DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (WO 2018176137 - US 20210221008 A1 relied upon for English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lu et al. disclose:
A planar drive system (1610, Fig 9A, para 265) comprising:
at least one stator assembly (1601) having in each case a plurality of coil groups for generating a stator magnetic field (para 265),
a stator surface (1602) above the stator assembly (1601), and
further comprising a first rotor (1620) and a second rotor (1630, para 265);
wherein the first rotor (1620) and the second rotor (1630) each comprise a plurality of magnet units for generating a rotor magnetic field (para 265),
wherein the first rotor (1620) and the second (1630) are moveable above the stator surface (1602) at least in a first direction and a second direction with the aid of an interaction of the stator magnetic field with the rotor magnetic field (para 265),
wherein a coupling device (1625) is arranged between the first rotor (1620) and the second rotor (1630),
wherein a connection is establishable between the first rotor and the second rotor with the aid of the coupling device (Fig 9A, para 265),
wherein the planar drive system comprises a controller,
wherein the controller (not shown in Fig 9A – but seen as 160 ion Fig 1A) is configured to send control signals to the stator assembly (para 265),
the stator assembly being configured to energize the coil groups on the basis of the control signals such that movements of the first rotor and of the second rotor coordinated with one another with respect to the coupling device are carried out with the aid of the stator magnetic field (paras 18,23-24, 265).
Lu et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining Lu et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s above claimed invention, since it would provide an improved automation system having no physical connection to the ground with respect to which it moves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lu et al. by combining their teachings to make applicant’s invention as discussed above.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide an improved automation system having no physical connection to the ground with respect to which it moves (para 15).
Regarding claim 14, Lu et al. discloses:
A method for operating a planar drive system (abstract, para 2) comprising:
at least one stator assembly (1601) having in each case a plurality of coil groups for generating a stator magnetic field (para 265),
a stator surface (1602) above the stator assembly (1601), and
further comprising a first rotor (1620) and a second rotor (1630, para 265); wherein the first rotor (1620) and the second rotor (1630) each comprise a plurality of magnet units for generating a rotor magnetic field (para 265),
wherein the first rotor (1620) and the second (1630) are moveable above the stator surface (1602) at least in a first direction and a second direction with the aid of an interaction of the stator magnetic field with the rotor magnetic field (para 265),
wherein a coupling device (1625) is arranged between the first rotor (1620) and the second rotor (1630),
wherein with the aid of the coupling device (1625) a connection is established between the first rotor and the second rotor (Fig 9A, para 265),
wherein the planar drive system comprises a controller (para 265 implicit since it is controlled),
the controller (not shown in Fig 9A – but seen as 160 ion Fig 1A) outputting control signals to the stator assembly (para 265),
the stator assembly energizing the coil groups on the basis of the control signals such that mutually coordinated movements of the first rotor and of the second rotor are carried out with the aid of the stator magnetic field (paras 18,23-24, 265).
Lu et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining Lu et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s above claimed invention, since it would provide an improved automation system having no physical connection to the ground with respect to which it moves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lu et al. by combining their teachings to make applicant’s invention as discussed above.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide an improved automation system having no physical connection to the ground with respect to which it moves (para 15).
Regarding claim 16/14, Lu et al. discloses wherein the controller is operable in a first operating mode and in a second operating mode, wherein in the first operating mode, based on coupling information, the control signals are output such that the connection of the first rotor and of the second rotor is taken into account, and wherein in the second operating mode, based on decoupling information, the control signals are output such that the first rotor and the second rotor are moved individually (para 265).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (WO 2018176137 - US 20210221008 A1 relied upon for English translation) in view of Lu et al. (WO 2018176137 - US 20210221008 A1 relied upon for English translation).
Regarding claim 2/1, Lu et al. discloses the invention as discussed above, except wherein the connection is releasable during operation, wherein the stator assembly is arranged to energize the coil groups on the basis of the control signals such that the connection is releasable and configured to be formed again.
However, Lu et al. discloses in another embodiment (para 165) wherein the connection is releasable during operation, wherein the stator assembly is arranged to energize the coil groups on the basis of the control signals such that the connection is releasable and configured to be formed again
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lu et al. to wherein the connection is releasable during operation, wherein the stator assembly is arranged to energize the coil groups on the basis of the control signals such that the connection is releasable and configured to be formed again, as Lu et al. further discloses.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide an improved automation system having no physical connection to the ground with respect to which it moves (para 15).
Regarding claim 3/2, Lu et al. discloses wherein the controller is operable in a first operating mode and in a second operating mode, wherein in the first operating mode, based on coupling information, the control signals are output such that the connection of the first rotor and the second rotor is taken into account, and wherein in the second operating mode, based on decoupling information, the control signals are output such that the first rotor and the second rotor are moved individually (para 265).
