DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Engasser et al (US 20230387427 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Engasser teaches a water spray cooling system for a fuel cell electric vehicle (Paragraph 0010; a system that enables particularly efficient evaporative cooling for a fuel cell of a motor vehicle with fuel cell drive), wherein the cooling system comprises:
a first storage container configured to store exhaust water generated from a fuel cell system (Paragraph 0074; fuel cell system 10 comprises a water collection device 100 having an exhaust line 102 for exhausting exhaust gas containing water from the fuel cell 20) comprised in the fuel cell electric vehicle;
characterized in that the cooling system further comprises: a second storage container connected to the first storage container via a first valve (Paragraph 0077; the high-pressure pump 111 is connected to the water tank 113 via a check valve 112); a first tube (Figure 1, Element 114) connecting a first opening of the second storage container with an air tank (Figure 1, Element 116) via a second valve (Figure 1, Element 15) , wherein the air tank comprises compressed air generated from a compressed air system comprised in the fuel cell electric vehicle (Paragraph 0077; pressure source 116 in the form of an air compressor or air presser); and one or more water spray nozzles (Figure 1, Element 120; Water ejection device) connected to a second opening of the second storage container through a second tube (Figure 1, element 117). Engasser also teaches that the water ejection device 120 is designed, for example, as a water spraying device and comprises one or more nozzles 220 for spraying the water onto the cooler 35 (Paragraph 0083).
Engasser teaches a control means 180 for controlling the fuel cell system 10 is particularly connected to the controllable valves 103, 130, 115, 118, 122, 130 for controlling the same and is adapted to control the high pressure pump 111 (Paragraph 0079). The control system of Engasser is capable of being configured during a water spray event in a manner similar to the claimed limitation. The valves being configured to control a function defines the valve by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 1. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Engasser teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed. Hence, Engasser teaches that the first and second valves are configured to be controlled during a water spray event such that the first valve is first open to fill water from the first storage container to the second storage container and then closed, and after the first valve is closed, the second valve is open to deliver the compressed air from the air tank to the second storage container to create a water spray at the water spray nozzle.
Regarding Claim 2,
Engasser teaches the presence of a cooler 35 (akin to a radiator) which is cooled by the water in the evaporative cooling system (Paragraph 0077). The cooler has cooling fins (Paragraph 0083) similar to those observed in a radiator. This cooler is also located in front of the spray nozzle 120 as shown in Figure 1. Hence, Engasser teaches that the water spray is supplied to a radiator of the fuel cell system comprised in the fuel cell electric vehicle.
Regarding Claim 5,
Engasser teaches element 112 which is a check valve (first valve).
Regarding Claim 7,
Engasser teaches a pressure release valve 131 for releasing compressed air and a closure 132 for manually filling the water tank 113 arranged at the water tank 113 (Paragraph 0078). The pressure relief valve is akin to the third valve, and can be controlled to open to the atmosphere since it is a pressure relief valve which has that capability.
Regarding Claim 8,
Engasser teaches that a fuel cell system for a vehicle, and a related evaporative cooling system (Abstract and Paragraph 0010).
Regarding Claim 9,
Engasser teaches a water spray cooling system for a fuel cell electric vehicle (Paragraph 0010; a system that enables particularly efficient evaporative cooling for a fuel cell of a motor vehicle with fuel cell drive), wherein the cooling system comprises:
a first storage container configured to store exhaust water generated from a fuel cell system (Paragraph 0074; fuel cell system 10 comprises a water collection device 100 having an exhaust line 102 for exhausting exhaust gas containing water from the fuel cell 20) comprised in the fuel cell electric vehicle;
characterized in that the cooling system further comprises: a second storage container connected to the first storage container via a first valve (Paragraph 0077; the high-pressure pump 111 is connected to the water tank 113 via a check valve 112); a first tube (Figure 1, Element 114) connecting a first opening of the second storage container with an air tank (Figure 1, Element 116) via a second valve (Figure 1, Element 15) , wherein the air tank comprises compressed air generated from a compressed air system comprised in the fuel cell electric vehicle (Paragraph 0077; pressure source 116 in the form of an air compressor or air presser); and one or more water spray nozzles (Figure 1, Element 120; Water ejection device) connected to a second opening of the second storage container through a second tube (Figure 1, element 117). Engasser also teaches that the water ejection device 120 is designed, for example, as a water spraying device and comprises one or more nozzles 220 for spraying the water onto the cooler 35 (Paragraph 0083).
