DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 15-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (US Publication No. 20200367208).
As to claim 1, Khoshnevisan teaches a user equipment comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (fig. 11, UE), cause the user equipment to determine a number of repetitions for an uplink transmission granted by a network element in a downlink control information (DCI) message (fig. 10, pp0146, UE receives a downlink control message including a first field indicating a quantity of nominal Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetitions, and pp0096) based on at least one of: a first number of bits of a first field in the DCI message (fig. 10, fig. 8, and pp0128, nominal repetition field 814 identifies or indicates an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PDSCH repetitions, an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PUSCH repetitions, or both, pp0129, a bit sequence of 11 illustrates 4 repetitions), whether the DCI message is received after a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration (optional limitation, no patentable weight has been given), or a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) type used to scramble cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits of the DCI message (optional limitation, no patentable weight has been given); and transmit the granted uplink transmission based on the number of repetitions (fig. 10, #1003, and pp0152, UE 115 may transmit the PUSCH repetitions for the PUSCH repetition processes, and pp0096).
As to claim 2, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein the RNTI type is one of a cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling RNTI (CS-RNTI), or a modulation and coding scheme cell RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI) and the DCI format is a fallback DCI format 0_0 (limitations directed to optional limitation in the independent claim, no patentable weight has been given).
As to claim 3, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein each of the C-RNTI, the CS-RNTI, or the MCS-C-RNTI is associated with a respective value representing the bit-width of the first number of bits of the first field; and the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the first number of bits of the first field based on the RNTI type by: determining which of the C-RNTI, the CS-RNTI, or the MCS-C-RNTI is used to scramble the CRC bits, and determining the first number of bits as the respective value associated with the RNTI type used to scramble the CRC bits (limitations directed to optional limitation in the independent claim, no patentable weight has been given).
As to claim 4, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions based on the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message by determining the number of repetitions for the granted uplink transmission based on a value represented by the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message (claim depends directly or indirectly to claim that has been given no patentable weight).
As to claim 5, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions for the granted uplink transmission based on the value represented in the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message and a look up table (claim depends directly or indirectly to claim that has been given no patentable weight).
As to claim 6, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein the look up table is one of a plurality of look up tables, wherein each of the plurality of look up tables is associated with a respective one of a plurality of RNTI types (claim depends directly or indirectly to claim that has been given no patentable weight).
As to claim 10, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the first number of bits of the first field is 1; and the bits of the first field indicate whether to use a default number of repetitions as the number of repetitions for the granted uplink transmission (fig. 10, fig. 8, and pp0128, nominal repetition field 814 identifies or indicates an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PDSCH repetitions, an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PUSCH repetitions, or both, pp0129, a bit sequence of 11 illustrates 4 repetitions).
As to claim 15, Khoshnevisan teaches a method comprising: determining, by a user equipment, a number of repetitions for an uplink transmission granted by a network element in a downlink control information (DCI) message using a DCI format (fig. 10, pp0146, UE receives a downlink control message including a first field indicating a quantity of nominal Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetitions, and pp0096) based on at least one of: a first number of bits of a first field in the DCI message (fig. 10, fig. 8, and pp0128, nominal repetition field 814 identifies or indicates an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PDSCH repetitions, an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PUSCH repetitions, or both, pp0129, a bit sequence of 11 illustrates 4 repetitions) or a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) type used to scramble cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits of the DCI message (optional limitation, no patentable weight has been given); and transmitting, by the user equipment, the granted uplink transmission based on the number of repetitions (fig. 10, #1003, and pp0152, UE 115 may transmit the PUSCH repetitions for the PUSCH repetition processes, and pp0096).
As to claim 16, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein the RNTI type is one of a cell-RNTI (C-RNTI), a configured scheduling RNTI (CS-RNTI), or a modulation and coding scheme cell RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI) and the DCI message has a fallback DCI format 0_0 (limitations directed to optional limitation in the independent claim, no patentable weight has been given).
As to claim 17, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein each of the C-RNTI, the CS-RNTI, or the MCS-C-RNTI is associated with a respective value representing the bit-width the first number of bits of the first field, and the determining the first number of bits of the first field based on the RNTI type further includes determining which of the C-RNTI, the CS-RNTI, or the MCS-C-RNTI is used to scramble the CRC bits, and determining the first number of bits as the respective value associated with the RNTI type used to scramble the CRC bits (claim depends directly or indirectly to claim that has been given no patentable weight).
As to claim 18, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein the determining the number of repetitions based on the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message includes determining the number of repetitions for the granted uplink transmission based on a value represented by the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message (claim depends directly or indirectly to claim that has been given no patentable weight).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US Publication No. 20200367208) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US Publication No. 20200413427) hereinafter “Khoshnevisan 2”.
As to claim 20, Khoshnevisan teaches a network element including: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (fig. 12), cause the network element to configure at least one first bit of a first field in a downlink control information (DCI) format, the at least one bit of the first field indicating a number of repetitions for an uplink transmission to be granted by a DCI message (fig. 10, fig. 4, generate DCI, pp0146, UE receives a downlink control message including a first field indicating a quantity of nominal Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) repetitions, pp0096, pp0128, nominal repetition field 814 identifies or indicates an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PDSCH repetitions, an amount (e.g., number) of nominal PUSCH repetitions, or both, pp0129, a bit sequence of 11 illustrates 4 repetitions). However, fails to explicitly teach the concept of a number of bits included in the at least one first bit being associated with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) type, from among a plurality of RNTI types, for scrambling the DCI message; scramble cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits of the DCI message of the DCI format based on a RNTI having a RNTI type from among the plurality of RNTI types; and grant the uplink transmission using the scrambled DCI message.
