DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/25/2026. The examiner notes that “without traverse” does not appear to be specifically stated, but implied as there are no arguments of traversal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewitt (US 3574496 A), hereinafter Hewitt, in view of Bright (US 4220857 A), hereinafter Bright.
Regarding claim 1, Hewitt discloses a sensor device for detecting a presence or absence of a flame, the sensor device comprising:
a fuel sensor configured to detect combustion of a fuel used to produce the flame (“An optical or ultraviolet sensor 63 is positioned to be able to view the spark plug 55 and the flame from burner 54” column 4, line 26);
an electrostatic charge variation sensor including first and second electrodes spaced from each other and configured to detect respective electrostatic charge variations generated by the flame (“At the remote end of the burner 54 is located a pair of contacts of a remote flame rectification sensor 59. One of these contacts is directly connected by a conductor 62 to the conductor 47 and the other of the pair of contacts is connected to ground conductor 34” column 4, line 20); and
a control unit operatively coupled to the fuel sensor and the electrostatic charge variation sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to:
acquire, through the fuel sensor, a fuel signal indicative of a presence of combustion of the fuel used to produce the flame (“gas is ignited by the spark and the resulting flame is then observed by sensor 63” column 5, line 19);
acquire, through the electrostatic charge variation sensor, an electrostatic charge variation signal indicative of a difference between the electrostatic charge variations detected by the first and the second electrodes (“The flame also allows current to flow in the remote flame rectification sensor 59 which is effective to maintain a charge on capacitor C3 and to prevent the lockout switch from operating and in addition the capacitor C4 is charged to operate the ignition override switch by preventing conduction of Q4” column 5, line 21);
determine a quantized signal by processing the electrostatic charge variation signal (“As the flame reaches the end of the burner, the remote flame rectification sensor 59 which is in the flame becomes conductive and a current flows which is effective to perform two separate functions. The remote sensor detects the presence of a flame by the property of flame rectification, that is, the effect whereby the electrical conduction of the flame is not the same in both directions” column 6, line 56);
determine an aggregate datum indicative of an aggregation of the fuel signal and the electrostatic charge variation signal; and
generate, as a function of the aggregate datum, a flame signal indicative of the presence or absence of the flame (“The gas is ignited by the spark and the resulting flame is then observed by sensor 63 to maintain the gas valve open. The flame also allows current to flow in the remote flame rectification sensor 59 which is effective to maintain a charge on capacitor C3 and to prevent the lockout switch from operating” column 5, line 19).
Hewitt does not disclose:
a carbon dioxide sensor configured to detect a concentration of carbon dioxide in air, generated by the flame;
the control unit operatively coupled to the carbon dioxide sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to:
acquire, through the carbon dioxide sensor, a carbon dioxide signal indicative of the concentration of carbon dioxide generated by the flame;
the aggregate datum indicative the carbon dioxide signal.
However, Bright teaches:
a carbon dioxide sensor configured to detect a concentration of carbon dioxide in air, generated by the flame (“the detector 13 can be utilized for sensing a product of combustion such as carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) having radiation at 4.4 microns” column 3, line 48);
the control unit operatively coupled to the carbon dioxide sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to:
acquire, through the carbon dioxide sensor, a carbon dioxide signal indicative of the concentration of carbon dioxide generated by the flame;
the aggregate datum indicative the carbon dioxide signal (“The electrical output from the amplifier 14 is supplied to a level comparator 18 and also to a ratio detector 19. Similarly, the output of the amplifier 17 of the second channel means is supplied to a second level comparator 21 and also to the ratio detector 19. The output from the ratio detector 19 is supplied to a third level comparator 22” column 3, line 63).
In view of Bright’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the carbon dioxide sensor as is taught in Bright, in the sensor device disclosed by Hewitt because Bright states “It also can be seen from the foregoing that a system method has been provided which is more sensitive in actually detecting fires and explosions. It is much less likely to false alarm and will operate satisfactorily even if there is substantial background radiation” (column 14, line 41). Therefore, including the sensor taught by Bright will improve sensitivity and reduce false results in Hewitt.
