DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 07/08/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 10 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 5 of claim 1, “the first or second pillar” should be changed to “the first pillar or second pillar”.
In last line of claims 5, “the specific applications” should be changed to
“
In line 1 of claim 10, “the first and second pillar” should be changed to “the first and second pillars”.
In last line of claims 15, “the specific applications” should be changed to
“specific applications”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, each of claims 1 and 11 recites the claim limitations of “a printed circuit board (PCB) on the first or second pillar, configured to support the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors”.
Applicant’s original drawing and specification do not provide sufficient description to support the claim limitations of “a printed circuit board (PCB) on the first or second pillar, configured to support the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors”.
Regarding claims 2-10, claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claims 2-10 depend on all claim limitations of independent claim 1.
Regarding claims 12-20, claims 12-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because claims 12-20 depend on all claim limitations of independent claim 11.
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding in dependent claims 1 and 11, each of claims 1 and 11 recites the claim limitations of
“a first pillar having a plurality of first sensors”;
“a second pillar having a plurality of second sensors”;
“a printed circuit board (PCB) on the first or second pillar, configured to support the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors”.
Because the fist pillar and the second pillar are separate elements and the PCB is on either the first pillar or the second pillar, it creates confliction when further limiting that the PCB supports both the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors; therefore, the meets and bounds of such limitations.
For examination purpose, “a printed circuit board (PCB) on the first or second pillar, configured to support the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors” is interpreted as “a corresponding printed circuit board (PCB) on the first or second pillar, configured to support corresponding the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors”
Regarding claims 7-8, each of claims 6-9 recites “the sensors” and claims 6-9 are rejected for the same reason as rejected in claims 1 because it is not clear which one of “a plurality of first sensors” in line 3 of claim 1, “a plurality of second sensors” in line 4 of claim 1, and “one or more inductive coil sensors” in line 11-12 of claim 1 that “the sensors” is referring to; and
it is not clear whether “the sensors” refer to all of “a plurality of first sensors” in line 3 of claim 1, “a plurality of second sensors” in line 4 of claim 1, and “one or more inductive coil sensors” in line 11-12 of claim 1 or not.
Regarding claims 2-10, claims 2-10 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because claims 2-10 depend on all claim limitations of independent claim 1.
Regarding claims 17-18, each of claims 17-18 recites “the sensors”, and it is not clear which one of “a plurality of first sensors” in line 4 of claim 11, “a plurality of second sensors” in line 5 of claim 11, and “one or more inductive coil sensors” in line 15 of claim 11 that “the sensors” is referring to; and
it is not clear whether “the sensors” refer to all of “a plurality of first sensors” in line 4 of claim 11, “a plurality of second sensors” in line 5 of claim 11, and “one or more inductive coil sensors” in line 15 of claim 11 or not.
Regarding claims 12-20, claims 12-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because claims 12-20 depend on all claim limitations of independent claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manneschi (US 2021/0293988), and further in view of Xu (CN 115480314 A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Manneschi teaches a hybrid multi-sensor gateway apparatus (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039]-[0040] a combined detector 1 having left and right vertical supports 12 each with magnetostatic sensors 22) configured for multi-property array-based object detection (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0010], the combined detector 1 detects metallic objects), the gateway apparatus comprising:
a first pillar having a plurality of first sensors (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039]-[0040], left vertical support 12 having magnetostatic sensors 22);
a second pillar having a plurality of second sensors (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039]-[0040], right vertical support 12 having magnetostatic sensors 22);
a printed circuit board (PCB) on the first or second pillar, configured to support the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors (e.g. [0056], each magnetostatic sensor 22 fixed on electronic board 23 this is on corresponding left and right vertical supports 12);
a processor configured to receive data and process the data (e.g. fig. 1, [0025] and [0048], central processing unit 2 configured to receive and process signals from magnetostatic sensors); and
one or more active transmitters and receivers on the first or second pillars (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0031] and [0048], transmitter and receiver coils of an active detection system) configured to support acquisition parameters and to induce eddy currents to flow within conductive targets (e.g. fig. 2, [0091] and [0093], receiver coils 15 detects disturbance in magnetic field induced by a passage of a person and transmitter coil 14 generates alternating magnetic field which induce eddy currents to flow within metallic elements carried by the person);
one or more inductive coil sensors on the first or second pillars (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039] and [0045], coils 14 on left vertical support 12 and coils 15 on right vertical support 12), wherein the one or more inductive coil sensors are distinct from the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039] and [0045], coils 14 on left vertical support 12 and coils 15 on right vertical support 12, and coils 14 and coils 15 are distinct from each other); and
wherein the active transmitters and receivers are optimized for data collection from the plurality of first sensors, the plurality of second sensors, and the one or more inductive coil sensors (e.g. [0045] and [0058], alternately form transmitter coil 14 and receiver coil 15 which optimized for receiving signals from both coils 14, 15 and magnetostatic sensors 22).
