DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to communications dated 02/05/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 02/05/2024 and 07/10/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. They have been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Metwaly Saad et al. (US 2024/0267153) (hereinafter “Metwaly”).
Regarding claim 1, in accordance with Metwaly reference entirety, Metwaly teaches a method of operating an electronic device (FIG. 4A; UE 402), the method comprising:
exchanging wireless communications with external electronic equipment (remote computing device) (Abstract: “… a user equipment (UE) receives data that is transmitted from a remote computing device via a wireless communication network … .” OR para [0097]: “… UE 402 receives data transmitted from the remote computing device 460 … .” FIG. 5; block 502 and para [0104]: "In blocks 502&504, the processor may determine parameters of a wireless communication link by which the UE receives data that is transmitted from a remote computing device (e.g., 144, 460) (e.g., via a wireless communication network) and that is used by an application executing in the UE ... ." And para [0105]: "In block 504, the processor may receive sensor information from sensors of the UE ... .");
predicting a change (a condition) in a network strength (determined parameters) associated with the wireless communications (Abstract: “… predicting a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information … .” Or FIG. 5; block 506 and para [0106]: "In block 506, the processor may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information ... ." Moreover; para [0035] and thereinafter, condition of the wireless communication experience degradation or improvement in link condition using the position or pose-related sensor information is also disclose and equated to correspond to “a change in a network strength”.); and
in response (based on) to predicting the change (condition) in the network strength (determined parameters), changing a characteristic of the wireless communications (Abstract: “… selecting a forward error correction (FEC) rate for communication with the remote computing device based on the predicted condition of the wireless communication link.” Or para [0098]: “The application client 404 may select an FEC rate based on the prediction of the condition of the wireless communication link … .” Or FIG. 5; block 508 and para [0108]: "... in optional block 508, the processor may select an FEC rate for communications with the remote computing device based on the predicted condition of the wireless communication link ... ." Furthermore; para [0106]: "... the processor may predict a change in RF attenuating conditions that may decrease or increase aspects or parameters of the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 2, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein changing the characteristic of the wireless communications comprises changing a forward error correction applied to the wireless communications (para [0023]: "Various embodiments enable a UE and a network computing device, such as a server, to increase the efficiency of streaming data packet communications by adjusting forward error correction (FEC) parameters in anticipation of changes in conditions of a wireless communication link due to movements of the UE, as well as potentially other information, detected or determined based on sensor information received from one or more sensors of the UE." Moreover, adjusting the level of FEC information to improve the user experience is also discussed in para [0029] and thereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein changing the characteristic of the wireless communications comprises changing a bit rate (rate) of the wireless communications (para [0035]: "... For example, based on recent and current link quality information and predicted changes in the pose of the UE (e.g., XR headset), the UE may predict that the wireless communication link is about to experience degradation in link conditions or link quality (e.g., increase bit error rate, decreased signal-to-noise ratio, etc.) or improvement in link conditions or link quality (e.g., increase bit error rate, decreased signal-to-noise ratio, etc.)." Moreover; para [0036]: “… the UE may use the predicted near-future condition of the wireless communication link or predicted change in wireless link conditions or quality to select an FEC rate for data communications to the remote computing device and/or inform the remote computing device of the FEC rate (or predicted change in link conditions or quality) for use in using the appropriate FEC rate in data transmissions to the UE. By adjusting the FEC rate used in uplink communications to the remote computing device, the UE can reduce the number of packet retransmissions required to deliver application uplink data. By enabling the remote computing device to include an appropriate FEC rate in download data packets, the number or rate of packet retransmissions can be reduced while avoiding an unnecessary level of FEC information, thereby improving latency and download data rates.").
Regarding claim 4, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein changing the characteristic of the wireless communications comprises changing a number of retries (number or rate of packet retransmissions) during the wireless communications (para [0035]: "... For example, based on recent and current link quality information and predicted changes in the pose of the UE (e.g., XR headset), the UE may predict that the wireless communication link is about to experience degradation in link conditions or link quality (e.g., increase bit error rate, decreased signal-to-noise ratio, etc.) or improvement in link conditions or link quality (e.g., increase bit error rate, decreased signal-to-noise ratio, etc.)." Moreover; para [0036]: “… the UE may use the predicted near-future condition of the wireless communication link or predicted change in wireless link conditions or quality to select an FEC rate for data communications to the remote computing device and/or inform the remote computing device of the FEC rate (or predicted change in link conditions or quality) for use in using the appropriate FEC rate in data transmissions to the UE. By adjusting the FEC rate used in uplink communications to the remote computing device, the UE can reduce the number of packet retransmissions required to deliver application uplink data. By enabling the remote computing device to include an appropriate FEC rate in download data packets, the number or rate of packet retransmissions can be reduced while avoiding an unnecessary level of FEC information, thereby improving latency and download data rates.").
