DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 3/18/2024 has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bar-Zeev et. al US 20120068913 (hereinafter “Bar-Zeev”) with evidence by Kranz et. al US Patent 7,401,920 (hereinafter “Kranz”).
Examiner’s note: Bar-Zeev incorporates by reference Kranz (Bar-Zeev para. 0048 – U.S. Pat. No. 7,401,920, titled "Head mounted eye tracking and display system" issued Jul. 22, 2008 to Ophir et al., incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 1, Bar-Zeev teaches a system comprising:
a light source (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 124) with adjustable emission (Kranz col. 5 lines 43-46, see also Bar-Zeev para. 0048 which incorporates Kranz by reference) and positioned to illuminate an eye of a user with light (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - shows 124 illuminating eye 118, see also para. 0048);
a light detector (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 126) positioned to generate data corresponding to light from the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - shows 126 tracking eye 118, see also para. 0048);
a shutter (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 106) with adjustable transmission (Bar-Zeev para. 0051) and positioned between the eye of the user and an external environment (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 106 is between 120 and 118); and
a control module (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 100, 212, 222, 232, or a central module, see also para. 0054, 0059, 0062-0064) configured to control the light source (Bar-Zeev para. 0059) and the shutter (Bar-Zeev para. 0054) to synchronize repeated variations of transmission of the shutter with repeated variations of emission from the light source (Bar-Zeev para. 0051 discusses the controllable light transmissivity of each pixel in the opacity filter, and Kranz col. 5 lines 43-46 discusses adjusting the light beam based on ambient light).
Regarding claim 2, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein the shutter (106) does not block propagation of the light from the light source (124) to the eye of the user (118) to the light detector (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 106 does not block 124 or 126 from 118).
Regarding claim 3, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, wherein to synchronize repeated variations of the shutter (106) with repeated variations of the light source (124), the control module (212, 222, 232) is further configured to:
reduce light emission from the light source (124) prior to or concurrently with increasing the transmission of the shutter (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam); and
reduce transmission of the shutter (106) prior to or concurrently with increasing emission of the light source (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light no longer exceeds a certain threshold, the light source may be switched back on).
Regarding claim 4, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, further comprising:
a display (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 102) positioned to display images to the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – beam 110 is projected through 112 toward 118), the display (102) having a display state when the display emits light (Bar-Zeev para. 0066 – when 102 emits an augmented reality image) and a dark state when the display emits a reduced amount or no light (Bar-Zeev para. 0066 - when 102 does not emit an augmented reality image).
Regarding claim 5, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 4, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein the control module (212, 222, 232) is further configured to synchronize repeated variations of the shutter (controlled by 232) with repeated variations of the light source (controlled by 212) and with repeated variations of the display (controlled by 222; Bar-Zeev para. 0066 describes the process of adjusting the transmission of the opacity filter based on the augmented reality image, and Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 discusses adjusting the intensity of the light beam based on ambient light).
Regarding claim 6, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 4, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein:
when the shutter (106) is in a transmissive state (Bar-Zeev para. 0051 and 0066):
the light source (124) emits a reduced amount of light or no light (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam), and
the display (102) is in the dark state (Bar-Zeev para. 0066 - when 102 does not emit an augmented reality image); and
when the light source (124) emits light:
the display (102) is in the display state (Bar-Zeev para. 0066 – when 102 emits an augmented reality image), and
the shutter (106) is in a blocking state (Bar-Zeev para. 0118) that blocks stray or scattered light produced by the light source (124) and the display (106) from leaking in the external environment (Bar-Zeev para. 0074 – pixels of the opacity filter closer to the augmented reality image at the boundary are more opaque while the pixels further from the image at the boundary are more light-transmissive, which would block light from entering the image from the environment or exiting to the environment).