However, Manneschi is silent with regard to a platform computer server.
Xu teaches a platform computer server configured to receive data and process the data (e.g. figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 13 of Specific implementation examples, server 61 receives and process data from monitoring module 64 via data receiving module 63).
It would produce a predictive result of having a platform computer server configured to receive data and process the data, for the purpose of improving data processing efficacy and capacity and/or making processed data ready and available for later use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi by applying the teaching of Xu to explicitly have a platform computer server configured to receive data and process the data, for the purpose of improving data processing efficacy and capacity and/or making processed data ready and available for later use.
Regarding claim 2, combination of Manneschi and Xu teaches wherein the one or more active transmitters further comprising active transmitter loops or transmitter coils (e.g. Manneschi, fig. 1, [0047], transmitter coils 14 and receiver coils 15).
Regarding claim 3, Manneschi is silent with regard to further comprising an integrated camera on the first or second pillar.
Xu teaches an integrated camera integrated onto a box (e.g. fig. 2, e.g. figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 13 of Specific implementation examples, monitoring module is a camera integrated onto box 3).
It would produce a predictive result of integrate a camera on the left vertical support 12 and/or right vertical support 12 to view a detection object from different angles, for the purpose of obtaining more detail information about the detection object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi by applying the teaching of Xu to explicitly have further comprising an integrated camera on the first or second pillar, for the purpose of obtaining more detail information about a detection object.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Manneschi and Xu teaches further comprising a Wi-Fi® module on the first or second pillar configured for the pillars to communicate over the Wi-Fi® protocol (e.g. Manneschi, fig. 1, [0061], each of left and right vertical supports 12 has a Wi-Fi communication interface in order to communication with central processing unit via Wi-Fi).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Manneschi and Xu teaches wherein the acquisition parameters are selected from a list consisting of transmitter pulse base frequency, waveform shape, ramp-time and peak current (e.g. Manneschi, figs. 5-6, different waveform shapes correspond to different objects being detected), whereby the acquisition parameters can be modified and tuned to the specific applications and expected targets (e.g. Manneschi, figs. 5-6, waveform shapes are being modified to expected objects of a miniaturized phone and an elbow element made of aluminum).
