DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to a response filed for No. 18/432,743 on August 19, 2026. Please note Claims 1-20 are pending.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rockwell
( US 2022/0158406 A1 ).
Rockwell teaches in Claim 15:
A fiber amplifier ( Figure 1, [0028] discloses a Raman laser 100 ) comprising, comprising:
an optical pump unit to generate a pump signal ( Figure 1, [0028] discloses a pump source 102 ); and
a fiber assembly ( Figure 1, [0028] discloses details on the Raman laser 100 ), comprising:
an input fiber end, coupled to an input fiber ( Figure 1, [0035] discloses beam 104 entering the Raman medium 106 (read that end of an input fiber end) );
an output fiber end, opposite to the input fiber end, and coupled to an output fiber ( Figure 1, [0035] disclose beam 108 at the opposite end );
a plurality of optical fiber segments ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses details on the plurality of beams 112 within the Raman medium 106 ), arranged in a linear assembly, the plurality of optical fiber segments being mutually arranged to define an optical path between the input fiber end and the output fiber end ( Figure 1 shows the linear assembly as well as Figure 2. Please note the reflection of the beams 112 between the input and output to define an optical path, eventually leading to an output 108 ); and
a reflector assembly, comprising a first reflector set arranged at the input fiber end ( Figures 1 and 2, [0041] disclose a retro-lens assembly 110b arranged at the input end ), and a second reflector set, arranged at the output fiber end ( Figures 1 and 2, [0041] disclose a retro-lens assembly 110a arranged at the output end ), wherein the first reflector set and second reflector set couple a light signal traveling through the optical path between the input fiber and the output fiber ( Figures 1 and 2 show the path of the beams 112 as it bounces between the two retro-lens assemblies 110b and 110a, eventually exiting at 108 in the middle. As for the optical path between a pair of optical fibers, please note the detail in the combination below as well ), and
wherein the pump signal amplifies the light signal during travel between the input fiber and the output fiber. ( [0037] discloses details on the Raman amplification process which is then output )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 16:
The fiber amplifier of claim 15, the first reflector set comprising a first common retroreflector, coupled to an entirety of the plurality of optical fiber segments, and the second reflector set comprising a second common retroreflector, coupled to the entirety of the plurality of optical fiber segments. ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses 110b and 110a and the individual components (shown in Figure 2) are coupled within )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 17:
The fiber amplifier of claim 16, the first common retroreflector and the second common retroreflector comprising a graded refractive index material having a rod shape. ( [0059] discloses a rod can act as a lens. [0044] discloses an index-matching bonding material for the lenses 208, as shown in Figure 2, which also shows the rod shape )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rockwell
( US 2022/0158406 A1 ) in view of Di Teodoro et al. ( US 2007/0104431 A1 ).
Rockwell teaches in Claim 1:
A fiber amplifier assembly ( Figure 1, [0028] discloses a Raman laser 100 ), comprising:
an input fiber end ( Figure 1, [0035] discloses beam 104 entering the Raman medium 106 (read that end of an input fiber end) );
an output fiber end, opposite to the input fiber end ( Figure 1, [0035] disclose beam 108 at the opposite end );
a plurality of optical fiber segments ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses details on the plurality of beams 112 within the Raman medium 106 ), [comprising at least one doped optical fiber segment] ( Please note the combination below for aspects of the doped segment ), and arranged in a linear assembly, the plurality of optical fiber segments being mutually arranged to define an optical path between the input fiber end and the output fiber end ( Figure 1 shows the linear assembly as well as Figure 2. Please note the reflection of the beams 112 between the input and output to define an optical path, eventually leading to an output 108 ); and
a reflector assembly, comprising a first reflector set arranged at the input fiber end ( Figures 1 and 2, [0041] disclose a retro-lens assembly 110b arranged at the input end ), and a second reflector set, arranged at the output fiber end ( Figures 1 and 2, [0041] disclose a retro-lens assembly 110a arranged at the output end ), wherein the first reflector set and the second reflector set together with the plurality of optical fiber segments conduct a light signal traveling through the optical path between a pair of optical fibers ( Figures 1 and 2 show the path of the beams 112 as it bounces between the two retro-lens assemblies 110b and 110a, eventually exiting at 108 in the middle. As for the optical path between a pair of optical fibers, please note the detail in the combination below as well ); but
Rockwell may not explicitly teach the fiber segments “comprising at least one doped optical fiber segment” as well as an emphasis on the optical fibers in general
However, in the same field of endeavor, reflective light assemblies, Di Teodoro teaches of a multi-stage amplifier PCF laser system 900, ( Di Teodoro, Figure 9A, [0237] ). Notably, similar to Rockwell, a plurality of cores 917 bounce between corner reflectors 929, as shown in Figures 9A-9C. Furthermore, Di Teodoro teaches of a high-peak-power rare-earth-doped PCF, [0059]. To clarify, at least one of the cores 917 comprises a rare-earth doped element, such as Erbium, as noted in [0386]. As combined with Rockwell, a doped segment can be provided as well. Di Teodoro also teaches in [0387] of a PCF with multiple elements, as shown in Figure 1B. The elements shown repeat and are between adjacent optical fibers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the doped element, as taught by Di Teodoro, with the motivation that rare-earths are well known to increase amplification and enhancing of the signal, ( Di Teodoro, [0154]-[0155] ).
