DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the block shaded drawings are not acceptable and do not adequately show the invention. Figures 10-17 include writing and text that are not legible. Black and white LINE DRAWINGS must be submitted. Please see MPEP 608.02 Section VII. “To be acceptable, Black and White photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent. If several photographs are used to make one sheet of drawings, the photographs must be contained on a single sheet.” Please note the reproduction of Figures 10-13 in Published Application US 2024/0262562.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim 11 recites “one or more lugs molded into a side of the tote liner”. This is not shown in the drawings nor assigned a reference number.
Claim 12 recites “two or more sides comprise a length that is adjustable.” This is not shown in the drawings, as there are no sidewalls with adjustable length demonstrated or shown. It is unclear what part of the structure of Figure 14 is adjustable.
Claim 13 recites “a temperature sensor cover”. While text reciting a “temperature sensor cover” is shown in Figure 15, it is unclear what part of the liner is being indicated in the drawings. Paragraph 0046 recites “[the liner] must allow the temperature sensor access to the inside of the liner for temperature monitoring of the actively cooled tote.” It is now shown how a cover may further allow access to the inside of the liner and more details must be shown to enable such a sensor cover, especially as the temperature sensor is not shown in relation to the liner. Please note that while Figure 4 shows a temperature control sensor (420), this reference number is absent in the written description and Figure 4 makes no reference to a liner.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: Figure 4 shows multiple elements with reference numbers, none of which appear in the written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding Claim 11, the claim recites “one or more lugs molded into a side of the tote liner.” This is not enabled.
Paragraph 0048 of Published Application US 2024/0262562 describes the addition of molded lugs which allow for the liner to be nestable or stackable if the lug pattern is rotated 180 degrees relative to the liner below it. Firstly it is not understood how a one hundred and eighty degree rotation would enable this as the molded lug structure is not clearly shown. Figure 11 appears to show two insets on one side of the liner and three insets on an opposite side of the liner. It is unclear if such insets are “lugs” as claimed or if such lugs recited in the claim relate to the stacking lugs.
Regarding Claim 12, the claim recites “two or more sides comprise a length that is adjustable”. This is not enabled.
Paragraph 0051 identifies an adjustable liner with separators in Figure 14 (Paragraph 0030). However, the inclusion of sidewall dividers and separators is distinct from sidewalls with adjustable lengths. Please see Earley (US 3887102) which discloses a ventilated container with adjustable sidewall lengths. It is also not understood if the adjustment refers to the compressibility of the liner or the inclusion of separators to adjust the length of the liner. It is also not enabled or understood if the adjustability comes from the corrugated portions shown in Figure 14.
Regarding Claim 13, this claim recites “a temperature sensor cover”. This is not enabled.
A temperature sensor cover is recited only in Paragraph 0014 of the written description. There is no depiction or placement of a temperature sensor anywhere in the liner or actively cooled tote. Paragraph 0046 states that the liner must allow the temperature sensor access to the inside of the liner for temperature monitoring of the actively cooled tote. Therefore, it is unclear how a cover would allow access inside the liner for temperature monitoring. While Figure 15 shows the text of a “Temperature sensor cover”, it is unclear how such a cover is constructed or functions in relation to a temperature sensor. Therefore, this limitation is not enabled or properly described.
Claim 14 recites “a notch for interfacing with a condensation tray of a tote”. This is not enabled. While Figure 16 shows a clearance for a condensation tray, it is not set forth where this provides “an interface” for a tray. Also please note that no “condensation tray” is depicted anywhere as part of the tote. Therefore, how a notch for interfacing with the condensation tray is provided on the liner is not enabled.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 11, the lugs molded into a side of the tote liner is not enabled, as the structure is not adequately described or shown, nor is it clear that such lugs enable the stacking feature described in Paragraph 0048. Therefore, this lack of enablement also renders the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, any known lug structure will be assumed to meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 12, sides with a length that is adjustable is not enabled. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that this claim refers to the liner as capable of being compressible to fit within the tote.