Regarding independent claim 11, Manneschi teaches a computer-implemented method for object detection (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0010] and [0060], central processing unit 2 is part of a computer which implement functionals steps in metallic objects detection), using a computer processor (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0010] and [0060], central processing unit 2) and a hybrid array-based multi-sensor gateway system (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039]-[0040] a combined detector 1 having left and right vertical supports 12 each with magnetostatic sensors 22), the method comprising the steps of:
providing a first pillar having a plurality of first sensors (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039]-[0040], proving left vertical support 12 having magnetostatic sensors 22);
providing a second pillar having a plurality of second sensors (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039]-[0040], providing right vertical support 12 having magnetostatic sensors 22);
providing a processor configured to receive data and process the data (e.g. fig. 1, [0025] and [0048], providing central processing unit 2 configured to receive and process signals from magnetostatic sensors 22);
providing a printed circuit board (PCB) on the first or second pillar, configured to support the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors (e.g. [0056], each magnetostatic sensor 22 fixed on electronic board 23 that is provided on corresponding left and right vertical supports 12);
providing one or more active transmitters and receivers on the first or second pillars (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0031] and [0048], providing transmitter and receiver coils of an active detection system) configured to support acquisition parameters and to induce eddy currents to flow within conductive targets (e.g. fig. 2, [0091] and [0093], receiver coils 15 detects disturbance in magnetic field induced by a passage of a person and transmitter coil 14 generates alternating magnetic field which induce eddy currents to flow within metallic elements carried by the person);
providing one or more inductive coil sensors on the first or second pillars (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039] and [0045], providing coils 14 on left vertical support 12 and coils 15 on right vertical support 12),
wherein the one or more inductive coil sensors are distinct from the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of second sensors (e.g. figs. 1-2, [0039] and [0045], coils 14 on left vertical support 12 and coils 15 on right vertical support 12, and coils 14 and coils 15 are distinct from each other); and
receiving data from the plurality of first sensors and the plurality of the second sensors (e.g. fig. 1, central processing unit 2 configured to receive signals from magnetostatic sensors 22 and receiver coils 14 and 15);
receiving data from the one or more inductive coil sensors (e.g. fig. 1, central processing unit 2 configured to receive signals from magnetostatic sensors 22 and receiver coils 14 and 15);;
analyzing the data using the acquisition parameters to detect objects passing through the hybrid array-based multi-sensor gateway system (e.g. figs. 1 and 8, [0048], analyzing the signals from magnetostatic sensors 22 and receiver coils 15 to generate corresponding geometry of detected objects and an alarm instruction); and
transmitting the detection results to operations and security personnel (e.g. figs. 1 and 8, [0081] and [0087], transmitted data to an operator via Human Machine Interface 4);
wherein the active transmitters and receivers are optimized for data collection from the plurality of first sensors, the plurality of second sensors, and the one or more inductive coil sensors (e.g. [0045] and [0058], alternately form transmitter coil 14 and receiver coil 15 which optimized for receiving signals from both coils 14, 15 and magnetostatic sensors 22).
However, Manneschi is silent with regard to a platform computer server; and providing an integrated camera on the first or second pillar.
Xu teaches a platform computer server configured to receive data and process the data (e.g. figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 13 of Specific implementation examples, server 61 receives and process data from monitoring module 64 via data receiving module 63).
It would produce a predictive result of having a platform computer server configured to receive data and process the data, for the purpose of improving data processing efficacy and capacity and/or making processed data ready and available for later use.
Xu also teaches an integrated camera integrated onto a box (e.g. fig. 2, e.g. figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 13 of Specific implementation examples, monitoring module is a camera integrated onto box 3).
It would produce a predictive result of integrate a camera on the left vertical support 12 and/or right vertical support 12 to view a detection object from different angles, for the purpose of obtaining more detail information about the detection object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi by applying the teaching of Xu to explicitly have a platform computer server configured to receive data and process the data; and providing an integrated camera on the first or second pillar, for the purpose of improving data processing efficacy and capacity and/or making processed data ready and available for later use, and obtaining more detail information about a detection object.
Regarding claim 12, combination of Manneschi and Xu teaches wherein the one or more active transmitter further comprising active transmitter loops or transmitter coils (e.g. Manneschi, fig. 1, [0047], transmitter coils 14 and receiver coils 15).
Regarding claim 13, Manneschi is silent with regard to further comprising an integrated camera on the first or second pillar.
Xu teaches an integrated camera integrated onto a box (e.g. fig. 2, e.g. figs. 1 and 4, paragraph 13 of Specific implementation examples, monitoring module is a camera integrated onto box 3).
It would produce a predictive result of integrate a camera on the left vertical support 12 and/or right vertical support 12 to view a detection object from different angles, for the purpose of obtaining more detail information about the detection object.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi by applying the teaching of Xu to explicitly have further comprising an integrated camera on the first or second pillar, for the purpose of obtaining more detail information about a detection object.
