Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2025, 06/12/2025, 05/05/2025, 02/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 02/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.81. Accordingly, the drawings are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification submitted on 02/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.71. Accordingly, the specification is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 7-9, 14-18 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(g) as being unpatentable by Wakabayashi et al. (US 20220291344 A1, “Wakabayashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi teaches an aperture for a transmit portion of an optical module, the aperture comprising (Para [0038], Fig 1A, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 that emits light though opening 103): a generally rectangular main body having four sides and defining a hole therethrough (Para [0038], Fig 1, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 and the opening 103 is rectangular), each side having at least a top surface and an inside surface (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 and the opening 103 has an inside surface), wherein at least three of the four sides have an internal angled surface between their respective top and inside surfaces (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the opening 103 has a tapered shape and as shown in in Fig 1A surrounds light source 110 on all four sides between the respective and top surfaces) .
Regarding claim 2, Wakabayashi teaches the aperture of claim 1, wherein all four sides have an internal angled surface between their respective top and inside surfaces (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the opening 103 has a tapered shape and as shown in in Fig 1A surrounds light source 110 on all four sides between the respective and top surfaces).
Regarding claim 7, Wakabayashi teaches the aperture of claim 1, wherein the internal angled surface of the at least three of the four sides is angled at between 32 to 62 degrees downward from the respective top surface (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the angle of the tapering of the opening 103 is 32 degrees).
Regarding claim 8, Wakabayashi teaches an optical module comprising:
a transmit portion comprising at least one light source and an aperture (Para [0039], Fig 1 and 3 where light emitting device 10 functions as a transmitter in distance measuring device 1 within the protection cover 100 (functioning as the aperture)); and
a receive portion comprising at least one light sensor (Para [0039], Fig 3, where the light receiving device 20 functions as the one light sensor);
wherein the aperture comprises a generally rectangular main body having four sides and defining a hole therethrough (Para [0038], Fig 1, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 and the opening 103 is rectangular), each side having at least a top surface and an inside surface (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 and the opening 103 has an inside surface), wherein at least three of the four sides have an internal angled surface between their respective top and inside surfaces (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the opening 103 has a tapered shape and as shown in in Fig 1A surrounds light source 110 on all four sides between the respective and top surfaces); and
wherein the aperture is positioned such that light emitted from the at least one light source passes through the hole defined in the aperture (Para [0038], Fig 1, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 and the opening 103 is rectangular for which light is emitted through).
Regarding claim 9, Wakabayashi teaches the optical module of claim 8, wherein all four sides of the aperture have an internal angled surface between their respective top and inside surfaces (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the opening 103 has a tapered shape and as shown in in Fig 1A surrounds light source 110 on all four sides between the respective and top surfaces).
Regarding claim 14, Wakabayashi teaches the optical module of claim 8, wherein the internal angled surface of the at least three of the four sides of the aperture is angled at between 32 to 62 degrees downward from the respective top surface (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the angle of the tapering of the opening 103 is 32 degrees).
Regarding claim 15, Wakabayashi teaches a method of reducing crosstalk between a transmit portion and a receive portion of an optical module, the method comprising :
providing an optical module comprising a transmit portion comprising at least one light source and a receive portion comprising at least one light sensor (Para [0039], Fig 1 and 3 where light emitting device 10 functions as a transmitter in distance measuring device 1 within the protection cover 100 (functioning as the aperture). The light receiving device 20 also functions as the one light sensor); and
positioning an aperture such that light emitted from the at least one light source passes through a hole defined in the aperture (Para [0038], Fig 1, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 and the opening 103 is rectangular for which light is emitted through);
wherein the aperture comprises a generally rectangular main body having four sides, each side having at least a top surface and an inside surface (Para [0038], Fig 1, where the protection cover 100 is the aperture that includes wall section 102 and top plate 101 surrounding the light device 110 and the opening 103 is rectangular); and
wherein at least three of the four sides have an internal angled surface between their respective top and inside surfaces (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the opening 103 has a tapered shape and as shown in in Fig 1A surrounds light source 110 on all four sides between the respective and top surfaces).
Regarding claim 16, Wakabayashi teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the aperture is unitary with a housing of the optical module (Para [0029] and [0036], Fig 1A and 2, where the protection cover 100 functioning as the aperture is connected to the substrate 30 through the two claw sections 30. The housing is also connected to substrate 30 through wires penetrating housing 112. Therefore the aperture is unitary with a housing through the connection with substrate 30).
Regarding claim 17, Wakabayashi teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the aperture is distinct from a housing of the optical module (Para [0029], Fig 2, where the light source device 110 (including housing 112 according to Para [0032]) is protected from light by protection cover 100 (aperture). The cover protects the housing, and is therefore distinctly identifiable).