Regarding Claim 13, as discussed above, what comprises a temperature sensor cover on the liner is not enabled. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that any possible structure which may interface with a temperature sensor will meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim recites “a notch for interfacing with a condensation tray of a tote.” However, no notch is recited in the written description, nor is a condensation tray mentioned anywhere except for Paragraph 0015. There is also no enablement for how such interfacing occurs. For example, does the liner rest on the tray? Does the liner mate with a corresponding section of the tray? Figure 16 shows “Clearance for Condensation Tray”. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that Claim 14 refers to the notch as a clearance section where the liner does not interface or interfere with a tray.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fosnight (US 11332311).
Regarding Claim 1, Fosnight discloses a tote liner (414-Figure 8C – Col. 10 Lines 44 - 47) used in actively cooled totes (400, 410), comprising a bottom, two or more sides, and two or more openings (430, 432) for increased airflow.
Regarding Claim 2, Fosnight discloses at least one opening of the two or more openings enables air exhaust (428) from heat exchange (Col. 11 Lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 3, Fosnight discloses at least one opening of the two or more openings enables air inlet (430) for heat exchange.
Regarding Claim 10, Fosnight discloses the liner is rectangular and therefore is stackable when rotated approximately ninety degrees.
Regarding Claim 11, Fosnight discloses one or more lugs (422, 424) molded into a side of the tote liner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fosnight (US 11332311).
Regarding Claim 13, Fosnight does not disclose any structure that interface with a temperature sensor as part of the liner. Fosnight does disclose that monitoring devices such as temperature and/or humidity may be provided with an exhaust duct or in an insulated door to monitor the environmental state of the tote (Col. 11 Lines 22-25). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize and find obvious that other structures may be incorporated into the liner of Fosnight such as a temperature sensor and cover in order to more effectively monitor the temperature conditions within the liner.
Regarding Claim 14, while Fosnight does not disclose a notch or clearance for a condensation tray, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the shape and structure of the liner may be modified to properly fit the liner within a particular tote having design features such as a condensation tray. Therefore, to include such a notch or clearance is an obvious variation in order to have proper fitment of the liner within the tote.
Claims 4-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fosnight (US 11332311) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Santoro (US 2022/0113083).
Regarding Claim 4, Fosnight discloses the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above. Fosnight does not disclose one or more handles comprising a flexible material attached to the tote liner.
Santoro discloses a similar liner (100) for a chest (200), the liner having ventilation or drainage holes (110) and sidewalls (120) and further comprising handles (140) that may be made of rope, bar or any other handle typically used to carry a basket or caddy (Paragraph 0044). Fosnight and Santoro are analogous inventions in the art of liners for cold storage coolers.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner of Fosnight with the flexible handles of Santoro in order to allow easy and simple removal of the liner from an outer container (Paragraph 0044). Please also note that Santoro discloses that the handles may be folded down internally when not in use so that the handles do not interfere with the cover of the outer chest (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding Claim 5, while Santoro discloses rope, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that the claimed strong fabric would be a simple substitution for the rope specified and such a substitution would produce no unexpected results in the functioning of the liner handles.
Regarding Claim 6, Santoro discloses the ice chest liner is made from a flexible and water-resistant material such as plastic, silicone, rubber, elastic or a combination thereof (Paragraph 0037). Such materials are known to retain flexibility at low temperature.
Regarding Claim 7, while Santoro does not disclose the liner is built from a folded corrugated plastic material, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that corrugated plastic materials may be used as the flexibly stiff panel materials specified in Santoro.
Regarding Claim 8, as discussed above, Santoro discloses the handles may fold within the volume of the liner. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that this may be within the corrugated plastic material claimed.
Regarding Claim 9, while Santoro does not disclose the liner is built from a flexible foam material, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that foam may be used as the flexibly stiff panel materials specified in Santoro as a known flexibly stiff material suitable for use in a cold transport container liner.
Regarding Claim 12, the flexible material of Santoro would provide a compressible structure that can adjust in length and may adjust to fit a wide variety of coolers or cooled totes (Paragraph 0037).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3736