Engasser teaches operating modes for the fuel cell system comprising at least one operating mode for water collection and at least one operating mode for water ejection which are selectively selected by the control means based on a power schedule comprising a sequence of scheduled operating phases with different power requirements for the fuel cell, in accordance with the scheduled operating phases, wherein in said at least one operating mode for water collection, said water collection device is operated to collect liquid water from said exhaust gas and supply it to said water tank, and wherein, in the at least one operating mode for water ejection, water is supplied from the water tank to the water ejection device and is ejected from the water ejection device and distributed on the cooler or in a supply air stream of the cooler (Paragraph 0038). The control means may be arranged to control and/or perform the operating method. The control means may be arranged to control an operation of the water collection device and the water ejection device in accordance with the operating method (Paragraph 0039). The power schedule comprises an anticipated sequence of scheduled operating phases with varying power requirements for the fuel cell (Paragraph 0041). This is akin to defining a water spray event.
The operating modes are akin to controlling the first and second valves during a water spray event such that the first valve is first open to fill water from the first storage container to the second storage container and then closed, and after the first valve is closed, the second valve is open to deliver the compressed air from the air tank to the second storage container to create a water spray at the water spray nozzle.
Regarding Claim 10,
Engasser teaches a pressure release valve 131 for releasing compressed air and a closure 132 for manually filling the water tank 113 arranged at the water tank 113 (Paragraph 0078). The pressure relief valve is akin to the third valve, and is controlled to release a pressure of air communicating with the water in the water tank (Paragraph 0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engasser et al.
Regarding Claim 3,
Engasser teaches that an anticipated required amount of water can be collected and provided in the water tank for a planned duration of maintaining the operating mode. Overall, more selective use of the water tank can enable more energy-efficient operation of the vehicle. In addition, the amount of water to be collected can be limited to a sufficient amount based on the power schedule. Unnecessary collection of excess water that is not needed can be avoided (Paragraph 0042). Since Engasser allows collection of water from exhaust line in water collection device 100, and then further limits the amount of water being stored in the water tank 113, hence it is obvious that the amount of water in the water collection device is more than the amount of water in the water tank. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the second storage container is smaller than the first storage container and has a water volume needed for one water spray event for the above provided reasons.
Regarding Claim 6,
Engasser teaches that operating modes can be chosen in accordance with the required water quantity, and thus in accordance with the model-predictively determined power requirements for the fuel cell in accordance with the power schedule. Operating mode can be a third operating mode for water ejection in which water is ejected by the water ejection device 120, thereby increasing the cooling capacity of the cooler 35 for the cooling device for cooling the fuel cell 20 (Paragraph 0089).
Engasser teaches that the water tank may be pressurizable with compressed air. This may also make it possible to blow the water line and/or the water exhaust device free with air and/or to empty the water tank at the end of a journey of the vehicle and/or when the fuel cell system is switched off. This is particularly advantageous with regard to a possible prevention of frost damage due to freezing residual water, as well as with regard to a cleaning of the water line and/or the water ejection device (Paragraph 0034).
Engasser also teaches that a capacity of the water tank can be particularly well utilized to switch between an operating mode for water collection and an operating mode for water ejection in a manner that is pre-planned by the power schedule. In addition, the amount of water to be collected can be limited to a sufficient amount based on the power schedule. Unnecessary collection of excess water that is not needed can be avoided (Paragraph 0042).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the sizes of the second storage container, the second tube and the water spray nozzle (Paragraph 0083), as well as the open time of the second valve are configured such that the compressed air presses out substantially all water in the second storage container, the second tube and the water spray nozzle during one water spray event. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to configure the elements as claimed in order to prevent unnecessary collection of excess water, and to prevent of frost damage due to freezing residual water, as well as with regard to a cleaning of the water line and/or the water ejection device (Paragraph 0034).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engasser et al in view of Arya et al (US 20240088417 A1; effective filing date: /1/5/2021).
Engasser does not specifically teach that the first and second storage containers are integrated as a two-chamber tank, and wherein a first chamber is the first storage container, a second chamber is the second storage container, and the first valve is arranged between the two chambers.
However, Arya teaches a cooling system for cooling of a fuel cell assembly which comprises a first cooling buffer tank, and a second cooling buffer tank. Arya teaches this system to improve cooling of the fuel cell assembly during high-load situations (Paragraph 0008,0009). Arya teaches that the first and second cooling buffer tanks are arranged in a common tank, wherein the common tank is provided with a separator that separates the first cooling tank from the second cooling tank (Paragraph 0012). This common tank design is akin to the claimed two-chamber tank. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the storage containers as a two chamber tank in order to reduce the space requirements of the fuel cell system (Paragraph 0090). Furthermore, Engasser teaches the presence of a valve between the first and second storage containers, so accordingly it would be obvious to have a valve between the two chambers of the common tank.
References of Interest
Shin et al (US 20240082610 A1)
Sakajo et al (US 20190103615 A1)
Ninan et al (US 20170214065 A1)
Yasuda et al (US 20100297513 A1)
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783