Regarding claim 5, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein predicting the change in the network strength comprises predicting the change in the network strength based on historical network strength information (historical information/trends in RF conditions) (Abstract: “… predicting a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information … .” Or FIG. 5; block 506 and para [0106]: "In block 506, the processor may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information ... ." Moreover; para [0035] and thereinafter, condition of the wireless communication experience degradation or improvement in link condition using the position or pose-related sensor information is also disclose and equated to correspond to “a change in a network strength”.)para [0023]: "Various embodiments enable a UE and a network computing device, such as a server, to increase the efficiency of streaming data packet communications by adjusting forward error correction (FEC) parameters in anticipation of changes in conditions of a wireless communication link due to movements of the UE, as well as potentially other information, detected or determined based on sensor information received from one or more sensors of the UE." Furthermore; para [0040]: "In some embodiments, the UE may correlate wireless communication link parameters and sensor information from the UE. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on historical information or other experiential information. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on one or more trends in RF conditions or parameter(s) of the wireless communication link. In some embodiments, the UE may use pose information of the UE (e.g., acceleration, rotation, location information, and/or the like) to predict when the UE will experience a change in the wireless communication link (which may be an improvement or a degradation in the wild communication link).").
Regarding claim 6, in addition to features recited in base claim 5 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein the historical network strength information comprises historical network strength information at different locations and wherein predicting the change in the network strength comprises predicting a change in location from a first location with a first historical network strength to a second location with a second historical network strength that is different than the first historical network strength (Abstract: “… predicting a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information … .” Or FIG. 5; block 506 and para [0106]: "In block 506, the processor may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information ... ." Moreover; para [0035] and thereinafter, condition of the wireless communication experience degradation or improvement in link condition using the position or pose-related sensor information is also disclose and equated to correspond to “a change in a network strength”.)para [0023]: "Various embodiments enable a UE and a network computing device, such as a server, to increase the efficiency of streaming data packet communications by adjusting forward error correction (FEC) parameters in anticipation of changes in conditions of a wireless communication link due to movements of the UE, as well as potentially other information, detected or determined based on sensor information received from one or more sensors of the UE." Furthermore; para [0040]: "In some embodiments, the UE may correlate wireless communication link parameters and sensor information from the UE. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on historical information or other experiential information. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on one or more trends in RF conditions or parameter(s) of the wireless communication link. In some embodiments, the UE may use pose information of the UE (e.g., acceleration, rotation, location information, and/or the like) to predict when the UE will experience a change in the wireless communication link (which may be an improvement or a degradation in the wild communication link).” Furthermore; para [0041]: "For example, based on the sensor information, the UE may determine that a sudden decline or drop in RF conditions may be due to signal attenuation (or blocking) caused by a change in UE pose, such as blocking of a signal to an XR headset by a user's head or other body part. As another example, based on the sensor information, the UE may predict that RF conditions will suddenly decline or drop, for example, by determining that the UE is going to be in a location and/or orientation in which RF link quality or RF conditions degraded or were poor (e.g., dropped below and RF threshold) in the past.").
