DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arthur et al. (WO 2024/057004 A1).
With regard to claim 19: Arthur et al. discloses a prefabricated wall (5) (figs. 2A-2B, 6 and 12A), comprising:
a surface (exposed surface of service layer 71) (figs. 2A-2B);
a depressed face (A) spaced apart from the surface (exposed outer surface of service layer 71) (figs. 2A-2B);
an electrical assembly cavity (recess 77 for pattress boxes and other larger fittings) adjacent to the depressed face (A) (figs. 2A-2B);
a first electrical pathway (B) extending from the electrical assembly cavity (recess 77) (figs. 2A-2B); and
a second electrical pathway (C) extending from an end of the first electrical pathway (B) at an angle from between 0 and 90 degrees of the first electrical pathway (C) (figs. 2A-2B).
Fig. 2A: Arthur et al. (WO 2024/057004 A1)
With regard to claim 20: Arthur et al. discloses that the first electrical pathway (A) consists of a first end (top end), a second end (bottom end), and a remaining portion (between the top and bottom ends) (figs. 2A-2B);
the first end (top end) opens to the electrical assembly cavity (77);
the second end (bottom end) opens to the second electrical pathway (C) (figs. 2A-2B); and
the remaining portion (between the top and bottom ends of the first electrical pathway A) is surrounded by an interior portion of the prefabricated wall (5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arthur et al. (WO 2024/057004 A1) in view of Shaw et al. (US 8,752,346 B1).
With regard to claim 1: Arthur et al. discloses a method for forming a prefabricated wall (5) (figs. 2A-2B, 6 and 12A), comprising:
forming a depressed face (A) in a panel (service layer 71) (figs. 2A-2B);
forming an electrical assembly cavity (recess 77 for pattress boxes and other larger fittings) adjacent to the depressed face (A) (figs. 2A-2B; pg. 8, lines 7-9; pg. 16, lines 2-4).
forming a first electrical pathway (B) extending from the electrical assembly cavity (77) (fig. 2A; pg. 8, lines 7-9); and
forming a second electrical pathway (C) extending from an end of the first electrical pathway at an angle from between 0 and 90 degrees of the first electrical pathway (B) (fig. 2A; pg. 8, lines 7-9).
Arthur et al. does not disclose removing a first portion of the panel to form the depressed face;
removing a second portion of the panel to form the electrical assembly cavity; removing a third portion of the panel to form the first electrical pathway extending; and removing a fourth portion of the panel to form the second electrical pathway.
However, Shaw et al. discloses a panel (10) formed of pressed and glued wood plies (plywood) comprising recessed areas including pathways (grooves 11) for receiving utilities (heat transfer tubing 15) that are cut by a router (figs. 1-4, 6 and 8-9C; col. 2 , lines 50-58; col. 4, lines 20-22; claims 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Arthur et al. to have the panel be formed of pressed and glued wood plies having the recessed areas comprising the pathways formed by removal of portions of the panel by routing such as taught by Shaw et al. in order to provide known means of removing material that is precise and accurate for creating a desired pattern with ease. Arthur et al. as modified by Shaw et al. would result in the method including the steps of removing a first portion of the panel to form the depressed face; removing a second portion of the panel to form the electrical assembly cavity; removing a third portion of the panel to form the first electrical pathway; and removing a fourth portion of the panel to form the second electrical pathway.
With regard to claims 2-3: Arthur et al. as modified by Shaw et al. does not disclose that the panel comprises a mass timber panel. Arthur et al. as modified by Shaw et al. does not disclose that the panel comprises a cross-laminated timber (CLT) panel, a glue-laminated timber (GLT) panel, or a mass plywood panel (MPP).
It would have been an obvious matter design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the panel of Arthur et al. out of mass timber panel comprising a cross-laminated timber panel, a glue-laminated timber panel, or a mass plywood panel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 233. Mass timber panel including a cross-laminated timber panel, a glue-laminated timber panel, or a mass plywood panel are well-known materials for use in panel construction and would have been an obvious material choice before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for its inherent material properties such as strength and durability.
With regard to claim 4: Arthur et al. discloses that the panel (71) extends in a first direction (horizontal direction); and
at least one of the electrical assembly cavity (77), and the second electrical pathway (C) extends in the first direction (horizontal direction) (figs. 2A-2B).
With regard to claim 5: Arthur et al. discloses forming the first electrical pathway (B) at an angle from between 0 and 90 degrees of the first direction (horizontal direction) (fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 6: Arthur et al. in view of Shaw et al. does not disclose forming the first electrical pathway at an angle of 45 degrees from the first direction.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, as the selected option was one of a finite number of available angle configurations in order to direct an electrical pathway to predetermined areas within the panel. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from forming the first electrical pathway to be at an angle of 45 degrees from the first direction. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 7: Arthur et al. discloses forming the first electrical pathway (B) to open to the electrical assembly cavity (77), the second electrical pathway (C), or a combination thereof (figs. 2A-2B).
With regard to claim 9: Arthur et al. discloses that the second electrical pathway (C) extends to an edge of the panel (71) (fig. 2A).
