DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 6, 7A, 7B and 7C should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ichikawa (US 2010/0189485).
Ichikawa (…485) discloses a transport device comprising: a transport roll (28) that rotates and transports a recording medium by pinching the recording medium in a transport region from one end to the other end in an axial direction ([0029]; and figures 1 and 2); and a guide member (100) that guides a leading end of the recording medium to the transport roll by coming into contact with the recording medium while bending the recording medium ([0029]; [0040]-[0042]; and figures 1 and 2) and that is recessed such that a facing edge (111B) facing the transport region, among edges on a transport roll side, is separated from the transport roll compared to the side edges (111A) arranged respectively on both sides of the facing edge ([0046]-[0047]; and figures 3A and 3B) [see Applicant’s claim 1]. The facing edge extends linearly along the axial direction (figures 3A and 3B) [see Applicant’s claim 2]. A connecting edge connects the facing edge and the side edges to each other among the edges, is inclined with respect to a transport direction of the recording medium by making an opening width of a recessed portion formed by separating the facing edge from the transport roll compared to the side edges wider than the facing edge in the axial direction (figures 3A and 3B) [see Applicant’s claim 3]. A separation distance between one side edge and the other side edge is shorter than a width of a recording medium having a minimum size ([0046]) [see Applicant’s claim 4]. An image forming apparatus (figure 1) comprising: the transport device that transports a recording medium ([0028] - [0029]; and figure 1); and an image forming unit (30) that forms an image on the recording medium transported by the transport device ([0027] - [0037]; and figure 1) [see Applicant’s claims 6-9].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa (US 2010/0189485) in view of Nakamura et al. (US 2017/0135490).
Ichikawa (…485) discloses the features mentioned previously. Ichikawa (…485) also discloses the guide member has a guide surface that guides the recording medium, and that has a bent shape ([0029]; [0040]-[0042]; and figures 1 and 2) [see Applicant’s claim 5]. An image forming apparatus (figure 1) comprising: the transport device that transports a recording medium ([0028] - [0029]; and figure 1); and an image forming unit (30) that forms an image on the recording medium transported by the transport device ([0027] - [0037]; and figure 1) [see Applicant’s claim 10]. However, Ichikawa (…485) does not disclose the claimed ribs. Nakamura et al. (…490) disclose a transport device including a guide member (51), where the guide member has a plurality of ribs (511D) that protrude from the guide surface to extend in a transport direction of a recording medium and that are provided at an interval in the axial direction (figure 3), and some of the ribs are formed in a range where a side edge at a portion through which the recording medium having a minimum size passes is arranged in the axial direction ([0040]-[0042]; and figure 3) [see Applicant’s claim 5]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed ribs, since as disclosed by Nakamura et al. (…490), such ribs on a guide surface provide good conveyability of recording medium.
Inquiry
/SANDRA BRASE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 September 3, 2026