Rockwell teaches in Claim 2:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 1, wherein: the first reflector set comprising a first plurality of retroreflectors and the second reflector set comprising a second plurality of retroreflectors. ( Figure 2, [0041] discloses a plurality of paths which bounce back and forth, at different points (read as a plurality of retroreflectors within )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 3:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 1, the first reflector set comprising a first common retroreflector, coupled to an entirety of the plurality of optical fiber segments, and the second reflector set comprising a second common retroreflector, coupled to the entirety of the plurality of optical fiber segments. ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses 110b and 110a and the individual components (shown in Figure 2) are coupled within )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 4:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 3, the first common retroflector and the second common retroreflector comprising a prism shape. ( Figure 2, [0041] disclose a prism 202 )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 5:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 3, the first common retroreflector and the second common retroreflector comprising a graded refractive index material having a rod shape. ( [0059] discloses a rod can act as a lens. [0044] discloses an index-matching bonding material for the lenses 208, as shown in Figure 2, which also shows the rod shape )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 6:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 3, wherein the plurality of optical fiber segments are mutually arranged in a circular pattern in cross-section. ( [0059] discloses circular cross-sections of laser rods. Also, please note Figure 6 )
Rockwell and Di Teodoro teach in Claim 7:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 6, further comprising a central rod, wherein the plurality of optical fibers are arranged around the central rod. ( Di Teodoro, Figure 3A-3I shows the circular cross-section with a central rod with fibers arranged around, as is known in optical fibers. Rockwell teaches of a similar concept in Figure 6, [0059] as well )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 8:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 7, further comprising a plurality of conductive fingers, arranged around a perimeter of an outer surface of the central rod, wherein the plurality of optical fiber segments are arranged between the conductive fingers. ( Please note Applicant’s definition in Figure 7 of fingers 412. Di Teodoro teaches of a similar concept in Figure 3D-3I. Furthermore, these aspects are well known in the art and Examiner asserts Official Notice to this )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 9:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 3, wherein the first common retroreflector and the second common retroreflector comprise a reflection element, wherein the reflection element is configured to reflect radiation at a first wavelength, and to fully transmit radiation at a second wavelength, the second wavelength corresponding to a pump wavelength of a laser that is coupled to the fiber amplifier assembly. ( Figure 1, [0030] disclose the change in wavelength. Respectfully, Raman mediums are well known for shifting some of the optical energy using scattering. Please note it shifts from a first wavelength to a second wavelength, as detailed in [0004] )
Rockwell and Di Teodoro teach in Claim 10:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of optical fibers are selected from a plurality of different fiber lots. ( Di Teodoro, [0385]+ disclose different options for core doping, such as Erbium, or Erbium and Ytterbium, or Thulium and Holmium, etc. Respectfully, it is clear different types of materials can be used, i.e. selected from a plurality of fiber lots )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 11:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 1, wherein a set of optical properties for a given fiber segment of the plurality of optical fiber segments is tailored according to a position of the given fiber segment along the optical path. ( [0037] discloses five optical paths are defined by the retro-lens assemblies. The pitch, yaw, etc, angular degrees of freedom can be designed to ensure propagation is aligned parallel to the desired crystal axis that optimizes the Raman amplification process. The parameters can be adjusted along the degrees of freedom to ensure that none of the five optical paths strikes an edge of the medium 106. To clarify, in order to avoid this, the optical properties at different positions is adjusted )
Rockwell and Di Teodoro teach in Claim 12:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one fiber segment of the plurality of optical fiber segments is not doped. ( Di Teodoro, [0309] notes at least one bridge fiber in the chain has an un-doped core. Furthermore, Rockwell also teaches of un-doped cores in general )
Rockwell and Di Teodoro teach in Claim 13:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 6, wherein at least one optical fiber segment of the plurality of optical fiber segments is a multi-core fiber segment. ( Di Teodoro, [0223] discloses a multi-core ribbon and in general, MCF aspects )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 14:
The fiber amplifier assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one optical fiber segment of the plurality of optical fiber segments is a multi-core fiber segment. ( Di Teodoro, [0223] discloses a multi-core ribbon and in general, MCF aspects )
8. Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rockwell
( US 2022/0158406 A1 ) in view of Kordahi et al. ( US 2013/0188909 A1 ).