With regard to claim 10: Arthur et al. discloses installing an electrical assembly (electrical connections and pattress box) in the electrical assembly cavity (71), wherein the prefabricated wall omits a junction box (figs. 2A-2B; pg. 8, lines 7-9; pg. 16, lines 2-4).
With regard to claim 13: Arthur et al. discloses installing the electrical assembly (electrical connections) on the depressed face (A) (figs. 2A-2B; pg. 8, lines 7-9).
With regard to claim 14: Arthur et al. discloses forming a second depressed face (additional recess 77) between a surface of the panel (71) and the depressed face (71) (figs. 2A-2B).
Arthur et al. as modified by Shaw et al. discloses removing a fifth portion from the panel to formed the second depressed face.
With regard to claim 15: Arthur et al. discloses providing a faceplate (interior finish panel) (pg. 18, lines 5-7) on the interior of panel, which would include being on the second electrical pathway (C).
With regard to claim 16: Arthur et al. discloses installing, in the panel, a pre-wire assembly (electrical connection already integrated) (figs. 2A-2B; pg. 8, lines 7-9).
Arthur et al. in view of Shaw et al. does not discloses the pre-wire assembly comprising a wiring loom.
However, wiring looms are known in the art to be wires and cables bundled together for organization and protection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Arthur et al. previously modified by Shaw et al. to have the pre-wire assembly include wiring loom in order to bundles wires and cables together for the purpose of organization and protection. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the method of Arthur et al. previously modified by Shaw et al. to have the pre-wire assembly include a wiring loom. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 17: Arthur et al. discloses a method for forming a prefabricated wall (5) (figs. 2A-2B, 6 and 12A), comprising:
forming, in a panel (service layer 71), an electrical assembly cavity (recess 77 for pattress boxes and other larger fittings) at a first angle (with respect to one of the vertical edges of service layer 71) (figs. 2A-2B);
forming, in the panel (71), a first electrical pathway (B) at a second angle (with respect to an one of the horizontal edges of the service layer 71) different from the first angle, wherein the first electrical pathway (B) intersects the electrical assembly cavity (77) (figs. 2A-2B); and
forming, in the panel, a second electrical pathway (C) at the first angle (with respect to one of the vertical edges of service layer 71), wherein the second electrical pathway (C) intersects the first electrical pathway (B) (figs. 2A-2B).
Arthur et al. does not disclose the forming involves drilling.
However, Shaw discloses a panel (10) forming of pressed and glued wood plies (plywood) comprising recessed areas including pathways (grooves 11) for receiving utilities (heat transfer tubing 15) that are cut by a router (figs. 1-4, 6 and 8-9C; col. 2 , lines 50-58; col. 4, lines 20-22; claims 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Arthur et al. to have the panel be formed of pressed and glued wood plies having the recessed areas comprising pathways formed by drilling (routing) such as taught by Shaw in order to provide a known means of removing material that is precise and accurate for creating a desired pattern with ease. Note that as described in par. [0066] of the instant specification, the panel being drilled may include using a router.
With regard to claim 18: Arthur et al. an intersection point of the second electrical pathway (C) and the first electrical pathway (B) is disposed between a surface (bottom surface) of the prefabricated wall (5) and an intersection point of the first electrical pathway (B) and the electrical assembly cavity (77).
Claim(s) 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arthur et al. (WO 2024/057004 A1) in view of Shaw et al. (US 8,752,346 B1) and in further view of Corbett (US 2006/0090326 A1).
With regard to claim 8: Arthur et al. in view of Shaw et al. does not disclose forming the second electrical pathway at a depth of 1.25 inches or less from a surface of the panel.
However, Corbett discloses wires (1) having a diameter smaller than 3/16 in., wherein the wire (1) extends the height of the corresponding electrical pathway (groove) and is of a minimum depth below the surface of the panel to which the wire is inserted (fig. 1; par. [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Arthur et al. previously modified by Shaw et al. to have the electrical pathways comprise a minimum depth corresponding to the size of the electrical assembly (wire), including a depth of 3/16 in. or less, such as taught Corbett in order to provide adequate space for housing the electrical assembly (wire). Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 12: Arthur et al. in view of Shaw et al. does not disclose installing the electrical assembly in the electrical assembly cavity via a friction fit.
However, Corbett discloses wire (1) extending the height and width of the corresponding electrical pathway (groove), which provides a friction fit (fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Arthur et al. previously modified by Shaw et al. to have the electrical pathways corresponding to the size of the electrical assembly (wire) such as taught Corbett in order to provide adequate space for housing the wire. As modified, installing the electrical assembly in the electrical assembly cavity would result in a friction fit. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arthur et al. (WO 2024/057004 A1) in view of Shaw et al. (US 8,752,346 B1) and in further view of Olvera (US 2010/0263308 A1).
With regard to claim 11: Arthur et al. in view of Shaw et al. does not disclose that the electrical assembly includes a quick connect wire feature.
However, Olvera discloses a modular building construction comprising an electrical assembly including a quick connect wire feature (quick-connect connectors) (abstract; claim 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Arthur et al. previously modified by Shaw et al. to have the electrical assembly include a quick connect feature such as taught by Olvera in order to provide a means of connecting and disconnecting electrical connections in a quick and reliable manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to panels for accommodating utilities.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633