiving, indication information from a second network device, wherein the indication information indicates that a terminal device requests access, the first network device is a primary network device, and the second network device is a secondary network device; and sending, on the basis of sending the SSB with the second periodicity, an SSB with a third periodicity based on the indication information, as taught by Jin, in the system of Liu and Tang, so as to prevent a second access network device from keeping broadcasting the SSB, to reduce energy consumption of the second access network device, and therefore, energy consumption of an entire system is reduced, see Jin, paragraphs 4-8.
As per claim 7, the combination of Liu, Tang and Jin disclose the method according to claim 6.
Jin further disclose wherein after the sending, on the basis of sending the SSB with the second periodicity, an SSB with a third periodicity based on the indication information, the method further comprises: after the terminal device successfully accesses the first network device, stopping, sending the SSB with the third periodicity (see para. 0155, after the terminal accesses the second access network device, the second access network device stops broadcasting the SBB).
As per claim 13, claim 13 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
As per claim 14, claim 14 is rejected the same way as claim 7.
As per claim 20, claim 20 is rejected the same way as claim 6.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection:
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN111934834A, further published as US Pub,. No.:2023/292336), and further in view of Liu007 (Chinese Patent Application No. 201811122607.1, filed on Sep. 26, 2018, PCT/CN2019/103143, filed on Aug. 28, 2019, published as WO2020063243, 2/4/2020, further published as US Pub. No.:2021/0212007).
As per claim 1, Liu disclose A signal transmission method, performed by a first network device (see Fig.2, Fig.9, a service node), comprising:
determining, based on a current network parameter (see para.0043, FIG. 2 is a schematic diagram illustrating that a CORESET corresponding to a target type terminal is determined/determining in the case where an additional SSB is configured / a current network parameter), a sending quantity or sending duration of a synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel block (SSB) with a first periodicity (see para. 0044, the number of additional SSBs is equal to the number of first SSBs/a quantity of SSB, that is, for all SSBs, corresponding additional SSBs are configured for the target type terminal with a first periodicity); and
sending, on a basis of sending an SSB with a second periodicity, the SSB with the first periodicity based on the sending quantity or the sending duration (see para. 0043, sending the additional SSB that includes SSBs a to d and a period of the additional SSB is relatively small, for example, 10 ms {first periodicity}, and thus there are two additional SSBs used by the target type terminal within 20 ms {a second periodicity}, where one of the two additional SSBs has the same resource as the first SSB, and the other additional SSB is specially configured/ the sending duration for the target type terminal), wherein the first periodicity is less than or equal to 20 ms, and the second periodicity is greater than or equal to 40 ms (see para. 0043, an actual transmission period of the first SSB is 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms. 80 ms or 160 ms, the additional SSB includes SSBs a to d, and a period of the additional SSB may be relatively small. for example. 10 ms". Note that D1 discloses two SSBs with two different periods, where "the additional SSB" in D1 corresponds to "the first SSB" in the current application).
Although Liu disclose sending, on a basis of sending an SSB with a second periodicity, the SSB with the first periodicity based on the sending quantity or the sending duration.
Liu however does not explicitly disclose after the sending, stopping, the sending of the SSB with the first periodicity based on the current network parameter.
Liu007 however disclose after sending, stopping, the sending of the SSB with s first periodicity based on a current network parameter (see para. 0086, the network device/node stop sending the SSB with a first periodicity based on a current network parameter, see also para. 0090, 0197).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of after sending, stopping, the sending of the SSB with s first periodicity based on a current network parameter, as taught by Liu007, in the system of Liu, so as to reduce overhead for sending the SSB by the first node, improves system resource utilization, and reduces transmit power of the first node, see Liu007, paragraphs 0009-0012.
As per claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 15, claim 15 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US Pub. No.:2022/0167291) – see para. 0080, “the second device may re-send the synchronization signal blocks that are sent for the first time by each of the antenna panels, on multiple antenna panels respectively multiple times. For example, the second device may directly perform multiple repeated transmissions of the synchronization signal blocks determined on each antenna panel directly according to a preset retransmission strategy. For example, according to a predetermined number of retransmissions, multiple repeated transmissions are performed on multiple continuous or discontinuous time domain resources. For example, synchronization signal blocks are sent periodically, and the transmission period may be 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 80 ms, or 160 ms. The synchronization signal blocks may be substituted with synchronization signal block sets, and one synchronization signal block set may include 4, 8, 16, or 64 synchronization signal blocks”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469