DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/05/2024 was filed on the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spinella et al. [US 10,903,587].
Regarding claim 1, Spinella discloses a device for the contacting of a conductor with an electrical component, the device including: a flat conductor made of aluminum (fig. 4; 11); and a contacting element (figs. 1-2; 10) connectable in a material-bonded manner (Col 10 Ln 9; resistance spot welding) with the flat conductor (11), wherein the contacting element (10) comprises steel material (Col 9 Ln 28-30), wherein: the contacting element (10) is configured as a disk (figs. 1-2; 12 is configured as the disk part), the disk (12) includes a friction aid (fig. 2; concave surface of 12 facing 14 or 11 in fig. 4), configured as conical or annular structure (both), on a first side (fig. 2; bottom side of 12) of the disk (12), and the disk includes an outer contour (figs. 1-2; outer convex surface of 12), provided with at least one opening (figs. 1-2; H), on a second side (figs. 1-2; top side of 12), opposite the first side of the disk (bottom side of 12), for receiving the disk (12) in an insertion contour (fig. 4; S1) corresponding to a welding tool (fig. 4; 15a).
Spinella does not explicitly disclose wherein the contacting element comprises a copper material.
However, Spinella teaches the contacting element (10) can be made out of a variety of materials including copper (Col 15 Ln 51-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the contacting element comprising a copper material as suggested by Spinella since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, and also for the benefit of improving conduction between two different contact parts once joined.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Spinella has been discussed above. Spinella discloses wherein the at least one opening (H) of the outer contour (outer convex surface of 12) of the disk (12) is configured as a notch (H is configured to fit S1 of 15a).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Spinella has been discussed above. Spinella discloses wherein the at least one opening (H) of the outer contour (outer convex surface of 12) of the disk (12) includes at least one angularly formed section (fig. 1; 16, see Col 9 Ln 26: pointed end 16).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Spinella discloses all of the claim limitations except wherein the at least one opening of the outer contour of the disk includes at least one longitudinally formed section [claim 4]; wherein the disk includes a centrally oriented bore, wherein the centrally oriented bore is configured as a slot [claim 5].
Regarding claims 4 and 5, alternative embodiments of Spinella teach the at least one opening (figs. 18-20 embodiment; top opening of 1110) of the outer contour (outer convex surface of 1110) of the disk (1110) includes at least one longitudinally formed section (fig. 19; floor of 1110 in the L direction); the disk (fig. 24 embodiment; 1410) includes a centrally oriented bore (fig. 24; 1442), wherein the centrally oriented bore (1442) is configured as a slot (central opening of 1442).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the at least one opening of the outer contour of the disk includes at least one longitudinally formed section or the disk including a centrally oriented bore, wherein the centrally oriented bore is configured as a slot as suggested by the alternative embodiments of Spinella because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the at least one opening including at least one longitudinally section and the disk with a central bore as a slot since applicant has not disclosed that either one of these configurations of the disk is critical to functionality of the invention and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the opening of the outer contour including at least one angularly formed section.
Regarding claims 6-8, Spinella discloses wherein the disk (12) can be made from a variety of materials one being copper (see Col 15 Ln 51-57).
Regarding claims 6-8, Spinella does not explicitly disclose wherein the disk is partially silvered. [claim 6]; wherein the disk is nickel-plated [claim 7]; wherein the disk is partially tinned [claim 8].
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the disk being partially silver, nickel-plated or tin since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, and it would appear that the invention would work equally well with the disk being copper; also it would have been obvious for the benefit of improving conduction between two different contact parts once joined.
Regarding claim 9, the modification of Spinella has been discussed above. Spinella discloses wherein the disk (12) has a shape contour (shape of 12 and H) for the realizing of a coding of a contacting point (fig. 4; area where 15a and 10 engage) of the disk (12).
Regarding claim 10, Spinella discloses a method for the contacting of a conductor with an electrical component, the method comprising: providing a flat conductor made of aluminum (11); and
material-bonded connecting of the flat conductor (11) with a contacting element (10), wherein the contacting element (10) comprises steel material (Col 9 Ln 28-30), wherein the contacting element (10) is configured as a disk (12 of 10 is configured as the disk), wherein the disk (12) includes a friction aid (concave surface of 12 facing 14 or 11 in fig. 4), configured as conical or annular structure, on a first side (bottom side of 12) of the disk (12), and wherein the disk (12) includes an outer contour (outer convex surface of 12), provided with at least one opening (H), on a second side of the disk (top side of 12), opposite the first side (bottom side of 12) of the disk (12), for the receiving of the disk (12) in an insertion contour (S1) corresponding to a welding tool (15a).
Spinella does not explicitly disclose wherein the contacting element comprises a copper material.
However, Spinella teaches the contacting element (10) can be made out of a variety of materials including copper (Col 15 Ln 51-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the contacting element comprising a copper material as suggested by Spinella since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416, and also for the benefit of improving conduction between two different contact parts once joined.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Spinella has been discussed above. Spinella discloses wherein the material-bonded connecting (Col 10 Ln 9; resistance spot welding) is affected by welding.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Spinella discloses the welding is resistance spot welding (Col 10 Ln 9).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Spinella does not disclose the welding being rotational friction welding [claim 12]; welding being ultrasound welding [claim 13].
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the welding being rotational friction or ultrasound welding because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have rotational friction or ultrasound welding since applicant has not disclosed that rotational friction or ultrasound welding is a substantially essential method of the invention and over resistance welding and it would appear that the invention would perform equally well with resistance welding; also it would have been obvious for the benefit of providing improved, high-strength, and time efficient joining methods without having to use filler metals for joining.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Spinella has been discussed above. Spinella discloses wherein the welding is resistance welding (Col 10 Ln 9; resistance spot welding).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831