Regarding claim 7, Hewitt discloses an ignition system for igniting a flame, the ignition system comprising:
a dispensing device coupleable to a fuel source and controllable to dispense a fuel received from the fuel source (“gas is supplied by means of a valve 53 to a burner 54” column 4, line 9);
a spark generator controllable to generate a spark and coupled to the dispensing device so as to produce the flame in response to the generated spark at the fuel dispensed by the dispensing device (“The output of the spark ignition is supplied to a spark plug 55 which generates an ignition spark at the burner 54” column 1, line 68); and
a sensor device operatively coupled to the dispensing device and to the spark generator so as to detect a presence or absence of the flame, the sensor device comprising:
a fuel sensor configured to detect combustion of the fuel used to produce the flame (“An optical or ultraviolet sensor 63 is positioned to be able to view the spark plug 55 and the flame from burner 54” column 4, line 26);
an electrostatic charge variation sensor including first and second electrodes spaced from each other and configured to detect respective electrostatic charge variations generated by the flame (“At the remote end of the burner 54 is located a pair of contacts of a remote flame rectification sensor 59. One of these contacts is directly connected by a conductor 62 to the conductor 47 and the other of the pair of contacts is connected to ground conductor 34” column 4, line 20); and
a control unit operatively coupled to the fuel sensor and the electrostatic charge variation sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to:
acquire, through the fuel sensor, a fuel signal indicative of a presence of combustion of the fuel used to produce the flame (“gas is ignited by the spark and the resulting flame is then observed by sensor 63” column 5, line 19);
acquire, through the electrostatic charge variation sensor, an electrostatic charge variation signal indicative of a difference between the electrostatic charge variations detected by the first and the second electrodes (“The flame also allows current to flow in the remote flame rectification sensor 59 which is effective to maintain a charge on capacitor C3 and to prevent the lockout switch from operating and in addition the capacitor C4 is charged to operate the ignition override switch by preventing conduction of Q4” column 5, line 21);
determine a quantized signal by processing the electrostatic charge variation signal (“As the flame reaches the end of the burner, the remote flame rectification sensor 59 which is in the flame becomes conductive and a current flows which is effective to perform two separate functions. The remote sensor detects the presence of a flame by the property of flame rectification, that is, the effect whereby the electrical conduction of the flame is not the same in both directions” column 6, line 56);
determine an aggregate datum indicative of an aggregation of the fuel signal and the electrostatic charge variation signal; and
generate, as a function of the aggregate datum, a flame signal indicative of the presence or absence of the flame (“The gas is ignited by the spark and the resulting flame is then observed by sensor 63 to maintain the gas valve open. The flame also allows current to flow in the remote flame rectification sensor 59 which is effective to maintain a charge on capacitor C3 and to prevent the lockout switch from operating” column 5, line 19).
Hewitt does not disclose:
a carbon dioxide sensor configured to detect a concentration of carbon dioxide in air, generated by the flame;
the control unit operatively coupled to the carbon dioxide sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to:
acquire, through the carbon dioxide sensor, a carbon dioxide signal indicative of the concentration of carbon dioxide generated by the flame;
wherein the aggregate datum is indicative of an aggregation of the carbon dioxide signal.
However, Bright teaches:
a carbon dioxide sensor configured to detect a concentration of carbon dioxide in air, generated by the flame (“the detector 13 can be utilized for sensing a product of combustion such as carbon dioxide (CO.sub.2) having radiation at 4.4 microns” column 3, line 48);
the control unit operatively coupled to the carbon dioxide sensor, wherein the control unit is configured to:
acquire, through the carbon dioxide sensor, a carbon dioxide signal indicative of the concentration of carbon dioxide generated by the flame;
the aggregate datum indicative the carbon dioxide signal (“The electrical output from the amplifier 14 is supplied to a level comparator 18 and also to a ratio detector 19. Similarly, the output of the amplifier 17 of the second channel means is supplied to a second level comparator 21 and also to the ratio detector 19. The output from the ratio detector 19 is supplied to a third level comparator 22” column 3, line 63).
