DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 and 10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 3 substantially recites the same limitation as parent claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrivastav et al, application no. 2022/0132467, hereinafter known as Shri in view of Gorolamo et al, application no. 2023/0388866, hereinafter known as Gorolamo.
As to claim 1, Shri discloses a communication method used in a mobile communication system for supporting a multicast and broadcast service (MBS) (Shri, [0007], providing by the network entity (first cell, source cell, source gNB or network node) MBS services to user equipment (UE) including be Point-to-Multipoint (PTM) or Point-To-Point (PTP)), the communication method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state in a first cell, an MBS session provided by the first cell through Point-to-Multipoint (PTM) (Shri, [0077], [0096], UE receiving form network entity RRC configuration message to setup PTP or PTM MBS service; figure 6, step 606, RRC connection establishment to set up MBS services, figure 14, RRC connected mode used for MBS service) Shri teaches providing neighboring celling information for handover to UE by the first cell using a MCCH or SIB message ([0070]). Shri does not expressly disclose however Gorolamo dicloses receiving, by the user equipment from the first cell, an RRC Reconfiguration message indicating handover to a second cell (Gorolamo, [0015]-[0020], receiving by UE from network entity RRC reconfiguration message for MBS service available to be used at target cell (second cell), and to be used after handover, with plural information, such PDU sequence number) for MBS communications when in target cell); and receiving, by the user equipment, the MBS session provided by the second cell after the handover, wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message comprises MBS reception configuration for receiving the MBS session provided by the second cell (Gorolamo, figure 11b, Source gNB to UE with RRC reconfiguration message, “RRC reconfiguration complete” between UE and target gNB; [0023]-[0033], UE communicating with target gNB with RRC reconfiguration information), transmitting, by a first base station managing the first cell to a second base station managing the second cell, a handover request message comprising information indicating an MBS session the user equipment is currently receiving or is interested in receiving (Gorolamo, [0023], [0220], sending by first base station indication to second base station in a message what MBS session the UE is receiving and the progress thereof for the second base station to provide MBS service accordingly).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shri to include the limitations of receiving, by the user equipment from the first cell, an RRC Reconfiguration message indicating handover to a second cell; and receiving, by the user equipment, the MBS session provided by the second cell after the handover, wherein the RRC Reconfiguration message comprises MBS reception configuration for receiving the MBS session provided by the second cell, transmitting, by a first base station managing the first cell to a second base station managing the second cell, a handover request message comprising information indicating an MBS session the user equipment is currently receiving or is interested in receiving as taught by Gorolamo. First cell providing relevant MBS session information to a UE helps UE to continue communicating with the MBS session at the second cell after handover with minimal issues. Sharing of current or desired MBS services between base station in the art allows each based to provide user request MBS services with little or no interruption.
As to claim 2, Shri discloses wherein the MBS session is a multicast session (Shri, [0023]-[0024], paging request for joining multicast session of MBS service).
As to claim 3, Shri and Gorolamo disclose discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Shri does not disclose however Gorolamo discloses further comprising transmitting, by a first base station managing the first cell to a second base station managing the second cell, a handover request message comprising information indicating an MBS session the user equipment is currently receiving or is interested in receiving (Gorolamo, [0023], [0220], sending by first base station indication to second base station in a message what MBS session the UE is receiving and the progress thereof for the second base station to provide MBS service accordingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shri to include the limitations transmitting, by a first base station managing the first cell to a second base station managing the second cell, a handover request message comprising information indicating an MBS session the user equipment is currently receiving or is interested in receiving as taught by Gorolamo. Sharing of current or desired MBS services between base station in the art allows each based to provide user request MBS services with little or no interruption.
As to claim 4, Shri discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Shri discloses transmitting, by the first base station having received the response message, the RRC Reconfiguration message comprising the MBS reception configuration, to the user equipment (Shri, [0070]-[0072], sending second cell MBS service by the first cell to UE). Shri does not disclose however Gorolamo discloses transmitting, by the second base station having received the handover request message, a response message comprising the MBS reception configuration to the first base station; MBS information forward by first cell to UE is the MBS information first cell got from the second base station (Gorolamo, figure 6, [0121], receiving RRC configuration message from target gNB and forwarded to UE by source gNB; figure 10a, MBS configuration message from target to source gNB forwarded to UE by source gNB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shri to include the limitations of transmitting, by the second base station having received the handover request message, a response message comprising the MBS reception configuration to the first base station; MBS information forward by first cell to UE is the MBS information first cell got from the second base station as taught by Gorolamo. Forwarding communications metrics for target gNB by source gNB, to UE for handover is well known in the art that enables UE to communicate accordingly with the target gNB.
As to claim 5, Shri discloses configuring, by a base station managing the first cell, a multicast radio bearer (MRB) comprising a Point-to-Multipoint (PTM) communication path for the user equipment in the RRC connected state (Shri, [0077], [0096], UE use RRC configuration message to setup PTP or PTM MBS service; figure 6, step 606, RRC connection establishment to set up MBS services, figure 14, RRC connected mode for MBS service); switching, by the base station, from the PTM communication path to a Point-to-Point (PTP) communication path in response to determining handover of the user equipment from the first cell to the second cell; and executing, by the base station, the handover after the switching to the PTP communication path (Shri, [0004]-[0010], source cell providing both PTM and PTP MBS communication to UE; [0017], [0072], providing unicast communication of the PTM of the MBS for cell reselection).
As to claim 6, Shri discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Shri does not disclose however Gorolamo discloses further comprising: synchronizing, between the first cell and the second cell, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) variable for the MBS session (Gorolamo, [0220]-[0225], sharing between target gNB and Source gNB progress information for MBS communication with PDCP sequence numbers and synchronizing communication thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shri to include the limitations of further comprising: synchronizing, between the first cell and the second cell, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) variable for the MBS session as taught by Gorolamo. Synchronizing MBS service in progress during handover from source to target gNB allows MBS communication to continue with minimal or no interruptions for UE.
As to claim 7, Shri discloses transmitting, by the user equipment, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) status report for requesting a retransmission of data lost in the handover, to a network (Shri, [0066], sharing status information between devices in the network for MBS service including NACK for retransmission).
As to claim 8, Shri discloses the communication method according to claim 1. Shri does not disclose however Gorolamo discloses further comprising: remaining, by the user equipment, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity used for MBS reception to continue MBS reception, in the handover (Gorolamo, [0237]-[0238], UE remains PDCP MBS reception during handover process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shri to include the limitations of further comprising: remaining, by the user equipment, a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity used for MBS reception to continue MBS reception, in the handover as taught by Gorolamo. UE remaining during handover from source to target gNB allows MBS communication to continue with minimal or no interruptions for UE.
As to claim 10, the claim is rejected as applied to claim 1 by Shri in view of Gorolamo.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/GAUTAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467