In an analogous field of endeavor, “Khoshnevisan 2” teaches the concept of a number of bits included in the at least one first bit being associated with a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) type, from among a plurality of RNTI types, for scrambling the DCI message; scramble cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits of the DCI message of the DCI format based on a RNTI having a RNTI type from among the plurality of RNTI types (fig. 1, fig. 10, pp0126, scrambling the DCI generally includes scrambling a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) portion of the DCI with a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) or a Configured Scheduling-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (CS-RNTI), and pp0128); and grant the uplink transmission using the scrambled DCI message (fig. 1, fig. 10, pp0141, pp0142, UL CG transmissions according to the UL CG configuration based on the type of scrambling). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with the teachings of “Khoshnevisan 2” to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing a communication system to better support mobile broadband Internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards (“Khoshnevisan 2”, pp0005).
Claim(s) 7-9, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US Publication No. 20200367208) in view of Yi et al. (US Publication No. 20230217456).
As to claims 7 and 19, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Khoshnevisan further discussed that the base station 105-a may indicate the MCS in the DCI (pp0064). However, failed to explicitly teach wherein the first field is a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information field and the first number of bits are most significant bits of the MCS information field.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Yi teaches the concept of wherein the first field is a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information field and the first number of bits are most significant bits of the MCS information field (fig. 2A, fig. 17, pp0289, DCI first field may be a MCS field, value may be 26 or 1 or zeros or all ones or all zeros or 1 for most significant bit with zeros for others or 0 for most significant bit with ones for others). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Yi to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably scheduling and allocating resources in a communication system (Yi, pp0225).
As to claim 8, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, failed to explicitly teach wherein the first field is a redundancy version (RV) field and the first number of bits are most significant bits or least significant bits of the RV field.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Yi teaches the concept of wherein the first field is a redundancy version (RV) field and the first number of bits are most significant bits or least significant bits of the RV field (fig. 2A, fig. 17, pp0289, DCI the first field may be a RV field, value may be 26 or 1 or zeros or all ones or all zeros or 1 for most significant bit with zeros for others or 0 for most significant bit with ones for others). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Yi to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably scheduling and allocating resources in a communication system (Yi, pp0225).
As to claim 9, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, failed to explicitly teach wherein the first field to be a frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) field when frequency hopping is applied for the uplink transmission and the first number of bits are most significant bits of the FDRA field.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Yi teaches the concept of wherein the first field to be a frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) field when frequency hopping is applied for the uplink transmission and the first number of bits are most significant bits of the FDRA field (fig. 18, fig. 19, pp0224, DCI field of frequency domain resource allocation, frequency domain RA field may indicate a frequency hopping offset. The base station may use K (e.g., 1 bit for two offset values, 2 bits for up to four offset values) bit(s) to indicate the frequency hopping offset from one or more configured offset values, and pp0289, value may be 26 or 1 or zeros or all ones or all zeros or 1 for most significant bit with zeros for others or 0 for most significant bit with ones for others). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Yi to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably scheduling and allocating resources in a communication system (Yi, pp0225).
Claim(s) 12-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US Publication No. 20200367208) in view of Su et al. (WIPO Publication No. WO 2022001781).
As to claim 12, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, failed to explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions based on the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message and a second number of bits of a second field in the DCI message.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Su teaches the concept of wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions based on the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message and a second number of bits of a second field in the DCI message (fig. 5, fig. 6, pg. 16, when the first field in the DCI indicates 1111, it means that at least one bit in the second field is used to indicate the first scheduling information, and the number of repetitions of the first data is 2). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Su to achieve the goal of efficiently providing scheduling to improve the flexibility of the control information indication under the premise of ensuring the reliability of the control information transmission (Su, background).
As to claim 13, Khoshnevisan in view of Su teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. wherein the second number of bits is based on the RNTI type used to scramble the CRC bits of the DCI message (claim is directed to optional limitations in the independent claim, no patentable weight has been given).
As to claim 14, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, failed to explicitly teach wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions for the granted uplink transmission based on a first value represented in the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message and a second value represented in the second number of bits of the second field in the DCI message.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Su teaches the concept of wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions for the granted uplink transmission based on a first value represented in the first number of bits of the first field in the DCI message and a second value represented in the second number of bits of the second field in the DCI message (fig. 5, fig. 6, pg. 16, when the first field in the DCI indicates 1111, it means that at least one bit in the second field is used to indicate the first scheduling information, and the number of repetitions of the first data is 2, and pg. at least one bit in the second field and bits other than the N bits in the first field together indicate the number of repetitions of the first scheduling information and the DCI). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Su to achieve the goal of efficiently providing scheduling to improve the flexibility of the control information indication under the premise of ensuring the reliability of the control information transmission (Su, background).
Claim(s) 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US Publication No. 20200367208) in view of Cozzo et al. (US Publication No. 20210360660).
As to claim 11, Khoshnevisan teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. However, failed to explicitly teach wherein in response to the default number of repetitions not being set, the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions to be a previous number of repetitions for a previously granted uplink transmission.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Cozzo teaches the concept of wherein in response to the default number of repetitions not being set (fig. 1, fig. 6, #604, the UE determines whether the number of Msg3 repetitions is present in the DCI, NO), the at least one memory stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to determine the number of repetitions to be a previous number of repetitions for a previously granted uplink transmission (fig. 1, fig. 6, #608, UE transmits Msg3 with the configured number of repetitions in RACH-ConfigCommon i.e. pre-configured number of repetitions). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with the teachings of Su to achieve the goal of efficiently and reliably providing communication system to support massive connections and/or enhance coverage (Cozzo, pp0004).
Conclusion
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645