2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
CLAIM OBJECTION
5. Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 3-14 & 17 are also objected since they depend on claim 4.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 15, 16 & 18-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102 as being clearly anticipated by Busri (Pub No. US 2012/0261304).
Regarding claim 1, Busri discloses a cover of an electronic device (Fig. 2 & 5), the cover comprising: a first cover fixing the electronic device (Fig. 5 & 4: Electronic device-11 on the first cover-device holding part & Para. 27 & 33); a second cover rotatably connected to the first cover (Fig. 4 & 5: Bottom cover part-10 cover rotatably connected to the first cover- device holding part) & (Abstract); and a strap including an end connected to the first cover (Fig. 2 &4 & 5: Strap-12 connected to both top cover and bottom cover-10), wherein the strap includes: a first area including a first end portion rotatably connected to the first cover (Fig. 2 & 3: Strap-12 with a part-14 connected to the first part of the device cover) & (Abstract), a second area including a first magnetic body and a second end portion (Fig. 1-2: 2nd area with a magnets-28 at end portion), wherein at least a part of the second end portion is bendable (Fig. 2 & 5 & 9 & Abstract: A strap (12) is secured at one end on the outside of the panel and is configured to fold along pre-designated fold lines, and further includes an encased magnet or other clasping means (28) at its free end. The panels are bendable over the spine and the strap (12) is foldable to support the panel in a predetermined position) and a third area connecting the first area and the second area (Fig. 2: Third region-18 between 1st and 2nd area) and wherein the second cover includes a second magnetic body positioned at an end portion of the second cover and configured to be magnetically coupled to the first magnetic body (Fig. 1-2 & 5: Magnet 32 at the 2nd cover and magnetically coupled the strip magnet-28) & (Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Busri discloses a hinge cover connecting the first cover and the second cover (Fig. 2: hinge cover between top cover and bottom cover between magnet 32 & 32).
Regarding claim 3, Busri discloses the first cover includes a cradle positioned along an edge of the first cover and including an inner surface corresponding to a shape of the electronic device (Fig. 3& 4: Device 11 in the case).
Regarding claim 15, Busri discloses a second shielding material in the first cover facing the first magnetic body (Fig. 2: Magnet-32 on the first cover shielded in the cover).
Regarding claim 16, Busri discloses the strap is rotatable at a designated angle and in a designated direction (Fig. 2 & 5: Strap 12 folds to different angle and directions).
Regarding claim 18, Busri discloses a method for using an electronic device cover, as a stand, the method comprising: connecting a second cover to be rotatable about a first cover fixing an electronic device rotated at a first angle (Fig. 4-5: First angle between bottom cover 10 & device holding part cover); connecting a strap having one end to the first cover rotated at a second angle (2 & 4 & 5: strap-12 connected to the first cover-top device holding part with another angle. strap-12 form an angle at the back of the device cover-11) & (Para. 41);
and bending, to a third angle, at least a portion of the strap rotated at the second angle (Fig 5: strap-12 connected to the bottom cover with another angle between 10 & 12) & (Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Busri discloses the strap includes: a first area including a first end portion rotatably connected to the first cover (Fig. 2 & 3: Strap-12 with a part-14 connected to the first part of the device cover) & (Abstract), a second area including a first magnetic body and a second end portion (Fig. 1-2: 2nd area with a magnets-28 at end portion), wherein at least a part of the second end portion is bendable (Fig. 2 & 5 & 9 & Abstract: A strap (12) is secured at one end on the outside of the panel and is configured to fold along pre-designated fold lines, and further includes an encased magnet or other clasping means (28) at its free end. The panels are bendable over the spine and the strap (12) is foldable to support the panel in a predetermined position) and a third area connecting the first area and the second area (Fig. 2: Third region-18 between 1st and 2nd area).
Regarding claim 20, Busri discloses the strap is rotatable at a designated angle and in a designated direction (Fig. 1 & 5: Strap 12 folds to different angle and directions).
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648