Rockwell teaches in Claim 18:
[A subsea optical communications system, comprising: a first station, to launch an optical signal; a subsea optical cable, to conduct the optical signal] ( Please note the reasoning and combination below with regards to the first station, subsea aspects, etc ); and
at least one fiber amplifier ( Figure 1, [0028] discloses a Raman laser 100 ), coupled in line with the subsea optical cable, and comprising:
an optical pump unit to generate a pump signal ( Figure 1, [0028] discloses a pump source 102 ); and
a fiber assembly ( Figure 1, [0028] discloses a Raman laser 100 ), comprising:
an input fiber end, coupled to an input fiber ( Figure 1, [0035] discloses beam 104 entering the Raman medium 106 (read that end of an input fiber end) );
an output fiber end, opposite to the input fiber end, and coupled to an output fiber ( Figure 1, [0035] disclose beam 108 at the opposite end );
a plurality of optical fiber segments ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses details on the plurality of beams 112 within the Raman medium 106 ), arranged in a linear assembly, the plurality of optical fiber segments being mutually arranged to define an optical path between the input fiber end and the output fiber end ( Figure 1 shows the linear assembly as well as Figure 2. Please note the reflection of the beams 112 between the input and output to define an optical path, eventually leading to an output 108 ); and
a reflector assembly, comprising a first reflector set arranged at the input fiber end ( Figures 1 and 2, [0041] disclose a retro-lens assembly 110b arranged at the input end ), and a second reflector set, arranged at the output fiber end ( Figures 1 and 2, [0041] disclose a retro-lens assembly 110a arranged at the output end ), wherein the first reflector set and the second reflector set couple a light signal traveling through the optical path between the input fiber and the output fiber ( Figures 1 and 2 show the path of the beams 112 as it bounces between the two retro-lens assemblies 110b and 110a, eventually exiting at 108 in the middle. As for the optical path between a pair of optical fibers, please note the detail in the combination below as well ), and
wherein the pump signal amplifies the light signal during travel between the input fiber and the output fiber ( [0037] discloses details on the Raman amplification process which is then output ); but
Rockwell does not explicitly teach of “a subsea optical communications system, comprising: a first station, to launch an optical signal; a subsea optical cable, to conduct the optical signal”.
However, use of optical cables for subsea purposes is well known and an intended use limitation, lacking patentable distinction. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, optical networks, Kordahi teaches of an optical network which a short station 210 coupled to nodes 212-216, ( Kordahi, Figure 2, [0024] ). Notably, the use of optical cables in a subsea setting is an intended use limitation given Rockwell teaches of the other claimed features.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the shore station and associated nodes using an optical network, with the motivation that it is well known and an intended use limitation, not a patentable distinction.
Rockwell teaches in Claim 19:
The subsea optical communications system of claim 18, the first reflector set comprising a first common retroreflector, coupled to an entirety of the plurality of optical fiber segments, and the second reflector set comprising a second common retroreflector, coupled to the entirety of the plurality of optical fiber segments. ( Figure 1, [0041] discloses 110b and 110a and the individual components (shown in Figure 2) are coupled within )
Rockwell teaches in Claim 20:
The subsea optical communications system of claim 19, the first common retroreflector and the second common retroreflector comprising a graded refractive index material having a rod shape. ( [0059] discloses a rod can act as a lens. [0044] discloses an index-matching bonding material for the lenses 208, as shown in Figure 2, which also shows the rod shape )
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Applicant argues the light beams 112 cannot be interpreted as optical fiber segments. However, this is not persuasive because the term “optical fiber segment” is broad and needs to be better define. To clarify, the claim requires the optical fiber segments define an optical path. Respectfully, please note the similarities between the current application’s Figure 2 and Rockwell’s Figure 1. The optical path 220 is akin to the light beams 112 and reasonably interpreted as being part of, or defined, as “optical fiber segments”. In particular, the term “segment” is broad and needs to be better defined.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621