Regarding claim 7, in addition to features recited in base claim 5 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein predicting the change in the network strength based on the historical network strength information comprises interpolating between a first historical network strength at a first location and a second historical network strength at a second location based on a third location associated with the electronic device (sensors) (Abstract: “… predicting a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information … .” Or FIG. 5; block 506 and para [0106]: "In block 506, the processor may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information ... ." Moreover; para [0035] and thereinafter, condition of the wireless communication experience degradation or improvement in link condition using the position or pose-related sensor information is also disclose and equated to correspond to “a change in a network strength”.)para [0023]: "Various embodiments enable a UE and a network computing device, such as a server, to increase the efficiency of streaming data packet communications by adjusting forward error correction (FEC) parameters in anticipation of changes in conditions of a wireless communication link due to movements of the UE, as well as potentially other information, detected or determined based on sensor information received from one or more sensors of the UE." Furthermore; para [0040]: "In some embodiments, the UE may correlate wireless communication link parameters and sensor information from the UE. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on historical information or other experiential information. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on one or more trends in RF conditions or parameter(s) of the wireless communication link. In some embodiments, the UE may use pose information of the UE (e.g., acceleration, rotation, location information, and/or the like) to predict when the UE will experience a change in the wireless communication link (which may be an improvement or a degradation in the wild communication link)." With the before-mentioned teaching and in addition to the following: para [0038]: "In some embodiments, the UE may use perception information such as RF condition information about a wireless communication link (parameters of the wireless communication link) and sensor information from sensors of the UE. The RF condition information may include signal strength information, signal quality information, and the like. The RF condition information also may include a data rate, a data throughput, a block error rate (BLER), a transport block (TB) size, or another metric of data carriage. The sensor information may include information indicative of the pose of the UE, such as a location of the UE, a rotation of the UE, an orientation of the UE, an acceleration of the UE, and/or the like. Using the perception information, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition that may improve an aspect of the wireless communication link. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition that may attenuate or block an aspect of the wireless communication link (e.g., an "attenuating condition")." The interpolation of the of the perception information and the sensor information is inherent in predicting the condition of the wireless communication link).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to features recited in base claim 5 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein the historical network strength information comprises network strength information obtained by one or more additional electronic devices (GPS receivers/cameras/lidars/sensors) (Abstract: “… predicting a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information … .” Or FIG. 5; block 506 and para [0106]: "In block 506, the processor may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information ... ." Moreover; para [0035] and thereinafter, condition of the wireless communication experience degradation or improvement in link condition using the position or pose-related sensor information is also disclose and equated to correspond to “a change in a network strength”.)para [0023]: "Various embodiments enable a UE and a network computing device, such as a server, to increase the efficiency of streaming data packet communications by adjusting forward error correction (FEC) parameters in anticipation of changes in conditions of a wireless communication link due to movements of the UE, as well as potentially other information, detected or determined based on sensor information received from one or more sensors of the UE." Furthermore; para [0040]: "In some embodiments, the UE may correlate wireless communication link parameters and sensor information from the UE. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on historical information or other experiential information. In some embodiments, the UE may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on one or more trends in RF conditions or parameter(s) of the wireless communication link. In some embodiments, the UE may use pose information of the UE (e.g., acceleration, rotation, location information, and/or the like) to predict when the UE will experience a change in the wireless communication link (which may be an improvement or a degradation in the wild communication link)." Furthermore; para [0034]: "In various embodiments, the UE may also receive position and/or pose-related sensor information from sensors in or on the UE, including motion and orientation sensors, such as accelerometers, inertial motion sensors, gravitometers, gyroscopes, navigation systems (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS) receivers) and the like. The UE may also receive information from other types of sensors, including cameras and lidar, that can generate a depth map or similar information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE, and other sensors, and the like. Position and/or pose-related sensors and other suitable sensors may provide information that can be processed by the UE to predict a near-future orientation and position of the UE relative to an antenna providing a wireless communication link (e.g., of a base station) and to objects that could impact the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 9, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein the electronic device comprises one or more depth sensors and wherein the method further comprises: using the one or more depth sensors to obtain a depth map of a physical environment, wherein predicting the change in the network strength comprises predicting the change in the network strength based on the depth map (in addition to the before-mentioned teaching, para [0034]: "In various embodiments, the UE may also receive position and/or pose-related sensor information from sensors in or on the UE, including motion and orientation sensors, such as accelerometers, inertial motion sensors, gravitometers, gyroscopes, navigation systems (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS) receivers) and the like. The UE may also receive information from other types of sensors, including cameras and lidar, that can generate a depth map or similar information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE, and other sensors, and the like. Position and/or pose-related sensors and other suitable sensors may provide information that can be processed by the UE to predict a near-future orientation and position of the UE relative to an antenna providing a wireless communication link (e.g., of a base station) and to objects that could impact