In view of Bright’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the carbon dioxide sensor as is taught in Bright, in the sensor device disclosed by Hewitt because Bright states “It also can be seen from the foregoing that a system method has been provided which is more sensitive in actually detecting fires and explosions. It is much less likely to false alarm and will operate satisfactorily even if there is substantial background radiation” (column 14, line 41). Therefore, including the sensor taught by Bright will improve sensitivity and reduce false results in Hewitt.
Regarding claim 8, Hewitt, as modified by Bright, discloses the ignition system according to claim 7, further comprising a main control unit operatively coupled to the dispensing device, the spark generator and the sensor device and configured to:
receive from the sensor device the flame signal indicative of the presence or absence of the flame; and
control the dispensing device as a function of the flame signal, in such a way as to prevent the fuel from dispensing in response to the flame signal being indicative of the absence of the flame (“The various charging events explained above, normally occurring during the negative half cycles, that is, charging of capacitors C6, C8 and C10, is prevented by the lockout. The relay 64 then drops out closing the fuel valve means 53. Another way of explaining this action is that, when the timer capacitor C3 is sufficiently discharged by R4, Q1 will begin to conduct where before it did not. Thus C5 will not only charge as before but will discharge via Q1, depriving Q2 of its firing pulses. This condition is reached when the system goes into lockout. It should be noted that one of the self-checking features is at work here, the system is checking components on one half cycle and using then on the next” column 7, line 20).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewitt, in view of Bright, and further in view of Bertelli (US 20230288063 A1), hereinafter Bertelli.
Regarding claim 6, Hewitt, as modified by Bright, discloses the sensor device according to claim 1.
Hewitt, as modified by Bright, does not disclose wherein:
the sensor device further comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the air dependent on the presence or absence of the flame; and
the control unit is operatively coupled to the temperature sensor, and further configured to:
acquire, through the temperature sensor, a temperature signal indicative of the temperature of the air; and
in response to both the temperature signal being indicative of the absence of the flame and the flame signal being indicative of the presence of the flame, impose that the flame signal is indicative of the absence of the flame and/or generate a sensor warning signal.
However, Bertelli teaches wherein:
the sensor device further comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the air dependent on the presence or absence of the flame (“a step of receiving a temperature signal, representing a temperature inside a combustion cell of the burner. This temperature may, for example, be measured both in contact with, or in proximity to, the inside surface of the burner (not on the side where the flame is formed) or on the outside, in the combustion chamber, (on the side where the flame is) with a similar result” paragraph [0031]); and
the control unit is operatively coupled to the temperature sensor, and further configured to:
acquire, through the temperature sensor, a temperature signal indicative of the temperature of the air; and
in response to both the temperature signal being indicative of the absence of the flame and the flame signal being indicative of the presence of the flame, impose that the flame signal is indicative of the absence of the flame and/or generate a sensor warning signal (“According to an aspect of the method, the processor, based on the flame signal and/or on the temperature signal, generates a burner ignited confirmation signal” paragraph [0042]).
In view of Bertelli's teachings it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a temperature sensor because the court has held combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 163 USPQ 673 (1969). In this case, Hewitt discloses a plurality of flame detection sensors, but is silent on a temperature sensor. Bertelli teaches a plurality of flame detection sensors including a temperature sensor. The combination of these references results, predictably, in no more or less than the sum of the constituent parts. The court has also held that “the convenience of putting… together… elements in one machine, though perhaps a matter of great convenience does not produce a new or different function.” Id. at 60, 163 USPQ at 674.
Regarding claim 10, Hewitt, as modified by Bright, discloses the ignition system according to claim 7.