Regarding claim 18, Wakabayashi teaches the method of claim 15, wherein all four sides of the aperture have an internal angled surface between their respective top and inside surfaces (Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the opening 103 has a tapered shape and as shown in in Fig 1A surrounds light source 110 on all four sides between the respective and top surfaces).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 10-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi in view of Lermer et al. (US 20140175462 A1, "Lermer”).
Regarding claim 3, Wakabayashi teaches the aperture of claim 1.
However, Wakabayashi does not teach wherein one side has an external angled surface that angles outward from a center of the main body and downward from its respective top surface.
On the other hand, Lermer teaches an externally angled surface angled obliquely in a lateral direction from a main body (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, where a side surface 5a disclosed of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 (which can be considered the main body), and therefore outward from the main body and downward from a top surface).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the aperture of Wakabayashi in view of Lermer, by applying an externally angled surface to one side of the cover disclosed in Wakabayashi to guide light in a preferred direction (Lermer, Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Wakabayashi in view of Lermer teaches the aperture of claim 3, wherein the side having an external angled surface is not one of the at least three of the four sides having an internal angled surface (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, however teaches side surface 5a of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 and a non-obliquely angled side 5b. By applying an obliquely angled side to Lermer as disclosed in claim 19, light can be guided in a preferred direction).
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi in view of Lermer teaches the aperture of claim 3, wherein the top and inside surfaces of the side having an external angled surface are at substantially right angles to each other (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, where a side surface 5a disclosed of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 (which can be considered the main body)in a lateral direction from 0-90 degrees, teaching an inside and top surface that are at right angles to each other as well).
Regarding claim 6, Wakabayashi in view of Lermer teaches, the aperture of claim 3, wherein the external angled surface is angled at between 22 and 32 degrees downward from the respective top surface (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, where a side surface 5a disclosed of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 (which can be considered the main body)in a lateral direction from 0-90 degrees, teaching an inside and top surface that are at right angles to each other as well as oblique angles).
Regarding claim 10, Wakabayashi teaches the optical module of claim 8.
However, Wakabayashi does not teach wherein one side of the aperture has an external angled surface that angles outward from a center of the main body and downward from its respective top surface
On the other hand, Lermer teaches an externally angled surface angled obliquely in a lateral direction from a main body (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, where a side surface 5a disclosed of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 (which can be considered the main body)in a lateral direction from 0-90 degrees, and therefore outward from the main body and downward from a top surface)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the aperture of Wakabayashi in view of Lermer, by applying an externally angled surface to one side of the cover disclosed in Wakabayashi to guide light in a preferred direction (Lermer, Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Wakabayashi in view of Lermer teaches the optical module of claim 10, wherein the side of the aperture having an external angled surface is not one of the at least three of the four sides having an internal angled surface (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, however teaches side surface 5a of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 and a non-obliquely angled side 5b. By applying an obliquely angled side to Lermer as disclosed in claim 19, light can be guided in a preferred direction).
Regarding claim 12, Wakabayashi in view of Lermer teaches the optical module of claim 10, wherein the top and inside surfaces of the side having an external angled surface are at substantially right angles to each other (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, where a side surface 5a disclosed of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 (which can be considered the main body)in a lateral direction from 0-90 degrees, teaching an inside and top surface that are at right angles to each other as well as oblique angles).
Regarding claim 13, Wakabayashi in view of Lermer teaches the optical module of claim 10, wherein the external angled surface of the aperture is angled at between 22 and 32 degrees downward from the respective top surface (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, where a side surface 5a disclosed of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 (which can be considered the main body)in a lateral direction from 0-90 degrees, teaching an inside and top surface that are at right angles to each other as well as oblique angles).
Regarding claim 19, Wakabayashi teaches the method of claim 15.
However, Wakabayashi does not teach wherein one side of the aperture has an external angled surface that angles outward from a center of the main body and downward from its respective top surface.
On the other hand, Lermer teaches an externally angled surface angled obliquely in a lateral direction from a main body (Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, where a side surface 5a disclosed of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 (which can be considered the main body)in a lateral direction from 0-90 degrees, and therefore outward from the main body and downward from a top surface)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious of one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the aperture of Wakabayashi in view of Lermer, by applying an externally angled surface to one side of the cover disclosed in Wakabayashi to guide light in a preferred direction (Lermer, Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 20, Wakabayashi in view of Lermer teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the side of the aperture having an external angled surface is not one of the at least three of the four sides having an internal angled surface (Wakabayashi, Para [0038], Fig 1A and 2, where the opening 103 has a tapered shape and as shown in in Fig 1A surrounds light source 110 on all four sides between the respective and top surfaces. Lermer, Para [0058], Fig 2C, 2D, and 3, however teaches side surface 5a of the openings of chamber 6a and 6b are formed obliquely relative to carrier substrate 2 and a non-obliquely angled side 5b. By applying an obliquely angled side to Lermer as disclosed in claim 19, light can be guided in a preferred direction).
Conclusion
/ZAKI KEHINDE HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645