Regarding claim 7, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 4, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein:
when the shutter (106) is in a transmissive state (Bar-Zeev para. 0051 and 0066):
the light source (124) emits a reduced amount of light or no light (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam), and
the display (102) is in the dark state (Bar-Zeev para. 0066 - when 102 does not emit an augmented reality image);
when the light source (124) emits light (Kranz col. 7 lines 42-67):
the display (102) is in the dark state (Bar-Zeev para. 0066 - when 102 does not emit an augmented reality image), and
the shutter is in a blocking state and blocks stray or scattered light produced by the light source from leaking in the external environment (Bar-Zeev para. 0074 – pixels of the opacity filter closer to the augmented reality image at the boundary are more opaque while the pixels further from the image at the boundary are more light-transmissive, which would block light from entering the image from the environment or exiting to the environment); and
when the display (102) is in the display state (Bar-Zeev para. 0066 – when 102 emits an augmented reality image):
the light source (124) emits a reduced amount of light or no light (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam), and
the shutter (106) is in the blocking state (Bar-Zeev para. 0118) and blocks stray or scattered light produced by the display from leaking in the external environment (Bar-Zeev para. 0074 – pixels of the opacity filter closer to the augmented reality image at the boundary are more opaque while the pixels further from the image at the boundary are more light-transmissive, which would block light from entering the image from the environment or exiting to the environment).
Regarding claim 11, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 4, and Bar-Zeev further teaches further comprising an optical system that provides:
a first optical path for light emitted from the light source (124) to the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev para. 0049), and
a second optical path for light emitted from the display (102) to the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 110/116),
wherein the first optical path and the second optical path are the same (Bar-Zeev para. 0049 – light used by the tracking camera may be carried via the optical component 112, therefore 116 would have the same optical path for both 102 and 124).
Regarding claim 12, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 4, and Bar-Zeev further teaches further comprising an optical system that provides:
a first optical path for light emitted from the light source (124) to the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 128 goes from 124 to 118), and
a second optical path for light emitted from the display (102) to the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 110/116 go from 106 to 118),
wherein the first optical path (128) and the second optical path (110/116) are different optical paths (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 128 and 110/116 are different paths).
Regarding claim 13, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein the control module (212, 222, 232) is further configured to synchronize the light detector (126) generating data of the eye (118) with repeated variations of emission from the light source (124, para. 0048 and 0059 – the IR emitter and IR sensor are controlled by processor 212 and the sensor senses light from the emitter).
Regarding claim 14, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, and Kranz further teaches further comprising a filter positioned to block stray or scattered light produced by the light source (Kranz col. 2 lines 32-34) from leaking in the external environment (Kranz col. 2 lines 32-34 – a bandpass filter blocks out all wavelengths but that of the cursor).
Regarding claim 15, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein the control module (212, 222, 232) is further configured to determine a gaze of the eye of the user based on data generated by the light detector (Bar-Zeev para. 0048 and 0059 – the processor 212 would handle data from 126, see also Kranz col. 7 lines 30-40).
Regarding claim 16, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein the light source (124) only emits light of infrared wavelengths (Bar-Zeev para. 0048).
Regarding claim 17, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein the system is part of a head-mounted display (HMD) (Bar-Zeev fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 1, and Bar-Zeev further teaches further comprising:
an optical system that provides:
a first optical path for light from the external environment (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 120) to the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 114/116 goes from 120 to 118),
a second optical path for light emitted from the light source (124) to the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 128 extends from 124 to 118), and
a third optical path for light reflected from the eye of the user (118) to the light detector (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 130 extends from 126 to 118).
Regarding claim 19, Bar-Zeev teaches a method comprising:
emitting light by a light source (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 124) positioned to illuminate an eye of a user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 124 illuminates eye 118);
while the light source (124) is emitting light:
generating data of the eye of the user (118) by a light detector (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 126, para. 0048 and 0059 – the processor 212 would handle data from 126, see also Kranz col. 7 lines 30-40); and
blocking stray light by a shutter (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 106) of the computing system and positioned between the eye of the user (118) and an external environment (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 106 is between 120 and 118);
reducing or ceasing to emit light by the light source (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam); and
while the light source (124) is emitting a reduced amount of light or no light (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam), transitioning the shutter (106) to a transmissive state that allows light from the external environment to propagate toward the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev para. 0051).