the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 10, in addition to features recited in base claim 9 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein predicting the change in the network strength based on the depth map comprises predicting the change in the network strength based on a room layout determined using the depth map (in addition to the before-mentioned teaching, para [0034]: "In various embodiments, the UE may also receive position and/or pose-related sensor information from sensors in or on the UE, including motion and orientation sensors, such as accelerometers, inertial motion sensors, gravitometers, gyroscopes, navigation systems (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS) receivers) and the like. The UE may also receive information from other types of sensors, including cameras and lidar, that can generate a depth map or similar information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE, and other sensors, and the like. Position and/or pose-related sensors and other suitable sensors may provide information that can be processed by the UE to predict a near-future orientation and position of the UE relative to an antenna providing a wireless communication link (e.g., of a base station) and to objects that could impact the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 11, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein the electronic device comprises one or more sensors and wherein the method further comprises: using the one or more sensors to obtain scene understanding data (information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE) for a physical environment, wherein predicting the change in the network strength comprises predicting the change in the network strength based on the scene understanding data (information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE) (in addition to the before-mentioned teaching, para [0034]: "In various embodiments, the UE may also receive position and/or pose-related sensor information from sensors in or on the UE, including motion and orientation sensors, such as accelerometers, inertial motion sensors, gravitometers, gyroscopes, navigation systems (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS) receivers) and the like. The UE may also receive information from other types of sensors, including cameras and lidar, that can generate a depth map or similar information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE, and other sensors, and the like. Position and/or pose-related sensors and other suitable sensors may provide information that can be processed by the UE to predict a near-future orientation and position of the UE relative to an antenna providing a wireless communication link (e.g., of a base station) and to objects that could impact the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 12, in addition to features recited in base claim 11 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein predicting the change in the network strength based on the scene understanding data comprises predicting the change in the network strength based on an identity of a physical object in the physical environment (in addition to the before-mentioned teaching, para [0034]: "In various embodiments, the UE may also receive position and/or pose-related sensor information from sensors in or on the UE, including motion and orientation sensors, such as accelerometers, inertial motion sensors, gravitometers, gyroscopes, navigation systems (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS) receivers) and the like. The UE may also receive information from other types of sensors, including cameras and lidar, that can generate a depth map or similar information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE, and other sensors, and the like. Position and/or pose-related sensors and other suitable sensors may provide information that can be processed by the UE to predict a near-future orientation and position of the UE relative to an antenna providing a wireless communication link (e.g., of a base station) and to objects that could impact the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 13, in addition to features recited in base claim 11 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein predicting the change in the network strength based on the scene understanding data (information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE) comprises predicting the change in the network strength based on a material identified in the scene understanding data (information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE) (in addition to the before-mentioned teaching, para [0034]: "In various embodiments, the UE may also receive position and/or pose-related sensor information from sensors in or on the UE, including motion and orientation sensors, such as accelerometers, inertial motion sensors, gravitometers, gyroscopes, navigation systems (e.g., Global Positioning System (GPS) receivers) and the like. The UE may also receive information from other types of sensors, including cameras and lidar, that can generate a depth map or similar information regarding objects and distance to object surfaces from the UE, and other sensors, and the like. Position and/or pose-related sensors and other suitable sensors may provide information that can be processed by the UE to predict a near-future orientation and position of the UE relative to an antenna providing a wireless communication link (e.g., of a base station) and to objects that could impact the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 14, in addition to features recited in base claim 1 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein the electronic device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; UE 402) is a head-mounted device (para [0128] and thereinafter, it is also discussed the UE is in the form of smart glasses 900 and para [0129], it is further stated that the smart glass 900 is a head-mounted device (head-mounted displays)) and wherein the external electronic equipment (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; network computing device 460) is a cellular telephone (para [0028] and thereinafter, it is also discussed “network computing device which may render audio and/or video packets for transmission to the UE … user pose data.” It is inherent that the network computing device is a cellular phone because of capability to render audio and video to the UE).
Regarding claim 15, in addition to features recited in base claim 14 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein exchanging the wireless communications with the external electronic equipment comprises wirelessly transmitting head pose information to the cellular telephone and wirelessly receiving display data from the cellular telephone (para [0029]: "... For example, in some applications, XR or cloud gaming downlink traffic may be quasi-periodic with burst every frame at 1 frame per second (e.g., 90 Hz). Such uplink traffic can include information about the controller, the user pose, hand tracking, accessories, back-channel audio, and user video. An uplink traffic frequency may be at, for example, 90 Hz or 120 Hz, which may match a display rate of data received in the downlink. Such uplink data traffic may be transmitted over a wireless communication link (air interface) to a base station (e.g., a gNB) which may transmit the data to an Edge server or another network computing device which may render audio and/or video packets for transmission to the UE and the downlink based on, for example, information such as controller or user pose data").