Hewitt, as modified by Bright, does not disclose wherein:
the sensor device further comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the air dependent on the presence or absence of the flame; and
the control unit is operatively coupled to the temperature sensor, and further configured to:
acquire, through the temperature sensor, a temperature signal indicative of the temperature of the air; and
in response to both the temperature signal being indicative of the absence of the flame and the flame signal being indicative of the presence of the flame, impose that the flame signal is indicative of the absence of the flame and/or generate a sensor warning signal.
However, Bertelli teaches wherein:
the sensor device further comprises a temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature of the air dependent on the presence or absence of the flame (“a step of receiving a temperature signal, representing a temperature inside a combustion cell of the burner. This temperature may, for example, be measured both in contact with, or in proximity to, the inside surface of the burner (not on the side where the flame is formed) or on the outside, in the combustion chamber, (on the side where the flame is) with a similar result” paragraph [0031]); and
the control unit is operatively coupled to the temperature sensor, and further configured to:
acquire, through the temperature sensor, a temperature signal indicative of the temperature of the air; and
in response to both the temperature signal being indicative of the absence of the flame and the flame signal being indicative of the presence of the flame, impose that the flame signal is indicative of the absence of the flame and/or generate a sensor warning signal (“According to an aspect of the method, the processor, based on the flame signal and/or on the temperature signal, generates a burner ignited confirmation signal” paragraph [0042]).
In view of Bertelli's teachings it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a temperature sensor because the court has held combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results supports a conclusion of obviousness Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 163 USPQ 673 (1969). In this case, Hewitt discloses a plurality of flame detection sensors, but is silent on a temperature sensor. Bertelli teaches a plurality of flame detection sensors including a temperature sensor. The combination of these references results, predictably, in no more or less than the sum of the constituent parts. The court has also held that “the convenience of putting… together… elements in one machine, though perhaps a matter of great convenience does not produce a new or different function.” Id. at 60, 163 USPQ at 674.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 recites the limitations “a tubular body having an inlet opening and an outlet opening fluidically coupled to each other through a fluidic channel of the tubular body, which extends through the tubular body and which defines a fluidic path between the inlet opening and the outlet opening, in fluidic communication with the flame such that, in the presence of the flame, the fluidic channel is flown through by an air flow that is caused by the flame and that transfers from the inlet opening to the outlet opening; wherein the control unit, the carbon dioxide sensor, the fuel sensor, and the electrostatic charge variation sensor are disposed in the tubular body, and the carbon dioxide sensor and the fuel sensor extend into the fluidic channel.” No art was found such that further modification of Hewitt and Bright would have rendered the claim obvious. Therefore, these limitations, when combined with every other limitation of the claim and base claim, distinguish the claim from the prior art. Claims 3-5 are objected to at least because they depend from claim 2.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a tubular body having an inlet opening and an outlet opening fluidically coupled to each other through a fluidic channel of the tubular body, which extends through the tubular body and which defines a fluidic path between the inlet opening and the outlet opening, in fluidic communication with the flame such that, in the presence of the flame, the fluidic channel is flown through by an air flow that is caused by the flame and that transfers from the inlet opening to the outlet opening; and wherein the control unit, the carbon dioxide sensor, the fuel sensor, and the electrostatic charge variation sensor are disposed in the tubular body, and the carbon dioxide sensor and the fuel sensor extend into the fluidic channel” and is objected to by the same or substantially the same rationale as articulated with regards to claim 2, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thomson (US 2579883 A) discloses a device which relies on both a fuel sensor and electrostatic sensor
Lennington (US 4101767 A) “Slope detector 70 determines whether or not the intensity of the radiation at 4.4 micrometers (a CO2 emission wavelength) is increasing and if it is, provides a logic `1` output signal on conductor 72 which is applied to the input of logic circuit 60. A slope detector is employed since in the known military application, a fire must be detected” column 4, line 1
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762