Regarding claim 14, combination of Manneschi and Xu teaches further comprising a Wi-Fi® module on the first pillar configured for the pillars to communicate over the Wi-Fi® protocol (e.g. Manneschi, fig. 1, [0061], each of left and right vertical supports 12 has a Wi-Fi communication interface in order to communication with central processing unit via Wi-Fi).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Manneschi and Xu teaches 15. The method of Claim 11 wherein the acquisition parameters are selected from a list consisting of transmitter pulse base frequency, waveform shape, ramp-time and peak current (e.g. Manneschi, figs. 5-6, different waveform shapes correspond to different objects being detected), whereby the acquisition parameters can be modified and tuned to the specific applications and expected targets (e.g. Manneschi, figs. 5-6, waveform shapes are being modified to expected objects of a miniaturized phone and an elbow element made of aluminum).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manneschi (US 2021/0293988) in view of Xu (CN 115480314 A), and further in view of Ohta et al. (US 2011/0025320) and Hokstad (US 2022/0187227).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, combination of Manneschi and Xu is silent with regard to wherein the one or more active transmitters and receivers comprise magnet array technology configured to simultaneously record information on all three properties including electrical conductivity, induced magnetization and remnant magnetization.
Ohta teaches a magnetic sensor having magnet array technology (e.g. fig. 1, [0041], magnetic sensor having magnetoresistive array elements 1-4) is configured to record information on magnetization (e.g. [0041], magnetic sensor detects magnetic field).
It would produce a predictive of using magnet array technology to construct magnetic sensor to record information on magnetization, for the purpose of improving accuracy in detection of magnetic field (e.g. Ohta, [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi and Xu by applying the teaching of Ohta to explicitly have wherein the magnet array technology is configured to record information on magnetization, for the purpose of improving accuracy in detection of magnetic field (e.g. Ohta, [0018]).
However, combination of Manneschi, Xu and Ohta is silent with regard to simultaneously record information on all three properties including electrical conductivity, induced magnetization and remnant magnetization.
Hokstad teaches a magnetometer configured to measure electric and magnetic fields (e.g. [0046]), and using measured electric and magnetic fields to determine parameters including electrical conductivity, induced magnetization and remnant magnetization (e.g. [0014] and [0017], electrical conductivity determined form electromagnetic data, and total magnetization including both induced and remnant magnetization determined from magnetic data).
It would produce a predictive result of using measured electric and magnetic fields to determine information on all three properties including electrical conductivity, induced magnetization and remnant magnetization for obtaining detail information on object detection and simultaneously record the information for later use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi, Xu and Ohta by applying the teaching of Hokstad to simultaneously record information on all three properties including electrical conductivity, induced magnetization and remnant magnetization, for the purpose of obtaining detail information on object detection for later use.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manneschi (US 2021/0293988) in view of Xu (CN 115480314 A), and further in view of Kawano et al. (US 2018/0284310).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, combination of Manneschi and Xu is silent with regard to wherein the sensors are tuned or enabled not to interfere with each other.
Kawano teaches sensors are tuned or enabled not to interfere with each other (e.g. fig. 12, [0015], at least two maneto-resistive bodies are not to interfere with each other magnetically).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi and Xu by applying the teaching of Kawano to have wherein the sensors are tuned or enabled not to interfere with each other, for the purpose of enabling reliable detection of objects carried by the person passing through the gateway (e.g. Kawano, [0013]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manneschi (US 2021/0293988) in view of Xu (CN 115480314 A), and further in view of Zhang (CN 214540081 U).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, combination of Manneschi and Xu teaches measure frequency passive response as magnetized objects pass through the gateway (e.g. Manneschi, figs. 1-2, [0040]-[0041], detecting miniaturized phones using passive detection system 20).
However, combination of Manneschi and Xu is silent with regard to wherein the sensors are tuned to a lower frequency in the range of 0.3-30Hz frequency range which is needed to measure the low frequency passive response.