Regarding claim 13/1, Lu et al. discloses the invention as discussed above, except wherein the coupling device is arranged to trigger a movement of an element arranged on the second rotor by a movement of the first rotor relative to the second rotor.
However, Lu et al. discloses in another embodiment (general description in para 2) to “magnetically moving multiple movable robots relative to one or more working surfaces of respective one or more work bodies, and for moving robots between the one or more work bodies via transfer devices. Robots can carry one or more objects among different locations, manipulate carried objects, and/or interact with their surroundings for particular functionality including but not limited to assembly, packaging, inspection, 3D printing, test, laboratory automation, etc.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lu et al. to wherein the coupling device is arranged to trigger a movement of an element arranged on the second rotor by a movement of the first rotor relative to the second rotor, as Lu et al. discloses it may be utilized in a variety of fields.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide an improved automation system (para 15) and magnetically moveable displacement devices or robotic devices (para 2).
Claim(s) 4-5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (WO 2018176137 - US 20210221008 A1 relied upon for English translation) in view of Lu et al. (WO 2018176137 - US 20210221008 A1 relied upon for English translation), further in view of over Lu et al. (WO 2018176137 - US 20210221008 A1 relied upon for English translation).
Regarding claim 4/2, Lu et al. discloses the invention as discussed above, except wherein the first rotor comprises a first coupling element and the second rotor comprises a second coupling element, wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element are part of the coupling device, wherein a form-fit connection and/or a mechanical force-fit connection and/or a magnetic force-fit connection is configurable between the first coupling element and the second coupling element.
However, Lu et al. discloses in another embodiment (Fig 5C) wherein the first rotor (516I) comprises a first coupling element (519I) and the second rotor(516II) comprises a second coupling element (519II), wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element are part of the coupling device (para 227), wherein a form-fit connection and/or a mechanical force-fit connection (para 227, Fig 5C) and/or a magnetic force-fit connection is configurable between the first coupling element and the second coupling element.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lu et al. to wherein the first rotor comprises a first coupling element and the second rotor comprises a second coupling element, wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element are part of the coupling device, wherein a form-fit connection and/or a mechanical force-fit connection and/or a magnetic force-fit connection is configurable between the first coupling element and the second coupling element, as Lu et al. further discloses.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide an improved automation system having no physical connection to the ground with respect to which it moves (para 15).
Regarding claim 5/4, Lu et al. discloses the invention as discussed above, except wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element provide a mechanical coupling between the first rotor and the second rotor.
However, Lu et al. discloses in another embodiment (Fig 5C) wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element provide a mechanical coupling between the first rotor and the second rotor (para 227).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Lu et al. to wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element provide a mechanical coupling between the first rotor and the second rotor, as Lu et al. discloses.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide an improved automation system having no physical connection to the ground with respect to which it moves (para 15).
Regarding claim 11/4, Lu et al. discloses wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element comprise magnets (para 165).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 12, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 6/4 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the first coupling element and the second coupling element provide a magnetic coupling between the first rotor and the second rotor.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 7/4 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the first coupling element comprises a recess, wherein the second coupling element comprises a protrusion matching the recess, wherein the connection is formed by inserting the protrusion into the recess.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claim 8 and 9 are also allowable for depending on claim 7.
In claim 10/4 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the first coupling element is integrated into a first circumferential edge element of the first rotor and wherein the second coupling element is integrated into a second circumferential edge element of the second rotor.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 12/11 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the magnets of the first coupling element and/or of the second coupling element are supported in a rotatable manner.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 15/14 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the connection is released in operation, wherein the stator assembly energizes the coil groups based on the control signals such that the connection is released and formed again.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record
Claims 17-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 17, Lu et al. discloses the invention as discussed above.
However, neither Lu et al. nor any additionally cited art of record teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, inter alia, “wherein the stator assembly is arranged to energize the coil groups on the basis of the control signals such that the connection is releasable and configured to be formed again, wherein the controller is operable in a first operating mode and in a second operating mode, wherein in the first operating mode, based on coupling information, the control signals are output such that the connection of the first rotor and the second rotor is taken into account, and wherein in the second operating mode, based on decoupling information, the control signals are output such that the first rotor and the second rotor are moved individually, wherein determining the coupling information or the decoupling information, respectively, is carried out on the basis of the position of the first rotor and of the second rotor taking into account a dimension of the coupling device, wherein magnetic field sensors provided in the stator modules detect the magnetic fields of the magnet units of the first rotor and of the second rotor in order to detect the position of the first rotor and of the second rotor”.
Claims 18-19 are allowable based on their virtue of depending on claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834