Regarding claim 16, in accordance with Metwaly reference entirety, Metwaly teaches a method of operating an electronic device that is configured to wirelessly communicate with a head-mounted device, the method comprising:
rendering and wirelessly transmitting display data to the head-mounted device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; UE 402) (Abstract: “… a user equipment (UE) receives data that is transmitted from a remote computing device via a wireless communication network … .” OR para [0097]: “… UE 402 receives data transmitted from the remote computing device 460 … .” FIG. 5; block 502 and para [0104]: "In blocks 502&504, the processor may determine parameters of a wireless communication link by which the UE receives data that is transmitted from a remote computing device (e.g., 144, 460) (e.g., via a wireless communication network) and that is used by an application executing in the UE ... ." And para [0105]: "In block 504, the processor may receive sensor information from sensors of the UE ... .");
predicting a change in a network strength associated with a wireless connection between the electronic device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; Network Computing Device 460) and the head-mounted device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; UE 402) (Abstract: “… predicting a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information … .” Or FIG. 5; block 506 and para [0106]: "In block 506, the processor may predict a condition of the wireless communication link based on the determined parameters of the wireless communication link and the received sensor information ... ." Moreover; para [0035] and thereinafter, condition of the wireless communication experience degradation or improvement in link condition using the position or pose-related sensor information is also disclose and equated to correspond to “a change in a network strength”); and
in response to predicting the change in the network strength, changing a characteristic of the rendering and wirelessly transmitting the display data to the head-mounted device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; UE 402) (Abstract: “… selecting a forward error correction (FEC) rate for communication with the remote computing device based on the predicted condition of the wireless communication link.” Or para [0098]: “The application client 404 may select an FEC rate based on the prediction of the condition of the wireless communication link … .” Or FIG. 5; block 508 and para [0108]: "... in optional block 508, the processor may select an FEC rate for communications with the remote computing device based on the predicted condition of the wireless communication link ... ." Furthermore; para [0106]: "... the processor may predict a change in RF attenuating conditions that may decrease or increase aspects or parameters of the wireless communication link.").
Regarding claim 17, in addition to features recited in base claim 16 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein the characteristic comprises a characteristic selected from the group consisting of: a forward error correction, a bit rate, and a number of retries (para [0035]: "... For example, based on recent and current link quality information and predicted changes in the pose of the UE (e.g., XR headset), the UE may predict that the wireless communication link is about to experience degradation in link conditions or link quality (e.g., increase bit error rate, decreased signal-to-noise ratio, etc.) or improvement in link conditions or link quality (e.g., increase bit error rate, decreased signal-to-noise ratio, etc.)." Moreover; para [0036]: “… the UE may use the predicted near-future condition of the wireless communication link or predicted change in wireless link conditions or quality to select an FEC rate for data communications to the remote computing device and/or inform the remote computing device of the FEC rate (or predicted change in link conditions or quality) for use in using the appropriate FEC rate in data transmissions to the UE. By adjusting the FEC rate used in uplink communications to the remote computing device, the UE can reduce the number of packet retransmissions required to deliver application uplink data. By enabling the remote computing device to include an appropriate FEC rate in download data packets, the number or rate of packet retransmissions can be reduced while avoiding an unnecessary level of FEC information, thereby improving latency and download data rates.").
Regarding claim 18, in addition to features recited in base claim 16 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein changing the characteristic of the rendering and wirelessly transmitting the display data to the head-mounted device comprises changing a resolution of the display data during the rendering of the display data (matching a display rate is discussed in para [0028] and thereinafter).
Regarding claim 19, in addition to features recited in base claim 16 (see rationales discussed above), Metwaly also teaches wherein changing the characteristic of the rendering and wirelessly transmitting the display data to the head-mounted device comprises changing a field-of-view (perception data) of the display data during the rendering of the display data (para [0038] and thereinafter, perception information and using the perception information to predict a condition of the wireless communication link is also discussed).
Regarding claim 20, in accordance with Metwaly reference entirety, Metwaly teaches a method of operating an electronic device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; network computing device 460), the method comprising:
exchanging wireless communications with a head-mounted device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; UE 402), wherein exchanging the wireless communications comprises wirelessly transmitting rendered display data to the head-mounted device (FIG. 4A or FIG. 4B; UE 402) (Abstract: “… a user equipment (UE) receives data that is transmitted from a remote computing device via a wireless communication network … .” OR para [0097]: “… UE 402 receives data transmitted from the remote computing device 460 … .” FIG. 5; block 502 and para [0104]: "In blocks 502&504, the processor may determine parameters of a wireless communication link by which the UE receives data that is transmitted from a remote computing device (e.g., 144, 460) (e.g., via a wireless communication network) and that is used by an application executing in the UE ... ." And para [0105]: "In block 504, the processor may receive sensor information from sensors of the UE ... ."); and
in response to a prediction for a change in a network strength associated with the wireless communications, changing a characteristic of the wireless communications (Abstract: “… selecting a forward error correction (FEC) rate for communication with the remote computing device based on the predicted condition of the wireless communication link.” Or para [0098]: “The application client 404 may select an FEC rate based on the prediction of the condition of the wireless communication link … .” Or FIG. 5; block 508 and para [0108]: "... in optional block 508, the processor may select an FEC rate for communications with the remote computing device based on the predicted condition of the wireless communication link ... ." Furthermore; para [0106]: "... the processor may predict a change in RF attenuating conditions that may decrease or increase aspects or parameters of the wireless communication link.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gaspar et al. (US 2023/0308950).
Rabinovich et al. (US 11,120,266).
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/FRANK DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474 February 4, 2026