Zhang teaches a magnetic sensor uses a lower frequency in the range of 0.3-30Hz frequency range (e.g. last two paragraphs of Specific implementation examples, low-frequency magnetic sensor uses ultra-low frequency observation frequency range of 0.01 ~ 20 Hz)
It is obvious to optimize the range to be between 0.01Hz and 0.3Hz for the minimum frequency of the frequency range because this optimized range might be characterized as routine experimentation; therefore, using this optimized range would achieve optimal results.
It would produce a predictive result of tuning the sensors to use a lower frequency in the range of 0.3-30Hz frequency range to measure the low frequency passive response, for the purpose of improving sensitivity of the sensors more effectively (e.g. Zhang, last two paragraphs of Specific implementation examples).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi and Xu by applying the teaching of Zhang to have wherein the sensors are tuned to a lower frequency in the range of 0.3-30Hz frequency range which is needed to measure the low frequency passive response, for the purpose of improving sensitivity of the sensors more effectively (e.g. Zhang, last two paragraphs of Specific implementation examples).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manneschi (US 2021/0293988) in view of Xu (CN 115480314 A), and further in view of Jenkins (US 2023/0138314).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, combination of Manneschi and Xu is silent with regard to comprising hardware filters and non-overlapping frequency ranges of the plurality of first sensors, the plurality of second sensors, and the one or more inductive coil sensors to retrieve data from the plurality of first sensors, the plurality of second sensors, and the one or more inductive coil sensors.
Jenkins teaches filters and non-overlapping frequency ranges of the components to retrieve data (e.g. fig. 15, [0490] and [0501], frequency filters and band-pass filters with different non-overlapping frequency ranges are applied to obtain filtered signals).
It would produce a predicted result of implementing the filters and non-overlapping frequency ranges of the components to retrieve data as taught by Jenkins by using hardware filters with non-overlapping frequency ranges to filter signals from all the sensors to obtain filtered signals, for the purpose of removing unwanted frequency components to improve detection accuracy.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi and Xu by applying the teaching of Jenkins to have comprising hardware filters and non-overlapping frequency ranges of the plurality of first sensors, the plurality of second sensors, and the one or more inductive coil sensors to retrieve data from the plurality of first sensors, the plurality of second sensors, and the one or more inductive coil sensors, for the purpose of removing unwanted frequency components to improve detection accuracy.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manneschi (US 2021/0293988) in view of Xu (CN 115480314 A), and further in view of Manneschi_692 (US 10,859,692).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, combination of Manneschi and Xu is silent with regard to wherein the first and second pillar are configured as planter boxes or bollard posts.
However, Manneschi_692 teaches a first and second pillar are configured as posts (e.g. abstract, figs. 1-2, posts 10 and 20).
It would produce a predictive result of making the first and second pillars into shape of planter boxes or bollard posts, for the purpose of making the first and second pillars more appealing and/or matching the first and second pillars with their surrounding environments.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Manneschi and Xu by applying the teaching of Manneschi_692 to have wherein the first and second pillar are configured as planter boxes or bollard posts, for the purpose of making the first and second pillars more appealing and/or matching the first and second pillars with their surrounding environments.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ciureanu (deceased) et al. (US 20070040551) teaches “A high sensitivity magnetic anomaly detector for geomagnetic exploration comprises a shorted coaxial transmission line having as central conductor an amorphous magnetic wire. A static magnetic field is applied along the transmission line. A transverse electromagnetic wave also propagates along the transmission line and excites a ferromagnetic resonance of the magnetic ions located within the depth of penetration of the circumferential microwave magnetic field into the magnetic wire. The microwave giant magnetoimpedance effect occurring in the magnetic wire changes the magnetic wire impedance as follows: the real part of the impedance peaks and the imaginary part passes through zero at a given frequency (the ferromagnetic resonance frequency). This frequency depends on the saturation magnetization of the magnetic wire and the strength of the static magnetic field. A slight variation of the Earth's magnetic field (a magnetic anomaly) changes this frequency, thus providing information about large metallic masses hidden under the Earth's surface or underwater” (e.g. Fig. 4, abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAIDONG ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 9/30/2026