Regarding claim 20, Bar-Zeev teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations comprising:
emitting light by a light source (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 124) of the computing system and positioned to illuminate an eye of a user (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 124 illuminates eye 118);
while the light source (124) is emitting light:
generating data of the eye of the user (118) by a light detector (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 126) of the computing system (Bar-Zeev para. 0048 and 0059 – the processor 212 would handle data from 126, see also Kranz col. 7 lines 30-40); and
blocking stray light by a shutter (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 - 106) of the computing system and positioned between the eye of the user (118) and an external environment (Bar-Zeev fig. 1 – 106 is between 120 and 118);
reducing or ceasing to emit light by the light source (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam), and
while the light source (124) is emitting a reduced amount of light or no light (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam), transitioning the shutter (106) to a transmissive state that allows light from the external environment to propagate toward the eye of the user (Bar-Zeev para. 0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar-Zeev and Kranz as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Agaoglu et. al US 20200019238 (hereinafter “Agaoglu”).
Regarding claim 8, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 4, and Bar-Zeev further teaches wherein:
when the shutter (106) is in a blocking state (Bar-Zeev para. 0118):
the light source (124) emits a reduced amount of light or no light (Kranz col. 12-13 lines 64-6 – once the intensity of ambient light exceeds a certain threshold, the light source to substantially reduce or completely eliminate the intensity of the light beam).
Bar-Zeev does not specify at a first time period, the light source emits light and the display is in the dark state; and at a second time period subsequent to or prior to the first time period, the light source emits a reduced amount of light or no light and the display is in the display state.
In the same field of endeavor, Agaoglu teaches at a first time period, the light source emits light (Agaoglu para. 0019, 0024-0025, and 0034) and the display is in the dark state (Agaoglu para. 0039 – when a blink is detected, the display may be shut off or placed in a low power state); and
at a second time period subsequent to or prior to the first time period, the display is in the display state (Agaoglu para. 0039 – when a person’s eye is open or not blinking, the display continues to display) for the purpose of saving computational power (Agaoglu para. 0039). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first time interval and a second time interval as taught by Agaoglu in the system of Bar-Zeev in order to save computational power (Agaoglu para. 0039).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar-Zeev as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Westerinen et. al US 20130335404 (hereinafter “Westerinen”).
Regarding claim 10, Bar-Zeev teaches the system of claim 4.
Bar-Zeev does not specify a filter along an optical path of light which blocks stray or scattered light.
In the same field of endeavor, Westerinen teaches a filter along an optical path for light reflected from the eye of the user to the light detector (Westerinen fig. 4 – detector 46 faces eye 38, and para. 0025 says the aperture of 46 may include a wavelength filter matched to the output wavelength band of the illuminator), the filter configured to block stray or scattered light produced by the display from propagating along the optical path toward the light detector (Westerinen para. 0025 – the aperture of detector 46 may include a wavelength filter matched to the wavelength band of the illuminator, which would filter out any wavelengths not within the wavelength band of the illuminator) for the purpose of estimating the position of the pupil with respect to eye orbit, as well as the extent of closure of the iris (Westerinen para. 0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a filter along an optical path of light as taught by Westerinen in the system of Bar-Zeev in order to estimate the position of the pupil with respect to eye orbit, as well as the extent of closure of the iris (Westerinen para. 0025).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record does not disclose nor teach “the system of claim 4, wherein:
at a first time period: the shutter is in a blocking state, the light source emits light, and the display is in the dark state;
at a second time period subsequent to the first time period: the shutter is in a transmissive state, the light source emits a reduced amount of light or no light, and the display is in the dark state; and
at a third time period subsequent to the first time period and the second time period: the shutter is in a blocking state, the light source emits a reduced amount of light or no light, and the display is in the display state” in combination with all the limitations of claims 1 and 4.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bar-Zeev et. al US Patent 8,941,559, patent of Bar-Zeev et. al US 20120068913;
Gollier et. al US Patent 10,474,229, discloses a similar invention to the instant application;
Schneider et. al US 20150173846, discloses synchronizing a camera or shutter with a light source to save power;
Taniguchi US 20190064923, discloses timing the irradiation of a user’s eyes to be slightly earlier than the imaging timing and performing ON/OFF;
Fullam US Patent 9,699,436, discloses a similar invention to the instant application;
Ueda US 20250251598, discloses a similar invention to the instant application;
Bell et. al US 20180314066 discloses a similar invention to the instant application.
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872